DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 113/33895, filed on 12/20/2011.
Claims 2-12 are cancelled.
Claims 13-32 are newly added.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 13, 15-20, 22-27, 29-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation in U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069 anticipates the limitation of claims in the present application.
Please refer to the table below:
Claim 1 of the present application
Claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
An electronic apparatus comprising: a display sensor having a detection region greater than a display region; and a processor, which is coupled to the display sensor
An electronic device comprising: a display including a display region; a position detection sensor layered with the display and including a detection region which is larger than the display region; and a processor, which is coupled to the position detection sensor
and which, in operation: detects a first touch position within the detection region; determines, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
and which, in operation, performs: periodically detecting a pointer touch on the position detection sensor at a defined time cycle; determining positions of the pointer touch on the position detection sensor and storing the positions in the memory device; determining whether or not to output a position of a first pointer touch to a control circuit, which is external to the processor, based on a position of a second pointer touch that is detected at a later timing later in time than the first pointer touch,
And in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, derives an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region
and in response to the position of the first pointer touch being outside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line connecting the position of the first pointer touch and the position of the second pointer touch intersects an edge of the display region.
Claim 13 of the present application
Claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor, in operation: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, foregoes deriving the edge position.
The electronic device according to claim 14, wherein, in response to the position of the first pointer touch being inside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, the processor foregoes deriving the edge position.
Claim 15 of the present application
Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation.
The electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers the processor to execute a defined operation.
Claim 17 of the present application
Claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The electronic apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position.
The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement of the pointer touch.
Claim 18 of the present application
Claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The electronic apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
Claim 19 of the present application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
An integrated circuit comprising circuity configured to control operation of a display sensor having a detection region greater than a display region by:
An integrated circuit configured to control a position detection sensor including a detection region, which is larger than a display region of a display layered with the position detection sensor,
detecting a first touch position within the detection region; determining, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
periodically detecting a pointer touch on the position detection sensor at a defined time cycle; determining positions of the pointer touch on the position detection sensor; determining whether or not to output a position of a first pointer touch to a control circuit, which is external to the processor, based on a position of a second pointer touch that is detected at a later timing later in time than the first pointer touch
and in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region.
and in response to the position of the first pointer touch being outside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line connecting the position of the first pointer touch and the position of the second pointer touch intersects an edge of the display region.
Claim 20 of the present application
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The integrated circuit according to claim 19, wherein the circuitry is configured to control operation of the display sensor by: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, foregoing deriving the edge position.
The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein, in response to the position of the first pointer touch being inside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, the processor foregoes deriving the edge position.
Claim 22 of the present application
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The integrated circuit according to claim 19, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation.
The integrated circuit according to claim 1, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation.
Claim 23 of the present application
Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The integrated circuit according to claim 22, wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position.
The integrated circuit according to claim 3, wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display originating from the edge position and leading to the position of the second pointer touch.
Claim 24 of the present application
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The integrated circuit according to claim 22, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position.
The integrated circuit according to claim 3, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement of the pointer touch.
Claim 25 of the present application
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The integrated circuit according to claim 22, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
The integrated circuit according to claim 3, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
Claim 26 of the present application
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
A display sensor comprising: a detection region greater than a display region; and a processor configured to:
A sensor comprising: a position detection sensor configured to be layered with a display including a display region, the position detection sensor including a detection region which is larger than the display region; a memory device; and a processor, which is coupled to the position detection sensor and which, in operation, performs
detect a first touch position within the detection region; determine, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
periodically detecting a pointer touch on the position detection sensor at a defined time cycle; determining positions of the pointer touch on the position detection sensor and storing the positions in the memory device; determining whether or not to output a position of a first pointer touch to a control circuit, which is external to the processor, based on a position of a second pointer touch that is detected at a later timing later in time than the first pointer touch
and in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, derive an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region.
and in response to the position of the first pointer touch being outside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line connecting the position of the first pointer touch and the position of the second pointer touch intersects an edge of the display region.
Claim 27 of the present application
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The sensor according to claim 26, wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, forego deriving the edge position.
The sensor according to claim 7, wherein, in response to the position of the first pointer touch being inside the display region and the position of the second pointer touch being inside the display region, the processor foregoes deriving the edge position.
Claim 29 of the present application
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The sensor according to claim 26, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation.
The sensor according to claim 7, wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation.
Claim 30 of the present application
Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The sensor according to claim 29, wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position.
The sensor according to claim 9, wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display originating from the edge position and leading to the position of the second pointer touch.
Claim 31 of the present application
Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The sensor according to claim 29, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position.
The sensor according to claim 9, wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement of the pointer touch.
Claim 32 of the present application
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,069
The sensor according to claim 29, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
The sensor according to claim 9, wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 13, 15 ,17, 19-20, 22, 24, 26-27, 29, 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaisanen (US Pub 2010/0105443) in view of Minton (US Pub 2011/0083104).
With respect to claim 1, Vaisanen discloses an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; touch screen apparatus 102) comprising: a display sensor having a detection region greater than a display region (fig. 1; touch screen display 129; par 0055; discloses a region of the touch screen display residing a predefined distance (e.g., a predefined number of pixels) from an edge of the touch screen display 126. In this regard, the active region may be at least partially defined by an exterior border located a predefined distance from an edge of the touch screen display 126); and a processor, which is coupled to the display sensor (fig. 1; processor 120 coupled to touch screen display 126) and which, in operation: detects a first touch position within the detection region and a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position (fig. 4; first touch location 416; second touch location 418; par 0052; discloses A user may therefore slide an input object 410 along a path 412 from a point of origin 416 on the housing of the touch screen apparatus 400 to a point 418 on the active region of the touch screen display 406); and in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, derives an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region (par 0051; discloses the input object may be slid along a path from a point of origin on or outside an edge of the touch screen display to a point within the touch screen display 126 so as to provide the predefined trigger touch interaction (e.g., a slide-in gesture); the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify a trigger touch interaction in embodiments wherein the active region comprises the entirety of the touch screen display 126 in that the first detected point of the touch interaction is one or more pixels immediately adjacent to the edge of the touch screen display 126 (e.g., the point where the input object crosses over an edge of the touch screen display 12);
Vaisanen doesn’t expressly disclose expressly disclose determine, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Minton discloses touch display device allowing user to input commands via touch interface (par 0042); Minton discloses determine, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position (fig. 2; discloses a situation where first location first touch location 240 is output based on the second touch location 242; fig. 3; discloses a scenario where the first touch location 240 is not output based on the second touch location 244; see par 0048-0049 as well; par 0048; discloses identifying a first touch location 240 within a selection zone 250; par 0049; discloses detecting a second touch location after the first touch location however the controller circuit outputs data corresponding to first location because location 242 is within the enlarged selection zone 250, the controller circuit outputs an indication of the user's selection of the number "5" instead of outputting an erroneous indication of the user's selection of the number "9"; i.e no user selection is determined and no input is provided to any application for controlling of application unless the second touch location is determined to be within the enlarged selection zone);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen to define a selection zone in the display area that can be increased or decreased in size while detecting touch inputs and output data based on the touch location on the selection zone as disclosed by Minton in order to accurately input user input to the device; hence preventing erroneous input;
With respect to claim 13, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the processor, in operation: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, foregoes deriving the edge position (Vaisanen; fig. 5; par 0053; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 504 having a point of origin 506 within the active region of the touch screen display 502 to a point 508 that is also within the active region. Since the touch interaction does not comprise a sliding of an input object along a path from a point of origin outside of the active region, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 of some embodiments may be configured to determine that the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 5 does not comprise a trigger touch interaction).
With respect to claim 15, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation (Vaisanen; fig. 1; discloses processor connected to the touch screen interface circuity; par 0057; discloses one or more of the trigger touch interactions described above (e.g., a slide-in gesture) is associated with a function for switching from a first mode of interaction with a graphical user interface to a second mode of interaction with a graphical user interface).
With respect to claim 17, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position (Vaisanen; par 0054; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 604 having a point of origin 606 outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602 to a point 608 that is within the active region. Along the path 604, the input object crosses the edge 610 and at that point, contact may be first detected between the touch input and touch screen display such that it may be determined that a true point of origin of the path of the touch interaction is outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602. Accordingly, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 6 as comprising a trigger touch interaction).
With respect to claim 19, Vaisanen discloses an integrated circuit comprising circuity configured to control operation of a display sensor having a detection region greater than a display region (fig. 1; touch screen interface circuit 128 connected to touch screen display 126; par 0055; discloses a region of the touch screen display residing a predefined distance (e.g., a predefined number of pixels) from an edge of the touch screen display 126. In this regard, the active region may be at least partially defined by an exterior border located a predefined distance from an edge of the touch screen display 126) by: detecting a first touch position within the detection region and a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position (fig. 4; first touch location 416; second touch location 418; par 0052; discloses A user may therefore slide an input object 410 along a path 412 from a point of origin 416 on the housing of the touch screen apparatus 400 to a point 418 on the active region of the touch screen display 406); and in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region (par 0051; discloses the input object may be slid along a path from a point of origin on or outside an edge of the touch screen display to a point within the touch screen display 126 so as to provide the predefined trigger touch interaction (e.g., a slide-in gesture); the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify a trigger touch interaction in embodiments wherein the active region comprises the entirety of the touch screen display 126 in that the first detected point of the touch interaction is one or more pixels immediately adjacent to the edge of the touch screen display 126 (e.g., the point where the input object crosses over an edge of the touch screen display 12);
Vaisanen doesn’t expressly disclose expressly disclose determining, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Minton discloses touch display device allowing user to input commands via touch interface (par 0042); Minton discloses determines, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position (fig. 2; discloses a situation where first location first touch location 240 is output based on the second touch location 242; fig. 3; discloses a scenario where the first touch location 240 is not output based on the second touch location 244; see par 0048-0049 as well; par 0048; discloses identifying a first touch location 240 within a selection zone 250; par 0049; discloses detecting a second touch location after the first touch location however the controller circuit outputs data corresponding to first location because location 242 is within the enlarged selection zone 250, the controller circuit outputs an indication of the user's selection of the number "5" instead of outputting an erroneous indication of the user's selection of the number "9"; i.e no user selection is determined and no input is provided to any application for controlling of application unless the second touch location is determined to be within the enlarged selection zone);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen to define a selection zone in the display area that can be increased or decreased in size while detecting touch inputs and output data based on the touch location on the selection zone as disclosed by Minton in order to accurately input user input to the device; hence preventing erroneous input;
With respect to claim 20, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to control operation of the display sensor by: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, foregoing deriving the edge position (Vaisanen; fig. 5; par 0053; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 504 having a point of origin 506 within the active region of the touch screen display 502 to a point 508 that is also within the active region. Since the touch interaction does not comprise a sliding of an input object along a path from a point of origin outside of the active region, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 of some embodiments may be configured to determine that the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 5 does not comprise a trigger touch interaction).
With respect to claim 22, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation (Vaisanen; fig. 1; discloses processor connected to the touch screen interface circuity; par 0057; discloses one or more of the trigger touch interactions described above (e.g., a slide-in gesture) is associated with a function for switching from a first mode of interaction with a graphical user interface to a second mode of interaction with a graphical user interface).
With respect to claim 24, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position (Vaisanen; par 0054; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 604 having a point of origin 606 outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602 to a point 608 that is within the active region. Along the path 604, the input object crosses the edge 610 and at that point, contact may be first detected between the touch input and touch screen display such that it may be determined that a true point of origin of the path of the touch interaction is outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602. Accordingly, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 6 as comprising a trigger touch interaction).
With respect to claim 26, Vaisanen discloses a display sensor comprising: display sensor having a detection region greater than a display region (fig. 1; touch screen display 126; par 0055; discloses a region of the touch screen display residing a predefined distance (e.g., a predefined number of pixels) from an edge of the touch screen display 126. In this regard, the active region may be at least partially defined by an exterior border located a predefined distance from an edge of the touch screen display 126) and a processor configured to (fig. 1; processor 120): detect a first touch position within the detection region and a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position (fig. 4; first touch location 416; second touch location 418; par 0052; discloses A user may therefore slide an input object 410 along a path 412 from a point of origin 416 on the housing of the touch screen apparatus 400 to a point 418 on the active region of the touch screen display 406); and in response to the first touch position being outside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, deriving an edge position at which a line extending through the first touch position and the second touch position intersects an edge of the display region (par 0051; discloses the input object may be slid along a path from a point of origin on or outside an edge of the touch screen display to a point within the touch screen display 126 so as to provide the predefined trigger touch interaction (e.g., a slide-in gesture); the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify a trigger touch interaction in embodiments wherein the active region comprises the entirety of the touch screen display 126 in that the first detected point of the touch interaction is one or more pixels immediately adjacent to the edge of the touch screen display 126 (e.g., the point where the input object crosses over an edge of the touch screen display 12);
Vaisanen doesn’t expressly disclose expressly disclose determine, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Minton discloses touch display device allowing user to input commands via touch interface (par 0042); Minton discloses determines, based on a second touch position detected at a timing later than the first touch position, whether or not to output the first touch position (fig. 2; discloses a situation where first location first touch location 240 is output based on the second touch location 242; fig. 3; discloses a scenario where the first touch location 240 is not output based on the second touch location 244; see par 0048-0049 as well; par 0048; discloses identifying a first touch location 240 within a selection zone 250; par 0049; discloses detecting a second touch location after the first touch location however the controller circuit outputs data corresponding to first location because location 242 is within the enlarged selection zone 250, the controller circuit outputs an indication of the user's selection of the number "5" instead of outputting an erroneous indication of the user's selection of the number "9"; i.e no user selection is determined and no input is provided to any application for controlling of application unless the second touch location is determined to be within the enlarged selection zone);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen to define a selection zone in the display area that can be increased or decreased in size while detecting touch inputs and output data based on the touch location on the selection zone as disclosed by Minton in order to accurately input user input to the device; hence preventing erroneous input;
With respect to claim 27, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, foregoes deriving the edge position (Vaisanen; fig. 5; par 0053; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 504 having a point of origin 506 within the active region of the touch screen display 502 to a point 508 that is also within the active region. Since the touch interaction does not comprise a sliding of an input object along a path from a point of origin outside of the active region, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 of some embodiments may be configured to determine that the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 5 does not comprise a trigger touch interaction).
With respect to claim 29, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the edge position, in operation, triggers a defined operation (Vaisanen; fig. 1; discloses processor connected to the touch screen interface circuity; par 0057; discloses one or more of the trigger touch interactions described above (e.g., a slide-in gesture) is associated with a function for switching from a first mode of interaction with a graphical user interface to a second mode of interaction with a graphical user interface).
With respect to claim 31, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes recognizing a swipe-in movement from the first touch position to the second touch position (Vaisanen; par 0054; discloses a user has provided a touch interaction comprising sliding an input object along a path 604 having a point of origin 606 outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602 to a point 608 that is within the active region. Along the path 604, the input object crosses the edge 610 and at that point, contact may be first detected between the touch input and touch screen display such that it may be determined that a true point of origin of the path of the touch interaction is outside of the active region of the touch screen display 602. Accordingly, the touch screen interface circuitry 128 may be configured to identify the touch interaction depicted in FIG. 6 as comprising a trigger touch interaction).
Claim 18, 25, 32 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaisanen (US Pub 2010/0105443) in view of Minton (US Pub 2011/0083104) and Hinckley et al (US Pub 2011/0209097).
With respect to claim 18, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region;
In the same field of endeavor, Hinckley discloses detecting a swipe in gesture originating outside the display and ending inside the display (see fig. 6); Hinckley discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region (par 0073; discloses In one or more embodiments, the bezel menu can be accessed through a bezel gesture in which a finger of user's hand 606 touches the bezel and then moves across the bezel and onto the display device 608 in the direction of the illustrated arrow);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to display menu when a swipe-in gesture is detected that starts from top of the device and ends inside the display region as disclosed by Hinckley in order to allow user to quickly access menu items by performing a swipe in gesture. The modification would allow user with easy access to menu items and quickly modifying them based on their needs.
With respect to claim 25, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region;
In the same field of endeavor, Hinckley discloses detecting a swipe in gesture originating outside the display and ending inside the display (see fig. 6); Hinckley discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region (par 0073; discloses In one or more embodiments, the bezel menu can be accessed through a bezel gesture in which a finger of user's hand 606 touches the bezel and then moves across the bezel and onto the display device 608 in the direction of the illustrated arrow);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to display menu when a swipe-in gesture is detected that starts from top of the device and ends inside the display region as disclosed by Hinckley in order to allow user to quickly access menu items by performing a swipe in gesture. The modification would allow user with easy access to menu items and quickly modifying them based on their needs.
With respect to claim 32, Vaisanen as modified by Minton discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region;
In the same field of endeavor, Hinckley discloses detecting a swipe in gesture originating outside the display and ending inside the display (see fig. 6); Hinckley discloses wherein the defined operation includes displaying a menu in the display region (par 0073; discloses In one or more embodiments, the bezel menu can be accessed through a bezel gesture in which a finger of user's hand 606 touches the bezel and then moves across the bezel and onto the display device 608 in the direction of the illustrated arrow);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to display menu when a swipe-in gesture is detected that starts from top of the device and ends inside the display region as disclosed by Hinckley in order to allow user to quickly access menu items by performing a swipe in gesture. The modification would allow user with easy access to menu items and quickly modifying them based on their needs.
Claim 14, 16, 21, 23, 28, 30 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vaisanen (US Pub 2010/0105443) in view of Minton (US Pub 2011/0083104) and Harris et al (US Pub 2011/0302530).
With respect to claim 14, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the processor, in operation: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputs the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the processor, in operation: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputs the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position (fig. 3; par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
With respect to claim 16, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position (par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well; fig. 13; disclose a line rendering at the edge based on the input);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
With respect to claim 21, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to control operation of the display sensor by: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputting the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to control operation of the display sensor by: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputting the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position (fig. 3; par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
With respect to claim 23, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position (par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well; fig. 13; disclose a line rendering at the edge based on the input);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
With respect to claim 28, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputs the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first touch position being inside the display region and the second touch position being inside the display region, outputs the first touch position to render a line originating from the first touch position and leading to the second touch position (fig. 3; par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
With respect to claim 30, Vaisanen as modified by Minton don’t expressly disclose wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position;
In the same field of endeavor, Harris discloses touch display device and control method (see abstract); Harris discloses wherein the defined operation includes an ink-rendering operation on the display region originating from the edge position and leading to the second touch position (par 0052; discloses A line 310 is also illustrated as being drawn at least partially through the control 308 by a stylus 110. For example, a user may grasp the stylus 110 and move it across a display of the control 308 on the display device 106. Functionality of the computing device 102 (e.g., the gesture module 114) may recognize this movement and display the line 310 as following a path of the movement; see par 0054 as well; fig. 13; disclose a line rendering at the edge based on the input);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Vaisanen as modified by Minton to incorporate the teachings of Harris to display a line in response to user touch in order to provide the user with visual feedback of the touch input being provided to the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624