DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al (US Pub 2021/0204337) in view of Donlin et al (US Pub 2006/0212945).
With respect to claim 1, YANG discloses a method implemented by a first electronic device and comprising (par 0002; discloses application relate to the electronic device field, and in particular, to an application function implementation method and an electronic device; par 0068; discloses the first electronic device and the second electronic device may exchange data based on the established wireless link. For example, the first electronic device and the second electronic device may share various types of data such as an SSID and a password of a wireless local area network, a video, a picture, a web page, a contact, and an applet): combining, based on the second value, to-be-combined layers to obtain a composed layer, wherein the composed layer includes a display content corresponding to the security layer (par 0146; discloses when sharing the video with the second electronic device, the first electronic device may further configure attribute information for the shared video. For example, the first electronic device may configure the attribute information for the to-be-shared data based on a type or a privacy level of the to-be-shared data or selection of the user; par 0165; discloses the to-be-shared data may be further provided with attribute information. The attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing is allowed, whether printing is allowed, whether re-sharing is allowed, whether burning is performed immediately after reading, and the like); and sending projection data to a second electronic device, wherein the projection data comprises the composed layer (par 0140; discloses As shown in FIG. 12A, the first electronic device displays a first screen. For example, the first screen is a playback screen 1201 of the current video. The user may perform a first operation (for example, a double-tap operation) on the playback screen 1201 of the current video. In response to the first operation, as shown in FIG. 12B, a shortcut menu 1202 is displayed on the touchscreen of the first electronic device. The shortcut menu includes a second control such as a “share this video” option 1203. The user may perform a second operation (for example, a tap operation) on the “share this video” option 1203, to share the video “Moana” with another user);
YANG discloses changing the attribute to change the privacy level of the shared content (see fig. 14; discloses an interface allowing user to change privacy; see par 0146; discloses as shown in FIG. 14, the first electronic device may display an attribute information configuration window 1401 on the touchscreen of the first electronic device. The user may select, based on a requirement of the user, an attribute that needs to be configured for the shared video)
YANG doesn’t expressly disclose changing a first value of a flag bit of a security layer in a to-be-combined layer of a to-be- projected interface to a second value;
In the same field of endeavor, Donlin discloses a computer system and method for changing privacy levels (see abstract); Donlin discloses changing a first value of a flag bit of a security layer in a to-be-combined layer of a to-be- projected interface to a second value (par 0048; discloses the security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure). Par 0051; discloses At the time of a security mode change, the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use the flag bits to distinguish between the secure mode and non-secure mode in order to allow devices to easily recognize between different security level by identifying the flag bits and efficiently operate the device based on the identified security level.
With respect to claim 2, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein before changing the first value of the flag bit to the second value, the method further comprises determining that projection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device comprises non-secure projection (Donlin; par 0050; discloses At the start of normal, non-secure processing after the initial boot up, the switch count is zero and each process has its switch count, security mode, and security runnable flag bit set to zero. The system operates normally; par 0051; discloses At the time of a security mode change, the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1)).
With respect to claim 3, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses further comprising wirelessly communicating with the second electronic device while in a non-secure projection state (YANG; par 0066; discloses A wireless link may be established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device by using a wireless communications protocol).
With respect to claim 4, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses further comprising operating in a non-secure projection state when the flag bit of the to-be-projected interface indicates that the to-be-projected interface is a non- secure interface (Donlin; par 0050; discloses At the start of normal, non-secure processing after the initial boot up, the switch count is zero and each process has its switch count, security mode, and security runnable flag bit set to zero. The system operates normally).
With respect to claim 6, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses further comprising changing the first value to the second value using a window manager service (WMS) in the first electronic device (Donlin; par 0051; discloses the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1; par 0032; discloses the kernel provides basic services for all other parts of the operating system, typically including memory management, process management, file management and I/O (input/output) management (i.e., accessing the peripheral devices).).
With respect to claim 8, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the first value comprises 0x80;
Donlin discloses wherein the first value can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform (par 0048; discloses The security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use multiple bit entity or integer value to identify an operating security level of the device such that device/apparatus are easily able to recognize the operating state and switch to a different state by changing the bit entity.
With respect to claim 9, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the second value comprises 0x30;
Donlin discloses wherein the first value can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform (par 0048; discloses The security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use multiple bit entity or integer value to identify an operating security level of the device such that device/apparatus are easily able to recognize the operating state and switch to a different state by changing the bit entity.
With respect to claim 10, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses further comprising projecting, by the first electronic device, onto the second electronic device in a different-source projection manner (YANG; par 0146; when sharing the video with the second electronic device, the first electronic device may further configure attribute information for the shared video. For example, the first electronic device may configure the attribute information for the to-be-shared data based on a type or a privacy level of the to-be-shared data or selection of the user. The attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing may be performed, whether printing may be performed, whether re-sharing is allowed, and whether burning is performed immediately after reading; i.e. the content shared with second electronic device includes additional security encoded within the content).
With respect to claim 11, YANG discloses a first electronic device (fig. 14; discloses first electronic device; fig. 3; device 300) comprising: a memory configured to store a computer program; (fig. 3; memory 303) and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to cause the first electronic device to (fig. 3; processor 301): combine, based on the second value, the to-be-combined layer to obtain a composed layer, wherein the composed layer includes a display content corresponding to the security layer (par 0146; discloses when sharing the video with the second electronic device, the first electronic device may further configure attribute information for the shared video. For example, the first electronic device may configure the attribute information for the to-be-shared data based on a type or a privacy level of the to-be-shared data or selection of the user; par 0165; discloses the to-be-shared data may be further provided with attribute information. The attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing is allowed, whether printing is allowed, whether re-sharing is allowed, whether burning is performed immediately after reading, and the like (par 0146; discloses when sharing the video with the second electronic device, the first electronic device may further configure attribute information for the shared video. For example, the first electronic device may configure the attribute information for the to-be-shared data based on a type or a privacy level of the to-be-shared data or selection of the user); and send projection data to a second electronic device, wherein the projection data comprises the composed layer (par 0140; discloses As shown in FIG. 12A, the first electronic device displays a first screen. For example, the first screen is a playback screen 1201 of the current video. The user may perform a first operation (for example, a double-tap operation) on the playback screen 1201 of the current video. In response to the first operation, as shown in FIG. 12B, a shortcut menu 1202 is displayed on the touchscreen of the first electronic device. The shortcut menu includes a second control such as a “share this video” option 1203. The user may perform a second operation (for example, a tap operation) on the “share this video” option 1203, to share the video “Moana” with another user);
YANG discloses changing the attribute to change the privacy level of the shared content (see fig. 14; discloses an interface allowing user to change privacy; see par 0146; discloses as shown in FIG. 14, the first electronic device may display an attribute information configuration window 1401 on the touchscreen of the first electronic device. The user may select, based on a requirement of the user, an attribute that needs to be configured for the shared video)
YANG doesn’t expressly disclose change a first value of a flag bit of a security layer in a to-be-combined layer of a to-be-projected interface to a second value;
In the same field of endeavor, Donlin discloses a computer system and method for changing privacy levels (see abstract); Donlin discloses changing a first value of a flag bit of a security layer in a to-be-combined layer of a to-be- projected interface to a second value (par 0048; discloses the security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure). Par 0051; discloses At the time of a security mode change, the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use the flag bits to distinguish between the secure mode and non-secure mode in order to allow devices to easily recognize between different security level by identifying the flag bits and efficiently operate the device based on the identified security level.
With respect to claim 12, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein before changing the first value of the flag bit to the second value, the computer program further causes the first electronic device to determine that projection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device comprises non- secure projection (Donlin; par 0050; discloses At the start of normal, non-secure processing after the initial boot up, the switch count is zero and each process has its switch count, security mode, and security runnable flag bit set to zero. The system operates normally; par 0051; discloses At the time of a security mode change, the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1)).
With respect to claim 13, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to communicate wirelessly with the second electronic device while in a non- secure projection state (YANG; par 0066; discloses A wireless link may be established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device by using a wireless communications protocol).
With respect to claim 14, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to operate in a non-secure projection state when the flag bit of the to-be- projected interface indicates that the to-be-projected interface is a non-secure interface (Donlin; par 0050; discloses At the start of normal, non-secure processing after the initial boot up, the switch count is zero and each process has its switch count, security mode, and security runnable flag bit set to zero. The system operates normally).
With respect to claim 16, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to change the first value to the second value using a window manager service (WMS) (Donlin; par 0051; discloses the administrative process, which controls the switching, will increment the security switch count 262 by 1. The security mode 264 is set to the new security mode. All running processes are sequentially examined, and those with a security mode 270 not equal to the new security mode 264 will have the security runnable flag 266 set to a 1; par 0032; discloses the kernel provides basic services for all other parts of the operating system, typically including memory management, process management, file management and I/O (input/output) management (i.e., accessing the peripheral devices).).
With respect to claim 18, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the first value comprises 0x80;
Donlin discloses wherein the first value can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform (par 0048; discloses The security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use multiple bit entity or integer value to identify an operating security level of the device such that device/apparatus are easily able to recognize the operating state and switch to a different state by changing the bit entity.
With respect to claim 19, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the second value comprises 0x30;
Donlin discloses wherein the first value can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform (par 0048; discloses The security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Donlin to use multiple bit entity or integer value to identify an operating security level of the device such that device/apparatus are easily able to recognize the operating state and switch to a different state by changing the bit entity.
With respect to claim 20, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to perform projection onto the second electronic device in a same-source projection manner (YANG; fig. 14; discloses a configuration window 1401 that allows user to select attributes for privacy level; if none are selected, then the shared content would be shared normally without privacy and same as first electronic device; allowing second electronic device user to store, re-share, etc.);
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al (US Pub 2021/0204337) in view of Donlin et al (US Pub 2006/0212945) and Breker et al (US Pub 2012/0042324).
With respect to claim 5, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses further comprising making the composed layer unavailable for screenshot, screen recording (YANG; par 0146; discloses the attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing may be performed, whether printing may be performed, whether re-sharing is allowed, and whether burning is performed immediately after reading);
YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose making the composed layer unavailable for multi-task display;
Breker discloses an electronic device comprising security measure that prevents multi-tasking (par 0025; discloses preventive multitasking can also be used for the security relevant computer program application);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Breker to prevent multi-tasking during sharing session in order to further enhance the security measure while contents are being shared between devices.
With respect to claim 15, YANG as modified by Donlin discloses wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to make the composed layer unavailable for screenshot, screen recording (YANG; par 0146; discloses the attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing may be performed, whether printing may be performed, whether re-sharing is allowed, and whether burning is performed immediately after reading);
YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose making the composed layer unavailable for multi-task display;
Breker discloses an electronic device comprising security measure that prevents multi-tasking (par 0025; discloses preventive multitasking can also be used for the security relevant computer program application);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of Breker to prevent multi-tasking during sharing session in order to further enhance the security measure while contents are being shared between devices.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al (US Pub 2021/0204337) in view of Donlin et al (US Pub 2006/0212945) and KWON et al (US Pub 2020/0264826).
With respect to claim 7, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose further comprising combining the to-be-combined layer using an interface composition system SurfaceFlinger;
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses an electronic device capable of operating in different modes (see abstract); KWON discloses combining the to-be-combined layer using an interface composition system SurfaceFlinger (par 0236; discloses A surface flinger 830 may determine whether to display an execution screen of an application recorded on the surfaces 821, 822, and 823, and also request the applications 811 and 812 to process changes in resolution and density in accordance with a changed display configuration);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of KWON to use the surface flinger to display interfaces of application on the display such that application interfaces are properly displayed on the screen based on display configurations such as changes in resolution and density.
With respect to claim 17, YANG as modified by Donlin don’t expressly disclose wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to combine the to-be-combined layer using an interface composition system SurfaceFlinger;
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses an electronic device capable of operating in different modes (see abstract); KWON discloses wherein the computer program further causes the first electronic device to combine the to-be-combined layer using an interface composition system SurfaceFlinger (par 0236; discloses A surface flinger 830 may determine whether to display an execution screen of an application recorded on the surfaces 821, 822, and 823, and also request the applications 811 and 812 to process changes in resolution and density in accordance with a changed display configuration);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by YANG as modified by Donlin to incorporate the teachings of KWON to use the surface flinger to display interfaces of application on the display such that application interfaces are properly displayed on the screen based on display configurations such as changes in resolution and density.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 1 and 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and do not put the application in condition for allowance.
With respect to claims 1 and 11, applicant’s representative argued that the cited references fails to teach changing a first value of a flag bit of a security layer in a to-be-combined layer of a to-be- projected interface to a second value;
Applicant’s representative further argued that Donlin’s disclosure is directed towards a process scheduling system and mode flags for switching between secure/non-secure operating system modes at the process level.
However examiner respectfully disagrees, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
YANG discloses system and method for sharing display contents with external device while including attribute/parameter (i.e. security layer) that restricts or enable how the shared content may be used by the external device (par 0028; discloses the to-be-shared data is provided with attribute information, and the attribute information may include at least one of the following: whether storing is allowed, whether printing is allowed, whether re-sharing is allowed, and whether burning is performed immediately after reading; or the to-be-shared data may include a parameter of a Do Not Disturb mode in the first electronic device; or the application module indicated by the identifier is a Do Not Disturb mode module in Settings (Settings), and the first screen may be a settings screen of a Do Not Disturb mode in Settings (Settings);).
YANG further discloses allowing user to configure the attribute information for the content to be shared with the second electronic device based on the privacy level (par 0146).
Donlin discloses a computer system that operates may operate in secure mode or non-secure modes. Donlin disclose the secure and non-secure modes are applicable to application and data stored in the device (par 0011; discloses the above aspects can be attained by a system that switches between non-secure and secure modes by making processes and data for the non-active mode unavailable to the active mode. This prevents user from accessing data or processes non-corresponding to the current mode). Donlin discloses configuring the secure and non-secure modes using a flag (par 0048; discloses the security mode flag that indicates whether the system is in the secure mode or the non-secure mode can be a multiple bit entity carrying a value, such as an integer value, that will allow the system to have multiple security levels and multiple secure systems running on the same platform. When the system is intended to run several levels of security then a multiple bit flag is preferred. When only a single secure system is resident on the system, the security level integer takes on values of 0 (non-secure) and 1 (secure));
Since the primary reference YNAG discloses the display content may be configured with a security attribute, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to associate the security attribute using flag bits allowing system to readily recognize the security level using the multiple flag bits. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624