DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,947,527 B2 as well as claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,259,880 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are a broader version of the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ceballos et al., US 2010/0161646 A1 (hereinafter “Ceballos”).
Claim 1: Ceballos teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of operations comprising:
displaying, by a graphical user interface (GUI), a first visual representation of a first query in a first region of the GUI, the first query associated with first query information including a first data object comprising one or more records to be used for execution of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C], [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager);
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A]-[Fig. 4C]):
displaying, in a second region of the GUI, a plurality of selectable sets of metadata (Ceballos, [0029] note FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C illustrate additional screenshots of example UI 300 for Query Builder module 100. In these example screenshots, the user has added another row of criteria to the query via add criteria button 470. Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5);
receiving a selection of a particular set of metadata from among the plurality of selectable sets of metadata, wherein the particular set of metadata defines a plurality of query characteristics including an identifier for a second data object; identifying the second data object associated with the selection (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A], [Fig. 4B], [0092] note Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5. This criteria is added to the criteria from FIG. 3C via Boolean operator 420. The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND (Level>5), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5); and
responsive to receiving the selection: generating a second visual representation of a second query, wherein the second query is a child query of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 4B], [Fig. 4C], [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row. FIG. 4C illustrates the addition of the new row using extend button. Row 440 adds to the criteria in row 410 via Boolean connector 450. Rows 410 and 440 are grouped together by box 460);
configuring the second query for execution using a set of one or more records from the second data object (Ceballos, [0029] note The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND ((Level>5) AND (Job<10)), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5 and a job less than 10); and
configuring the first query for execution using a result from an execution of the second query (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 2: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a particular interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the first region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 3: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation and the plurality of selectable sets of metadata: displaying, in a third region of the GUI, a query editor panel displaying a plurality of editable fields specifying characteristics of the first query, wherein the plurality of editable fields includes a data object entry field for specifying at least one data object to generate a nested query comprising the first query and the second query, the second query comprising the child query of the first query, and wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to the selection and concurrently with generating the second visual representation of the second query, copying attribute values specified in the particular set of metadata into the plurality of editable fields (Ceballos, [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row, [0030] note FIG. 5 illustrates an additional screenshot of example UI 300 of Query Builder module 100. Example UI 300 illustrates that a user has added another row of criteria, row 510, using the add criteria button 470. Row 510 adds to the criteria in FIG. 4C via Boolean connector 520).
Claim 4: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a first interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the third region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 5: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise:
responsive to receiving a second selection to modify a first attribute value displayed in a particular editable field among the plurality of editable fields, modifying the first attribute value of the second query without modifying the particular set of metadata (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand… FIG. 3C illustrates operand text box 330, where a user has entered the word "Larry" in operand text box 330. The resulting query is (Person=Larry), and would return all individuals in the database with "Larry" in their name).
Claim 6: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein generating a second visual representation of a second query comprises:
displaying a first attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in the second visual representation of the second query and in a first field among the plurality of editable fields; and displaying a second attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in a second field among the plurality of editable fields without displaying the second attribute value in the second visual representation of the second query (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager).
Claim 7: Ceballos teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein configuring the first query to obtain the result from the execution of the second query comprises:
configuring the first query to obtain at least one attribute value from the second query without receiving explicit user input for configuring the first query to obtain the at least one attribute value from the second query (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 8: Ceballos teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by a graphical user interface (GUI), a first visual representation of a first query in a first region of the GUI, the first query associated with first query information including a first data object comprising one or more records to be used for execution of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C], [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager);
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A]-[Fig. 4C]):
displaying, in a second region of the GUI, a plurality of selectable sets of metadata (Ceballos, [0029] note FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C illustrate additional screenshots of example UI 300 for Query Builder module 100. In these example screenshots, the user has added another row of criteria to the query via add criteria button 470. Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5);
receiving a selection of a particular set of metadata from among the plurality of selectable sets of metadata, wherein the particular set of metadata defines a plurality of query characteristics including an identifier for a second data object; identifying the second data object associated with the selection (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A], [Fig. 4B], [0092] note Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5. This criteria is added to the criteria from FIG. 3C via Boolean operator 420. The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND (Level>5), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5); and
responsive to receiving the selection: generating a second visual representation of a second query, wherein the second query is a child query of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 4B], [Fig. 4C], [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row. FIG. 4C illustrates the addition of the new row using extend button. Row 440 adds to the criteria in row 410 via Boolean connector 450. Rows 410 and 440 are grouped together by box 460);
configuring the second query for execution using a set of one or more records from the second data object (Ceballos, [0029] note The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND ((Level>5) AND (Job<10)), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5 and a job less than 10); and
configuring the first query for execution using a result from an execution of the second query (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 9: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a particular interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the first region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 10: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation and the plurality of selectable sets of metadata: displaying, in a third region of the GUI, a query editor panel displaying a plurality of editable fields specifying characteristics of the first query, wherein the plurality of editable fields includes a data object entry field for specifying at least one data object to generate a nested query comprising the first query and the second query, the second query comprising the child query of the first query, and wherein the method further comprises: responsive to the selection and concurrently with generating the second visual representation of the second query, copying attribute values specified in the particular set of metadata into the plurality of editable fields (Ceballos, [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row, [0030] note FIG. 5 illustrates an additional screenshot of example UI 300 of Query Builder module 100. Example UI 300 illustrates that a user has added another row of criteria, row 510, using the add criteria button 470. Row 510 adds to the criteria in FIG. 4C via Boolean connector 520).
Claim 11: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a first interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the third region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 12: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising:
responsive to receiving a second selection to modify a first attribute value displayed in a particular editable field among the plurality of editable fields, modifying the first attribute value of the second query without modifying the particular set of metadata (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand… FIG. 3C illustrates operand text box 330, where a user has entered the word "Larry" in operand text box 330. The resulting query is (Person=Larry), and would return all individuals in the database with "Larry" in their name).
Claim 13: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 10, wherein generating a second visual representation of a second query comprises:
displaying a first attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in the second visual representation of the second query and in a first field among the plurality of editable fields; and displaying a second attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in a second field among the plurality of editable fields without displaying the second attribute value in the second visual representation of the second query (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager).
Claim 14: Ceballos teaches the method of claim 8, wherein configuring the first query to obtain the result from the execution of the second query comprises:
configuring the first query to obtain at least one attribute value from the second query without receiving explicit user input for configuring the first query to obtain the at least one attribute value from the second query (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 15: Ceballos teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
displaying, by a graphical user interface (GUI), a first visual representation of a first query in a first region of the GUI, the first query associated with first query information including a first data object comprising one or more records to be used for execution of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C], [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager);
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A]-[Fig. 4C]):
displaying, in a second region of the GUI, a plurality of selectable sets of metadata (Ceballos, [0029] note FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C illustrate additional screenshots of example UI 300 for Query Builder module 100. In these example screenshots, the user has added another row of criteria to the query via add criteria button 470. Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5);
receiving a selection of a particular set of metadata from among the plurality of selectable sets of metadata, wherein the particular set of metadata defines a plurality of query characteristics including an identifier for a second data object; identifying the second data object associated with the selection (Ceballos, [Fig. 4A], [Fig. 4B], [0092] note Row 410 includes criteria requiring that the "Level" category have a value greater than 5. This criteria is added to the criteria from FIG. 3C via Boolean operator 420. The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND (Level>5), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5); and
responsive to receiving the selection: generating a second visual representation of a second query, wherein the second query is a child query of the first query (Ceballos, [Fig. 4B], [Fig. 4C], [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row. FIG. 4C illustrates the addition of the new row using extend button. Row 440 adds to the criteria in row 410 via Boolean connector 450. Rows 410 and 440 are grouped together by box 460);
configuring the second query for execution using a set of one or more records from the second data object (Ceballos, [0029] note The resulting query is (Person=Larry) AND ((Level>5) AND (Job<10)), which would return all people with Larry in their name and having a level greater than 5 and a job less than 10); and
configuring the first query for execution using a result from an execution of the second query (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 16: Ceballos teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a particular interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the first region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 17: Ceballos teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
concurrently with displaying the first visual representation and the plurality of selectable sets of metadata: displaying, in a third region of the GUI, a query editor panel displaying a plurality of editable fields specifying characteristics of the first query, wherein the plurality of editable fields includes a data object entry field for specifying at least one data object to generate a nested query comprising the first query and the second query, the second query comprising the child query of the first query, and wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to the selection and concurrently with generating the second visual representation of the second query, copying attribute values specified in the particular set of metadata into the plurality of editable fields (Ceballos, [0029] note FIG. 4B illustrates extend button 430, which allows a user to extend the corresponding row (here, row 410) by adding a child row of more criteria. This row will be nested with its parent row, [0030] note FIG. 5 illustrates an additional screenshot of example UI 300 of Query Builder module 100. Example UI 300 illustrates that a user has added another row of criteria, row 510, using the add criteria button 470. Row 510 adds to the criteria in FIG. 4C via Boolean connector 520).
Claim 18: Ceballos teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the selection comprises dragging and dropping a first interface element representing the particular set of metadata from the second region of the GUI into the third region of the GUI (Ceballos, [Fig. 2], [0027] note The second query row and third query row are logically connected by a Boolean connector. In response to a drag-and-drop operation by the user, Query Builder 100 nests the third row in the second row, such that when executed, a computer will evaluate criteria from the second and third row together before evaluating the same criteria with the criteria from the first row (230). The Query Builder 100 then submits a SQL query for execution based on the criteria entered by the user (240)).
Claim 19: Ceballos teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
responsive to receiving a second selection to modify a first attribute value displayed in a particular editable field among the plurality of editable fields, modifying the first attribute value of the second query without modifying the particular set of metadata (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand… FIG. 3C illustrates operand text box 330, where a user has entered the word "Larry" in operand text box 330. The resulting query is (Person=Larry), and would return all individuals in the database with "Larry" in their name).
Claim 20: Ceballos teaches the system of claim 17, wherein generating a second visual representation of a second query comprises:
displaying a first attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in the second visual representation of the second query and in a first field among the plurality of editable fields; and
displaying a second attribute value stored in the particular set of metadata in a second field among the plurality of editable fields without displaying the second attribute value in the second visual representation of the second query (Ceballos, [0028] note FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C illustrate an example user interface ("UI") 300 for Query Builder module 100. In an embodiment, a user is presented with two drop down menus, operand menu 310 and operator menu 320, and an operand text box 330 for a second operand. FIG. 3A illustrates operand menu 310 and its menu items. Using operand menu 310, the user may select as a first operand one of many categories such as job, department, person, email, first name, last name, level, start date, organization, and manager).
Conclusion
/GIUSEPPI GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153