DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 01/15/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-40 are new.
Claims 21-40 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 21, 23-25, 27-32, 34-36 and 38-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Kates (US 2007/0139183).
Regarding claim 21: Kates disclose a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable (Fig. 1), when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
determining whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert (¶0136: alert condition is detected and action (provide visual or audible alert) is provided at a certain volume level (audible) or at a certain color (visual) in view of the severity of the alert);
in response to determining to perform the one or more actions, determining whether the one or more actions conflict with a currently executing operation on a device (¶0136: determine a different severity of the condition) ; and
in response to determining that the one or more actions conflict with the currently running operation (¶0136: severity of the condition different from current severity):
altering a state of the currently running operation from a first state to a second state (¶0136: changing volume and/or color of the alarm of the operation of the device);
at least partially after altering the state, performing the one or more actions (¶0136: performing the actual alert); and
after performing the one or more actions, altering the second state of the currently running operation (¶0136: if severity changes, changing the running operation of the device accordingly).
Regarding claim 23: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises providing for display a visual alert on a display of the device. (¶0136)
Regarding claim 24: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises playing an audio alert. (¶0136)
Regarding claim 25: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, wherein:
altering the state of the currently running operation comprises pausing the currently running operation; and
performing the one or more actions comprises, after pausing the currently running operation:
displaying a visual alert; or presenting an audio alert. (¶0136: when severity changes to a new severity, the previous severity and operation of the device associated with it is on pause until their previous severity is determined again)
Regarding claim 27: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises: providing for display input controls representing one or more of:
a request for more data regarding a status of a monitoring system;
a request to change the status of the monitoring system ;
a request for visual data regarding the status of the monitoring system; or
a request to take no action.(¶0122)
Regarding claim 28: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the device comprises one of the one or more computers. (fig. 4, item 113 or Fig. 5, item 125)
Regarding claim 29: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, the operations comprising: receiving sensor data, wherein determining whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert uses the sensor data (¶0044-0047).
Regarding claim 30: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, the operations comprising:
maintaining local data for the device that is executing the operation (¶0130:Threshold levels); and
wherein, determining whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert comprises:
determining, using the local data for the device that is executing the operation, whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert (¶0047).
Regarding claim 31: Kates disclose the system of claim 21, the operations comprising:
determining a location of the device; and
wherein, determining whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert comprises:
determining, using the location of the device, whether to perform one or more actions that correspond to a detected alert (¶0146).
Regarding claim 32: Claim 32 is rejected for the same reason of claim 21.
Regarding claim 34: Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason of claim 23.
Regarding claim 35: Claim 35 is rejected for the same reason of claim 24.
Regarding claim 36: Claim 36 is rejected for the same reason of claim 25.
Regarding claim 38: Claim 38 is rejected for the same reason of claim 27.
Regarding claim 39: Claim 39 is rejected for the same reason of claim 28.
Regarding claim 40: Claim 40 is rejected for the same reason of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 22, 26, 33 & 37 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kates (US 2007/0139183) in view of Bhakta et al. (US 2007/0049255).
Regarding claim 22: Kates disclose the system of claim 21 but does not explicitly disclose wherein altering the state of the currently running operation comprises: changing the currently running operation from a foreground presentation on a display of the device to a background operation.
In analogous art regarding alert systems, Bhakta disclose wherein altering the state of the currently running operation comprises: changing the currently running operation from a foreground presentation on a display of the device to a background operation.(¶0027)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of wherein altering the state of the currently running operation comprises: changing the currently running operation from a foreground presentation on a display of the device to a background operation, as disclose by Bhakta, to the system of Kates. The motivation is to increase the chance of catching the users attention.
Regarding claim 26: Kates disclose the system of claim 21 but does not explicitly disclose wherein: altering the state of the currently running operation comprises lowering a volume of an audio output by the currently running operation; and performing the one or more actions comprises after lowering the volume of the audio output: displaying a visual alert; or presenting an audio alert.
In analogous art regarding alert systems, Bhakta disclose wherein: altering the state of the currently running operation comprises lowering a volume of an audio output by the currently running operation; and performing the one or more actions comprises after lowering the volume of the audio output: displaying a visual alert; or presenting an audio alert. (¶0027)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of wherein altering the state of the currently running operation comprises lowering a volume of an audio output by the currently running operation; and performing the one or more actions comprises after lowering the volume of the audio output: displaying a visual alert; or presenting an audio alert, as disclose by Bhakta, to the system of Kates. The motivation is to increase the chance of catching the users attention.
Regarding claim 33: Claim 33 is rejected for the same reason of claim 22.
Regarding claim 37: Claim 37 is rejected for the same reason of claim 26.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689