Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 20-26, in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 have been withdrawn for prosecution. Claims 20-26 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging”.
Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” teaches plating 304 SS (stainless steel) strainers with either Ni, Zn or Cu which should yield similar fouling inhibition (Pg. 16). Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” teaches making the strainer out of these materials or plating with Monel (Ni/Cu), Brass (Zn/Cu) or Cupronickel (Cu/Ni) (pg. 17).
Regarding claims 21-23, Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” teaches plating by electroless or electroplating (pg. 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” as applied to claims 20-23 above, and further in view of CZ20003553.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” are incorporated here.
Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” fails to teach the claimed thickness of the Monel, Brass or Cupronickel.
CZ20003553 teaches method of protecting metal parts (including steel) from corrosion which includes coating the metal parts with a corrosion protection material with a thickness of 1-50 microns (claim 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Hettiarachchi “Potential Remedies to alleviate Stator Cooling Water Strainer plugging” process to include the claimed thickness as evidenced by CZ20003553 with the expectation of providing protection of the metal surface.
Regarding claim 25 which recites coating “substantially all of he surface of the strainer”, the Examiner takes the position that when coating to prevent plugging and fouling of the strainer, one skilled in the art would be suggestive to coat “substantially” if not all of the strainer so as to provide the most complete protection thereof.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712