DETAILED ACTION
Claim Construction
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“distance-reserving member” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Akagi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2019/0326035.
The claims make no attempt to limit what is meant by overlapping, or side by side, by reference to some direction in which they overlap, or are side by side, with respect to the cables’ dimensions or orientations. As three dimensional objects, any two flat flexible cables overlap in a direction joining their centers, however one defines their centers, and they are also side by side in that direction as well, regardless of the cables’ orientations, because one side is by the side of the other. Examiner cannot import limitations from the Specification into the claims, MPEP 2111.01 (II), unless such limitations clearly set forth a definition different from terms’ ordinary and customary meanings, MPEP 2111.01 (IV)(A).
Regarding independent claim 1, an image forming apparatus, comprising:
paired main-body frames forming side walls of a main body that face each other (fig 1A, pick any two side walls, noting that one can draw a line between any of those two so they face each other);
a scanner frame (the side frames of fig 2), on which an exposure device (13) for irradiating a photosensitive drum is mounted (it is mounted on the scanner frame through the attachment points that keep the respective components of apparatus together integrally), the scanner frame being connected (fig 1A, connected through the points that keep the respective components of apparatus together integrally) to the to one of the paired main-body frames and the other of the paired main-body frames at a position between (fig 1A, figs 2, showing the spatial extent of the scanner frame such that it is between any two of the side walls) the one of the paired main-body frames and the other of the paired main-body frames;
a scanner cover plate (the top plate covering the entirety of the side frames of fig 2) covering an entirety of the scanner frame on which the exposure device is mounted;
a first board (¶ 35, one of the printed board 205 or the controller 200) arranged on the one of the paired main-body frames (which arrangement on it can be seen by placing the one of the paired main-body frames directly on a table such that the first board is on it vertically upward; additionally and alternatively, it is on it through its connection through the remaining components);
a second board (¶ 35, the other of the printed board 205 or the controller 200) arranged on the other of the paired main-body frames (which arrangement on it can be seen by placing the other of the paired main-body frames directly on a table such that the second board is on it vertically upward; additionally and alternatively, it is on it through its connection through the remaining components);
a first flat cable having flexibility (fig 7, the first region 301 of FFC 108), the first flat cable extending over the scanner cover plate (figs 2) and connecting the first board and the second board (¶ 35); and
a second flat cable having flexibility (fig 7, the second region 302 of FFC 108), the second flat cable extending over the scanner cover plate (figs 2) and connecting the first board and the second board (¶ 35), wherein
the first flat cable and the second flat cable are connected to the first board in a state overlapping each other (near one of 302c or 302a, depending on which one chooses as the first board) and connected to the second board in a state aligning side by side (they are side by side in the region denoted “overlapping portion” in fig 7 with one side right by the side of the other), and
a length of a portion (the maximal length of some “portion” where there they overlap, in some unspecified direction, such “portion” chosen to be small enough to meet this limitation) where the first flat cable and the second flat cable overlap each other is smaller than (as chosen) a length of a portion (the maximal length of some “portion” where there they are side by side, in some unspecified direction, such “portion” chosen to be large enough to meet this limitation) where the first flat cable and the second flat cable align side by side.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, wherein the first flat cable and the second flat cable shift from the state overlapping each other to the state aligning side by side by at least one of the first flat cable or the second flat cable bending at least twice (fig 7, showing them both bending once, for two bends in total among the both of them, such that at least one of the first flat cable or the second flat cable bend at least twice) .
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, further comprising a holder (¶ 47, one of the connectors 209, 210 or the terminals 108a, 108b) configured to retain the first flat cable and the second flat cable, wherein the scanner cover plate includes a plurality of engageable holes (the holes of one of the connectors 209, 210 or the terminals 108a, 108b engaging with the pins in the other of the connectors 209, 210 or the terminals 108a, 108b),
the holder includes a plurality of engageable claws (the pins of one of the connectors 209, 210 or the terminals 108a, 108b engaging with the holes in the other of the connectors 209, 210 or the terminals 108a, 108b) respectively engageable with the plurality of engageable holes, and
the holder is fixed to the scanner cover plate by the plurality of engageable claws engaged with the plurality of engageable holes (¶ 47, which engagement between the pins and holes fixes the cable against lateral motions).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1, further comprising a distance- reserving member configured to form a predetermined amount of gap between the first flat cable and the second flat cable in the portion where the first flat cable and the second flat cable overlap each other (¶ 35, the hole 110 through which the FFC 108 is passed through, which forms a predetermined amount of gap between the respective cables as a maximal separation between the two while passing through the hole, which performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification, MPEP 2183 Factor A, by providing a physical constraint through a solid body that limits the relative motions of the two cables with the result that the cables cannot exceed the maximal separation the hole permits).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akagi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2019/0326035, in view of Ito et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2011/0235140.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Akagi is silent with respect to at least two ferrite cores configured to cover a part of the first flat cable and a part of the second flat cable, respectively,
wherein the at least two ferrite cores are located in the portion where the first flat cable and the second flat cable align side by side, at positions in proximity to (they can fit on the same drawing) the portion where the first flat cable and the second flat cable overlap each other.
Ito et al. teach providing ferrite cores around separate flexible cables so as to attenuate noises that are both transmitted or received by the flexible cables (¶ 92, 98). Such ferrite cores also operate as positioning members, maintaining a proper separation between the two flexible cables, simplifying the overall apparatus (¶ 98).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide at least two ferrite cores configured to cover a part of the first flat cable and a part of the second flat cable, respectively, wherein the at least two ferrite cores are located in the portion where the first flat cable and the second flat cable align side by side, at positions in proximity to the portion where the first flat cable and the second flat cable overlap each other. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have done so to attenuate noise while also maintaining a proper separation between flexible cables, simplifying the overall apparatus.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art teaches a housing for an exposure device with a cover over its frame: Tomatsu et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2010/0014887; Tomatsu, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2007/0160382; Nakajima, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2005/0062836; and, Amada, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2009/0323147.
The following references teach connecting several components to a controller on a main body: Hara, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2025/0108645; Kawasumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0365474; Kanno, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0310327; and, Ohata et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2016/0109848.
Kanno further teaches that image generating data circuits operate at frequencies that cause electromagnetic noise.
The following references teach that both overlap and proximity affects crosstalk between wirings: Nishikawa et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2019/0041782; Yoshino, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2015/0213923; Mori, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0056612; Kurokawa et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2011/0235139; and, Koga, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2003/0107625.
Conclusion
/SEVAN A AYDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852