DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected based upon their dependency from claim 5.
Claim 10, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim 13, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim 14, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim 16, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim 17, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim 19, calls for the limitation of "and/or" in line 2. It is unclear which of these limitations is applicable; the ice dispenser; or the water dispenser. As best understood, for the purposes of examination, the limitation “and/or” has been interpreted as “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2016/0003523 A1), hereinafter referred to as KIM et al. ‘523, in view of Porzio et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2013/0259995 A1), hereinafter referred to as Porzio et al ‘995.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, KIM et al. ‘523 disclose a household refrigeration appliance (1), and method comprising: an ice and/or water dispenser apparatus (40) for dispensing at least one of water or ice, said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus having at least one electronically controlled valve (361) configured to adjust a throughflow of water, said at least one electronically controlled valve having an inlet (361x) {as shown in annotated Fig. 19: ¶¶ [0037], [0041] and [0148]}.
However, KIM et al. ‘523 fail to disclose the limitations of a pressure reducer disposed upstream of said electronically controlled valve in a flow direction of the water, said pressure reducer configured to adjust a pressure of the water, resulting in the water at said inlet of said at least one electronically controlled valve having an entry pressure of less than 4 bar.
Porzio et al ‘995 teach: the concept of a pressure reducer (26) disposed upstream of said electronically controlled valve (27) in a flow direction of the water, said pressure reducer configured to adjust a pressure of the water, resulting in the water at said inlet of said at least one electronically controlled valve having an entry pressure of less than 4 bar {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ ¶ [0034] and [0047]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify KIM et al. ‘523 in view of Porzio et al ‘995 to include the use of a pressure reducer disposed upstream of said electronically controlled valve in a flow direction of the water, said pressure reducer configured to adjust a pressure of the water, resulting in the water at said inlet of said at least one electronically controlled valve having an entry pressure of less than 4 bar, in order to facilitate reduction of the water supply pressure {Porzio et al ‘995 - ¶ [0034]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the KIM et al. ‘523 in view of Porzio et al ‘995 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Applicant is reminded that, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Regarding claim 2, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitation of wherein said pressure reducer is configured to adjust the entry pressure of the water at said inlet of said at least one electronically controlled valve to less than 3 bar {see ¶ [0046]}.
Regarding claim 3, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitation of wherein said pressure reducer is configured to adjust the entry pressure of the water at said inlet of said at least one electronically controlled valve to between 1.5 bar and 2.5 bar {see ¶ [0046]}.
Regarding claim 4, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 disclose which further comprises a line (PL) configured to connect the household refrigeration appliance to a fixed water connection (FWC) outside the appliance {as shown in annotated Fig. 19}, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of said pressure reducer (26) being disposed in said line (16) {as shown in Annotated Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 5, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 disclose which further comprises a line (L1/or L2) configured to connect said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus to a fixed water connection (PL) outside the appliance {as shown in annotated Fig. 19}, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of said pressure reducer being disposed in said line.
Regarding claim 6, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 4, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of wherein said pressure reducer is a part (26) separate from said line (16) {as shown in Fig. 19}.
Regarding claim 7, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 5, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of wherein said pressure reducer is a part (26) separate from said line (16) {as shown in Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 8, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 4, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of wherein said pressure reducer (26) is integrated in said line (16) {as shown in Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 9, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 5, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of wherein said pressure reducer is integrated in said line (16) {as shown in Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 10, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 further teach the limitations of wherein said pressure reducer (26) is disposed in said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus (14) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0034]}.
Regarding claim 11, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 which further teach the limitation comprises a further valve or mechanical non-return further valve (28), said pressure reducer being incorporated in said further valve or disposed upstream or downstream of said further valve {as shown in Fig. 2: ¶ [0047]}.
Regarding claim 12, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 11, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 teach the limitations of wherein said further valve (28) is part of said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus (14) {as shown in Fig. 2: ¶ [0048]}.
Regarding claim 13, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 teach the limitations of wherein: said at least one electronically controlled valve (27) of said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus (14) includes at least two electronically controlled valves (25, 27) having inlets (25i/27i) and being configured to adjust the throughflow of water {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0033-0034], [0041] and [0045]}; and said pressure reducer is configured to adjust the pressure of the water for said at least two electronically controlled valves, resulting in the water at said inlets of said at least two electronically controlled valves having an entry pressure of less than 3 bar {see ¶¶ [0035] and [0046]}.
Regarding claim 14, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 teach the limitations of wherein: said at least one electronically controlled valve of said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus includes at least two electronically controlled valves (25,27) having inlets (25i/27i) and being configured to adjust the throughflow of water {as shown in annotated Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0033-0034], [0041] and [0045]}; and said pressure reducer is configured to adjust the pressure of the water for said at least two electronically controlled valves, resulting in the water at said inlets of said at least two electronically controlled valves having an entry pressure of between 1.5 bar and 2.5 bar {see ¶ ¶ [0045-0046]}.
Regarding claim 15, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 as modified by Porzio et al ‘995 teach the limitations of wherein said at least one electronically controlled valve is a solenoid valve (25/27/) {see ¶¶ [0033-0034] and [0041]; wherein electrically operated valve constitutes a solenoid valve}.
Regarding claim 16, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 disclose wherein said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus has an ice production unit (51), and said at least one electronically controlled valve (361) is configured to control water supplied into said ice production unit {as shown in Fig. 19: ¶ [0189]}.
Regarding claim 17, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, KIM et al. ‘523 disclose wherein said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus has a water tank (200) and a water filter (14), and said at least one electronically controlled valve (361) is disposed at least one of upstream of said water filter or upstream of said water tank in the flow direction of the water {as shown in Fig. 19: ¶¶ [0148], [0177] and [0189]}.
Regarding claim 18, combination of KIM et al. ‘523 and Porzio et al ‘995 disclose and teach the household refrigeration appliance according to claim 1, wherein said ice and/or water dispenser apparatus has a water tank (200) and a water filter (14), and said at least one electronically controlled valve (361) is disposed at least one of downstream of said water filter or downstream of said water tank in the flow direction of the water{as shown in Fig. 19: ¶¶ [0148], [0177] and [0189]}.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20240003126-A1 to Perrin; Victor.
US-20120038068-A1 to Bormes; Sascha.
WO-9918294-A1 to LUETTGENS KLAUS.
EP-2070587-A1 to JOHANSSON DANIEL L.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
08/05/2026