DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 3-7, 9, and 22 are cancelled.
Claims 27 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 13-16, 19, 21, 23-24, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327).
With respect to claim 1, Woolsey discloses a method implemented by a first device, (par 0003; discloses a real-time sharing component operating on a computing device such as a smartphone, tablet, or personal computer (PC) is configured to enable a local sharing party to share content with a remote party during a phone call) where the method comprises: displaying a first interface indicating that an operator call is currently performed with a second device (fig. 2; discloses first device 110-1 corresponding to local party and second device 110-N corresponding to remote party; fig. 11; discloses a user interface 1100 that indicates a call in currently performed with Don Reid corresponding to second device; see annotated figures below); displaying a second interface of a first application when performing the operator call with the second device (fig. 17; discloses an interface 1700 corresponding to album application that includes 30 items while performing call with Don Reid; see annotated figures below); capturing, when displaying the second interface, multimedia data related to the second interface (fig. 17; par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote use; par 0049; discloses As shown in the succession of screen captures of UI 1900 in FIG. 19, the user 105 may use a touch and drag operation (as shown in the inset drawing 1902) to scroll to the next piece of content 1915 in the album (i.e., item 2 of 30) into the active sharing window 1910. In this example, the next piece of content is a 56 second video clip); receiving a first user operation on the second interface; and sending, to the second device in response to the first user operation, call data of the operator call and first data to the second device via a primary link for the operator call, wherein the first data comprises the multimedia data related to the second interface continuously shared in real time and used by the second device to output the multimedia data of the second interface (par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote user; par 0030; discloses the devices 110 and communications network 115 may be configured to enable device-to-device communication. As shown in FIG. 2, such device-to-device communication 200 can include, for example, voice calls 205, messaging conversations 210, and video calls 215. Support for device-to-device communication 200 may be provided using various applications that run on a device 110; par 0031; discloses the communications 200 can be utilized to support the present real-time sharing during a phone call.; fig. 26 discloses interface of the first display device and fig. 27; discloses interface of the second device where multimedia from first display is displayed on second device in real-time; par 0049; discloses As shown in the UI 2000 in FIG. 20, video transport controls 2005 can be exposed so that the user can scrub the video clip, pause, resume play, etc. as part of the curated real-time sharing session with the remote user during the phone call; i.e. curated real-time sharing session may be continuous during the call session);
Woosley doesn’t expressly disclose obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application;
In the same field of endeavor, MAO discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see fig. 1); MAO discloses obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application (par 0143; discloses the current group of video frame sequences is obtained by using the video call application, and the target bit rate of the current group of video frame sequences is determined according to the percentage of the intra-prediction blocks in the inter-predicted frame in the previous group of video frame sequences, and coding is performed on this basis. The computing device sends, by using the video call application, the coded video stream that is coded according to the foregoing method to the video call peer end for decoding and play,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woosley to incorporate the teachings of MAO to receive the content by the call application and transmit the coded content to the call peer in order to content sharing during call stronger, thereby improving the quality of the content sharing real-time call.
With respect to claim 10, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses further comprising: displaying a third interface, comprising information about a plurality of windows (Woolsey; fig. 13; discloses an interface comprising plurality of windows corresponding to albums); receiving a second user operation on a first window in the plurality of windows, wherein the first window comprises content of the second interface; and further sending, to the second device, in response to the second user operation, the first data (Woosley; par 0045; discloses The user's selection action surfaces UI 1300 in FIG. 13 which provides a vertically scrollable window 1305 of albums of content that are available for sharing with the remote party and the user has selected an album of content 1310 named “Luca Soccer” using a touch 1315; see par 0046; discloses As shown in the UI 1400 in FIG. 14, in response to the user selection, the album opens as a vertically scrollable window 1405 displaying thumbnails 1410 of individual pieces of shareable content including both photos and videos (actual thumbnail images are not shown in FIG. 14 for sake of clarity in illustration). The user can select one or more pieces of content in the album for sharing, for example by touching the appropriate corresponding thumbnails 1410; see par 0048 as well).
With respect to claim 11, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein the plurality of windows comprises at least one of: a second window of a foreground application, a third window of a background application or a fourth window of an application that is installed on the first device and that is not running (Woolsey; par 0037; discloses examples of pre-existing shareable content include images 515, audio 520, video 525, multimedia 530, files 535, applications 540, and other shareable content 545 such as the sharing party's location and/or contact information ; par 0039; discloses various inputs can be used alone or in various combinations to enable the real-time sharing component 450 to utilize contextual data 920 when it operates. Contextual data can include, for example, time/date, the user's location, language, schedule, applications installed on the device; see par 0045 as well).
With respect to claim 13, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein before sending the first data, the method further comprises: receiving a second user operation; and determining, in response to the second user operation, that a type of shared data is a first type, wherein the first data comprises: audio data related to the second interface when the first type is an audio (Woolsey; par 0031; discloses the shareable content 500 can include both pre-existing/previously captured content 505 (e.g., commercially available content and/or user-generated content (UGC), etc.), as well as content 510 associated with live events (e.g., concerts, lectures, sporting events, audio commentary/dictation, video logs (vlogs), etc.)); video data related to the second interface when the first type is an image; and the audio data and the video data when the first type is the audio and the image (Woolsey; fig. 19 and 20; discloses sharing images and videos; par 0037; discloses examples of pre-existing shareable content include images 515, audio 520, video 525, multimedia 530, files 535, applications 540, and other shareable content 545 such as the sharing party's location and/or contact information; par 0045; discloses The UI 1200 provides a number of sharing options 1205 that can be invoked by the user by touch. In this example, the user employs a touch 1215 to select the pictures and video option 1220 among various options to share various other types of content.).
With respect to claim 14, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein the first data comprises video data related to the second interface, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving an a second user operation, of sliding along a track, on the on the second interface; and sending, to the second device, second data comprises comprising audio data related to the second interface (Woolsey; fig. 20; par 0049; discloses As shown in the succession of screen captures of UI 1900 in FIG. 19, the user 105 may use a touch and drag operation (as shown in the inset drawing 1902) to scroll to the next piece of content 1915 in the album (i.e., item 2 of 30) into the active sharing window 1910. In this example, the next piece of content is a 56 second video clip. The video clip can be started when the user presses the exposed play button 1920. As shown in the UI 2000 in FIG. 20, video transport controls 2005 can be exposed so that the user can scrub the video clip, pause, resume play, etc. as part of the curated real-time sharing session with the remote user during the phone call).
With respect to claim 15, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein before sending the first data, the method further comprises: receiving a second user operation for selecting an area in the second interface, and wherein the first data comprises second multimedia data related to the first area (Woolsey; fig. 22; par 0053; discloses FIG. 22 shows a UI 2200 that illustrates another example of real-time sharing. In this example, the user has selected an album named “Camera Roll” that contains 265 pieces of content. Using multiple instances of touches on the device's touchscreen, the user has selected a subset 2205 of 10 photos which are highlighted on the UI. Enabling such selection of just a subset of an album for sharing facilitates privacy protection for the user who may wish to reserve some content from being shared while also enhancing the curated user experience by enabling contextually appropriate content to be shared. The user employs a touch 2210 to share the selected content with the remote party during the phone call).
With respect to claim 16, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein before sending first data, the method further comprises: receiving a second user operation for selecting a first layer in the second interface, and wherein the first data comprises second multimedia data related to the first layer (Woolsey; fig. 24-25; par 0055; discloses content in a selected album is displayed as a filmstrip 2405 of horizontally scrollable thumbnails. An active sharing window 2410 is configured so that the user can drag selected content items from the filmstrip into the sharing window for sharing with the remote party. As shown, the user has employed a touch 2415 to select and drag a video clip into the sharing window 2410. The video clip can be started when the user presses the exposed play button 2520 as shown in FIG. 25).
With respect to claim 19, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses further comprising: receiving, from the second device, broadcast data of a channel; and further displaying, based on the broadcast data, the second interface (Woolsey; par 0064; discloses real-time sharing may still be implemented with a full set of features and user experiences by leveraging capabilities provided by the remote service provider 130 as shown in FIG. 32. The service provider 130 can provide a web service 3205 to a web service client 3210 such as a browser or other application on the remote device so that shared content from the local real-time sharing component 450 can be furnished by the service provider to the client for rendering during sharing 3215; par 0065; discloses When the local sharing party initiates a sharing session, the service provider 130 can send a message 3220 to a messaging application 3225 that is available on the remote device. For example, the message 3220 can be a text message that is transported using SMS (Short Message Service) that contains a link to the shared content and a real-time curated sharing experience that is facilitated by the web service 3205. Par 0066; discloses When the message 3220 is received by the messaging application 3225 it can typically surface the message in a UI, for example UI 3300 shown in FIG. 33; Par 0029 as well).
With respect to claim 21, Woolsey discloses a first device, (fig. 2; device 110 corresponding to local sharing party) comprising: a memory configured to store a computer program; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to cause the first device to (fig. 37; CPU 3702, memory 3704; par 0078; discloses an illustrative architecture 3700 for a device capable of executing the various components described herein for providing the present real-timing sharing during a phone call;): display a first interface indicating that an operator call is currently performed with a second device (fig. 2; discloses first device 110-1 corresponding to local party and second device 110-N corresponding to remote party; fig. 11; discloses a user interface 1100 that indicates a call in currently performed with Don Reid corresponding to second device; see annotated figures above); display a second interface of a first application when performing the operator call with the second device (fig. 17; discloses an interface 1700 corresponding to album application that includes 30 items while performing call with Don Reid; see annotated figures above); capturing, when displaying the second interface, multimedia data related to the second interface (fig. 17; par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote use; par 0049; discloses As shown in the succession of screen captures of UI 1900 in FIG. 19, the user 105 may use a touch and drag operation (as shown in the inset drawing 1902) to scroll to the next piece of content 1915 in the album (i.e., item 2 of 30) into the active sharing window 1910. In this example, the next piece of content is a 56 second video clip); receive a first user operation on the second interface; and send, to the second device in response to the first user operation, , call data of the operator call and first data to the second device via a primary link for the operator call, wherein the first data comprises the multimedia data related to the second interface continuously shared in real time and used by the second device to output the multimedia data of the second interface (par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote user; par 0030; discloses the devices 110 and communications network 115 may be configured to enable device-to-device communication. As shown in FIG. 2, such device-to-device communication 200 can include, for example, voice calls 205, messaging conversations 210, and video calls 215. Support for device-to-device communication 200 may be provided using various applications that run on a device 110; par 0031; discloses the communications 200 can be utilized to support the present real-time sharing during a phone call.; fig. 26 discloses interface of the first display device and fig. 27; discloses interface of the second device where multimedia from first display is displayed on second device in real-time; par 0049; discloses As shown in the UI 2000 in FIG. 20, video transport controls 2005 can be exposed so that the user can scrub the video clip, pause, resume play, etc. as part of the curated real-time sharing session with the remote user during the phone call; i.e. curated real-time sharing session may be continuous during the call session);
Woosley doesn’t expressly disclose obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application;
In the same field of endeavor, MAO discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see fig. 1); MAO discloses obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application (par 0143; discloses the current group of video frame sequences is obtained by using the video call application, and the target bit rate of the current group of video frame sequences is determined according to the percentage of the intra-prediction blocks in the inter-predicted frame in the previous group of video frame sequences, and coding is performed on this basis. The computing device sends, by using the video call application, the coded video stream that is coded according to the foregoing method to the video call peer end for decoding and play,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woosley to incorporate the teachings of MAO to receive the content by the call application and transmit the coded content to the call peer in order to content sharing during call stronger, thereby improving the quality of the content sharing real-time call.
With respect to claim 23, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses wherein the multimedia data comprises at least one of video data or audio data from the first application (Woolsey; par 0049; discloses the next piece of content is a 56 second video clip. The video clip can be started when the user presses the exposed play button 1920. As shown in the UI 2000 in FIG. 20, video transport controls 2005 can be exposed so that the user can scrub the video clip, pause, resume play, etc. as part of the curated real-time sharing session with the remote user during the phone call.).
With respect to claim 24, Woolsey discloses a method implemented by a first device, (Woolsey; par 0003; discloses a real-time sharing component operating on a computing device such as a smartphone, tablet, or personal computer (PC) is configured to enable a local sharing party to share content with a remote party during a phone call) where the method comprises: displaying a first interface indicating that an operator call is currently performed with a second device (Woolsey; fig. 2; discloses first device 110-1 corresponding to local party and second device 110-N corresponding to remote party; fig. 11; discloses a user interface 1100 that indicates a call in currently performed with Don Reid corresponding to second device; see annotated figures below); displaying a second interface of a first application when performing the operator call with the second device (Woolsey; fig. 17; discloses an interface 1700 corresponding to album application that includes 30 items while performing call with Don Reid; see annotated figures below); capturing, when displaying the second interface, multimedia data related to the second interface (Woolsey; fig. 17; par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote use; par 0049; discloses As shown in the succession of screen captures of UI 1900 in FIG. 19, the user 105 may use a touch and drag operation (as shown in the inset drawing 1902) to scroll to the next piece of content 1915 in the album (i.e., item 2 of 30) into the active sharing window 1910. In this example, the next piece of content is a 56 second video clip); receiving a first user operation on the second interface; and sending call data of the operator call to the second device via a primary link for the operator call; and sending first data to the second device via an auxiliary link in response to the first user operation, wherein the first data comprises the multimedia data related to the second interface shared continuously in real time and is used by the second device to output the multimedia data of the second interface (Woolsey; par 0047; discloses when the user is ready to initiate a curated sharing experience, as shown in the UI 1700 in FIG. 17, a touch 1705 on content thumbnail 1710 lights up the sharing screen and that piece of selected content is shared with the remote user; par 0030; discloses the devices 110 and communications network 115 may be configured to enable device-to-device communication. As shown in FIG. 2, such device-to-device communication 200 can include, for example, voice calls 205, messaging conversations 210, and video calls 215. Support for device-to-device communication 200 may be provided using various applications that run on a device 110; par 0031; discloses the communications 200 can be utilized to support the present real-time sharing during a phone call. Audio associated with a phone call and sharing session may be carried in part over a PSTN or mobile operator network while shared content such as pictures, video, etc., can be carried over a Wi-Fi or other network; par 0049; discloses As shown in the UI 2000 in FIG. 20, video transport controls 2005 can be exposed so that the user can scrub the video clip, pause, resume play, etc. as part of the curated real-time sharing session with the remote user during the phone call; i.e. curated real-time sharing session may be continuous during the call session);
Woosley doesn’t expressly disclose obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application;
In the same field of endeavor, MAO discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see fig. 1); MAO discloses obtaining a multimedia data stream through an interface of the first application (par 0143; discloses the current group of video frame sequences is obtained by using the video call application, and the target bit rate of the current group of video frame sequences is determined according to the percentage of the intra-prediction blocks in the inter-predicted frame in the previous group of video frame sequences, and coding is performed on this basis. The computing device sends, by using the video call application, the coded video stream that is coded according to the foregoing method to the video call peer end for decoding and play,);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woosley to incorporate the teachings of MAO to receive the content by the call application and transmit the coded content to the call peer in order to content sharing during call stronger, thereby improving the quality of the content sharing real-time call.
With respect to claim 27, Woolsey as modified by MAO further discloses wherein capturing the multimedia data by obtaining the multimedia data stream through the interface of the first application comprises obtaining the multimedia data stream before decoding (MAO; par 0143; discloses The computing device sends, by using the video call application, the coded video stream that is coded according to the foregoing method to the video call peer end for decoding and play, so that adaptive coding capabilities of the video real-time call are stronger, thereby improving the quality of the video real-time call; par 0028; discloses the first terminal 110 may send a coded video stream obtained after coding to the second terminal 120 (that is, a video call peer end), and the second terminal 120 decodes and plays the received coded video stream i.e. decoding is performed on the receiver side).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327) and PENG (US Pub 2019/0018558).
With respect to claim 2, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses the interfaces comprising a share control and wherein the first user operation is either on a share control in the first floating window or sliding input along a track (Woolsey; fig. 11; share control 1110; touch command 1115; par 0044; discloses When the user (i.e., the local sharing party) selects a share button 1110 that is exposed on the phone app's UI, here using a touch 1115 on a touch screen or other interaction, a sharing UI 1200 is surfaced as shown in FIG. 12 so that the user can initiate a real-time sharing session with the remote party);
Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose wherein each of the first interface and the second interface comprises a first floating window;
In the same field of endeavor, PENG discloses electronic device and method for sharing content (see abstract); PENG discloses wherein each of the first interface and the second interface comprises a first floating window, and wherein the first user operation is either on a share control in the first floating window or sliding input along a track (fig. 2; discloses the interface includes a floating widget that includes share control par 0053; discloses As shown in FIG. 2, a user clicks an extraction button on the current interface (first application program (APP) or first interface) of the intelligent terminal, to multimedia information data of the current interface of the intelligent terminal to the created floating widget, and displays in real time; at the same time, the contents of the current interface (the first application (APP) or the first interface) of the intelligent terminal are also displayed normally, and then the user clicks the sharing or transmission button on the floating widget to transmit data to the second application (APP) or the second interface that currently is matched the same data transfer protocol);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of PENG to display a floating window that includes the share control that can be collapsed or expanded based on user input in order to free-up the space on the display such that other contents are viewable to the user.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327) and Jayaweera (US Pub 2021/0044645).
With respect to claim 25, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose wherein before sending the first data, the method further comprises: sending, to a network device, a first request message comprising identification information of the second device; receiving, from the network device based on the first request message, a session identifier of the second device; and establishing, based on the session identifier, the auxiliary link to the second device;
In the same field of endeavor, Jayaweera discloses system and method for establishing conferences and sharing content between devices (see abstract); Jayaweera discloses wherein before sending the first data, the method further comprises: sending, to a network device, a first request message comprising identification information of the second device; receiving, from the network device based on the first request message, a session identifier of the second device; and establishing, based on the session identifier, the auxiliary link to the second device (par 0051; discloses the user of the first participating device A 120 may initiate joining 314 of the session by using the same user/participant/account identifier (User ID X) as used with the primary device A 120 and/or using the device identifier C for the peripheral device C 122. In one example, the peripheral device C 122 may simply pull up a website for the conference session and logs into the session. For instance, the peripheral device C 122 may send a message or request to join 316 the conference session using the user/participant/account identifier (User ID X). To distinguish the peripheral device C 122 from the primary device A 120, the server 106 may use the unique device identifiers ID A and ID C. Upon receipt of the join request 316 from the peripheral device C 122, the server 106 may add 318 the peripheral device C 122 to the video conference session; see par 0039 as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of Jayaweera to use the session identifier and device identification to join the session in order to allow user and devices to join the session correctly based on device authentication, enhancing the security and privacy of the session.
Claim(s) 8, 12, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327) and HONG et al (US Pub 2021/0227358).
With respect to claim 8, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose further comprising: displaying a third interface, comprising information about a plurality of devices, wherein the second device is among the plurality of devices; receiving, via the third interface, a second user operation on the second device; and further sending, to the second device, in response to the second user operation, the first data;
In the same field of endeavor, HONG discloses electronic device and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); HONG discloses displaying a third interface, comprising information about a plurality of devices, wherein the second device is among the plurality of devices (fig. 6B; discloses an interface comprising a list of contacts corresponding to different devices; par 0076; discloses As shown in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may run a contact application which stores a list of contacts of a user of the transmitting-side electronic device, and receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to a user of the receiving-side electronic device 104. In addition, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive a call connection command. For example, in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to the receiving-side electronic device 104, such as ‘Kimberly Lopez’ 612); receiving, via the third interface, a second user operation on the second device; and further sending, to the second device, in response to the second user operation, the first data (par 0083; discloses if the sharing object 634 is selected, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may send a request for sharing of data corresponding to the sharing object, to the receiving-side electronic device 104; par 0087; discloses the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data in response to a detection of a touch on an Accept icon displayed on its display. For example, when sending a request for sharing of the data to the receiving-side electronic device 104, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may display a notification 641 indicating that the transmitting-side electronic device 101 is requesting sharing of the data, as shown in FIG. 7A. As shown in FIG. 7B, the receiving-side electronic device 104 may display an Accept icon 644 and a Reject icon 646 on its display. In this case, in response to a detection of a touch on the Accept icon 644, the processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data. The processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may send the sharing acceptance to the transmitting-side electronic device 101);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of HONG to display an interface comprising information related to plurality of devices in order to allow user to make a selection to initiate call with the selected device among plurality devices. The modification would allow user to easily see plurality of devices in one location and allowing quick selection to start communication.
With respect to claim 12, Woolsey as modified by MAO discloses further comprising: displaying a third interface, comprising a plurality of sharing manners (Woolsey; fig. 12; discloses an interface comprising a list of items that may be shared with other devices); receiving a second user operation on a first sharing manner; displaying a fourth interface, comprising information about windows, that are based on the first sharing manner (Woolsey; par 0045; discloses the UI 1200 provides a number of sharing options 1205 that can be invoked by the user by touch. In this example, the user employs a touch 1215 to select the pictures and video option 1220 among various options to share various other types of content. ); receiving a third user operation on a first window among the plurality of windows, wherein the first window comprises content of the second interface (Woolsey; fig. 13; par 0045; the user's selection action surfaces UI 1300 in FIG. 13 which provides a vertically scrollable window 1305 of albums of content that are available for sharing with the remote party and the user has selected an album of content 1310 named “Luca Soccer” using a touch 1315.);
Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose displaying a fourth interface, comprising information about devices; receiving a fourth user operation on the second device in the devices; and further sending, to the second device based on the third user operation and the fourth user operation, the first data;
In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, HONG discloses electronic device and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); HONG discloses displaying a fourth interface, comprising information about devices; (fig. 6B; discloses an interface comprising a list of contacts corresponding to different devices; par 0076; discloses As shown in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may run a contact application which stores a list of contacts of a user of the transmitting-side electronic device, and receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to a user of the receiving-side electronic device 104. In addition, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive a call connection command. For example, in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to the receiving-side electronic device 104, such as ‘Kimberly Lopez’ 612); receiving a fourth user operation on the second device in the devices; and further sending, to the second device based on the third user operation and the fourth user operation, the first data (par 0083; discloses if the sharing object 634 is selected, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may send a request for sharing of data corresponding to the sharing object, to the receiving-side electronic device 104; par 0087; discloses the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data in response to a detection of a touch on an Accept icon displayed on its display. For example, when sending a request for sharing of the data to the receiving-side electronic device 104, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may display a notification 641 indicating that the transmitting-side electronic device 101 is requesting sharing of the data, as shown in FIG. 7A. As shown in FIG. 7B, the receiving-side electronic device 104 may display an Accept icon 644 and a Reject icon 646 on its display. In this case, in response to a detection of a touch on the Accept icon 644, the processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data. The processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may send the sharing acceptance to the transmitting-side electronic device 101);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of HONG to display an interface comprising information related to plurality of devices in order to allow user to make a selection to initiate call with the selected device among plurality devices. The modification would allow user to easily see plurality of devices in one location and allowing quick selection to start communication.
With respect to claim 26, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose further comprising: displaying a third interface comprising information about a plurality of devices, wherein the second device is among the plurality of devices; receiving, via the third interface, a second user operation on the second device; and further sending, to the second device, in response to the second user operation, the first data;
In the same field of endeavor, HONG discloses electronic device and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); HONG discloses displaying a third interface comprising information about a plurality of devices, wherein the second device is among the plurality of devices (fig. 6B; discloses an interface comprising a list of contacts corresponding to different devices; par 0076; discloses As shown in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may run a contact application which stores a list of contacts of a user of the transmitting-side electronic device, and receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to a user of the receiving-side electronic device 104. In addition, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive a call connection command. For example, in FIG. 6B, the processor 120 of the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may receive an input for a selection of a contact corresponding to the receiving-side electronic device 104, such as ‘Kimberly Lopez’ 612); receiving, via the third interface, a second user operation on the second device; and further sending, to the second device, in response to the second user operation, the first data (par 0083; discloses if the sharing object 634 is selected, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may send a request for sharing of data corresponding to the sharing object, to the receiving-side electronic device 104; par 0087; discloses the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data in response to a detection of a touch on an Accept icon displayed on its display. For example, when sending a request for sharing of the data to the receiving-side electronic device 104, the transmitting-side electronic device 101 may display a notification 641 indicating that the transmitting-side electronic device 101 is requesting sharing of the data, as shown in FIG. 7A. As shown in FIG. 7B, the receiving-side electronic device 104 may display an Accept icon 644 and a Reject icon 646 on its display. In this case, in response to a detection of a touch on the Accept icon 644, the processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may perform sharing acceptance for the data. The processor of the receiving-side electronic device 104 may send the sharing acceptance to the transmitting-side electronic device 101);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of HONG to display an interface comprising information related to plurality of devices in order to allow user to make a selection to initiate call with the selected device among plurality devices. The modification would allow user to easily see plurality of devices in one location and allowing quick selection to start communication.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327) and RAJA et al (US Pub 2015/0281394).
With respect to claim 17, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose wherein sending the first data comprises sending, when the first application is not a preset application and to the second device, the first data, and wherein a security level of the preset application is higher than a first level;
In the same field of endeavor, RAJA discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see abstract); RAJA discloses wherein sending the first data comprises sending, when the first application is not a preset application and to the second device, the first data, and wherein a security level of the preset application is higher than a first level (par 0083; discloses the first user and the second user can want to retrieve and share different photos (e.g., the second photo and the fourth photo) including their faces, as application data corresponding to the common interest. par 0084; discloses the application data corresponding to the common interest of the first user and the second user can include various multimedia contents, such as photos, music, messages, and the like; par 0123; discloses The users of the electronic devices can have the same or different privacy levels, and the privacy level can individually allow or restrict the right to share whole or part of the user information; see par 0131; discloses Each electronic device can individually determine whether to share application data of contents requiring privacy protection among the combinatorial data. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of RAJA to share or restrict sharing of content based on the privacy level of the content in order to allow user to maintain the security of sensitive information.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327), RAJA et al (US Pub 2015/0281394) and SEKO (US Pub 2018/0189510).
With respect to claim 18, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose further comprising: identifying that a security level of second data related to an area in the second interface is higher than a first level; and further sending, to the second device, in response to identifying that the security level of the second data is higher than the first level, the first data without the second data;
In the same field of endeavor, RAJA discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see abstract); RAJA discloses identifying that a security level of second data related to the second interface is higher than a first level; and further sending, to the second device, in response to identifying that the security level of the second data is higher than the first level, the first data without the second data (par 0123; discloses The users of the electronic devices can have the same or different privacy levels, and the privacy level can individually allow or restrict the right to share whole or part of the user information; see par 0131; discloses Each electronic device can individually determine whether to share application data of contents requiring privacy protection among the combinatorial data);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of RAJA to share or restrict sharing of content based on the privacy level of the content in order to allow user to maintain the security of sensitive information;
Woolsey as modified by MAO and RAJA don’t expressly disclose identifying that a security level of second data related to an area in the second interface is higher than a first level;
In the same field of endeavor, SEKO discloses system and method for controlling access to images (see abstract); SEKO discloses identifying that a security level of second data related to an area in the second interface is higher than a first level (fig. 4; discloses image may have different security level that opaques different are of the image based on the security level; see par 0060-0062 as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO and RAJA to incorporate the teachings of SEKO to associate different security level to image that provide partial obfuscation of the respective image in order to allow users to hide the sensitive information within an image hidden during sharing session while sharing non-sensitive portion of the image.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey et al (US Pub 2016/0072861) in view of MAO (US Pub 2019/0297327), and LEE et al (US Pub 2022/0272644).
With respect to claim 20, Woolsey as modified by MAO doesn’t expressly disclose further comprises receiving, from the second device, broadcast data of a channel; receiving a second user operation; and sending, to a third device, in response to the second user operation, the broadcast data to output at least one of an audio of the channel or a video of the channel;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses system and method for wireless communication between device and audio transmission method (see par 0001); LEE discloses receiving, from the second device, broadcast data of a channel; (par 0168; discloses the link layer establishes a connection between devices after performing the advertising and scanning function using three advertising channels, and provides a function of exchanging a maximum of 42 bytes of data packets through 37 data channels) receiving a second user operation (par 0105; discloses he server device may provide the data information to a user through a display unit or receive a request input from the user through a user input interface in the process of transmitting and receiving the notice, indication, and confirm messages to and from the client device); and sending, to a third device, in response to the second user operation, the broadcast data to output an audio of the channel and/or a video of the channel (par 0522; discloses the third device transmits a connection request message for establishing a connection with each of the first device and the second device based on the first advertising message and the second advertising message (S3810). Based on the connection request message, the third device may establish a connection with the first device and the second device, respectively; par 0573; discloses When a multi-channel surround sound system is configured based on a broadcast method, the third device transmits audio data (hereinafter, referred to as broadcast audio data) based on the broadcast method.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Woolsey as modified by MAO to incorporate the teachings of LEE to establish communication between plurality of devices such that different data may be shared with different devices simultaneously such that generating the audio via a third connected device during sharing of contents between devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 1, 21 and 24 have been fully considered but they are moot as the arguments do not apply to new reference and new ground of rejection being used.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624