DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “indicates when the individual one of the plurality of racing sailboats has successfully restarted the race to exonerate itself of the contravention.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The claims do not previously disclose ending the race, restarting the race, or a contravention.
Claim 8 recites “the second starting mark position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 10 recites “the starting system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Examiner’s Note: It would seem that in drafting the instant claims in view of the parent Application # 17/178,882, Applicant has perhaps inadvertently excluded previously recited required limitations that would, if present in the instant application, render the claims as definite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12222204 (Whitmyer hereafter) in view of Silfven (US 2017/0343359 Continuation of application No. 14/866495 filed September 25, 2015).
Whitmeyer recites A sailboat race tracking system comprising: an event organizer computing device accessible via a telecommunication network at least a portion of which is wireless, the event organizer computing device providing starting mark position data of the race; a plurality of sailboat computing devices each mounted on a respective sailboat and authenticated to said event organizer computing device via sailboat identification and via event race registration; said event organizer computing device being configured for setting a time indicative of a race start for the race; said event organizer computing device transmitting the race start time and the starting mark position data to the plurality of sailboat computing devices; one of the sailboat computing devices calculating a position of the starting line of the race and a time until the respective sailboat crosses the starting line; and the one of the sailboat computing devices displaying a time remaining until the race start time and the time until the sailboat crosses the starting line (Claim 1)
Whitmeyer and the present invention differ in that the present invention further requires “said plurality of sailboat computing devices receiving a signal indicative of a position of the respective sailboat”.
Such a limitation is well-known in the art such as in any generic GPS navigation system.
Silvfen discloses a navigation device for sail boats in a race in which starting time and starting location are transmitted to competing boats (para 0112, 0113), and in which each respective boat has its own GPS sensor for ascertaining own position in order to create a navigation route (para 0039).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Silfven, in order for the boat to determine optimal course and arrival time for a race start (Silfven para 0004, 0007-0009)
Additional claims are rejected at least for their dependence upon the above rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Silfven (US 2017/0343359 Continuation of application No. 14/866495 filed September 25, 2015).
Claim 1: Silfven discloses A sailboat race management system comprising:
an event organizer computing device accessible via a telecommunication network at least a portion of which is wireless, the event organizer computing device providing starting mark position data of the race (para 0055, 0112, 0113)
a plurality of sailboat computing devices each mounted on a respective sailboat and authenticated to said event organizer computing device via sailboat identification and via event race registration ()fig 1 element 102, para 0028, 0029)
said plurality of sailboat computing devices receiving a signal indicative of a position of the respective sailboat (para 0039).
said event organizer computing device being configured for setting a time indicative of a race start for the race (para 0055, 0112, 0113)
said event organizer computing device transmitting the race start time and the starting mark position data to the plurality of sailboat computing devices (para 0055, 0112, 0113);
at least one of the sailboat computing devices calculating a position of the starting line of the race and a time until the sailboat race starts (para 0114); and
the at least one sailboat computing device displaying a time remaining until the race start time and a distance until the sailboat reaches the starting line (para 0048, 0053, 0054, 0055, 0057, 0115-0121)
Claim 2: Silfven discloses said event organizer computing device transmits a starting system comprising signals indicative of a starting sequence of the race (para 0055, 0112, 0113)
Claim 3: Silfven discloses the signals comprise a virtual flag indicative of a stage of the starting sequence (para 0055, 0112, 0113 see “boundary line”)
Claim 4: Silfven discloses said event organizer computing device provides a countdown sequence for time remaining before the race start to the plurality of sailboat computing devices (para 0055)
Claim 5: Silfven discloses the starting mark position data transmitted by said event organizer computing device comprises a starting line, which is determined based on the starting mark position (para 0055, 0112, 0113 see “boundary line”)
Claim 6: Silfven discloses said event organizer computing device transmits a rate metric to each sailboat computing device (para 0055, 0112, 0113), the rate metric being calculated using the position data transmitted by the respective sailboat computing device and indicative of a rate of progress to the starting line (para 0048, 0053, 0054, 0055, 0057, 0115-0121)
Claim 7: Silfven discloses said event organizer computing device indicates when the individual one of the plurality of racing sailboats has successfully restarted the race to exonerate itself of the contravention (para 0048, 0053, 0054, 0055, 0057, 0103, 0115-0121)
Claim 8: Silfven discloses another event organizer computing device which provides the second starting mark position (para 0055, 0112, 0113),
Claim 9: Silfven discloses said event organizer computing device uses the starting line to calculate a course axis and transmits the course axis to the plurality of sailboat computing devices (para 0055, 0112, 0113)
Claim 10: Silfven discloses a race computer that receives the race start time, the starting system, and the starting mark position data from said event organizer computing device, the race computer being accessible by a spectator computing device for displaying the race start time, the starting system, and/or the starting mark position data (para 0048, 0053, 0054, 0055, 0057, 0103, 0115-0121)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648