DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12219350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”). Please see the chart below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12219350
Claim 1: A system comprising:
at least one hardware processor;
and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to:
receive, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE;
determine, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network;
determine, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE;
request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid.
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device, wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 3: The computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, comprising instructions to:
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity an identity of the second wireless telecommunication network;
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity a unique identifier associated with the second mobile device;
request from the second wireless telecommunication network a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second mobile device is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the confirmation to the first mobile device that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1 caused to:
receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of
a name associated with the first UE,
a phone number associated with the first UE,
or an email associated with the first UE;
increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including causing the system to:
request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations
that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity;
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device,
wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7: The system of claim 1, wherein the first UE includes a mobile device, a vehicle, or a drone.
Claim 1: At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device;
Claim 8: The system of claim 7, wherein the second UE includes a mobile device, a vehicle, or a drone.
Claim 1: At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device;
Claim 9:
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
receive, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE;
determine, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network;
determine, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE;
request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network,
send the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid.
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device, wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 3: The computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, comprising instructions to:
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity an identity of the second wireless telecommunication network;
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity a unique identifier associated with the second mobile device;
request from the second wireless telecommunication network a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second mobile device is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the confirmation to the first mobile device that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
Claim 10:
The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, comprising instructions to:
receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of
a name associated with the first UE,
a phone number associated with the first UE,
or an email associated with the first UE;
increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including by causing the system to:
request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations
that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity;
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network,
send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device,
wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 12
Claim 4
Claim 13
Claim 5
Claim 14
Claim 6
Claim 15:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE;
determining, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network;
determining, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE;
requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network,
sending the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid.
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device, wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 3: The computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, comprising instructions to:
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity an identity of the second wireless telecommunication network;
determine from the international mobile subscriber identity a unique identifier associated with the second mobile device;
request from the second wireless telecommunication network a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second mobile device is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network;
and upon receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the confirmation to the first mobile device that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
Claim 16:
The method of claim 15 further comprising:
receiving a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of
a name associated with the first UE,
a phone number associated with the first UE,
or an email associated with the first UE;
increasing accuracy of the authentication by authenticating one or more of the additional identification information including by: requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations
that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity;
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, sending the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
Claim 1:
At least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions to enable peer-to-peer authentication between at least two mobile devices associated with one or more wireless telecommunication networks, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to:
at a first mobile device, receive a request to communicate from a second mobile device; exchange between the first mobile device and the second mobile device a first cryptographic key and a second cryptographic key, wherein the first cryptographic key is associated with the first mobile device, and wherein the second cryptographic key is associated with the second mobile device; receive, at the first mobile device, an international mobile subscriber identity and an additional identification associated with the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is encrypted, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity is unique to the second mobile device, wherein the international mobile subscriber identity identifies a second wireless telecommunication network serving the second mobile device,
wherein the additional identification includes a name associated with a user of the second mobile device, an email associated with the user of the second mobile device, or a phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device;
authenticate the second mobile device by sending the encrypted international mobile subscriber identity and the additional identification to a first wireless telecommunication network and sending a request to confirm that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid,
wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is configured to verify that the international mobile subscriber identity is associated with the second wireless telecommunication network,
and that the name associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
that the email associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity,
or that the phone number associated with the user of the second mobile device is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity
receive, from the first wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid;
and upon receiving the confirmation, engage in a communication with the second mobile device
Claim 18
Claim 4
Claim 19
Claim 5
Claim 20
Claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al. (US 2011/0258327) in view of You et al. (WO 2018/045842).
Regarding Claim 1, Phan teaches a system comprising: (Par. [0001] “The example and non-limiting embodiments of this invention relate generally to wireless communication systems, including methods, devices and computer programs for communicating in such systems, and more specifically relate to direct communications between mobile devices over allocated resources, also known as device-to-device D2D communications”),
at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to: (Par. [0068] “Other embodiments may combine some of the functions described above for FIG. 4B in fewer processors and/or memories. Any or all of these various processors of FIG. 4B access one or more of the various memories, which may be on-chip with the processor or separate therefrom”),
receive, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE; (Par. [0035] “Assume for explanation that the first UE 112 seeks a D2D link with the second UE 122. At FIG. 2 the first UE sends at message 205 a D2D request, or more particularly a D2D page, on the uplink to the first cell 111. That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” and Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications… As noted above, UEs are not necessarily trusted entities from the perspective of the network operators, and using the DRSF 140 to authenticate that the page recipient 122 is in fact a UE registered in the area 100 for D2D communications serves a purpose to the first network 110/111 which does not have that information about the second UE 122 which subscribes to a different home network” Note: Identifying/addressing the second UE causes the authentication process to occur as seen Par. [0042] which states that in order to facilitate D2D communications, the second user equipment must be authenticated)
determine, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network;
(Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” Note: After the second UE has been identified, the server is able to determine its network based on the stored information of the second UE to facilitate D2D communications),
determine, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE; (Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” and Par. [0035] “That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” Note: The identified second UE has unique information stored within the database which is retrieved once identified to facilitate D2D communications),
and send the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid (Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications” Note: D2D communications are established once the IMSI has been authenticated).
Phan, however, does not explicitly teach request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; and receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, You teaches request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; (Pg. 13 “Step S606, the service network 1 searches for the home network of the user equipment according to the MCC and the MNC in the encrypted IMSI, and sends an authentication request message to the home network, where the message carries the encrypted IMSI;… Step S608, the home network decrypts the encrypted IMSI using the private key paired with the public key, obtains the decrypted IMSI, and finds the user corresponding to the encrypted IMSI;… “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication request response message to the service network 1,”),
receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network, (Pg. 13 “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication request response message to the service network 1, the message carries a user security context, that is, a security vector group, and the message also carries the decrypted IMSI”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s network verifying a user equipment’s IMSI with Phan’s UE authentication system involving multiple networks and multiple UEs to improve UE authentication across networks.
Regarding Claim 7, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, where Phan further teaches wherein the first UE includes a mobile device, a vehicle, or a drone (Par. [0035] “Assume for explanation that the first UE 112 seeks a D2D link with the second UE 122” and Par. [0062] “In general, the various embodiments of the UE 10 can include, but are not limited to, cellular telephones, personal digital assistants (PDAs) having wireless communication capabilities, portable computers having wireless communication capabilities”).
Regarding Claim 8, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 7, where Phan further teaches wherein the second UE includes a mobile device, a vehicle, or a drone (Par. [0035] “Assume for explanation that the first UE 112 seeks a D2D link with the second UE 122” and Par. [0062] “In general, the various embodiments of the UE 10 can include, but are not limited to, cellular telephones, personal digital assistants (PDAs) having wireless communication capabilities, portable computers having wireless communication capabilities”).
Regarding Claim 9, Phan teaches non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to: (Par. [0068] “Other embodiments may combine some of the functions described above for FIG. 4B in fewer processors and/or memories. Any or all of these various processors of FIG. 4B access one or more of the various memories, which may be on-chip with the processor or separate therefrom”),
receive, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE; (Par. [0035] “Assume for explanation that the first UE 112 seeks a D2D link with the second UE 122. At FIG. 2 the first UE sends at message 205 a D2D request, or more particularly a D2D page, on the uplink to the first cell 111. That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” and Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications… As noted above, UEs are not necessarily trusted entities from the perspective of the network operators, and using the DRSF 140 to authenticate that the page recipient 122 is in fact a UE registered in the area 100 for D2D communications serves a purpose to the first network 110/111 which does not have that information about the second UE 122 which subscribes to a different home network” Note: Identifying/addressing the second UE causes the authentication process to occur as seen Par. [0042] which states that in order to facilitate D2D communications, the second user equipment must be authenticated)
determine, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network; (Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” Note: After the second UE has been identified, the server is able to determine its network based on the stored information of the second UE to facilitate D2D communications),
determine, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE; (Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” and Par. [0035] “That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” Note: The identified second UE has unique information stored within the database which is retrieved once identified to facilitate D2D communications),
send the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid (Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications” Note: D2D communications are established once the IMSI has been authenticated).
Phan, however, does not explicitly teach request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; and receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, You teaches request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; (Pg. 13 “Step S606, the service network 1 searches for the home network of the user equipment according to the MCC and the MNC in the encrypted IMSI, and sends an authentication authentication request message to the home network, where the message carries the encrypted IMSI;… Step S608, the home network decrypts the encrypted IMSI using the private key paired with the public key, obtains the decrypted IMSI, and finds the user corresponding to the encrypted IMSI;… “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication authentication request response message to the service network 1,”),
receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network (Pg. 13 “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication authentication request response message to the service network 1, the message carries a user security context, that is, a security vector group, and the message also carries the decrypted IMSI”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s network verifying a user equipment’s IMSI with Phan’s UE authentication system involving multiple networks and multiple UEs to improve UE authentication across networks.
Regarding Claim 15, Phan teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a first wireless telecommunication network, a request to authenticate an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) from a first UE; (Par. [0035] “Assume for explanation that the first UE 112 seeks a D2D link with the second UE 122. At FIG. 2 the first UE sends at message 205 a D2D request, or more particularly a D2D page, on the uplink to the first cell 111. That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” and Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications… As noted above, UEs are not necessarily trusted entities from the perspective of the network operators, and using the DRSF 140 to authenticate that the page recipient 122 is in fact a UE registered in the area 100 for D2D communications serves a purpose to the first network 110/111 which does not have that information about the second UE 122 which subscribes to a different home network” Note: Identifying/addressing the second UE causes the authentication process to occur as seen Par. [0042] which states that in order to facilitate D2D communications, the second user equipment must be authenticated),
determining, from the IMSI, an identity of a second wireless telecommunication network; (Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” Note: After the second UE has been identified, the server is able to determine its network based on the stored information of the second UE to facilitate D2D communications),
determining, from the IMSI, a unique identifier associated with a second UE; (Par. [0034] “The DRSF server 140 has a database of stored registration information for associating the different UEs to the different cells 111, 121, 131, under control of the different operator networks… The database has by example information that a first user equipment 112 is registered to a first cell 111 under a control of a first network operator, and information that a second user equipment 122 is registered to a second cell 121 under a control of a second network operator; and so forth for all of the registered D2D devices in the area 100” and Par. [0035] “That page identifies/addresses the recipient second UE 122, and also identifies itself 112 as the sender of the page so that the second UE 122 and any other intermediary nodes can recognize from whom the page originated” Note: The identified second UE has unique information stored within the database which is retrieved once identified to facilitate D2D communications),
sending the confirmation to the first UE that the IMSI is valid (Par. [0042] “In another exemplary embodiment the DRSF server 140 uses the database registration information to coordinate between the first network operator and the second network operator to facilitate establishment of a D2D link between the first UE 112 and the second UE 122 by authenticating that the second user equipment is registered in the database for device to device communications” Note: D2D communications are established once the IMSI has been authenticated).
Phan, however, does not explicitly teach requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; and receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, You teaches requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, a confirmation that the unique identifier associated with the second UE is a member of the second wireless telecommunication network; (Pg. 13 “Step S606, the service network 1 searches for the home network of the user equipment according to the MCC and the MNC in the encrypted IMSI, and sends an authentication authentication request message to the home network, where the message carries the encrypted IMSI;… Step S608, the home network decrypts the encrypted IMSI using the private key paired with the public key, obtains the decrypted IMSI, and finds the user corresponding to the encrypted IMSI;… “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication request response message to the service network 1,”),
and receiving the confirmation from the second wireless telecommunication network (Pg. 13 “Step S610, the home network sends back an authentication request response message to the service network 1, the message carries a user security context, that is, a security vector group, and the message also carries the decrypted IMSI”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s network verifying a user equipment’s IMSI with Phan’s UE authentication system involving multiple networks and multiple UEs to improve UE authentication across networks.
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al. (US 2011/0258327) in view of You et al. (WO 2018/045842) in further view of Agevik et al. (US 2012/0003957).
Regarding Claim 2, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including causing the system to: request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; (Par. [0041] “In step 210, an IMSI query is transmitted towards the HLR 210 in which the subscription associated with the mobile telephone number is registered” and Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR”),
increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including causing the system to: request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; (Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR” and Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”),
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid (Par. [0043] “If the received mobile subscriber identity number corresponds to the stored mobile subscriber identity number, then step 225 is entered” Par. [0044] “The initiation of the requested service of step 225 could be performed in different ways. The initiating could for example include sending a verification response to the requester of the verification, where the verification response comprises an indication indicating that the result of the verification was positive, i.e. that the received mobile subscriber number was found to correspond to the stored mobile subscriber number”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Regarding Claim 3, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number (Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Regarding Claim 10, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 9, but does not explicitly teach receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including by causing the system to: request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches receive a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; (Par. [0041] “In step 210, an IMSI query is transmitted towards the HLR 210 in which the subscription associated with the mobile telephone number is registered” and Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR”),
increase accuracy of the authentication by authenticating the additional identification information including by causing the system to: request, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; (Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR” and Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”),
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, send the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid (Par. [0043] “If the received mobile subscriber identity number corresponds to the stored mobile subscriber identity number, then step 225 is entered” Par. [0044] “The initiation of the requested service of step 225 could be performed in different ways. The initiating could for example include sending a verification response to the requester of the verification, where the verification response comprises an indication indicating that the result of the verification was positive, i.e. that the received mobile subscriber number was found to correspond to the stored mobile subscriber number”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Regarding Claim 11, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number (Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Regarding Claim 16, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach receiving a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; increasing accuracy of the authentication by authenticating one or more of the additional identification information including by: requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, sending the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches receiving a request to authenticate additional identification information including at least one of a name associated with the first UE, a phone number associated with the first UE, or an email associated with the first UE; (Par. [0041] “In step 210, an IMSI query is transmitted towards the HLR 210 in which the subscription associated with the mobile telephone number is registered” and Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR”),
increasing accuracy of the authentication by authenticating one or more of the additional identification information including by: requesting, from the second wireless telecommunication network, one or more confirmations that the name is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, that the phone number is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity, or that the email is associated with the international mobile subscriber identity; (Par. [0042] “In step 215, an IMSI query response is received from the HLR, where the IMSI query response comprises the mobile subscriber identity number or information indicative of the mobile subscriber identity number associated with the mobile telephone number in the HLR” and Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”),
and upon receiving the one or more confirmations from the second wireless telecommunication network, sending the one or more confirmations to the first UE that the international mobile subscriber identity is valid (Par. [0043] “If the received mobile subscriber identity number corresponds to the stored mobile subscriber identity number, then step 225 is entered” Par. [0044] “The initiation of the requested service of step 225 could be performed in different ways. The initiating could for example include sending a verification response to the requester of the verification, where the verification response comprises an indication indicating that the result of the verification was positive, i.e. that the received mobile subscriber number was found to correspond to the stored mobile subscriber number”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Regarding Claim 17, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number.
In the same field of endeavor, Agevik teaches wherein the unique identifier associated with the second UE comprises a mobile subscriber identification number (Par. [0042] “In step 220, the mobile subscriber identity number which is received in the IMSI query response is compared to the mobile subscriber identity number which was stored in association with the mobile telephone number in step 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agevik’s mobile subscriber identity number and identification process with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve security and privacy in peer to peer communications.
Claims 4-6, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al. (US 2011/0258327) in view of You et al. (WO 2018/045842) in further view of Tiger et al. (US 2016/0192344).
Regarding Claim 4, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; receive a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and connect the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may empower the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a proxy to access Internet resources”),
receive a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
and connect the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 5, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach extend coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches extend coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: (Par. [0018] “Various embodiments are directed to sharing a network connection between mobile devices to extend one device's connection to another. In various situations, one mobile device may be better equipped to perform network activity than another. Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not”),
creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to a peer-to-peer protocol such as Wi-Fi Direct or Bluetooth. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130” and Par. [0031] “In some embodiments, a second mobile device 130 interested in receiving sharing credit in return for providing network sharing may create a Wi-Fi hotspot, with a broadcast name of the Wi-Fi hotspot containing an identifier for its participation in the peer-to-peer network sharing system 100”),
receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”)
and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE (Par. [0018] “Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not” and Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 6, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 1, where You further teaches wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is a 5G wireless telecommunication network; (Pg. 2 “With the continuous upgrading of the network, the emergence of 5G technology, the privacy protection requirements for the network are getting higher and higher. Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the future 5G network access in the related technology”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s 5G wireless network with Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve UE authentication across networks.
Phan in view of You, however, does not explicitly teach create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE, receive a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; and enable the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE, (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection”),
receive a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”)
wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; (Par. [0110] In some embodiments, device 1300 may be configured to be compatible with protocols and frequencies associated one or more of the 3GPP LTE Specifications and/or IEEE 1302.16 Standards for WMANs, and/or other broadband wireless networks, cited herein, although the embodiments are not limited in this respect”),
and enable the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network (Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] “The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to, creating a direct Wi-Fi connection between the first mobile device 120 and the second mobile device 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 12, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 9, but does not explicitly teach create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; receive a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and connect the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may empower the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a proxy to access Internet resources”),
receive a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
and connect the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 13, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 9, but does not explicitly teach extend coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; receiving the request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches extend coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: (Par. [0018] “Various embodiments are directed to sharing a network connection between mobile devices to extend one device's connection to another. In various situations, one mobile device may be better equipped to perform network activity than another. Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not”),
creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to a peer-to-peer protocol such as Wi-Fi Direct or Bluetooth. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130” and Par. [0031] “In some embodiments, a second mobile device 130 interested in receiving sharing credit in return for providing network sharing may create a Wi-Fi hotspot, with a broadcast name of the Wi-Fi hotspot containing an identifier for its participation in the peer-to-peer network sharing system 100”),receiving the request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”)
and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE (Par. [0018] “Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not” and Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 14, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 9, where You further teaches wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is a 5G wireless telecommunication network (Pg. 2 “With the continuous upgrading of the network, the emergence of 5G technology, the privacy protection requirements for the network are getting higher and higher. Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the future 5G network access in the related technology”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s 5G wireless network with Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve UE authentication across networks.
Phan in view of You, however, does not teach create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE,; receive a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; and enable the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches create, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection”),
receive a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”)
wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; (Par. [0110] In some embodiments, device 1300 may be configured to be compatible with protocols and frequencies associated one or more of the 3GPP LTE Specifications and/or IEEE 1302.16 Standards for WMANs, and/or other broadband wireless networks, cited herein, although the embodiments are not limited in this respect”),
and enable the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network (Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] “The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to, creating a direct Wi-Fi connection between the first mobile device 120 and the second mobile device 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 18, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may empower the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a proxy to access Internet resources”),
receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
and connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot without requesting a password specific to the Wi-Fi hotspot from the second UE (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 19, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to a first area surrounding the first UE, wherein an area is hazardous and has no Wi-Fi or cellular coverage by: (Par. [0018] “Various embodiments are directed to sharing a network connection between mobile devices to extend one device's connection to another. In various situations, one mobile device may be better equipped to perform network activity than another. Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not”),
creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot in the first area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to a peer-to-peer protocol such as Wi-Fi Direct or Bluetooth. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130” and Par. [0031] “In some embodiments, a second mobile device 130 interested in receiving sharing credit in return for providing network sharing may create a Wi-Fi hotspot, with a broadcast name of the Wi-Fi hotspot containing an identifier for its participation in the peer-to-peer network sharing system 100”),
receiving a request from the second UE to connect to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
connecting the second UE to the Wi-Fi hotspot; (Fig. 4, and Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to”),
and creating, at the second UE, a second Wi-Fi hotspot in a second area surrounding the second UE, thereby extending the coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE (Par. [0018] “Without limitation, the mobile device may use a cellular provider providing a better-quality connection in a particular geographic area, the mobile device may have more of its cellular data allocation available, or the mobile device may have a cellular data plan for that geographic area while the other mobile device does not” and Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Regarding Claim 20, Phan in view of You teaches the invention of Claim 15, where You further teaches wherein the first wireless telecommunication network is a 5G wireless telecommunication network (Pg. 2 “With the continuous upgrading of the network, the emergence of 5G technology, the privacy protection requirements for the network are getting higher and higher. Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the future 5G network access in the related technology”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine You’s 5G wireless network with Phan’s D2D authentication system to improve UE authentication across networks.
Phan in view of You, however, does not explicitly teach creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE,; receiving a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; and enabling the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Tiger teaches creating, at the first UE, a Wi-Fi hotspot, extending coverage of the first wireless telecommunication network provided to the first UE to an area surrounding the first UE; (Par. [0030] “The peer-to-peer signals 125 may comprise one of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the other of the first and second mobile devices 120, 130. The peer-to-peer signals 125 may conform to any known technique for generating a peer-to-peer radio connection”),
receiving a request from the second UE to access the Wi-Fi hotspot, (Fig. 4, Par. [0046] “The sharing control component 420 on the first mobile device 120 may transmit an offer 415 from the first mobile device 120 to the second mobile device 130”),
wherein the second UE is configured to communicate with a lower generation of wireless communication; (Par. [0110] In some embodiments, device 1300 may be configured to be compatible with protocols and frequencies associated one or more of the 3GPP LTE Specifications and/or IEEE 1302.16 Standards for WMANs, and/or other broadband wireless networks, cited herein, although the embodiments are not limited in this respect”),
and enabling the second UE to access the 5G wireless telecommunication network (Par. [0049] “In response to the offer acceptance 425, the local proxy component 220 of the first mobile device 120 may receive configuration information 435 from the sharing control component 420 and configure the first mobile device 120 to use the second mobile device 130 as a network proxy using the configuration information 435” and Par. [0049] “The configuration information 435 may include information for establishing a peer-to-peer connection comprising peer-to-peer signals 125. The first mobile device 120 using the second mobile device 130 as a proxy may comprise, without limitation, at least one of the first mobile device 120 connecting to a Wi-Fi hotspot created by the second mobile device 130, the first mobile device 120 creating a Wi-Fi hotspot at the first mobile device 120 for the second mobile device 130 to connect to, creating a direct Wi-Fi connection between the first mobile device 120 and the second mobile device 130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiger’s two mobile devices both able to establish Wi-Fi hotspots with You’s IMSI verification and Phan’s D2D authentication system to provide better-quality connection in a particular geographic area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (WO 2015/100974) discloses a UE sending the IMSI of another UE for authentication purposes.
Thorn et al. (US 2014/0094144) discloses authentication of an IMSI that is associated to a phone number within a network.
Stubblefield et al. (US 2021/0029127) discloses verifying a user device by utilizing a stored telephone number and an IMSI of the device.
/J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641