DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an output mechanism (claim 20 – “disposed at least partially in the housing”) for driving a function element that implements a set function” in claims 1, 10, 12, 13, 20.
Output Mechanism - “[0228] As shown in FIG. 4, the output mechanism 14 is configured to drive the function element 13. In this example, the output mechanism 14 includes an output shaft 141. In some examples, a transmission assembly is connected between the output mechanism 14 and the electric motor assembly 20, for example, in high-speed and high-torque output tools such as screwdrivers, drills, and saws. The transmission assembly transmits output power of the electric motor assembly 20 to the output mechanism 14, and the output mechanism 14 drives the function element 13 to machine a workpiece. In some examples, the electric motor assembly 20 directly drives the output mechanism 14, for example, in the fan, the blower, and mowing tools, and the output mechanism 14 drives the function element 13 to machine the workpiece.
Function element that implements a set function – “[0229] The function element 13 is configured to implement a set function. In this example, the function element 13 is configured to implement the work function of the power tool, such as a saw blade for cutting the workpiece. In other alternative examples, the function element 13 may be a grinding disc, a blade, a screwdriver, a fan, a pump, or a walking wheel.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10 and 12, and all subsequent dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “limit values of efficiency of the electric motor assembly constitute a total efficiency interval, and efficiency values of the electric motor assembly greater than or equal to 70% constitute a first efficiency interval, and a ratio of the first efficiency interval to the total efficiency interval is greater than or equal to 0.5” is not described within the specification so as to allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to comprehend and/or utilize the invention. Upon in depth analysis of this limitation, the Examiner merely finds circular definition repeated over and over again. What is the “limit value of efficiency”? It is a total efficiency interval. What is the “total efficiency interval”? It is the limit value of efficiency. No units are provided for definition, nor any other description as to what exactly is being measured. Later comparison ratios merely compound the confusion, as the undefined limits and intervals are compared to each other, without any baseline as to what is actually being compared. As the Examiner is unable to understand the claim limitations, this claim series cannot be examined as written (Examiner’s note – absent the specific language discussed in this rejection, the prior art of claim 13 reads on all of the remaining claim limitations). The Examiner notes that while a prior art rejection is not included, alteration of the claim may lead to a prior art rejection in subsequent actions.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the limitation “a working efficiency” is not described within the specification so as to allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to comprehend and/or utilize the invention. Regarding the term “working efficiency”, no units are provided for definition, nor any other description as to what exactly is being measured. As the Examiner is unable to understand the claim limitations, this claim series cannot be examined as written (Examiner’s note – absent the specific language discussed in this rejection, the prior art of claim 13 reads on all of the remaining claim limitations).
Claims 1, 10 and 12, and all subsequent dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “limit values of efficiency of the electric motor assembly constitute a total efficiency interval, and efficiency values of the electric motor assembly greater than or equal to 70% constitute a first efficiency interval, and a ratio of the first efficiency interval to the total efficiency interval is greater than or equal to 0.5” render the claim indefinite, as the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim limitations. As discussed above in the 112A rejection, the claim sets cannot be examined at this time due to the fact that the Examiner would be required to guess what the actual invention is.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the limitation “a working efficiency” render the claim indefinite, as the Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim limitations. As discussed above in the 112A rejection, the claim sets cannot be examined at this time due to the fact that the Examiner would be required to guess what the actual invention is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greunke, (US 2024/0408710).
Regarding claim 13, Greunke discloses: A power tool (Fig. 2, rotary hammer 10), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 14);
an output mechanism (Fig. 2, spindle 23) for driving a function element that implements a set function;
a power supply mounting portion (Fig. 2, first and second receptacles 31, 32) for mounting a direct current power supply (Fig. 2, first and second battery packs 29, 30); and
an electric motor assembly (Fig. 2, first and second motors 18, 20), disposed at least partially in the housing, comprising:
a first electric motor (Fig. 2, first or second motor 18 or 20) for outputting a first torque and a first rotational speed and driving the output mechanism (all electric motors output a torque/speed value); and
a second electric motor (Fig. 2, first or second motor 18 or 20) for outputting a second torque and a second rotational speed and driving the output mechanism (all electric motors output a torque/speed value);
wherein the direct current power supply supplies power to the first electric motor and the second electric motor ([0016] “The first and second motors 18, 20 are configured as DC motors that receive power from on-board power sources, such as first and second battery packs 29, 30 that are respectively selectively coupled to first and second receptacles 31, 32 on the housing 14. In some embodiments, only the first battery pack 29 is coupled to the first receptacle 31, and the first and second motors 18, 20 both receive power from the first battery pack 29. In other embodiments, only the second battery pack 30 is coupled to the second receptacle 32 and the first and second motors 18, 20 both receive power from the second battery pack 30. In other embodiments, the first and second battery packs 29, 30 are both respectively coupled to the first and second receptacles 31, 32, and the first motor 18 receives power from the first battery pack 29, and the second motor 20 receives power from the second battery pack 30.”), and a nominal voltage of the power tool is greater than or equal to 18 V ([0017] “The first and second battery packs 29, 30 may include any of a number of different nominal voltages (e.g., 12V, 18V, etc.),”).
Regarding claim 14, Greunke further discloses: the first electric motor and the second electric motor are each a brushless motor (Milwaukee has been using Brushless motors in this type of tool for over a decade. The following screen shot (Examiner’s Illustration 1) is taken from the official Milwaukee website (URL visible in illustration - https://www.milwaukeetool.com/company/milwaukee-story).
Examiner’s Illustration 1
Regarding claim 15, Greunke further discloses: the direct current power supply comprises a battery pack ([0017] “The first and second battery packs 29, 30 may include any of a number of different nominal voltages (e.g., 12V, 18V, etc.),”).
Regarding claim 16, Greunke further discloses: the battery pack supplies power to various power tools (the tool in question is a Milwaukee power tool. These tools are commonly known to utilize interchangeable power packs that are usable in a numerosity of Milwaukee tools).
Regarding claim 17, Greunke further discloses: the nominal voltage of the power tool is greater than or equal to 18 V and less than or equal to 56 V ([0017] “The first and second battery packs 29, 30 may include any of a number of different nominal voltages (e.g., 12V, 18V, etc.),”).
Regarding claim 19, Greunke further discloses: the power supply mounting portion is disposed at least partially on the housing (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Greunke discloses: A power tool (Fig. 2, rotary hammer 10), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 14);
an output mechanism (Fig. 2, spindle 23), disposed at least partially in the housing, for driving a function element (Fig. 2, tool bit 24) that implements a set function;
a power supply mounting portion (Fig. 2, first and second receptacles 31, 32) for mounting a direct current power supply (Fig. 2, first and second battery packs 29, 30); and
an electric motor assembly (Fig. 2, first and second motors 18, 20) used for driving the output mechanism comprising:
a first electric motor (Fig. 2, first or second motor 18 or 20) for outputting a first torque and a first rotational speed (all electric motors output a torque/speed value); and
a second electric motor (Fig. 2, first or second motor 18 or 20) for outputting a second torque and a second rotational speed (all electric motors output a torque/speed value);
wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are configured to have at least one different structural parameter (the motors have different locations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greunke.
Regarding claim 18, Greunke discloses the device of claim 13.
Greunke does not explicitly disclose: the nominal voltage of the power tool is greater than 56 V and less than or equal to 120 V.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to select an appropriate voltage range for the tool in question, as it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The Examiner must note that the current application does not actually specify the voltage of the battery for a specifically claimed tool or embodiment, but merely discusses the fact that a range of available battery voltages can be selected by the designer for a particular tool - ([0234], “In some examples, the nominal voltage of the power tool is greater than 56 V and less than or equal to 120 V. In some examples, the battery pack 21 may be a lithium battery pack, a solid-state battery pack, or a pouch battery pack. The nominal voltage of the battery pack is 18 V, 24 V, 36 V,48 V, 56 V, 80 V, or 120 V”).
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731