DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 8 June 2026. Claim(s) 1-19 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 5, 8, 9,12, and 17 and cancelled claim 20.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘elongated member’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatta et al. (US 5,254,115, “Bhatta”).
Regarding claim(s) 17-19, Bhatta discloses a laparoscopic tool capable of assisting in positioning at least one of a first magnetic implant and a second magnetic implant capable of forming an anastomosis between two adjacent walls of a digestive tract of a patient. It is noted that the first and second magnetic implants are not positively recited. The laparoscopic tool (C10; L15-18) includes an elongated member (15; Fig. 1) sized and configured to have at least a portion thereof to be capable of being inserted laparoscopically into an abdominal cavity of the patient (C10; L15-18). A tong-shaped distal end including a pair of branches (25, 50; Figs. 1, 3) fixed relative to one another and capable of grasping a bowel therebetween and constraining the bowel to a dimension smaller than a cross-sectional profile of the at least one of the first magnetic and that second magnetic implant to translate the at least one of the first magnetic implant and the second magnetic implant within a lumen of the bowel. The laparoscopic tool is non-magnetic and the branches have a fixed shape, wherein the branches do not include elements that expand or inflate (Fig. 2).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 21 November 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,534,171 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a positioning wand including an elongated member configured to be inserted into an abdominal cavity, a distal tip at a distal end of the elongated member, the distal tip configured for placement against an outer surface of a wall of the digestive tract, the distal tip including a guide magnet, the distal tip pivotally engageable with the elongated member via a pin and having a cylindrical shape with a central cylindrical longitudinal ais coinciding with the pin such that the distal tip is rotatable about the central cylindrical longitudinal axis, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a positioning wand including an elongated member configured to be inserted into an abdominal cavity, a distal tip at a distal end of the elongated member, the distal tip configured for placement against an outer surface of a wall of the digestive tract, the distal tip operatively engaged with a distal end of the elongated member, the distal tip including a plurality of guide magnets and a flexible housing receiving the plurality of guide magnets, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a positioning wand including an elongated member configured to be inserted into an abdominal cavity, a distal tip at a distal end of the elongated member, the distal tip configured for placement against an outer surface of a wall of the digestive tract, the distal tip including a wedged portion provided at a distal end of the distal tip, the wedged portion converging toward a central axis of the distal tip, a guide magnet, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klotz et al. (US 2004/0267243A1, “Klotz”) and Wittenberger et al. (US 2004/0254607A1, “Wittenberger”) disclose a laparoscopic tool having an elongated member and a tong-shaped distal end including a pair of branches fixed relative to one another.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771