Detailed Action
Status of the Application and Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 1/15/2025.
IDS filed on 1/15/2025 is acknowledged and considered by the Examiner.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-8 is/are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“…circuitry is configured to…calculate…plan…display…warn…register…”. in Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Further, Examiner notes that a review of the specification reveals that the specification does not clearly set forth a particular corresponding structure for performing the claimed function.
Examiner is interpreting the following as structure as per Applicant’s specification:
FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of an information processing system according to the present embodiment. The information processing system according to the present embodiment includes an information processing device 1, multiple image forming apparatuses 2A and 2B, and multiple terminal devices 3A and 3B used individually by multiple users A and B. In the following description, the multiple image forming apparatuses 2A and 2B may be collectively referred to as the image forming apparatuses 2 whereas the multiple terminal devices 3A and 3B may be collectively referred to as the terminal devices 3.
an information processing system includes a first memory, circuitry, and a second memory. The first memory records job information of one or more apparatuses including a replaceable consumable item. The circuitry calculates an amount of the consumable item consumed by execution of a job of the one or more apparatuses based on the job information to obtain a calculated amount of consumption and plans maintenance for replacement of the consumable item based on a remaining amount of the consumable item and the calculated amount of consumption to prevent the remaining amount of the consumable item from being equal to or smaller than a predetermined value. The second memory stores a maintenance information value table including, for each type of the maintenance, a time required for the maintenance, required number of maintenance performers, and whether the maintenance is performable ahead of schedule. The circuitry plans maintenance performable ahead of schedule in a case where number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at a time when a plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is present, based on the maintenance information value table.
Any one of the above-described operations may be performed in various other ways, for example, in an order different from the one described above.
The functionality of the elements disclosed herein may be implemented using circuitry or processing circuitry which includes general purpose processors, special purpose processors, integrated circuits, application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field- programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), and/or combinations thereof which are configured or programmed, using one or more programs stored in one or more memories, to perform the disclosed functionality. Processors are considered processing circuitry or circuitry as they include transistors and other circuitry therein. In the disclosure, the circuitry, units, or means are hardware that carry out or are programmed to perform the recited functionality. The hardware may be any hardware disclosed herein which is programmed or configured to carry out the recited functionality.
There is a memory that stores a computer program which includes computer instructions. These computer instructions provide the logic and routines that enable the hardware (e.g., processing circuitry or circuitry) to perform the method disclosed herein. This computer program can be implemented in known formats as a computer-readable storage medium, a computer program product, a memory device, a record medium such as a compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM) or digital versatile disk (DVD), and/or the memory of an FPGA or ASIC.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 (similarly 7 and 8) recites, “An information processing …, comprising:
a first … that records job information of one or more apparatuses including a replaceable consumable item;
… configured to:
calculate an amount of the consumable item consumed by execution of a job of the one or more apparatuses based on the job information to obtain a calculated amount of consumption; and
plan maintenance for replacement of the consumable item based on a remaining amount of the consumable item and the calculated amount of consumption to prevent the remaining amount of the consumable item from being equal to or smaller than a predetermined value; and
a second … that stores a maintenance information value table including, for each type of the maintenance, a time required for the maintenance, required number of maintenance performers, and whether the maintenance is performable ahead of schedule,
the … being configured to plan maintenance performable ahead of schedule in a case where number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at a time when a plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is present, based on the maintenance information value table.”
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 1:
The limitations regarding, …records job information of one or more apparatuses including a replaceable consumable item…calculate an amount of the consumable item consumed by execution of a job of the one or more apparatuses based on the job information to obtain a calculated amount of consumption; and plan maintenance for replacement of the consumable item based on a remaining amount of the consumable item and the calculated amount of consumption to prevent the remaining amount of the consumable item from being equal to or smaller than a predetermined value; …stores a maintenance information value table including, for each type of the maintenance, a time required for the maintenance, required number of maintenance performers, and whether the maintenance is performable ahead of schedule, … to plan maintenance performable ahead of schedule in a case where number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at a time when a plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is present, based on the maintenance information value table…, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, can include a human using their mind and using pen and paper to perform the above identified limitations, therefore, the claims are directed to a mental process.
Further, …records job information of one or more apparatuses including a replaceable consumable item…calculate an amount of the consumable item consumed by execution of a job of the one or more apparatuses based on the job information to obtain a calculated amount of consumption; and plan maintenance for replacement of the consumable item based on a remaining amount of the consumable item and the calculated amount of consumption to prevent the remaining amount of the consumable item from being equal to or smaller than a predetermined value; …stores a maintenance information value table including, for each type of the maintenance, a time required for the maintenance, required number of maintenance performers, and whether the maintenance is performable ahead of schedule, … to plan maintenance performable ahead of schedule in a case where number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at a time when a plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is present, based on the maintenance information value table…, are human scheduling human maintenance performers to perform maintenance, which are managing interactions and relationship between people, therefore the claims, are directed to certain methods of organizing human activities.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to a mental process, certain methods of organizing human activities, and thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A.
In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea identified under Step 2A, Prong 1, such as:
Claim 1, 7, 8: system, memory, circuitry, device
, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, as an ordered combination, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea, and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components.
Further, these additional elements generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment, namely the environment of a computer.
Additionally, with respect to, “…records…”, “…stores…”, “…register…”, “…display…”, “…warn…”, these elements do not add a meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are extra-solution activity, pre and post solution activity - i.e. data gathering – “…records…”, “…stores…”, data output – “…register…”, “…display…”, “…warn…”
Analyzing under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B.
As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because, as an order combination, the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it).
Additionally, as an order combination, the additional elements append the recited abstract idea to well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the field as individually evinced by the applicant’s own disclosure, as required by the Berkheimer Memo, in at least:
FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of an information processing system according to the present embodiment. The information processing system according to the present embodiment includes an information processing device 1, multiple image forming apparatuses 2A and 2B, and multiple terminal devices 3A and 3B used individually by multiple users A and B. In the following description, the multiple image forming apparatuses 2A and 2B may be collectively referred to as the image forming apparatuses 2 whereas the multiple terminal devices 3A and 3B may be collectively referred to as the terminal devices 3.
The above-described embodiments are illustrative and do not limit the present invention. Thus, numerous additional modifications and variations are possible in light of the above teachings. For example, elements and/or features of different illustrative embodiments may be combined with each other and/or substituted for each other within the scope of the present invention.
Any one of the above-described operations may be performed in various other ways, for example, in an order different from the one described above.
The functionality of the elements disclosed herein may be implemented using circuitry or processing circuitry which includes general purpose processors, special purpose processors, integrated circuits, application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field- programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), and/or combinations thereof which are configured or programmed, using one or more programs stored in one or more memories, to perform the disclosed functionality. Processors are considered processing circuitry or circuitry as they include transistors and other circuitry therein. In the disclosure, the circuitry, units, or means are hardware that carry out or are programmed to perform the recited functionality. The hardware may be any hardware disclosed herein which is programmed or configured to carry out the recited functionality.
There is a memory that stores a computer program which includes computer instructions. These computer instructions provide the logic and routines that enable the hardware (e.g., processing circuitry or circuitry) to perform the method disclosed herein. This computer program can be implemented in known formats as a computer-readable storage medium, a computer program product, a memory device, a record medium such as a compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM) or digital versatile disk (DVD), and/or the memory of an FPGA or ASIC.
Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components receiving or transmitting data over a network, performing repetitive calculations, electronic record keeping, and storing and retrieving information in memory, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Moreover, the remaining elements of dependent claims do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these remaining elements merely recite further abstract limitations that provide nothing more than simply a narrowing of the abstract idea recited in the independent claims.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components to “apply” the recited abstract idea, perform insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20200057998A1 to Ophardt et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Ophardt”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20190377528A1 to Hotokeishi., (hereinafter referred to as “Hotokeishi”)
As per Claim 1, Ophardt teaches: An information processing system, comprising: ([0257][0303])
a first memory that records job information of one or more apparatuses including a replaceable consumable item; (in at least [0303][0182] a dispenser with real time sensing of the amount of consumable product in the dispenser is known with the passage of time and, at any time, the rate at which consumable product has been dispensed with time can be used to predict based on historical data when the consumable product in the dispenser at any time may be expected to be reduced to nil at some future time. [0241] A dispenser (12) transfers usage data with time preferably after each activation. A quality of service message including equipment status information of the dispenser (12) preferably is sent at regular time intervals.)
circuitry configured to: ([0257][0303])
calculate an amount of the consumable item consumed by execution of a job of the one or more apparatuses based on the job information to obtain a calculated amount of consumption; and (in at least [0182] a dispenser with real time sensing of the amount of consumable product in the dispenser is known with the passage of time and, at any time, the rate at which consumable product has been dispensed with time can be used to predict based on historical data when the consumable product in the dispenser at any time may be expected to be reduced to nil at some future time. [0241] A dispenser (12) transfers usage data with time preferably after each activation. A quality of service message including equipment status information of the dispenser (12) preferably is sent at regular time intervals.)
plan maintenance for replacement of the consumable item based on a remaining amount of the consumable item and the calculated amount of consumption to prevent the remaining amount of the consumable item from being equal to or smaller than a predetermined value; and (in at least [0019] establishing for each dispenser a refill time when the consumable product available in each dispenser is expected to reach the refill value as a function of the predictive consumption profile for that dispenser, [0146] “establishing a route for each service personnel by selecting successive pathways for each service personnel to travel along to service dispensers as a function which (a) minimizes the sum of the travel times of the pathways of the route and the service times for each dispenser serviced, (b) provides for service of each of the dispensers either: before the consumable product available in any dispenser is expected to reach the refill value, or to minimize the length of time that all dispensers of the same type in the same washroom are simultaneously in the refill value or below.)
a second memory that stores a maintenance information value table including, for each type of the maintenance, a time required for the maintenance, required number of maintenance performers, and whether the maintenance is performable ahead of schedule, (in at least [0303][0025] Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event. [0203] selecting the number of service personnel, and selecting a work shift schedule which establishes a start time and stop time of a work shift for each service personnel when each service personnel will be available for servicing, and periodically establishing a cost per shift of each service personnel, and in a calculation step performing an optimizing calculation which over a selected period of time for the servicing of all dispensers determines the routes required to service all dispensers and a sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel, having regard to a selected input matrix of values for the capacity of each dispenser, the refill value for each dispenser, the number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. The calculation step includes repeatedly varying the selected input matrix values and repeating the calculation step, with a comparing of the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel for each calculation step and identifying one of the selected input matrix values as an optimum input matrix values that minimizes the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel. Preferably, the method includes modifying the method to adopt the optimum input matrix values including modifying the dispensers to provide for the optimum capacity of each dispenser if different than the then existing capacity of each dispenser, and operating the facility with the selected input matrix values for the refill value for each dispenser, number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. [0219] Calculations can be performed with a modified hypothetical matrix values including the additional capacity of the one dispenser and/or the additional dispensers, calculations of routes required and the time of personnel and costs recalculated to determine if more favourable servicing results as to cost or personnel required or other factors and functions. Similarly, by the selective varying of the matrix values of a facility by trial and error calculations, not only can optimized servicing routes, personnel and costing be selected by the location and number of dispensers and the like can be selected towards optimization as desired.)
the circuitry being configured to plan maintenance performable ahead of schedule in a case where number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at a time when a plurality of maintenance schedules … and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is present, based on the maintenance information value table. (in at least [0025] Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event. [0203] selecting the number of service personnel, and selecting a work shift schedule which establishes a start time and stop time of a work shift for each service personnel when each service personnel will be available for servicing, and periodically establishing a cost per shift of each service personnel, and in a calculation step performing an optimizing calculation which over a selected period of time for the servicing of all dispensers determines the routes required to service all dispensers and a sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel, having regard to a selected input matrix of values for the capacity of each dispenser, the refill value for each dispenser, the number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. The calculation step includes repeatedly varying the selected input matrix values and repeating the calculation step, with a comparing of the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel for each calculation step and identifying one of the selected input matrix values as an optimum input matrix values that minimizes the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel. Preferably, the method includes modifying the method to adopt the optimum input matrix values including modifying the dispensers to provide for the optimum capacity of each dispenser if different than the then existing capacity of each dispenser, and operating the facility with the selected input matrix values for the refill value for each dispenser, number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. [0219] The optimization may be arranged with the trial and error calculations including minimizing the number of personnel and/or the cost. Preferably, the method includes periodically establishing a cost per shift of each service personnel, and a calculation step of performing an optimizing calculation which over a selected period of time for the servicing of all dispensers or other service operations determines the routes required to service all dispensers and/or perform all desired service operations and a sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel, having regard to a selected input matrix of values including at least some of the capacity of each dispenser, the refill value for each dispenser, the number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts…Calculations can be performed with a modified hypothetical matrix values including the additional capacity of the one dispenser and/or the additional dispensers, calculations of routes required and the time of personnel and costs recalculated to determine if more favourable servicing results as to cost or personnel required or other factors and functions. Similarly, by the selective varying of the matrix values of a facility by trial and error calculations, not only can optimized servicing routes, personnel and costing be selected by the location and number of dispensers and the like can be selected towards optimization as desired. [0301] Special events include time periods when the facility (30) is subjected to different usage than normal, for example, high usage of the consumable products (13). Special events are estimated in advance and placed into the schedule in the back office application (18). If desired, the configuration of a facility (30) or the available range of dispensers (12) can be changed for a specific time frame relevant to a special event.)
Although implied, Ophardt does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Hotokeishi,
…a plurality of maintenance schedules overlap…(in at least [0062] in FIG. 5A, “maintenance” is set between 10:00 and 11:00 on Mar. 13, 2018 as a schedule item of a printer A as a result of the operator performing the input process as in FIG. 4. Furthermore, for example, as shown in FIG. 5B, schedule items of the printer A for Mar. 13, 2018 are registered as a result of the operator setting other schedule items outside the operation period. In the example shown in FIG. 5B, “operation stoppage” is set between 0:00 and 8:00, “maintenance” is set between 8:00 and 9:00, 13:00 and 14:00, and 18:00 and 19:00, and “recess” is set between 12:00 and 13:00. The operation-period registration unit 111 registers the periods from 9:00 to 12:00, 14:00 to 18:00, and 19:00 to 24:00 as the operation periods of the printer A. [0074] in step S101, the operator performs an operation for changing a schedule item of step processing or an operation for adding a schedule item of step processing, so that the schedule allocation unit 113 acquires a new schedule item of step processing. Then, in step S102, the schedule allocation unit 113 determines whether or not the new schedule item partially or entirely overlaps with an already-registered existing schedule item. The existing schedule item includes a schedule item outside the step operation period and an already-registered schedule item of step processing. [0088] in FIGS. 8A to 8C, registered schedule items of the printer A include maintenance between 10:00 and 11:00 outside the operation period and printing based on job 1 between 13:00 and 14:00, as in FIG. 8A. [0093] in FIGS. 9A to 9C, registered schedule items of the printer A include maintenance between 11:00 and 12:00 outside the operation period and printing based on job 1 between 13:00 and 14:00, as in FIG. 9A. In a case where the operator changes the print schedule item for job 1 from the period between 13:00 and 14:00 to the period between 11:00 and 12:00 by performing a setting process as in the screen shown in FIG. 9B, the changed print schedule item overlaps with the maintenance schedule item between 11:00 and 12:00. In this case, it is determined whether to prioritize the print schedule item or the maintenance schedule item based on whether or not a checkmark exists in the checkbox 13.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Ophardt as taught by Hotokeishi, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Ophardt with the motivation of, …easier management of processing related to generation of a printed material, as compared with a configuration that invariably prioritizes a new schedule item when the new schedule item partially or entirely overlaps with an existing schedule item.…provided a print management apparatus including an allocation unit, a schedule reception unit, and a command reception unit. The allocation unit allocates a schedule item for processing related to generation of a printed material to an operation period of a process for generating the printed material based on print information. The schedule reception unit receives a change of the allocated schedule item from an operator or receives an addition of a schedule item for processing related to the generation of the printed material from the operator. The command reception unit receives a command for prioritizing one of a new schedule item obtained as a result of the change or the addition and an existing schedule item as a command for processing to be performed when the new schedule item partially or entirely overlaps with the existing schedule item. …., as recited in Hotokeishi.
As per Claim 2, Ophardt teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein,
in a case where the number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at the time when the plurality of maintenance schedules … and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is …, the circuitry is configured to plan a forward movable job before the maintenance, the forward movable job being planned after the time when the plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and not emptying the remaining amount of the consumable item when executed before the maintenance. (in at least [0025] Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event. [0203] selecting the number of service personnel, and selecting a work shift schedule which establishes a start time and stop time of a work shift for each service personnel when each service personnel will be available for servicing, and periodically establishing a cost per shift of each service personnel, and in a calculation step performing an optimizing calculation which over a selected period of time for the servicing of all dispensers determines the routes required to service all dispensers and a sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel, having regard to a selected input matrix of values for the capacity of each dispenser, the refill value for each dispenser, the number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. The calculation step includes repeatedly varying the selected input matrix values and repeating the calculation step, with a comparing of the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel for each calculation step and identifying one of the selected input matrix values as an optimum input matrix values that minimizes the sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel. Preferably, the method includes modifying the method to adopt the optimum input matrix values including modifying the dispensers to provide for the optimum capacity of each dispenser if different than the then existing capacity of each dispenser, and operating the facility with the selected input matrix values for the refill value for each dispenser, number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts. [0219] The optimization may be arranged with the trial and error calculations including minimizing the number of personnel and/or the cost. Preferably, the method includes periodically establishing a cost per shift of each service personnel, and a calculation step of performing an optimizing calculation which over a selected period of time for the servicing of all dispensers or other service operations determines the routes required to service all dispensers and/or perform all desired service operations and a sum of the costs of the shifts of all service personnel, having regard to a selected input matrix of values including at least some of the capacity of each dispenser, the refill value for each dispenser, the number of service personnel, the shifts, and the start and stop times for the shifts…Calculations can be performed with a modified hypothetical matrix values including the additional capacity of the one dispenser and/or the additional dispensers, calculations of routes required and the time of personnel and costs recalculated to determine if more favourable servicing results as to cost or personnel required or other factors and functions. Similarly, by the selective varying of the matrix values of a facility by trial and error calculations, not only can optimized servicing routes, personnel and costing be selected by the location and number of dispensers and the like can be selected towards optimization as desired. [0301] Special events include time periods when the facility (30) is subjected to different usage than normal, for example, high usage of the consumable products (13). Special events are estimated in advance and placed into the schedule in the back office application (18). If desired, the configuration of a facility (30) or the available range of dispensers (12) can be changed for a specific time frame relevant to a special event.)
Although implied, Ophardt does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Hotokeishi,
…plurality of maintenance schedules overlap and the maintenance performable ahead of schedule is absent…(in at least [0062] in FIG. 5A, “maintenance” is set between 10:00 and 11:00 on Mar. 13, 2018 as a schedule item of a printer A as a result of the operator performing the input process as in FIG. 4. Furthermore, for example, as shown in FIG. 5B, schedule items of the printer A for Mar. 13, 2018 are registered as a result of the operator setting other schedule items outside the operation period. In the example shown in FIG. 5B, “operation stoppage” is set between 0:00 and 8:00, “maintenance” is set between 8:00 and 9:00, 13:00 and 14:00, and 18:00 and 19:00, and “recess” is set between 12:00 and 13:00. The operation-period registration unit 111 registers the periods from 9:00 to 12:00, 14:00 to 18:00, and 19:00 to 24:00 as the operation periods of the printer A. [0074] in step S101, the operator performs an operation for changing a schedule item of step processing or an operation for adding a schedule item of step processing, so that the schedule allocation unit 113 acquires a new schedule item of step processing. Then, in step S102, the schedule allocation unit 113 determines whether or not the new schedule item partially or entirely overlaps with an already-registered existing schedule item. The existing schedule item includes a schedule item outside the step operation period and an already-registered schedule item of step processing. [0090] A “device” indicates a device that is to execute step processing. In the example shown in FIG. 8B, a list of printers is displayed. Although there is no change from the printer A in this case, if the printer that is to execute print processing is to be changed, the operator may select a printer after the change from among the printers displayed in the list.)
The reason and rationale to combine Ophardt and Hotokeishi is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 3, Ophardt teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein,
in a case where execution of the maintenance performable ahead of schedule or the forward movable job is planned ahead of schedule, the circuitry is configured to display …. (in at least [0025] The service function may, however, include additional considerations. As one example, it may be expected that there is, for example, in a future period, for example, a special event at a church facility during a weekday in which there will be increased usage of certain key dispensers of the dispensers in the facility. During the time that the special event is occurring, difficulties may arise in respect of the service personnel servicing the key dispenser. Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event. [0248] In the facility (30) of FIG. 8, certain of the dispensers (12) are designated as key dispensers (12) and these dispensers are indicated as key dispensers (12) in FIG. 8 by having the upper case letter for each followed by an asterisk “*”. The key dispensers (12) may be selected as dispensers for which there might be expected to be increased usage during a period of time and for which it is desired that the key dispenser (12) have product as through the time of a special event or for as long as possible during the special event towards preventing or at least minimizing the key dispenser (12) becoming empty or needing to be refilled during the time of the special event. The facility (30) also has certain of the dispensers indicated as critical dispensers indicated on FIG. 8 at the placement of a plus sign “+” following the upper case letter for that dispenser as, for example, with the critical toilet paper dispenser being indicated as P+. These critical dispensers may be selected to cover emergency situations as which may arise, for example, to ensure there is at least toilet paper at some of the toilet paper dispensers in some of the washrooms. [0301] Special events include time periods when the facility (30) is subjected to different usage than normal, for example, high usage of the consumable products (13). Special events are estimated in advance and placed into the schedule in the back office application (18). If desired, the configuration of a facility (30) or the available range of dispensers (12) can be changed for a specific time frame relevant to a special event. [0305] The back office application (18) provides a real time status quo about the monitored entities. Facilities (30), washrooms (31), dispensers (12), service personnel (22), the consumable product used and accordingly the consumable product (13) at hand are preferably tracked and prepared for interactive analysis. [0306] The back room application (18) is preferably tailor-made for any facility manager (24) to provide the facility manager (24) with a simple web frontend to serve all their needs. For example, user-friendly configuration masks are used to show and configure each individual washroom (31) and/or dispenser (12) and to show the actual predicted or desired service levels for each. For example, reference is made to FIG. 6 showing a mask that shows two hypothetical washrooms WR1 and WR2, each with two dispensers D1 and D2 dispensing liquid soap and disinfectant, respectively, one paper towel dispenser T, one toilet paper dispenser P and one waste bin B and showing in a table for a given time the extent the consumable product in each dispenser, if full, as a percent. The table also shows the number of visitors to each washroom in a time period.)
Although implied, Ophardt does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Hotokeishi,
…in a case where execution of the maintenance performable ahead of schedule or the forward movable job is planned ahead of schedule, the circuitry is configured to display a plan change notification…(in at least [0122] FIG. 12B illustrates an example of a warning output by the warning output unit 116. In the example shown in FIG. 12B, a message screen indicating that an existing schedule item exceeds a preset deadline as a result of an addition of a new schedule item is displayed as a warning. Specifically, the new schedule item is a schedule item for job A and the existing schedule item is either one of a schedule item for job 6 and a schedule item for job 7. When the operator selects a “NO” button 16 on the screen, the new schedule item is allocated, whereas the existing schedule item is not allocated, and the operation reception unit 115 becomes in a state where it accepts a change of schedule item. If the operator selects a “YES” button 17 on the screen, the existing schedule item is allocated in a state where it exceeds the preset deadline.)
The reason and rationale to combine Ophardt and Hotokeishi is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 4, Ophardt teaches: The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein,
in a case where the number of users available to perform the maintenance is smaller than the required number of maintenance performers at the time when the plurality of maintenance schedules … and neither the maintenance performable ahead of schedule nor the forward movable job is present or execution of the maintenance performable ahead of schedule or the forward movable job is planned ahead of schedule, the circuitry is configured to … that a time during which the number of maintenance performers is insufficient is present. (in at least [0030] provide for servicing operations to cover emergency situations in which there may be a shortage of supply of product, unusual usage considerations, failure of certain dispensers to operate, the unavailability of service staff or the inability to reach certain of the dispensers. Such factors can be used to adapt these service functions so as, for example, to merely provide service operations to service critical dispensers. For example, critical dispensers might be characterized as being toilet paper dispensers in some or all of the washrooms being refilled by the refilled time yet letting other dispensers not being refilled and becoming empty.)
Although implied, Ophardt does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Hotokeishi,
…plurality of maintenance schedules overlap…(in at least [0062] in FIG. 5A, “maintenance” is set between 10:00 and 11:00 on Mar. 13, 2018 as a schedule item of a printer A as a result of the operator performing the input process as in FIG. 4. Furthermore, for example, as shown in FIG. 5B, schedule items of the printer A for Mar. 13, 2018 are registered as a result of the operator setting other schedule items outside the operation period. In the example shown in FIG. 5B, “operation stoppage” is set between 0:00 and 8:00, “maintenance” is set between 8:00 and 9:00, 13:00 and 14:00, and 18:00 and 19:00, and “recess” is set between 12:00 and 13:00. The operation-period registration unit 111 registers the periods from 9:00 to 12:00, 14:00 to 18:00, and 19:00 to 24:00 as the operation periods of the printer A. [0074] in step S101, the operator performs an operation for changing a schedule item of step processing or an operation for adding a schedule item of step processing, so that the schedule allocation unit 113 acquires a new schedule item of step processing. Then, in step S102, the schedule allocation unit 113 determines whether or not the new schedule item partially or entirely overlaps with an already-registered existing schedule item. The existing schedule item includes a schedule item outside the step operation period and an already-registered schedule item of step processing. [0088] in FIGS. 8A to 8C, registered schedule items of the printer A include maintenance between 10:00 and 11:00 outside the operation period and printing based on job 1 between 13:00 and 14:00, as in FIG. 8A. [0093] in FIGS. 9A to 9C, registered schedule items of the printer A include maintenance between 11:00 and 12:00 outside the operation period and printing based on job 1 between 13:00 and 14:00, as in FIG. 9A. In a case where the operator changes the print schedule item for job 1 from the period between 13:00 and 14:00 to the period between 11:00 and 12:00 by performing a setting process as in the screen shown in FIG. 9B, the changed print schedule item overlaps with the maintenance schedule item between 11:00 and 12:00. In this case, it is determined whether to prioritize the print schedule item or the maintenance schedule item based on whether or not a checkmark exists in the checkbox 13.)
…warn… (in at least [0054] the warning output unit 116 as an example of output means outputs a warning by generating sound or by causing a display, such as the display mechanism 106, to display a message via the display controller 114. For example, in a case where a scheduled time point at which the step processing ends exceeds a preset deadline as a result of the schedule allocation unit 113 allocating the schedule for step processing, the warning output unit 116 outputs a warning. Moreover, for example, in a case where a scheduled time point at which generation of a printed material ends in a print job (i.e., a scheduled time point at which the dispatch step, which is the final step, ends) exceeds a deadline as a result of the schedule allocation unit 113 allocating the schedule for step processing, the warning output unit 116 outputs a warning. [0122] FIG. 12B illustrates an example of a warning output by the warning output unit 116. In the example shown in FIG. 12B, a message screen indicating that an existing schedule item exceeds a preset deadline as a result of an addition of a new schedule item is displayed as a warning. Specifically, the new schedule item is a schedule item for job A and the existing schedule item is either one of a schedule item for job 6 and a schedule item for job 7. When the operator selects a “NO” button 16 on the screen, the new schedule item is allocated, whereas the existing schedule item is not allocated, and the operation reception unit 115 becomes in a state where it accepts a change of schedule item. If the operator selects a “YES” button 17 on the screen, the existing schedule item is allocated in a state where it exceeds the preset deadline. [0123] in FIG. 10D when a schedule item for step processing exceeds a preset deadline, the warning in FIG. 10D does not have to be output if the deadline may be ultimately met.)
The reason and rationale to combine Ophardt and Hotokeishi is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 5, Ophardt teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
register a schedule of the maintenance in a schedule of a user assigned as a user who performs maintenance work. (in at least [0219] The method preferably includes selecting the number of service personnel, and selecting a work shift schedule which establishes the start time and stop time of a work shift for each service personnel when each service personnel will be available for servicing. For example, the routes that are to be calculated and selected can have a one variable the number of service personnel available at any time. The calculation of any route may be performed firstly assuming but one service personnel, or with two personnel or with any number of personnel. The trial and error route calculations will be able to determine, for example, if it may be possible or impossible to service all dispensers for refilling before the refill times with calculations based on the availability of one, two or more service personnel over selected time periods. These time periods may be considered comprised of a work shift for each service personnel which work shifts have a shift start time and a shift end time and may be unique for each service personnel or may be similar time periods, for example, standard work shifts for a facility. The calculation of routes will provide for route selection preferably with an optimization of the number of service personnel working selected shifts with selected start and finish times. [0309] a forecast algorithm determines when the next refill/service route is needed and keep the service personnel (22) efficiently utilized.)
As per Claim 6, Ophardt teaches: The information processing system according to claim 1:
calculate the remaining amount of the consumable item immediately before a job is added to the one or more apparatuses to obtain a calculated remaining amount; and (in at least [0025] During the time that the special event is occurring, difficulties may arise in respect of the service personnel servicing the key dispenser. Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event.)
plan the maintenance based on the calculated remaining amount and the calculated amount of consumption. (in at least [0025] During the time that the special event is occurring, difficulties may arise in respect of the service personnel servicing the key dispenser. Prior to the special event, the method may on the mere criteria of servicing each dispenser before their respective fill time, not require filling of one of the key dispensers during the special event. In accordance with the present invention, the service function can, for example, shortly prior to the special event, require refilling of the key dispensers with a view to ensuring the key dispensers will, for a longer period of time during the special event and preferably for a time until after the special event, not require refilling. For example, prior to the special event, a key dispenser may be provided which has a refill value representing 20% of the capacity of the dispenser. Prior to the special event, the key dispenser may have 75% of its capacity available. While such key dispensers would not on the basis of a mere service function that provides for a filling of that dispenser before its respective refill time, select the key dispenser for refilling before the special event, due to the existence of the special event with the service function requiring refilling of the key dispenser to a 100% level as with a view to having the key dispenser have additional consumable product which may let the key dispenser have product for dispensing through the special event, or as far as possible in the special event or, preferably, until after the special event or at least with minimizing the number of times that that key dispenser might need to be refilled during the special event.)
As per Claim 7 and 8 for a method (see at least Ophardt [0196]) and device (see at least Ophardt [0230][0303]), respectively, substantially recite the subject matter of Claim 1 and are rejected based on the same reasoning and rationale.
Conclusion
/PO HAN LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623