DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/15/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/15/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047).
Regarding Claim 15, Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) discloses an optical system comprising:
a first lens unit having positive refractive power (Fig. 9, Example 9, GR1 has a focal distance of +174.664, see Table 40, Paragraph 0209),
an intermediate group including one or more lens units (Fig. 9, Example 9, GR2, Paragraph 0210), and
a final lens unit (Fig. 9, Example 9, GR3, Paragraph 0211), disposed in this order from an object side to an image side, with a distance between adjacent lens units that changes during focusing (Fig. 9, Example 9, only GR2 moves during focusing, Table 36, distances D10 and D14 are variable),
wherein the first and final lens units remain stationary for focusing (Fig. 9, Example 9, only GR2 moves during focusing, Paragraph 0207),
wherein the first lens unit consists of a first subunit including a plurality of positive lenses (Fig. 9, Example 9, L10 and L11 are both positive, Paragraph 0209) and a second subunit (Fig. 9, Example 9, L12, L13, and L14, Paragraph 0209), disposed in this order from the object side to the image side,
wherein the first and second subunits are disposed with an air gap between the first and second subunits that is the largest air gap formed in the optical system (Fig. 9, Example 9, air gap between L11 and L12 is 135.8 mm, which is the largest air gap, Table 36),
wherein the final lens unit includes four or more negative lenses (Fig. 9, Example 9, GR3 contains L32, L34, L35, L38, and L39 are negative lenses, Table 36, Paragraph 0211), and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.40<Dmax/f1<1.50 (Fig. 9, Example 9, Table 36 and Table 40, 135.8/174.664 = 0.78, the conditional expression is met), where Dmax is the air gap between the first and second subunits, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit.
Regarding Claim 16, Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) discloses an optical system comprising:
a first lens unit having positive refractive power (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR1 has a focal distance of +571.519, see Table 20, Paragraph 0173),
an intermediate group including one or more lens units (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR2, Paragraph 0174), and
a final lens unit (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR3, Paragraph 0175), disposed in this order from an object side to an image side, with a distance between adjacent lens units that changes during focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Table 17, distances D14 and D17 are variable),
wherein the first and final lens units remain stationary for focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Paragraph 0171),
wherein the first lens unit consists of a first subunit including a plurality of positive lenses (Fig. 5, Example 5, L10 and L11 are both positive, Paragraph 0173) and a second subunit (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L13, L14, and L15, Paragraph 0173), disposed in this order from the object side to the image side,
wherein the first and second subunits are disposed with an air gap between the first and second subunits that is the largest air gap formed in the optical system (Fig. 5, Example 5, air gap between L11 and L12 is 131.7 mm, which is the largest air gap, Table 17),
wherein the final lens unit includes four or more negative lenses (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR3 contains L32, L34, L35, L38, and L40 are negative lenses, Table 17, Paragraph 0175), and
wherein each of materials of at least three positive lenses disposed in the second subunit satisfies the following inequality: 70.0<νd<100.0, where νd is an Abbe number based on the d-line (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L14, and L16, are positive lenses and the Abbe Numbers for each is 95, so the numerical condition is met, Table 17, Paragraph 0173).
Examiner’s Statement/Reasons for Allowance
Regarding Claim 1, Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) discloses an optical system comprising:
a first lens unit having positive refractive power (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR1 has a focal distance of +571.519, see Table 20, Paragraph 0173),
an intermediate group including one or more lens units (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR2, Paragraph 0174), and
a final lens unit (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR3, Paragraph 0175), disposed in this order from an object side to an image side, with a distance between adjacent lens units that changes during focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Table 17, distances D14 and D17 are variable),
wherein the first and final lens units remain stationary for focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Paragraph 0171),
wherein the first lens unit consists of a first subunit including a plurality of positive lenses (Fig. 5, Example 5, L10 and L11 are both positive, Paragraph 0173) and a second subunit (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L13, L14, and L15, Paragraph 0173), disposed in this order from the object side to the image side,
wherein the first and second subunits are disposed with an air gap between the first and second subunits that is the largest air gap formed in the optical system (Fig. 5, Example 5, air gap between L11 and L12 is 131.7 mm, which is the largest air gap, Table 17),
wherein the final lens unit includes four or more negative lenses (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR3 contains L32, L34, L35, L38, and L40 are negative lenses, Table 17, Paragraph 0175), and
wherein each of materials of at least three positive lenses disposed in the second subunit satisfies the following inequality: 70.0<νd<100.0, where νd is an Abbe number based on the d-line (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L14, and L16, are positive lenses the Abbe Numbers = 95, so the numerical condition is met, Table 17, Paragraph 0173).
Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) does not specifically disclose “… wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.70<Dmax/f1<1.50, where Dmax is the air gap between the first and second subunits, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit.”.
Regarding Claim 17, Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) discloses
an apparatus (Paragraph 0114, Fig. 19, imaging apparatus 100) comprising:
an optical system (Paragraph 0115, Fig. 19, camera block 10), and
a sensor (Paragraph 0115, Fig. 19, imaging device 12) configured to receive an image formed by the optical system,
wherein the optical system comprises a first lens unit having positive refractive power (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR1 has a focal distance of +571.519, see Table 20, Paragraph 0173), an intermediate group including one or more lens units (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR2, Paragraph 0174), and a final lens unit (Fig. 5, Example 5, GR3, Paragraph 0175), disposed in this order from an object side to an image side, and a distance between adjacent lens units changes during focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Table 17, distances D14 and D17 are variable),
wherein the first and final lens units remain stationary for focusing (Fig. 5, Example 5, only GR2 moves during focusing, Paragraph 0171),
wherein the first lens unit consists of a first subunit including a plurality of positive lenses (Fig. 5, Example 5, L10 and L11 are both positive, Paragraph 0173) and a second subunit (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L13, L14, and L15, Paragraph 0173), disposed in this order from the object side to the image side,
wherein the first and second subunits are disposed with an air gap between the first and second subunits that is the largest air gap formed in the optical system (Fig. 5, Example 5, air gap between L11 and L12 is 131.7 mm, which is the largest air gap, Table 17),
wherein each of materials of at least three positive lenses disposed in the second subunit satisfies the following inequality: 70.0<νd<100.0, where νd is an Abbe number based on the d-line (Fig. 5, Example 5, L12, L14, and L16, are positive lenses the Abbe Numbers = 95, so the numerical condition is met, Table 17, Paragraph 0173).
Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047) does not specifically disclose “… wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.70<Dmax/f1<1.50, where Dmax is the air gap between the first subunit and the second subunit, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit.”.
Additionally, neither Noda et al. (US 2025/0164743), Gyoda et al. (US 2017/0351059), Shibata (US 2009/0244724), Yamamoto (US 2009/0153980), Yamanashi (US 5,805,359), Kondo et al. (US 2021/0255442), Nakada (US 12,449,646), Kimura (US 2025/0164760), Tomioka (US 2020/0033562), Ichimura (US 2019/0146195), Miyagishima et al. (US 2019/0094496), Yamashita (US 2018/0196168), Shibata (US 7,924,511), Shimada et al. (US 12,613,397), Ichimura (US 2021/0157156), Ichimura (US 10,942,361), Yamanaka et al. (US 9,645,353), Saito (US 2020/0257129), Mori (US 11,092,780), Eguchi (US 2016/0341958), Kawamura et al. (US 2019/0137739), Hirakawa (US 12,436,362), Kondo (US 12,130,497), nor the prior art of record, meet the deficiencies of Hosoi et al. (US 2020/0026047).
Claims 1-14 and 17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding the allowability of independent claim 1: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an optical system comprising “ … wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.70<Dmax/f1<1.50, where Dmax is the air gap between the first and second subunits, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit.”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 2-14 are allowable due to pendency on independent claim 1.
Specifically, regarding the allowability of independent claim 17: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising “… wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.70<Dmax/f1<1.50, where Dmax is the air gap between the first subunit and the second subunit, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit.”, along with other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872