DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 64 recites the limitation “the object” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 64, 67, 74, and 81-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195).
Regarding claim 64, Sharifi teaches a method performed by a battery-powered (battery 228 for powering its operation) device (client computing device 104) equipped with an image sensor (camera 224) [Para. 4, 18, and 19], the method comprising the acts: with a processor in said device (client computing device 104), processing (perform a first portion) imagery (image/video captured by the camera 224) with one or more initial layers (a first number of layers) of a neural network (ANN) to yield (obtain) intermediate data (intermediate processing results) [Para. 20 “The digital media item may be obtained by the user 108 operating the client computing device 104 (audio captured by the microphone 220, text obtained via the input/output device 216, image/video captured by the camera 224, etc.).”; Para. 21 “The terms “artificial neural network” and “ANN” as used herein can refer to a machine learned model or family of models that is/are split across the client and server computing devices 104, 112”; Para. 29 “For most processing tasks, the client computing device 104 can select the selected ANN and can perform a first portion (e.g., a first number of layers) of the processing task to obtain intermediate processing results”]; transmitting (transmitting the activations) the intermediate data (intermediate processing results), from said device (client computing device 104) to a remote server (server computing device 112) for remote processing (perform a second portion) with further stages (a remainder of the layers) of a neural network (ANN) [Para. 20 “”; Para. 29 “The client computing device 104 can then communicate with the server computing device 112 via the network 116 (e.g., by transmitting the activations, such as the intermediate processing results and additional information for completing the processing task, such as a unique identifier (ID) of the selected ANN), which can cause the server computing device 112 to perform a second portion (e.g., a remainder of the layers) of the processing task to obtain final processing results, which are then returned to the client computing device 104 for generating an output”].
However, Sharifi doesn’t explicitly teach not sending the imagery.
Yang teaches transmitting the intermediate data (feature map), and not the imagery (image or video data), from said device (distributed device) to a remote server (cloud computing resource) for remote processing (implement fully connected portion) with further stages (one or more additional lower level neural network layers) of a neural network (distributed neural network) [Para. 20 “In some embodiments discussed herein, an end-to-end distributed neural network may be provided for real-time data analytics such as image and/or video analytics”; para. 21 “The distributed device may include a hardware accelerator to implement one or more lower level neural network layers such as convolutional layers, sub-sampling layers, and/or fully connected layers to generate feature maps (e.g., convolutional neural network feature maps or the like) associated with the sensor data. The distributed device such as a camera or the like may transmit the feature maps to a gateway or a cloud computing resource or the like”; Para. 22 “In either embodiment, the cloud computing resource may receive the feature maps (e.g., from the distributed device or the gateway) and the cloud computing resource may optionally implement one or more additional lower level neural network layers to generate feature maps and the cloud computing resource may implement a fully connected portion (e.g., a fully connected multilayer perceptron portion of the neural network) to the received or internally generated feature maps to generate output labels (e.g., object detection labels) or similar data”; para. 24 “Such techniques may reduce the communications bandwidth requirement from the distributed device to the gateway or cloud computing resources (e.g., as transmitting feature maps may require less bandwidth in comparison to transmitting image or video data even with video compression techniques)”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi’s distributed ANN method by incorporating Yang’s teaching of sending intermediate data (feature maps) instead of imagery (image or video data) from the device (distributed device) to the remote server (cloud computing resource) for continuation through further stages and remote processing of the neural network. This modification improves Sharifi by using a representation requiring less bandwidth than image or video data while retaining remote completion of the neural network processing.
Sharifi also teaches receiving (returned to), at said device (client computing device 104), information (final processing results) from the remote server (server computing device 112) that resulted from said remote processing (perform a second portion) [Para. 29 “The client computing device 104 can then communicate with the server computing device 112 via the network 116 (e.g., by transmitting the activations, such as the intermediate processing results and additional information for completing the processing task, such as a unique identifier (ID) of the selected ANN), which can cause the server computing device 112 to perform a second portion (e.g., a remainder of the layers) of the processing task to obtain final processing results, which are then returned to the client computing device 104 for generating an output”].
However, Sharif doesn’t explicitly teach the information that is being about the object.
Yang teaches receiving, at said device, information about the object from the remote server (neural network) that resulted from said remote processing [Para. 23 “multiple object detections (e.g., attempting to detect a variety of objects such as automobiles, faces, human bodies, and so on) may be performed on the same feature maps and/or different object detections may be performed on feature maps of the same format received from different source devices (e.g., cameras and/or gateways).”, fig. 6 and related description. It’s clear that the information is being (detected) about an object.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi’s distributed ANN method by incorporating Yang’s teaching of sending intermediate data (feature maps) instead of imagery (image or video data) from the device (distributed device) to the remote server (cloud computing resource) for continuation through further stages and remote processing of the neural network. This modification improves Sharifi by using a representation requiring less bandwidth than image or video data while retaining remote completion of the neural network processing.
Sharifi teaches wherein said transmitting of the intermediate data produced by said initial layers of a neural network effects a bandwidth economy (further reduce the query payload) [Para. 25 and 29. It is also clear (inherent) that when the system sends less data (no image), not only bandwidth but energy is conserved/saved. It also intended use of the invention].
Sharifi in view of Yang does not disclose conserves battery power, compared to transmitting said imagery. However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 1987).
Regarding claim 67, Sharifi in view of Yang teaches all claim limitations above. Furtehrmore, Yang teaches in which said processing of the imagery (image data) with one or more initial layers of a neural network (lower level neural network layers) comprises applying an array of first coefficients (convolution kernels) associated with said initial layers of the neural network to the imagery, and said remote processing of the intermediate data (feature maps) comprises applying an array of second coefficients (weighed network nodes) associated with said further stages of a neural network (fully connected portion), wherein one of said first coefficients is represented as an N-bit integer (16-bit fixed point), and one of said second coefficients is represented as an M>N-bit integer or as a floating point number (32-bit floating point representations) [Para. 21, 27, 31, and 60].
Regarding claim 74, Sharifi in view of Yang teach all claims limitations above. Furtehrmore, Yang teaches said imagery (image data) comprises plural frames of image data (video frame data; 25 frames per second (FPS)) captured by the image sensor (image sensor) [para. 21, and 62].
Regarding claim 81, Sharifi in view of Yang teach all claims limitations above. Furtehrmore, Yang teaches that additionally includes performing act at the remote server (cloud computing resource), namely performing said remote processing of the intermediate data (feature maps) with said further stages of a neural network (additional lower level neural network layers; fully connected portion) , and sending metadata about the object (output labels) resulting from said remote processing to said device (user interface devices) [Para. 22].
Claims 82 and 83 are rejected for the same reason as claim 64. Furthermore, Sharifi teaches memory, processor and non-transitory readable medium [fig. 2, 3 and related description].
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195) further in view of Chandhok et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0071035).
Regarding claim 65, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Chandhok teaches that includes applying an identification technology (pattern matching) selected from (i) barcode reading, (ii) watermark reading, and (iii) image fingerprint recognition to the imagery (original image), and transmitting the intermediate data (reduced set of features) to the remote server only after said identification technology fails to identify the object (a local match cannot be found) [Para. 31, and 38].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi’s distributed neural network method, modified by Yang, by incorporating Chandhok’s local pattern matching of a barcode or original image and transmitting the reduced set of features to the server only if a local match cannot be found. This modification improves Sharifi by avoiding wireless transmission and server processing when local identification succeeds.
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195) further in view of Chandhok et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0071035) and further in view of Rodriguez et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0143811).
Regarding claim 66, Sharifi in view of Yang further in view of Chandhok doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Rodriguez teaches that includes applying one of said identification technologies (i) - (iii) (green watermark detection) to a first frame of imagery (first frame), and applying a different one of said identification technologies (i) - (iii) (barcode reading) to a following frame of imagery (second frame) [Para. 241].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang further in view of Chandhok so that watermark identification is applied to a first frame and barcode identification is applied to a following frame, as taught by Rodriguez to exploit frame specific capture and processing conditions optimized for the respective recognition technologies. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success because Rodriguez expressly implements the two identification operations on successive frames in the same camera processing pipeline.
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195) further in view of Umuroglu et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0039886).
Regarding claim 68, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Umuroglu teaches in which said processing of the imagery (images) with one or more initial layers of a neural network comprises applying an array of coefficients (NM sets each having KK binary weight values) associated with said initial layers of the neural network to the imagery, wherein said coefficients (weights) are hardwired (hard-coded as part of the logic) in said device (non-programmable IC), and are not stored in a RAM memory of said device [Para. 24, 26, 27 and 34].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s device side initial layers by incorporating Umuroglu’s NM sets each having kk binary weight values implemented as hard coded as part of the logic in a non-programmable IC. This modification improves Sharifi by eliminating RAM storage and access for fixed coefficients, thereby reducing circuit resources and battery use.
Claims 69-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Rane et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0336588).
Regarding claim 69, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
Rane teaches applying 1-, 2- or 3-bit quantization (one-bit quantization) to the intermediate data (matrix y of image feature projections) before transmitting the intermediate data (quantized matrix Q) to the remote server [Para. 57, 71-74].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang by applying Rane’s one bit quantization to the client generated intermediate data before transmission to the server because Rane applies that quantization to analogous image derived feature data and transmits the result to a server. The modification predictably reduces transmitted bit rate and transmit power, further Sharifi’s bandwidth and battery conservation.
Regarding claim 70. Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Rane teaches includes applying run-length compression to the intermediate data before transmitting the intermediate data to the remote server [Para. 57, 71-74, fig. 2, 4 and related description].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang by applying Rane’s one bit quantization to the client generated intermediate data before transmission to the server because Rane applies that quantization to analogous image derived feature data and transmits the result to a server. The modification predictably reduces transmitted bit rate and transmit power, further Sharifi’s bandwidth and battery conservation.
Regarding claim 71 Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Rane teaches applying 1-, 2- or 3-bit quantization (one bit quantization) to the intermediate data before transmitting the intermediate data (matrix Y of image feature projections) to the remote server [Para. 71-73].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang by applying Rane’s one bit quantization to the client generated intermediate data before transmission to the server because Rane applies that quantization to analogous image derived feature data and transmits the result to a server. The modification predictably reduces transmitted bit rate and transmits power, further Sharifi’s bandwidth and battery conservation.
Claims 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Jaber et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0169638).
Regarding claim 72, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Jaber includes receiving, at said device, plural candidate identifications (a plurality of candidates images) of the object (object depicted in the candidate image) from the remote server (recognition server), and a processor in said device 9suer’s computing device) performing one or more further operations (image processing) on the imagery (query image) to select between said candidate identifications (re-ranking of the candidate images) [Para. 38, 42, 103, 104, 74 and 75].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s client server recognition method by incorporating Jaber’s receipt of a plurality of candidate images from a recognition server and local image processing that performs re-ranking of the candidate images. This modification improves Sharifi by locally verifying and re-ranking remotely generated candidates, thereby reducing erroneous identifications.
Regarding claim 73 Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Jaber teaches said one or more further operations includes at least one of a color histogram operation or a cross-correlation operation (a normalized cross-correlation (“NCC”) algorithm) [Para. 54, 109, and 110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s client server recognition method by incorporating Jaber’s receipt of a plurality of candidate images from a recognition server and local image processing that performs re-ranking of the candidate images. This modification improves Sharifi by locally verifying and re-ranking remotely generated candidates, thereby reducing erroneous identifications.
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Ji et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0182469).
Regarding claim 75, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Ji teaches said plural frames (video frames) comprise a set of spaced-apart frames (frames were extracted with a step size of 2) from a sequence of frames (entire video sequence) captured by said image sensor (camera) [Para. 12 and 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s video recognition method, modified by Yang, by incorporating Ji’s frame set in which the frames were extracted with a step size from the entire video sequence captured by a camera. This modification improves Sharifi by retaining temporal recognition information while reducing redundant computation transmitted data, and battery use.
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Barletta et al. (Pub. US 2005/0200762).
Regarding claim 76 Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Barletta teaches in which plural frames (specific video frames) comprises first (selected video frame i) and second frames (subsequent video frame i+k), the second frame having a change (difference) determined to be greater than a threshold change (predefined redundancy threshold S(t)) relative to the first frame [Para. 85].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s video recognition method by incorporating Barletta’s selection of a subsequent video frame i+k when its difference from the selected video frame I exceeds a predefined redundancy threshold s(t). This modification improves Sharifi by avoiding processing and transmission of redundant frames.
Claim 77 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Douglas et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0065803).
Regarding claim 77 Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Douglas teaches compositing multiple frames captured by the image sensor to yield a composite frame, and processing said composite frame with said one or more initial layers of a neural network to yield the intermediate data [Para. 271, 284 and 267].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s method as applied to the plural frames of Yang, by compositing selected frames into Douglas’s panorama that composite image to Sharifi’s initial ANN layers, because Douglas expressly identifies a panorama summary image as a way to apply a CNN to video. The modification predictably retains information from multiple limited field of view frames in one CNN processable image while preserving Sharifi’s split network processing and transmission of intermediate results.
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Whitehill et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0328547).
Regarding claim 78, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Whitehill teaches intermediate data is privacy-preserving, so that any face depicted in the imagery is not recognizable from the intermediate data [Para. 41-43].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s client generated intermediate processing results using Whitehill’s perturbation of identity bearing feature components before transmission, so that useful nonidentity information remains available for downstream remote processing while a depicted face cannot be reconstructed.
Claim 79 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of HO et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0039535).
Regarding claim 79 Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Ho teaches presenting information about the object (recognition result) on a screen of said device (touch sensitive display), together with a user interface feature (user gesture input) permitting a user to signal if the presented information is believed by the user to be incorrect (correct or not) [Para. 24, and 25].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s recognition output by incorporating HO’s touch sensitive display and user gesture input permitting the user to indicate whether the recognition result is correct or not. This modification improves Sharifi by enabling recognition errors to be identified and corrected.
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0277994) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0076195), and further in view of Dunning (Pub. No. US 2008/01594036).
Regarding claim 80, Sharifi in view of Yang doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Dunning teaches capturing image data with the device image sensor (camera 224); compressing (compress) the image data (single image 201) in accordance with a model of the human visual system (models of human perceptual processes), to maintain just visual features of the image that are most important to human perception (portions of the image that a human may perceptually distinguish); and not transmitting the compressed image data to the remote server for processing [Para. 10, 43, and 44].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sharifi in view of Yang’s camera equipped method by incorporating Dunning’s perceptual model compression instead of submitting image to the server. This modification improves Sharifi by retaining a compact, human perceptible local image while avoiding redundant image upload, thereby reducing storage, network traffic, and battery consumption.
Conclusion
/SOLOMON G BEZUAYEHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666