DETAILED ACTION
The applicant’s amendments/remarks dated 08/12/2026 have been received, entered, and fully considered. Claim 5 is amended. Claims 1-4 and 12-13 are cancelled. Claims 5-11 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirmalis et al. (US 6,510,776) in view of Holzschuh et al. (US 5,186,414), and further view of Tech Briefs ( doc, “Spherical Sensor Configurations for Three-Dimensional Detecting and Tracking”) (referred hereinafter as Tech Briefs).
Regarding claim 5, Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (16, Fig. 1-2) comprising an aerial descent control apparatus (parachute 22, Fog. 2) to control a descent of the deployable data link transceiver upon deployment of the deployable data link transceiver (16) from an unmanned aerial vehicle, wherein the deployable data link transceiver (16, Fig. 1-2) comprises a sensor/sensors ( 24,28, Fig. 2), and wherein deployable data link transceiver (16) is capable of transmitting data from the sensor of the deployable data link to the user (col. 4, lines 37-45 “…communications link 26 may be a two-way link such that platform 18 can communicate with pod 16 and link 26 may be active prior to separation of pod 16 from weapon 14.”).
Sirmalis is silent, but Holzschuh teaches receiving and transmitting data to and from a UAV (Autonomous unmanned vehicle platform or missile 40, Fig. 1) via the deployable data link transceiver (30, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deployable data link transceiver disclosed in Sirmalis to receive and transmit data to and from a UAV via the deployable data link transceiver as taught in Holzschuh with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides and get real time status updates to and from the UAV/weapon/missile.
Modified Sirmalis is silent, but Tech Briefs teaches a plurality of sensors positioned about a structure so as to provide a near spherical view around the structure (spherical sensor configuration, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deployable data link transceiver disclosed in modified Sirmalis with a plurality of sensors positioned about it so as to provide a near spherical view around the deployable data link transceiver as taught in Tech Briefs with a reasonable expectation of success because it significantly enhances three-dimensional (3D) situational awareness by detecting/receiving/transmitting data in spherical view/three dimensions.
Regarding claim 6, modified Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (Sirmalis, 16, Fig. 1-2) wherein the aerial descent control mechanism comprises at least one of: (a) an auto rotation apparatus; or (b) a parachute (22, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (Sirmalis, 16, Fig. 1-2) further comprises a functionality inhibiter (112, ‘self-destruct’ mechanism, broadly interpreted, self-destruction will inhibit functionality, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (Sirmalis, 16, Fig. 1-2) wherein the at least one deployable data link transceiver (16) is configured to erase sensitive data (112, ‘self-destruct’ mechanism, broadly interpreted, self-destruction will erase data, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (Sirmalis, 16, Fig. 1-2) further comprising a self-destruct mechanism (112, ‘self-destruct’ mechanism, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sirmalis discloses deployable data link transceiver (Sirmalis, 16, Fig. 1-2) further comprising a visual sensor (camera 24, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sirmalis et al. (US 6,510,776) in further view of Arlton et al. (US 2006/0011777).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Sirmalis is silent, but Arlton teaches a deployable data link transceiver (1, Fig.24), wherein the aerial descent control mechanism comprises at least one of: (a) fins; (b) air breaks; (c) streamer; or (d) a drag chute (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data link transceiver disclosed in modified Sirmalis with the drag chute taught in Arlton with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides braking force to slow down the speed to the deployed data link transceiver.
Response to Arguments
In light of the applicant’s amendment to the claims the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642