Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alexander et al. US publication no.: 2017/0146256 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Alexander et al. teach, An actuator comprising: an inductive or magnetic sensor (inductive sensor 526, paragraphs 123-126); a gear (sector gear 530, paragraphs 123-126) comprising an inductive or magnetic pattern provided in material of the gear, wherein different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern become aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor as a heating, ventilating or air conditioning (HVAC) component is driven among positions (see paragraphs 115-116); and a controller (controller 528, figures 17-20) configured to: receive a signal from the inductive or magnetic sensor related to inductance or magnetic field of the portion of the inductive or magnetic pattern aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor; and determine the position of the actuator based on the inductance or magnetic field (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 8, wherein the gear is a sector gear configured to rotate as the position of the actuator changes (see paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 10, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 8, wherein the actuator is a linear actuator comprising a linear component configured to move along a linear range of motion as the position of the actuator changes (see paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 13, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 8, wherein each of the different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern has a different area (see paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 14, Alexander et al. teach, A method for controlling a heating, ventilating or air conditioning (HVAC) actuator (see HVAC actuator, paragraphs 22-23) that includes a motor (motor, paragraphs 23-25), a gear(sector gear 530, paragraphs 123-126) driven by the motor and coupled to a movable HVAC component, and an inductive or magnetic sensor (see paragraphs 109-110 for inductive sensor 526), the method comprising: using the inductive or magnetic sensor to observe an inductance or magnetic field of an element of elements of an inductive or magnetic pattern on the gear aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor, wherein each of the elements of the inductive or magnetic pattern has a different inductance or magnetic field (See paragraphs 163-167 for different inductance); using a stored relationship between the observed inductance or magnetic field and a position of gear to determine the position of the gear based on the observed inductance or magnetic field (see “stored relationship” paragraphs 166-167);and operating the motor to change a position of the movable HVAC component based on the determined position (see paragraph 167).
Regarding claim 15, Alexander et al. teach, The method of claim 14, wherein observing the inductance or magnetic field of the element aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor comprises: delivering an AC current through an inductor integrated with the inductive or magnetic sensor; emitting a first magnetic field from the inductive or magnetic sensor as a result of delivering the AC current through the inductor, the first magnetic field causing Eddy currents in the element; and sensing a second magnetic field caused by the Eddy currents in the element, wherein a strength of the second magnetic field is proportional to an inductance or magnetic field of element aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor (see paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 16, Alexander et al. teach, the method of claim 14, wherein the gear is a sector gear that rotates as the movable HVAC component is driven (see paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 20, Alexander et al. teach, the method of claim 14, wherein the gear has a greater thickness at each of the elements (see paragraph 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al. US publication no.: 2017/0146256 A1 in view of Nagaoka et al. US Patent No.: US 6,983,647 B2.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Alexander et al. teach, An actuator in a heating, ventilating or air conditioning (HVAC) system, the actuator comprising: a motor (see motor, paragraph 123) ; a gear (sector gear 530, paragraphs 123-126) driven by the motor and configured to move an HVAC component among positions; an inductive or magnetic sensor (inductive sensor 526, paragraphs 123-126); and a controller (controller 528, figures 17-20) configured to: receive a signal from the inductive or magnetic sensor indicating an observed inductance or magnetic field of a portion of the inductive or magnetic pattern aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor; use a stored relationship between the observed inductance or magnetic field and a position of the gear to determine the position of the gear based on the observed inductance or magnetic field (see paragraph 127 for “stored” relationship); and operate the motor to move the HVAC component based on the determined position (see paragraphs 127 where the controller operates the motor).
Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the gear comprises an inductive or magnetic pattern provided in material of the gear; wherein different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern become aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor as the HVAC component is driven among the positions.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the gear comprises an inductive or magnetic pattern provided in material of the gear (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45); wherein different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern become aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor as the HVAC component is driven among the positions (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the gear comprises an inductive or magnetic pattern provided in material of the gear; wherein different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern become aligned with the inductive or magnetic sensor as the HVAC component is driven among the positions, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Regarding claim 2, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 1, wherein the inductive or magnetic sensor is fixed to a stationary component of the actuator and the inductive or magnetic pattern is configured to move relative to the inductive or magnetic sensor as the HVAC component is driven among the positions (see paragraph 160).
Regarding claims 3, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 1, wherein: the actuator is a rotary actuator and the gear is a sector gear configured to rotate as the HVAC component between the positions (see paragraph 9).
Regarding claims 4, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 1, wherein: the actuator is a linear actuator comprising a linear component configured to move along a linear range of motion as the HVAC component is driven between the positions (see paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 5, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 1, wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern comprises a set of elements (see paragraphs 117-120).
Regarding claim 6, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 5, wherein the set of elements includes rectangular bars (see paragraphs 117-120).
Regarding claim 7, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 1, wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern comprises sets of elements and each of the sets has a different number of elements (see paragraphs 117-120).
Regarding claim 11, Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the actuator of claim 8, wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is integrally formed in a metal material of the gear.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is integrally formed in a metal material of the gear (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is integrally formed in a metal material of the gear, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Regarding claim 12, Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the actuator of claim 8, wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern comprises separate elements circumferentially disposed on the gear.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern comprises separate elements circumferentially disposed on the gear (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern comprises separate elements circumferentially disposed on the gear, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Regarding claim 13, Alexander et al. teach, the actuator of claim 8, wherein each of the different portions of the inductive or magnetic pattern has a different area (see paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 17, Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the method of claim 14, wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is circumferentially disposed on the gear.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is circumferentially disposed on the gear (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the inductive or magnetic pattern is circumferentially disposed on the gear, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Regarding claim 18, Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the method of claim 14, wherein the elements are stamped portions of a surface of the gear.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the elements are stamped portions of a surface of the gear (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the elements are stamped portions of a surface of the gear, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Regarding claim 19, Alexander et al. is silent on specifically teaching, the method of claim 14, wherein the pattern includes an identical first end stop element and second end stop element.
However, Nagaoka et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the pattern includes an identical first end stop element and second end stop element (see gear 36b, figure 7; col.5, lines 5-45).
In view of Nagaoka et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alexander et al. to include; wherein the pattern includes an identical first end stop element and second end stop element, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of position detection.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837