DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“recording device” in claims 1-14 and 16-20;
“components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (2016/0069644) in view of Gordon (7194204), further in view of Lorey, and further in view of Lacorte (2017/0175081).
In reference to claim 1, Bell discloses a system comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraph 285, “rangefinder”);
a scope operatively coupled to the rangefinder, the scope including a lens assembly and components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom (figures, e.g. figure 14C-2; paragraph 285, “scope”; at least paragraphs 14, 28, 120, and 167 clearly disclose a lens assembly including an objective lens and other optical elements/components; at least paragraphs 14, 28, and 285 disclose components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom)
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the distance information to the scope;
wherein the scope is configured to automatically adjust focus and zoom based on the distance information (paragraph 285); and
the scope further including a processor with memory storing code, the processor being configured, responsive to successive distance determinations indicating changing distances (distance information) from the rangefinder, which are sent from the rangefinder to the scope, to command the components to automatically adjust the focus and the zoom based at least in part on the changing distances information (paragraphs 14, 208, and 285; also see figure 14C, processor 592 and memory 594).
Thus, Bell discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the scope constitutes a recording device, wherein the processor is configured to perform the above-noted functions during recording, and wherein the rangefinder is a soundwave-based rangefinder, as claimed. Further, Bell fails to disclose that the successive distance determinations are made while a button or a trigger is held down that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine the distance to the object and to send the distance information to the recording device.
Regarding the scope being a recording device, Gordon teaches it is known to configure a scope as a combination scope and recording device, capable of performing its scope function during recording, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope (abstract; column 6, second paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the scope of Bell as a combination scope and recording device, capable of performing its scope function during recording, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope.
Regarding the functionality to increase a field of view, Bell fails to explicitly disclose automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle, as claimed. However, it is noted that a field of view can be changed via zooming, and Bell discloses a programmable auto-zoom function (paragraph 285). Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by Bell in view of Gordon with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the rangefinder, Bell discloses that the rangefinder transmits a beam of energy, but doesn’t specify soundwaves (paragraph 196). However, Lorey teaches it is known to form such a rangefinder as a soundwave-based rangefinder, as claimed, in order to determine a distance to a target object (column 3, lines 8-17). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rangefinder of Bell as a soundwave-based rangefinder, as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a distance to a target object in a manner consistent with the broad disclosure of Bell.
Regarding the button or trigger of the rangefinder, Lacorte teaches that it is known to provide a rangefinder with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (paragraph 19). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rangefinder of Bell with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (or if the target is large, portions of said target may be disposed at different ranges). As set forth above, Bell discloses that the rangefinder sends the distance information to the scope, and the proposed modification relative to Gordon renders the scope as a recording device.
In reference to claims 2 and 3, Bell in view of Gordon, further in view of Lorey, and further in view of Lacorte (the modified Bell) makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell, paragraph 172 and 203, “wired-based link or a wireless link,” “wired or wireless links”).
In reference to claims 4, 6, 8, and 9, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell: auto-zoom; paragraph 285).
In reference to claims 5 and 7, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention, except for automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle as claimed. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by the modified Bell with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
In reference to claims 10 and 11, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell, figures).
In reference to claims 13 and 14, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention (rangefinder is part of a handheld system, i.e., the entire system, including the rifle and rangefinder, is handheld).
In reference to claims 15 and 16, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1.
In reference to claim 17, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention, except for wherein the rangefinder and recording device share a same housing. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rangefinder and recording device in a common housing, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces (e.g., two housings into one) and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
In reference to claim 19, the modified Bell makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (2016/0069644) in view of Gordon (7194204), further in view of Lacorte.
In reference to claim 1, Bell discloses a system comprising:
a rangefinder (paragraph 285, “rangefinder”);
a scope operatively coupled to the rangefinder, the scope including a lens assembly and components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom (figures, e.g. figure 14C-2; paragraph 285, “scope”; at least paragraphs 14, 28, 120, and 167 clearly disclose a lens assembly including an objective lens and other optical elements/components; at least paragraphs 14, 28, and 285 disclose components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom)
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object and provide the distance information to the scope, as claimed (paragraph 196, round trip time of the beam energy);
wherein the scope is configured to automatically adjust focus and zoom based on the distance information (paragraph 285); and
the scope further including a processor with memory storing code, the processor being configured, responsive to successive distance determinations indicating changing distances (distance information) from the rangefinder, which are sent from the rangefinder to the scope, to command the components to automatically adjust the focus and the zoom based at least in part on the changing distances, and wherein the automatic adjustments are not based on contrast detection (paragraphs 14, 208, and 285; also see figure 14C, processor 592 and memory 594).
Thus, Bell discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the scope constitutes a recording device, wherein the processor is configured to perform the above-noted functions during recording. Further, Bell fails to disclose that the successive distance determinations are made while a button or a trigger is held down that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine the distance to the object and to send the distance information to the recording device.
Regarding the scope being a recording device, Gordon teaches it is known to configure a scope as a combination scope and recording device, capable of performing its scope function during recording, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope (abstract; column 6, second paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the scope of Bell as a combination scope and recording device, capable of performing its scope function during recording, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow a user to capture still images and video of the field of view of the scope.
Regarding the functionality to increase a field of view, Bell fails to explicitly disclose automatically increasing and decreasing a field of view angle, as claimed. However, it is noted that a field of view can be changed via zooming, and Bell discloses a programmable auto-zoom function (paragraph 285). Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to configure auto-zoom functions such that they automatically increase and decrease field of view angles (i.e., field of view) as claimed, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system made obvious by Bell in view of Gordon with the functionality to automatically increase and decrease a field of view angle as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to keep an object in full view no matter the zoom (in or out) that the auto-zoom has assumed.
Regarding the button or trigger of the rangefinder, Lacorte teaches that it is known to provide a rangefinder with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (paragraph 19). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rangefinder of Bell with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (or if the target is large, portions of said target may be disposed at different ranges). As set forth above, Bell discloses that the rangefinder sends the distance information to the scope, and the proposed modification relative to Gordon renders the scope as a recording device.
In reference to claim 20, Bell in view of Gordon makes obvious the claimed invention (Bell, paragraph 196).
Claims 1, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (5631699) in view of Lorey, further in view of Lacorte.
In reference to claim 1, Saito discloses a system, comprising:
a rangefinder (column 5, last two lines, to column 6, lines 1-3); and
a recording device operatively coupled to the rangefinder (paragraph bridging columns 5 and 6; camera 10),
wherein the rangefinder is configured to determine a distance to an object, as claimed, and provide the determined distance to the recording device (paragraph bridging columns 5 and 6),
wherein the recording device is configured to automatically increase a field of view in response to the object becoming relatively larger in the field of view, i.e., wherein the recording device is configured to automatically increase a field of view in response to the object getting closer to the recording device (paragraphs bridging columns 5 and 6; figures 11(a) and 11(b)),
wherein the recording device comprises a lens assembly (lens L; column 6, lines 54-64), components configured to adjust lens focus and zoom (column 6, lines 54-64), and a processor with memory storing code, the processor being configured, during recording and responsive to successive distance determinations indicating changing distances (distance information) from the rangefinder, which are sent from the rangefinder to the recording device, to command the components to automatically adjust the focus and the zoom based at least in part on the changing distances, and wherein the automatic adjustments are not based on contrast detection (column 3, lines 43-50; column 5, line 29, to column 6, line 10; column 6, lines 54-64; figures 11(a) and 11(b) demonstrate successive distance determinations and the corresponding zoom adjustments).
Thus, Saito discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the rangefinder is configured as claimed. Further, Saito fails to disclose that the successive distance determinations are made while a button or a trigger is held down that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine the distance to the object and to send the distance information to the recording device
However, Lorey teaches it is known to form a rangefinder as a soundwave-based rangefinder, as claimed, in order to determine a distance to a target object (column 3, lines 8-17). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rangefinder of Saito as a soundwave-based rangefinder, as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a distance to a target object in a known manner.
Further, Lacorte teaches it is known to provide a rangefinder with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (paragraph 19). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rangefinder of Saito with a trigger that causes the rangefinder to continuously determine a distance to a target when pressed, in order to allow for dynamic ranging of a target that provides up-to-the-moment range data for the target, e.g., if the target is moving, the range will be changing (or if the target is large, portions of said target may be disposed at different ranges). As set forth above, Saito discloses that the rangefinder sends the distance information to the recording device.
In reference to claims 18 and 19, Saito in view of Lorey makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito in view of Lorey, further in view of Lacorte, further in view of Holmberg (2007/0157503), and further in view of Drost et al. (2014/0029236).
Saito in view of Lorey and Lacorte makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above, except for (1) a weapon having a weapon sight, wherein the recording device is mounted to the weapon, and (2) wherein the recording device includes horizontal and vertical adjustments, as claimed.
Regarding (1), Holmberg teaches it is known to combine a recording device, like that of Saito, with a weapon having a weapon sight, wherein the recording device is mounted to the weapon, in order to facilitate video recording of a shooting event, e.g., the ability to record a hunt (paragraphs 2, 15, and 18; figures). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the recording device of Saito in view of Lorey with a weapon having a weapon sight, wherein the recording device is mounted to the weapon, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate video recording of a shooting event, e.g., the ability to record a hunt.
Regarding (2), Drost teaches it is known to provide a recording device with its own horizontal and vertical adjustments, in order to adjust a field of view of the recording device independent of any other device (paragraph 75: pan and tilt adjustments). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recording device of Saito in view of Lorey with horizontal and vertical adjustments, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust a field of view of the recording device independent of any other device (i.e., to provide pan and tilt adjustments).
Double Patenting
Claims 18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/489,990 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims set forth each and every feature of the instant application claims, albeit more specifically. Thus, the invention of the reference application claims is a species of the more generic invention of the instant application claims. As such, the invention of the reference application claims “anticipates” the invention instant application claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant argues that the newly added limitations found in claims 1 and 18 obviate said rejection. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly added limitations are taught by Lacorte, and, thus, the examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to modify the invention of the copending application to have the features set forth in said limitations, in order to realize the advantages and benefits associated therewith.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Further, it is noted that the examiner has applied a new reference (Lacorte) to teach the limitations newly added to claims 1 and 18. Thus, Applicant’s arguments with respect to said newly added limitations have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner asserts that the applied art clearly renders obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
Conclusion
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641