DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 filed on 01/15/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on Application No. KR 10-2022-0133252 filed on 10/17/2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
It is noted that there is no certified English translation is in the official record for the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 01/15/2025 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/15/2025 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 01/15/2025 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “a memory to store door opening angle” should read “a memory to store a door opening angle.”
In claim 3, “a driving speed” should read “the driving speed”. “A driving speed” appears in claim 2 line 4. If applicant intends to have a different driving speed then it should be made clear.
In claim 5, “second user manipulation” should read “a second user manipulation.”
In claim 5, “display to speed information or angle information”, on line 6 of claim 5, should read “display of speed information or angle information.”
In claim 13, “,.” At the end of the claim should read “.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites, “the determined driving speed.” It is unclear whether “the determined driving speed” is referring to the first “a driving speed”, in claim 2 line 4, or the second “a driving speed”, in claim 3 line 2. For the purpose of examination, the second “a driving speed” will be interpreted as “the driving speed”.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites, “a long press for a preset time or more” The duration of “a long press” is subjective and therefore indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b) IV. For the purpose of examination, “a long press” will be interpreted as one or more seconds.
The claim recites, “a short press for less than a preset time” The duration of “a short press” is subjective and therefore indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b) IV. For the purpose of examination, “a short press” will be interpreted as less than one second.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites, “a long press for a preset time or more” The duration of “a long press” is subjective and therefore indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b) IV. For the purpose of examination, “a long press” will be interpreted as one or more seconds.
The claim recites, “a short press for less than a preset time”. The duration of “a short press” is subjective and therefore indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b) IV. For the purpose of examination, “a short press”, in claim 13 line 8, will be interpreted as less than one second.
The claim recites “the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information”. It is unclear whether “the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information”, in claim 13 line 4, is referring to “receiving at least one information of angle information or speed information” in claim 12 line 2, “updating stored angle information or speed information” in claim 12 line 4, or “at least one information of the inputted angle information or speed information” in claim 12 line 4. For the purpose of examination: “the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information” will be interpreted as referring to the stored “angle information or speed information.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et. al. (US 10927587 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses A refrigerator, comprising: a main body having a storage chamber; ([23]: “The refrigerator includes: a cabinet including a storage compartment;”)a door which is rotatable while coupled to the main body to open and close the storage chamber; ([23]: “a door opening or closing the storage compartment;”) a door opening device, which includes a motor to drive a protrusion member, to open the door through a rotation of the motor; ([23] “a door opening device including a push rod, moving from an initial position to a door opening position for opening the door, and a motor providing power to the push rod;”) a memory to store door opening angle information of the door; ([73]: “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”) and a processor to control the door opening device based on the stored door opening angle information ([23]: “and a controller controlling the motor” [73] “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”) upon an event in which the door be open occurs, ([101]: “Referring to FIGS. 6 to 8, in a state where the refrigerator 10 is turned on, as described above, the controller 60 may wait for an input of a door opening command in a state where the push rod 22 is located at the initial position (S11).”) wherein the processor controls the door opening device to open the door by controlling the rotation of the motor to drive the protrusion member so that the protrusion member protrudes toward a protrusion position corresponding to the stored door opening angle information among a plurality of protrusion positions. ([102]: “When it is determined that the door opening command is input (S12), the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 to rotate in the first direction (S13), for moving the push rod 22 from the initial position to the door opening position.”, where all opened door positions corresponds to an angle difference from its closed position, therefore opening the door to a stored fixed position is equivalent to opening the door to a stored fixed angle position.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1.
Lee further teaches the memory is configured to: store information about a door opening speed, and wherein the processor is configured to: control the motor to rotate in a driving speed corresponding to the door opening speed among a plurality of driving speeds ([73] “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”; [103] “At this time, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 rotate at a first opening speed.”; [104] “Since the push rod 22 is spaced apart from the door 12, the first opening speed may be set in order for the push rod 22 to quickly approach the door 12.”, where setting the speed involves storing information about the speed).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 2.
Lee further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine a driving speed and a driving time corresponding to the stored information about the door opening speed and the stored door opening angle information and control the motor based on the determined driving speed and driving time. ([106]: “Moreover, the controller 60 may determine whether the accumulated number of rotations of the motor 62 reaches a first reference rotation number (S14).”; [107] “When it is determined (S14) that the accumulated number of rotations of the motor 62 reaches the first reference rotation number, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 to rotate at a second opening speed (S15).”; [108] “In this case, the second opening speed may be set lower than the first opening speed. However, the present embodiment is not limited thereto, and the second opening speed may be set as a speed equal to or lower than one-third (⅓) of the first opening speed.”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1.
Lee further teaches further comprising: an input device to receive a user manipulation command, (Lee, [0076] “For example, when the approach of the user is recognized, the user pushes a specific button, or the user inputs an opening command through a touch type input unit, the door opening device 20 may operate.”) wherein the processor is configured to: store at least one information of angle information or speed information inputted from the input device in the memory. ([73] “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”; [103] “At this time, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 rotate at a first opening speed.”; [104] “Since the push rod 22 is spaced apart from the door 12, the first opening speed may be set in order for the push rod 22 to quickly approach the door 12.”, where setting the speed involves storing inputted information about the speed).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: based on a preset time is elapsed after the protrusion member protrudes toward the protrusion position, control the motor to move the protrusion member to a storage position. ([139]: “The controller 60 may determine whether a certain time elapses from a time when the push rod 22 moves to the door opening position and the motor 62 stops.”; [104] “When it is determined that the certain time elapses from the time when the motor 62 stops, the controller 60 may rotate the motor 62 in the second direction so as to return the push rod 22 to the initial position (S32).”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses A method for controlling a refrigerator including a door and a door opening device, (Lee, [23] “a door opening device including a push rod, moving from an initial position to a door opening position for opening the door, and a motor providing power to the push rod;”) comprising: storing door opening angle information of the door, the door opening device including a motor to drive a protrusion member; ([73]: “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”) confirming whether an event that the door be open occurs; ([102]: “When it is determined that the door opening command is input (S12), the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 to rotate in the first direction (S13), for moving the push rod 22 from the initial position to the door opening position.”, where the door opening position is an angle”) and based on the event occurring, controlling the door opening device to open the door by controlling a rotation of the motor such that the protrusion member protrudes toward a protrusion position corresponding to the stored door opening angle information among a plurality of protrusion positions. ([102]: “When it is determined that the door opening command is input (S12), the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 to rotate in the first direction (S13), for moving the push rod 22 from the initial position to the door opening position.”, where the door opening position is an angle).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the method of claim 9.
Lee further teaches wherein the storing includes storing information about a door opening speed, and wherein the controlling includes: controlling the motor to rotate in a driving speed corresponding to the door opening speed among a plurality of driving speeds. ([73] “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”; [103] “At this time, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 rotate at a first opening speed.”; [104] “Since the push rod 22 is spaced apart from the door 12, the first opening speed may be set in order for the push rod 22 to quickly approach the door 12.”, where setting the speed involves storing information about the speed).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the method of claim 10.
Lee further teaches wherein the controlling includes: determining a driving speed and a driving time corresponding to the stored door opening speed and the stored door opening angle information and controlling the motor based on the determined driving speed and driving time. ([106]: “Moreover, the controller 60 may determine whether the accumulated number of rotations of the motor 62 reaches a first reference rotation number (S14).”; [107] “When it is determined (S14) that the accumulated number of rotations of the motor 62 reaches the first reference rotation number, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 to rotate at a second opening speed (S15).”; [108] “In this case, the second opening speed may be set lower than the first opening speed. However, the present embodiment is not limited thereto, and the second opening speed may be set as a speed equal to or lower than one-third (⅓) of the first opening speed.”).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the method of claim 9.
Lee further teaches further comprising: receiving at least one information of angle information or speed information inputted through an input device; and updating stored angle information or speed information based on at least one information of the inputted angle information or speed information. ([73] “The refrigerator 10 may further include a memory 61 which stores information about the number of rotations of the motor 62 necessary for the push rod 22 moving from the initial position to the door opening position.”; [103] “At this time, the controller 60 may control the motor 62 in order for the motor 62 rotate at a first opening speed.”; [104] “Since the push rod 22 is spaced apart from the door 12, the first opening speed may be set in order for the push rod 22 to quickly approach the door 12.”, where setting the speed involves storing inputted information about the speed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 10927587 B2), in view of Heo et al. (US 20130229172 A1), further in view of Comsa et. al. (US 20220357100 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 4.
Lee does not explicitly teach “further comprising: a display to display the stored at least one information of the angle information or the speed information, wherein the processor is configured to: change the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information which is being displayed on the display to speed information or angle information based on a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and change an attribute value of information which is being displayed on the display based on second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than a preset time.”
Heo further teaches further comprising: a display to display the stored at least one information of the angle information or the speed information, wherein the processor is configured to: change the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information which is being displayed on the display to speed information or angle information based on a ([0007]: “The opening state of the door may include at least one of a time during which the door is opened, a temperature difference between an inside and outside of the refrigerator, and an angle at which the door is opened.”; [0009] “The output unit may include at least one of an image displaying unit and a sound output unit. At this time, the power rates information may be selectively output through at least one of the image displaying unit and the sound output unit according to a predetermined condition.”; [0057] “The input unit 202 generates input data for entering data or for controlling the operation of the refrigerator 200. The input unit 202 is not limited to a specific implementation. In general, a keypad, a wheel, a touch pad, a touch screen, or a combination of two or more thereof may be used.”; [0058] “The output unit 203 outputs various necessary data. The output unit 203 generates visual or audible outputs and may include a displaying unit 203a and a sound output unit 203b.”; [0059] The memory unit 204 stores data necessary for operating the refrigerator 200. For example, the memory unit 204 may store data received through the communication unit 201 and/or data entered through the input unit 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Heo so as to include a display to display the stored angle or speed information where the processor is configured to change the information being displayed on the display. Doing so would allow for a user to more effectively save on power consumption when using the door (Heo, [0017]: “Finally, a method of outputting the additional power rates incurred as the door is opened may be applied differently based on an opening state of the door, so that a user may more easily approach information on the additional power rates, and accordingly, the user may be induced to save power consumption even further effectively.”).
Lee in view of Heto does not explicitly teach “a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and change an attribute value of information which is being displayed on the display based on second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than a preset time.”.
Comsa further teaches a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and change an attribute value of information which is being displayed on the display based on second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than a preset time. ([0068]: “To turn off the unit, the user presses and holds the self-capacitive touch button 34 for 3 or more seconds, which turns off the sensor assembly 32. If the user keeps pressing the self-capacitive touch button 34 for more than 3 seconds, the RGB LED 403 (arranged underneath the self-capacitive touch button 34) will starts blinking (indicating an OFF mode). A red shade of the RGB LED 402 can indicate the OFF state of the sensor assembly 32. Of course, the amount of time required to hold the button 34 to achieve different effects can be set at different values.”; [0069] “A quick press-touch and release by the user on the self-capacitive touch button 34 corresponds to temperature Setting 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Lee in view of Heo to incorporate the teachings of Comsa so as to include input using a long press and a short press to manipulate information being displayed. Doing so would allow for the system to have a reliable and more durable user interface (Comsa, [0003]: “In addition, the manually turned knobs eventually wear out because they employ moving parts. Therefore, it is desirable to provide a reliable user interface that provides better feedback to the user.”).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the method of claim 12.
Lee does not explicitly teach “wherein the receiving includes: displaying the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information; changing the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information which is on display to speed information or angle information based on a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and changing an attribute value of information which is on display based on a second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than the preset time,.”
Heo further teaches wherein the receiving includes: displaying the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information; changing the at least one information of the angle information or the speed information which is on display to speed information or angle information based on ([0007]: “The opening state of the door may include at least one of a time during which the door is opened, a temperature difference between an inside and outside of the refrigerator, and an angle at which the door is opened.”; [0009] “The output unit may include at least one of an image displaying unit and a sound output unit. At this time, the power rates information may be selectively output through at least one of the image displaying unit and the sound output unit according to a predetermined condition.”; [0057] “The input unit 202 generates input data for entering data or for controlling the operation of the refrigerator 200. The input unit 202 is not limited to a specific implementation. In general, a keypad, a wheel, a touch pad, a touch screen, or a combination of two or more thereof may be used.”; [0058] “The output unit 203 outputs various necessary data. The output unit 203 generates visual or audible outputs and may include a displaying unit 203a and a sound output unit 203b.”; [0059] The memory unit 204 stores data necessary for operating the refrigerator 200. For example, the memory unit 204 may store data received through the communication unit 201 and/or data entered through the input unit 202.).
Lee in view of Heto does not explicitly teach “a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and changing an attribute value of information which is on display based on a second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than the preset time,.”.
Comsa further teaches a first user manipulation which is a long press input for a preset time or more; and changing an attribute value of information which is on display based on a second user manipulation which is a short press input for less than the preset time,. ([0068]: “To turn off the unit, the user presses and holds the self-capacitive touch button 34 for 3 or more seconds, which turns off the sensor assembly 32. If the user keeps pressing the self-capacitive touch button 34 for more than 3 seconds, the RGB LED 403 (arranged underneath the self-capacitive touch button 34) will starts blinking (indicating an OFF mode). A red shade of the RGB LED 402 can indicate the OFF state of the sensor assembly 32. Of course, the amount of time required to hold the button 34 to achieve different effects can be set at different values.”; [0069] “A quick press-touch and release by the user on the self-capacitive touch button 34 corresponds to temperature Setting 1”).
Claim 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 10927587 B2), in view of Roh et al. (US 20040186596 A1), further in view of Heo et al. (US 20130229172 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach “further comprising: a communication device to communicate with an external device,.”
Roh further teaches further comprising: a communication device to communicate with an external device, ([0007] “Accordingly, the present invention is directed to networking system of a refrigerator and method for operating the networking system that substantially obviates one or more of the problems due to limitations and disadvantages of the related art.”; [0014] “The second terminal exchanges data with an external device, and stores data from the external device. The external device is an ISP server, a transmitter of a broadcasting station, or a home appliance. The second terminal makes communication with the external device through at least one of an ethernet, a modem, a power line, a cable receiver, a TV receiving line, and a settop box.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Roh so as to include a communication device to communicate with an external device. Doing so would allow for the user to more easily change the information stored in the refrigerator and have access to that stored information ([0008] “An object of the present invention is to provide networking system of a refrigerator and method for operating the networking system, which is easy for change of data, and can provide various kinds of information to a user.”).
Lee in view of Roh does not explicitly teach “wherein the processor is configured to: store at least one information of angle information or speed information received from the communication device in the memory”.
Heo further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: store at least one information of angle information or speed information received from the communication device in the memory. ([0007]: “The opening state of the door may include at least one of a time during which the door is opened, a temperature difference between an inside and outside of the refrigerator, and an angle at which the door is opened.”; [0009] “The output unit may include at least one of an image displaying unit and a sound output unit. At this time, the power rates information may be selectively output through at least one of the image displaying unit and the sound output unit according to a predetermined condition.”; [0057] “The input unit 202 generates input data for entering data or for controlling the operation of the refrigerator 200. The input unit 202 is not limited to a specific implementation. In general, a keypad, a wheel, a touch pad, a touch screen, or a combination of two or more thereof may be used.”; [0058] “The output unit 203 outputs various necessary data. The output unit 203 generates visual or audible outputs and may include a displaying unit 203a and a sound output unit 203b.”; [0059] “The memory unit 204 stores data necessary for operating the refrigerator 200. For example, the memory unit 204 may store data received through the communication unit 201 and/or data entered through the input unit 202.”, where a communication device is a device capable of inputting information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Heo so as to include storing information received from a communication device. Doing so would allow for a user to store information necessary to more effectively save on power consumption when using the door (Heo, [0017]: “Finally, a method of outputting the additional power rates incurred as the door is opened may be applied differently based on an opening state of the door, so that a user may more easily approach information on the additional power rates, and accordingly, the user may be induced to save power consumption even further effectively.”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the method of claim 9.
Lee does not explicitly teach “further comprising: receiving at least one information of angle information or speed information from an external device;”
Roh further teaches further comprising: receiving at least one information of angle information or speed information from an external device; ([0007] “Accordingly, the present invention is directed to networking system of a refrigerator and method for operating the networking system that substantially obviates one or more of the problems due to limitations and disadvantages of the related art.”; [0014] “The second terminal exchanges data with an external device, and stores data from the external device. The external device is an ISP server, a transmitter of a broadcasting station, or a home appliance. The second terminal makes communication with the external device through at least one of an ethernet, a modem, a power line, a cable receiver, a TV receiving line, and a settop box.”).
Lee in view of Roh does not explicitly teach “and updating stored angle information or speed information based on the received at least one information of the angle information or speed information.”.
Heo further teaches and updating stored angle information or speed information based on the received at least one information of the angle information or speed information. ([0007]: “The opening state of the door may include at least one of a time during which the door is opened, a temperature difference between an inside and outside of the refrigerator, and an angle at which the door is opened.”; [0009] “The output unit may include at least one of an image displaying unit and a sound output unit. At this time, the power rates information may be selectively output through at least one of the image displaying unit and the sound output unit according to a predetermined condition.”; [0057] “The input unit 202 generates input data for entering data or for controlling the operation of the refrigerator 200. The input unit 202 is not limited to a specific implementation. In general, a keypad, a wheel, a touch pad, a touch screen, or a combination of two or more thereof may be used.”; [0058] “The output unit 203 outputs various necessary data. The output unit 203 generates visual or audible outputs and may include a displaying unit 203a and a sound output unit 203b.”; [0059] “The memory unit 204 stores data necessary for operating the refrigerator 200. For example, the memory unit 204 may store data received through the communication unit 201 and/or data entered through the input unit 202.”, where a communication device is a device capable of inputting information).
Claim 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (US 10927587 B2), in view of Kim et. al. (US 20200003482 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly teach “further comprising: a sensor to detect an object within a preset area of the refrigerator, wherein the processor is configured to: based on the object being detected within the preset area, generate an event that the door is to open.”
Kim further teaches further comprising: a sensor to detect an object within a preset area of the refrigerator, wherein the processor is configured to: based on the object being detected within the preset area, generate an event that the door is to open. ([0109]: “In the present embodiment, the first image sensor 131_1 may be provided on the front surface of the refrigerator 100, that is, above the display 161, so as to photograph the periphery of the refrigerator 100. For example, the first image sensor 131_1 may photograph a user holding food.; ”; [0110] “The sensor 132 may sense at least one among information in the refrigerator 100, surrounding environment information surrounding the refrigerator 100, and user information.”; “Meanwhile, in the present embodiment, the refrigerator 100 can combine information sensed by at least two sensors 132 among the sensors 132, and utilize the combined information. In addition, a signal sensed by the sensor 132 may be stored in the memory 181.”; [0090] “In order to automatically open or close one of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 by a simple touch of the user, the controller 180, which senses the operation of a touch sensor (included in 132 of FIG. 3) provided on the door, may operate the door opening/closing module. Further, in order to automatically open or close any one of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 by a voice command of the user, a voice recognition module (190 of FIG. 3), which has received the user's voice (for example, “Open the left refrigerating compartment door” or “Open the right freezer compartment door”), may transmit the result of voice recognition to the controller 180, and the controller 180 may operate the door opening/closing module”; [0124] In an alternative embodiment, the first recognition unit 171 may sense the opening of one or more of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 of the refrigerator 100. After the door is opened, the first recognition unit 171 may cause the display 161 and/or the audio output unit 162 to output activation status information on the voice recognition function.”, where the area surrounding the refrigerator is a preset area, utilizing information based on the object detected such as a user holding food, or voice or touch sensors, and causing a display or audio output unit to output is the result of generation of an event that the door is open).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Kim so as to include a sensor to detect an object within a preset area and generate an event based on the object being detected. Doing so would allow for the convenience of use of the refrigerator to be improved ([0022]: “By employing the method for operating a refrigerator according to this embodiment of the present disclosure, food which is put into and taken out from a refrigerator can be easily recognized by using a voice recognition function and an image recognition function, thereby improving user convenience in using a refrigerator.”).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the method of claim 9.
Lee does not explicitly teach “wherein the confirming includes: detecting an object within a preset area of the refrigerator and based on the object being detected within the preset area, generating an event that the door be open.”
Kim further teaches wherein the confirming includes: detecting an object within a preset area of the refrigerator and based on the object being detected within the preset area, generating an event that the door be open. ([0109]: “In the present embodiment, the first image sensor 131_1 may be provided on the front surface of the refrigerator 100, that is, above the display 161, so as to photograph the periphery of the refrigerator 100. For example, the first image sensor 131_1 may photograph a user holding food.” [0110] “The sensor 132 may sense at least one among information in the refrigerator 100, surrounding environment information surrounding the refrigerator 100, and user information.”; “Meanwhile, in the present embodiment, the refrigerator 100 can combine information sensed by at least two sensors 132 among the sensors 132, and utilize the combined information. In addition, a signal sensed by the sensor 132 may be stored in the memory 181. [0090] “In order to automatically open or close one of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 by a simple touch of the user, the controller 180, which senses the operation of a touch sensor (included in 132 of FIG. 3) provided on the door, may operate the door opening/closing module. Further, in order to automatically open or close any one of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 by a voice command of the user, a voice recognition module (190 of FIG. 3), which has received the user's voice (for example, “Open the left refrigerating compartment door” or “Open the right freezer compartment door”), may transmit the result of voice recognition to the controller 180, and the controller 180 may operate the door opening/closing module”; [0124] In an alternative embodiment, the first recognition unit 171 may sense the opening of one or more of the first door 101 to the fourth door 104 of the refrigerator 100. After the door is opened, the first recognition unit 171 may cause the display 161 and/or the audio output unit 162 to output activation status information on the voice recognition function.”, where the area surrounding the refrigerator is a preset area, utilizing information based on the object detected such as a user holding food, or voice or touch sensors, and causing a display or audio output unit to output is the result of generation of an event that the door is open).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210140702 A1: Refrigerator And Particularly For Storing Foods At A Low Temperature In An Internal Storage Space, Comprises A Cabinet That Defines A Storage Space, A Door Assembly That Is Coupled To The Cabinet, An Operation Module And An Input Device
/N.P.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117