DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 16 claims and claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/15/2025, 09/23/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 1 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 1
Claim 1
1
A method for encoding video data by an encoder, the method comprising:
A method for encoding video data by an encoder, the method comprising:
2
obtaining a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data, including:
coding a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the coding comprises:
3
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
4
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
5
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
7
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
8
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 1 is a broader version of the patent claim 1 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 1 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 1.
Claim 7 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 7 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 7
Claim 11
1
An encoder for encoding video data, comprising:
An encoder for encoding video data, comprising:
2
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the encoder to:
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the encoder to:
3
obtain a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data, including:
code a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the coding comprises:
4
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
5
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
7
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
8
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
9
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 7 is a broader version of the patent claim 11 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 7 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 11.
Claim 8 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 8 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 8
Claim 11
1
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to perform a method, the method comprising:
An encoder for encoding video data, comprising:
2
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the encoder to:
3
obtaining a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data, including:
code a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the coding comprises:
4
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
5
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
7
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
8
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
9
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 8 is a broader version of the patent claim 11 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 8 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 11.
Claim 9 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 9 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 9
Claim 6
1
A method for decoding video data by a decoder, the method comprising:
A method for decoding video data by a decoder, the method comprising:
2
obtaining a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data, including:
decoding a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the decoding comprises:
3
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
4
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
5
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
7
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
8
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 8 is a broader version of the patent claim 9 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 9 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 6.
Claim 15 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 15 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 15
Claim 16
1
A decoder for decoding video data, comprising:
A decoder for decoding video data, comprising:
2
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the decoder to:
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the decoder to:
3
obtain a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data, including:
decode a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the decoding comprises:
4
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
5
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
7
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
8
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
9
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 15 is a broader version of the patent claim 16 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 15 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 16.
Claim 16 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of Patent 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following table describes the double patenting rejection basis of claim 16 between the instant application and the patent.
19022675 (Instant Application)
12,231,648 B2 (Patent)
Claim 16
Claim 16
1
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to perform a method for decoding video data, the method comprising:
A decoder for decoding video data, comprising:
2
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the decoder to:
3
obtaining a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data, including:
decode a video block of the video data using a linear model of a template-based video coding technique, the decoding comprises:
4
using a single look up table to determine a first parameter of the linear model, the single look up table including values for determining least significant bits,
5
wherein the determining of the first parameter of the linear model comprises:
6
determining minimum and maximum values derived from luma samples neighboring the video block;
7
determining minimum and maximum values derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block; and
8
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value,
computing the first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) the minimum and the maximum values of the chroma samples and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between the minimum and the maximum values of the luma samples,
9
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
wherein the reciprocal is derived from the single look up table, and predicting samples of the video block based on the linear model.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The equivalencies in claim limitations of the instant application and the patent are highlighted in bold italics text. It is to be noted that all the limitations of the instant application are directly recited in the patent. The instant application claim 16 is a broader version of the patent claim 16 since the patent claim has additional limitations therein. Therefore, the instant application claim 16 as a whole is not patentably distinct from the patent claim 16.
Claims 2-6, 10-14 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combination of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
For the same reasoning above, claims 1-16 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,909,977 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2020/108591 A1) in view of Yasugi et al. (US PGPub 2022/0070491 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. teach a method for encoding video data by an encoder (Figs. 30B, 30A show the decoder and encoder block diagrams respectively as described in P79, [00360]), the method comprising:
obtaining a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the minimum luma value and the maximum luma value derived from luma samples neighboring the video block (Zhang et al.; P3, L2-5; it teaches parameters of a cross-component linear model (CCLM) based on maximum and minimum values of luma samples of N groups of luma samples selected from neighboring luma samples of the current video block); and
the minimum chroma value and the maximum chroma value derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block (Zhang et al.; P3, L2-5; it teaches parameters of a cross-component linear model (CCLM) based on maximum and minimum values of chroma samples of N groups of chroma samples selected from neighboring chroma samples of the current video block).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: computing a second parameter of the linear model as a function of the minimum chroma value, the minimum luma value, and the first parameter of the linear model (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14; [0177]; it shows the equation of deriving a second parameter b = C_MIN – (a*Y_MIN), where C_MIN is the minimum chroma value, Y_MIN is the minimum luma value and a is the first parameter).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the second parameter is computed at a precision that is less than or equal to 16 bits (Yasugi et al.; [0172]; It teaches that parameters (a, b) are derived for Cb and Cr, wherein shiftA is a normalized number of shifts indicating the precision of the a value, and a=af<<shiftA is obtained in a case that the gradient of fractional precision is taken as af. For example, shiftA=16).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first parameter is computed at a precision that is less than or equal to 16 bits (Yasugi et al.; [0172]; It teaches that parameters (a, b) are derived for Cb and Cr, wherein shiftA is a normalized number of shifts indicating the precision of the a value, and a=af<<shiftA is obtained in a case that the gradient of fractional precision is taken as af. For example, shiftA=16).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the linear model is of a template-based video coding technique that is based on a cross component linear model (CCLM) or a local illumination compensation (LIC) (Zhang et al.; [0027], [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. teach an encoder for encoding video data (Figs. 30B, 30A show the decoder and encoder block diagrams respectively as described in P79, [00360]), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 30A, reference numeral 2102); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 30A, reference numeral 2104), cause the encoder to:
obtain a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executable by at least one processor (P82, [00391]; Fig. 30A) to perform a method, the method comprising:
obtaining a linear model used to encode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. teach a method for decoding video data by a decoder (Figs. 30B, 30A show the decoder and encoder block diagrams respectively as described in P79, [00360]), the method comprising:
obtaining a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 9, wherein:
the minimum luma value and the maximum luma value derived from luma samples neighboring the video block (Zhang et al.; P3, L2-5; it teaches parameters of a cross-component linear model (CCLM) based on maximum and minimum values of luma samples of N groups of luma samples selected from neighboring luma samples of the current video block); and
the minimum chroma value and the maximum chroma value derived from chroma samples neighboring the video block (Zhang et al.; P3, L2-5; it teaches parameters of a cross-component linear model (CCLM) based on maximum and minimum values of chroma samples of N groups of chroma samples selected from neighboring chroma samples of the current video block).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 9, further comprising:
computing a second parameter of the linear model as a function of the minimum chroma value, the minimum luma value, and the first parameter of the linear model (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14; [0177]; it shows the equation of deriving a second parameter b = C_MIN – (a*Y_MIN), where C_MIN is the minimum chroma value, Y_MIN is the minimum luma value and a is the first parameter).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 11, wherein the second parameter is computed at a precision that is less than or equal to 16 bits (Yasugi et al.; [0172]; It teaches that parameters (a, b) are derived for Cb and Cr, wherein shiftA is a normalized number of shifts indicating the precision of the a value, and a=af<<shiftA is obtained in a case that the gradient of fractional precision is taken as af. For example, shiftA=16).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 9, wherein the first parameter is computed at a precision that is less than or equal to 16 bits (Yasugi et al.; [0172]; It teaches that parameters (a, b) are derived for Cb and Cr, wherein shiftA is a normalized number of shifts indicating the precision of the a value, and a=af<<shiftA is obtained in a case that the gradient of fractional precision is taken as af. For example, shiftA=16).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. and Yasugi et al. teach the method according to claim 9, wherein the linear model is of a template-based video coding technique that is based on a cross component linear model (CCLM) or a local illumination compensation (LIC) (Zhang et al.; [0027], [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al. teach a decoder for decoding video data (Figs. 30B, 30A show the decoder and encoder block diagrams respectively as described in P79, [00360]), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 30A, reference numeral 2102); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 30A, reference numeral 2104), cause the decoder to:
obtain a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to perform a method for decoding video data, the method comprising:
obtaining a linear model used to decode a video block of the video data (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters), including:
computing a first parameter of the linear model as a function of (i) a minimum chroma value and a maximum chroma value (P20-21, [00138]; Fig. 2 shows the diagram with multiple model CCLM parameter calculation where α1, β1 represents the first linear model parameters which are calculated as maximum and minimum luma sample pair values corresponding to the maximum and minimum chroma sample pair values as described in [00142]-[00143], [00258]) and (ii) a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value (P59, Eqns. 8-211 through 8-220 show the calculation of parameter values k, a, b based on the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value),
wherein the reciprocal is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits (P48, [00288], Table 1; Fig. 16 shows the lookup table for LM parameter calculation).
Although, Zhang et al. teach a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value and a difference of the minimum and maximum luma value as in P59, Eqn. 8-211, but it does not explicitly teach that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table including values for determining least significant bits.
However, Yasugi et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach an encoding method where it teaches that a reciprocal of a difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value is derived from a single look up table (Yasugi et al.; Fig. 14 shows the luma maximum value Y_MAX and luma minimum value Y_MIN, wherein in [0011], it teaches that the prediction parameters are derived based on a luma difference value, a chroma difference value, and a table. It also teaches that the parameters are derived based on a value of an inverse number table referred to by using the luma difference. Also Figs. 17, 18 show how 1/diff (luma difference) is used to calculate parameters. See [0214] also) including values for determining least significant bits (Yasugi et al.; [0280]-[0282]; Even though it teaches calculating MSB=1<<(P-1), but a person of ordinary skill in the art can calculate LSB by right shifting 1 instead of left shifting, e.g., LSB=1>>(P-1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al’s invention of parameter derivation for intra prediction to include Yasugi et al's deduction of least significant bits using reciprocal of the difference between a minimum luma value and a maximum luma value, because multiplication with a linear prediction parameter is simplified (Yasugi et al.; [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. "LINEAR MODEL CHROMA INTRA PREDICTION FOR VIDEO CODING" - Zhang et al., US PGPub 2018/0077426 A1.
2. "METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR VIDEO ENCODING OR DECODING" - Zhao et al., US PGPub 2020/0195976 A1.
3. "CONCEPT OF USING ONE OR MULTIPLE LOOK UP TABLES TO STORE MOTION INFORMATION OF PREVIOUSLY CODED IN ORDER AND USE THEM TO CODE FOLLOWING BLOCKS" - Zhang et al., US PGPub 2020/0195959 A1.
4. "INTRA PREDICTION METHOD AND DEVICE" - Ma et al., US PGPub 2021/0297656 A1.
5. "SINGLE-LINE CROSS COMPONENT LINEAR MODEL PREDICTION MODE" - Zhang et al., US PGPub 2022/0053192 A1.
6. “MULTI-MODELS FOR INTRA PREDICTION” – Zhang et al., US PGPub 2021/0258572 A1.
7. "Enhanced Cross-Component Linear Model for Chroma Intra-Prediction in Video Coding" - Kai Zhang, Jianle Chen, Li Zhang, Xiang Li, Marta Karczewicz; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON IMAGE PROCESSING, VOL. 27, NO. 8, AUGUST 2018.
8. "Multi-model Based Cross-component Linear Model Chroma Intra-prediction for Video Coding" - Kai Zhang, Jianle Chen, Li Zhang, Xiang Li, Marta Karczewicz; IEEE VCIP 2017, Dec. 10 – 13, 2017, St Petersburg, U.S.A.
/Mainul Hasan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485