DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 19 recites the limitation "the at least one rotating shaft" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “rotating shaft” in claims 15 and 19 is used by the claim to mean “actuating bearing,” while the accepted meaning is “a long, slender, cylindrical form.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Granito (US 20220295951 A1).
Annotated Figure 3 of Granito
Regarding claim 1, Granito discloses a connection structure (100, clasp), comprising: a first foldable plate (1, base), comprising a first support strip (2, longitudinal member) connected to a second support strip (2, longitudinal member), wherein the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 71, lines 1-4), to define a first gap (annotated figure 3) between the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), the first support strip and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) faces (annotated figure 3) the side face of the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), and a first clamping portion (9, recess) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the first support strip (annotated figure 3) or the side face of the second support strip (annotated figure 3); a second foldable plate (5, folding arm), wherein one end of the second foldable plate is rotatably connected to (figure 3 and paragraph 72) one end of the first foldable plate (1, base), the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) comprises a third support strip (6, leg) and a fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 9), to define a second gap (annotated figure 3) between the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) faces away from (annotated figure 3) the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg), and a second clamping portion (8, claws) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) and the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg); and an elastic shaft (131, actuating members) with two ends (132, pushers), wherein the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) passes through the second gap (paragraph 74), each of the two ends (132, pushers) of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) are respectively connected to the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), and the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) is elastic in a direction of an axis of (paragraph 75) the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), to adjust a size of the second gap (annotated figure 3); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in a closed state, the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are located in the first gap (paragraph 76), and the first clamping portion (9, recesses) is clamped to the second clamping portion (8, claws).
Regarding claim 2, Granito discloses a connection assembly, comprising a face cover (105, cover) and at least one rotating shaft (134, rods) that is disposed on one side of (figure 1) the face cover (105, cover) and that is fastened to (paragraph 74) the face cover (105, cover), wherein the at least one rotating shaft (134, rods) is rotatably connected to (paragraph 81) the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) through the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), and the face cover (105, cover) is configured to connect to a component (111, band) outside the connection structure (100, clasp).
Regarding claim 3, Granito discloses the at least one rotating shaft (134, rods) comprises a first rotating shaft (134, rods) and a second rotating shaft (134, rods) that are spaced from each other (figure 3 and paragraph 81); the third support strip (6, leg) comprises a first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a second connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the fourth support strip (7, leg) relative to the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), the fourth support strip (7, leg) comprises a third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), and the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the third support strip (6, leg) relative to the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); the first rotating shaft (134, rods) is disposed between the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the second rotating shaft (134, rods) is disposed between the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); and one end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the second connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the first rotating shaft (134, rods) to abut against the first connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the other end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second rotating shaft (134, rods) to abut against the third connection portion (annotated figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Granito discloses a distance between the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second connection portion (annotated figure 3) is greater than a thickness of the first rotating shaft (134, rod) in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), and a distance between the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) is greater than a thickness of the second rotating shaft (134, rod) in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members).
Regarding claim 5, Granito discloses the first clamping portion (9, recess) defines a clamping groove (recess), and the second clamping portion (8, claws) defines a bump (claw); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in the closed state, the bump (claw) is located in the clamping groove (paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 6, Granito discloses the first clamping portion (9, recess) is disposed distal from the end that is of the first foldable plate (1, base) and that is rotatably connected to the second foldable plate (5, folding arm), and the second clamping portion (8, claws) is disposed distal from the end that is of the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) and that is rotatably connected to the first foldable plate (1, base).
Regarding claim 7, Granito discloses a hinge shaft (annotated figure 3), wherein the first support strip (2, longitudinal member), the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), the third support strip (6, leg), and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are rotatably connected (paragraph 73) through the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3), and the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are located between the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member).
Regarding claim 8, Granito discloses a part of the third support strip (6, leg) that is proximate to the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3) is connected to a part of the fourth support strip (7, leg) that is proximate to the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3), and the second gap (annotated figure 3) is distal from the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Granito discloses a width of a part of the second gap (annotated figure 3) that is distal from the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3) is greater than a width of a part of the second gap (annotated figure 3) that is proximate to the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3), the width of the part of the second gap (annotated figure 3) that is distal from the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3) and the width of the part of the second gap (annotated figure 3) that is proximate to the hinge shaft (annotated figure 3) are measured in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members).
Regarding claim 11, Granito discloses the third support strip (6, leg) further comprises a first protrusion portion (151, side wall) disposed on a side of the third support strip (6, leg) that is distal from the fourth support strip (7, leg), and the fourth support strip (7, leg) further comprises a second protrusion portion (151, side wall) disposed on a side of the fourth support strip (7, leg) that is distal from the third support strip (6, leg); and the first protrusion portion (151, side wall) and the second protrusion portion (151, side wall) are located on or parallel to the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating member); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in the closed state, the first protrusion portion (151, side wall) and the second protrusion portion (151, side wall) respectively protrude from two side faces of the first support strip (6, leg) and the second support strip (7, leg) that are distal from each other.
Regarding claim 12, Granito discloses the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are arc-shaped (figure 2); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in the closed state, the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) have a same bending direction and a same bending radian (figure 4E and paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 13, Granito discloses a strap (111, 112, bands), comprising: a connection structure (100, clasp), wherein the connection structure (100, clasp) comprises: a first foldable plate (1, base), comprising a first support strip (2, longitudinal member) connected to a second support strip (2, longitudinal member), wherein the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 71, lines 1-4), to define a first gap (annotated figure 3) between the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), the first support strip and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) faces (annotated figure 3) the side face of the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), and a first clamping portion (9, recess) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the first support strip (annotated figure 3) or the side face of the second support strip (annotated figure 3); a second foldable plate (5, folding arm), wherein one end of the second foldable plate is rotatably connected to (figure 3 and paragraph 72) one end of the first foldable plate (1, base), the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) comprises a third support strip (6, leg) and a fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 9), to define a second gap (annotated figure 3) between the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) faces away from (annotated figure 3) the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg), and a second clamping portion (8, claws) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) and the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg); and an elastic shaft (131, actuating members) with two ends (132, pushers), wherein the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) passes through the second gap (paragraph 74), each of the two ends (132, pushers) of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) are respectively connected to the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), and the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) is elastic in a direction of an axis of (paragraph 75) the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), to adjust a size of the second gap (annotated figure 3); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in a closed state, the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are located in the first gap (paragraph 76), and the first clamping portion (9, recesses) is clamped to the second clamping portion (8, claws); a first strap (112, band), wherein one end of a first foldable plate (1, base) in the connection structure (100, clasp) is rotatably connected to a second foldable plate (5, folding arm), and the other end is connected to the first strap (112, band); and a second strap (111, band), wherein one end of the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) in the connection structure (100, clasp) is rotatably connected to the first foldable plate (1, base), and the other end is connected to the second strap (111, band).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granito (US 20220295951 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Granito discloses the at least one rotating shaft (125, lateral ears) comprises a first rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) and a second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) that are spaced from each other (figure 3); the third support strip (6, leg) comprises a first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a second connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the fourth support strip (7, leg) relative to the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), the fourth support strip (7, leg) comprises a third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), and the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the third support strip (6, leg) relative to the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); the first rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) is disposed between the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) is disposed between the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); and one end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the second connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the first rotating shaft (134, rods) to abut against the first connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the other end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) to abut against the third connection portion (annotated figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Granito discloses a watch (paragraph 1), comprising: a watch face (paragraph 58); and a strap (111, 112, bands), comprising: a connection structure (100, clasp), wherein the connection structure (100, clasp) comprises: a first foldable plate (1, base), comprising a first support strip (2, longitudinal member) connected to a second support strip (2, longitudinal member), wherein the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 71, lines 1-4), to define a first gap (annotated figure 3) between the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), the first support strip and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the first support strip (2, longitudinal member) faces (annotated figure 3) the side face of the second support strip (2, longitudinal member), and a first clamping portion (9, recess) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the first support strip (annotated figure 3) or the side face of the second support strip (annotated figure 3); a second foldable plate (5, folding arm), wherein one end of the second foldable plate is rotatably connected to (figure 3 and paragraph 72) one end of the first foldable plate (1, base), the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) comprises a third support strip (6, leg) and a fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are disposed in parallel (paragraph 9), to define a second gap (annotated figure 3) between the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) each comprise a side face (annotated figure 3), wherein the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) faces away from (annotated figure 3) the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg), and a second clamping portion (8, claws) is disposed on (figure 3) one of the side face of the third support strip (6, leg) and the side face of the fourth support strip (7, leg); and an elastic shaft (131, actuating members) with two ends (132, pushers), wherein the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) passes through the second gap (paragraph 74), each of the two ends (132, pushers) of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) are respectively connected to the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg), and the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) is elastic in a direction of an axis of (paragraph 75) the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), to adjust a size of the second gap (annotated figure 3); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in a closed state, the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are located in the first gap (paragraph 76), and the first clamping portion (9, recesses) is clamped to the second clamping portion (8, claws); a first strap (112, band), wherein one end of a first foldable plate (1, base) in the connection structure (100, clasp) is rotatably connected to a second foldable plate (5, folding arm), and the other end is connected to the first strap (112, band); and a second strap (111, band), wherein one end of the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) in the connection structure (100, clasp) is rotatably connected to the first foldable plate (1, base), and the other end is connected to the second strap (111, band), wherein one end of the watch face is connected to a first strap (112, band) of the strap, and the other end of the watch face is connected to a second strap (111, band) of the strap.
The Examiner is taking Official Notice that it is known in the art to one of ordinary skill
that if a band is made for a wristwatch, there would be a wristwatch face connected to the band. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that one end of the watch face is connected to one of the bands and the other end of the watch face is connected to the other band.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Granito discloses the at least one rotating shaft (125, lateral ears) comprises a first rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) and a second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) that are spaced from each other (figure 3); the third support strip (6, leg) comprises a first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a second connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the fourth support strip (7, leg) relative to the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), the fourth support strip (7, leg) comprises a third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and a fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) that are sequentially arranged in the direction of the axis of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members), and the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) is distal from the third support strip (6, leg) relative to the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); the first rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) is disposed between the first connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) is disposed between the third connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3); and one end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the second connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the first rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) to abut against the first connection portion (annotated figure 3), and the other end of the elastic shaft (131, actuating members) sequentially passes through the fourth connection portion (annotated figure 3) and the second rotating shaft (125, lateral ear) to abut against the third connection portion (annotated figure 3).
Claims 10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granito (US 20220295951) as applied to claims 1, 13, and 17 above, in view of Sand (US 1861029 A).
Annotated Figure 2 of Sand
Regarding claim 10, Granito discloses a connection structure (100, clasp) having a first foldable plate (1, base) having a first support strip (2, longitudinal members) and a second support strip (2, longitudinal members) and a second foldable plate (5, folding arm) having a third support strip (6, leg) and a fourth support strip (7, leg), wherein the first foldable plate (1, base) further comprises a connection strip (3, spacer) disposed between the first support strip (2, longitudinal members) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members), and two ends of the connection strip (3, spacer) are respectively connected to the first support strip (2, longitudinal members) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members); and when the first foldable plate (1, base) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) are in the closed state, the third support strip (6, leg) and the fourth support strip (7, leg) are located between the first support strip (2, longitudinal members) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members).
Granito does not explicitly disclose the connection plate, the side face of the first support strip that is proximate to the connection plate, or the side face of the second support strip that is proximate to the connection plate defining a receiving groove.
Regarding claim 10, Sand discloses a connection structure (buckle) having a first foldable plate (13, end section) having a first support strip and a second support strip (figure 2) and a second foldable plate (15, intermediate section) having a third support strip and a fourth support strip (figure 2), wherein the connection plate (annotated figure 2 of Sand), the side face (bottom face) of the first support strip (figure 2), and the side face (top face) of the second support strip (figure 2) define a receiving groove (29, grooves); and when the first foldable plate (13, end section) and the second foldable plate (15, intermediate section) are in the closed state, the third support strip (figure 2) and the fourth support strip (figure 2) are at least partially located in the receiving groove (29, grooves).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the base (1), spacer (3), and folding arm (5) of Granito to include ribs (28) and corresponding grooves (29) as taught by Sand. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a clasp with additional elements ensuring it is properly held in place when in the folded position (page 2, lines 17-25 of Sand).
Regarding claim 16, the previously made combination of Granito in view of Sand discloses a strap (111, 112, of Granito), wherein the first foldable plate (1, base of Granito) further comprises a connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) disposed between the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito), the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) comprising two side edges (figure 2 of Granito), each of the two side edges of the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) are respectively connected to the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito); and the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito), the side face of the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) that is proximate to the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito), and the side face of the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) that is proximate to the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) define a receiving groove (29, grooves of Sand); and when the first foldable plate (1, base of Granito) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm of Granito) are in the closed state, the third support strip (6, leg of Granito) and the fourth support strip (7, leg of Granito) are at least partially located in the receiving groove (29, grooves of Sand).
Regarding claim 20, the previously made combination of Granito in view of Sand discloses a watch (paragraph 1), wherein the first foldable plate (1, base of Granito) further comprises a connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) disposed between the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito), the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) comprising two side edges (figure 2 of Granito), and each of the two side edges of the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) are respectively connected to the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) and the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito); and the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito), the side face of the first support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) that is proximate to the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito), and the side face of the second support strip (2, longitudinal members of Granito) that is proximate to the connection plate (3, spacer of Granito) define a receiving groove (29, grooves of Sand); and when the first foldable plate (1, base of Granito) and the second foldable plate (5, folding arm of Granito) are in the closed state, the third support strip (6, leg of Granito) and the fourth support strip (7, leg of Granito) are at least partially located in the receiving groove (29, grooves of Sand).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granito (US 20220295951 A1) as applied to claims 1, 13, and 17 above, in view of Catanese (US 20160081439 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Granito discloses a connection structure (100, clasp) having straps (111, 112, band), wherein when the connection structure (100, clasp) further comprises a connection assembly (105, activation member), the second strap (111, band) is connected to the second foldable plate (5, folding arm) through the connection assembly (105, activation member); a face cover (105, cover) of the connection assembly (105, activation member) comprises a base plate (103, support) and a cover plate (115, outer surface), the base plate (103, support) and the cover plate (105, cover) enclose an accommodation space (space of 107, indexing member).
Granito does not explicitly disclose a clamping pillar disposed on the cover plate or a through hole provided on the second strap, wherein the second strap extends into the accommodation space and is clamped to the clamping pillar through the through hole.
Regarding claim 14, Catanese teaches a connection structure (locking means) having straps (100, 101, strands), wherein when the connection structure (locking means) further comprises a connection assembly (20, securing member), the second strap (100, first strand) is connected to the second foldable plate (1, first strip) through the connection assembly (20, securing member); a face cover (22, cap) of the connection assembly (20, securing member) comprises a base plate (220, lateral walls) and a cover plate (21, base plate), the base plate (220, lateral walls) and the cover plate (21, base plate) enclose an accommodation space (figure 2), and a clamping pillar (30, upper stud) is disposed on the cover plate (21, base plate); and a through hole (figure 1) is provided on the second strap (100, first strand), and the second strap (100, first strand) extends into the accommodation space (figure 2) and is clamped to the clamping pillar (30, upper stud) through the through hole (paragraph 44).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the outer surface (115) and band (111) of Granito to include the upper stud (30) and through holes as taught by Catanese. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to keep the band from sliding while the clasp is in the close position (paragraph 13 of Catanese).
Regarding claim 18, the previously made combination of Granito in view of Catanese discloses a watch, wherein when the connection structure (100, clasp of Granito) further comprises a connection assembly (105, activation member of Granito), the second strap (111, band of Granito) is connected to the second foldable plate (5, folding arm of Granito) through the connection assembly (105, activation member of Granito); a face cover (105, cover of Granito) of the connection assembly (105, activation member of Granito) comprises a base plate (103, support of Granito) and a cover plate (115, outer surface of Granito), the base plate (103, support of Granito) and the cover plate (115, outer surface of Granito) enclose an accommodation space (space of 107, indexing member of Granito), and a clamping pillar (30, upper stud of Catanese) is disposed on the cover plate (115, outer surface of Granito); and a through hole (figure 1 of Catanese) is provided on the second strap (111, band of Granito), and the second strap (111, band of Granito) extends into the accommodation space (space of 107, indexing member of Granito) and is clamped to the clamping pillar (30, upper stud of Catanese) through the through hole (figure 1 of Catanese).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaltenrieder et al (US 20160113361 A1) teaches a clasp for a wrist worn member having a prong and through holes on the band.
Yliluoma et al (US 20120312052 A1) teaches a watch with a folding clasp, each folding member having a gap.
Takahashi et al (US 6308382 B1) teaches a watch with a folding clasp, each folding member having a gap.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677