Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 have been submitted for examination.
Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kanno United States Patent 11,392,323 hereinafter 323.
In regard to claims 1 8 15
323 discloses
An apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry associated with one or more memory devices and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of commands (ERASE PROGRAM READ) at a controller of a memory system ;determine, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of commands, a plurality of weighted counts associated with each command of the plurality of commands; and execute a first command of the plurality of commands based at least in part on a respective weighted count of the first command. (Figure 4)
323 discloses “ The controller selects a queue of a largest or smallest second weight, of the plurality of queues, as a queue of a highest priority. The controller starts execution of a command stored in the selected queue.”
In regard to claims 2 9 16
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: each weighted count of the plurality of weighted counts is associated with a respective priority of a plurality of priorities; and the respective weighted count of the first command corresponds to a highest priority of the plurality of priorities. 323 discloses “ executing a scheduling operation of selecting a queue of the highest priority from a plurality of queues, using two types of parameters (first weight and second weight) corresponding to each of a plurality of queues.”
In regard to claims 3 10 17
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: select, based on determining the plurality of weighted counts, a respective weighted count of the first command that corresponds to the highest priority.
323 discloses “ executing a scheduling operation of selecting a queue of the highest priority from a plurality of queues, using two types of parameters (first weight and second weight) corresponding to each of a plurality of queues.”
In regard to claims 4 11 18
4. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: execute a second command of the plurality of commands based at least in part on a respective weighted count of the second command being the same as the respective weighted count of the first command; and execute a third command of the plurality of commands after executing the second command based at least in part on a respective weighted count of the third command being associated with a second priority of the plurality of priorities that is less than the highest priority.
323 discloses “In a case where all the first weights of eight queues are set to the same value, the scheduler 21 can cause eight queues to function as Round Robin Queuing. In this case, first, the queue # 0 having the smallest queue ID is selected as the queue of the highest priority, and one command stored in the queue # 0 is executed. W0 is reduced. The queue # 1 having the smallest queue ID, of the remaining queues # 1 to #7, is selected as the queue of the highest priority. When one command stored in the queue # 1 is executed, W1 is also reduced. Then, the queue # 2 having the smallest queue ID, of the remaining queues # 2 to #7, is selected as the queue of the highest priority.”
In regard to claims 5 12 19
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein executing the first command of the plurality of commands is based at least in part on an order associated with the plurality of weighted counts.
323 discloses “In a case where first weights different from each other are set in eight queues, the scheduler 21 can distribute the time to access the NAND flash memory 5 to eight command groups stored in the respective eight queues, based on the first weights, and can operate the eight queues”
In regard to claims 6 13 20
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to: increment a value of a counter associated with the respective weighted count of the first command in response to receiving each command within the plurality of commands that is associated with the respective weighted count of the first command, wherein determining the plurality of weighted counts associated with each command of the plurality of commands is based at least in part on incrementing the value of the counter. 323 discloses “the queue # 0 having the smallest queue ID is selected as the queue of the highest priority, and one command stored in the queue # 0 is executed. W0 is reduced. The queue # 1 having the smallest queue ID, of the remaining queues # 1 to #7, is selected as the queue of the highest priority. When one command stored in the queue # 1 is executed, W1 is also reduced. Then, the queue # 2 having the smallest queue ID, of the remaining queues # 2 to #7, is selected as the queue of the highest priority”
In regard to claims 7 14
7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein each priority of the plurality of priorities is associated with a read length.
323 discloses “ CPU 12 specifies for the DMAC 15 a transfer source address indicative of a location in the memory of the host 2, the size of the data to be transferred, and a transfer destination address indicative of a location in the internal buffer 161.”
Response to Applicant Arguments and Remarks
Applicant arguments and remarks received 5/5/2026 have been fully considered, and are not persuasive.
In regard the argument whish states; “However, a memory system performing operations based on weights of queues, as described in Kanno, is not the same as, and does not disclose "determining, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of commands, a plurality of weighted counts associated with each command of the plurality of commands," let alone "executing a first command of the plurality of commands based at least in part on a respective weighted count of the first command," as recited in independent claim 1. That is, Kanno describes determining weights of queues and executing commands based on the determined weights of the queues, which is not the same as, and does not disclose determining "weighted counts associated with each command of the plurality of commands," or "executing a first command of the plurality of commands based at least in part on a respective weighted count of the first command," as recited in independent claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kanno states; “manage a weight associated with an erase command, a weight associated with a program command, and a weight associated with a read command, as the plurality of first weights, for each of the plurality of queues; and
select the weight associated with the erase command of the selected queue, the weight associated with the program command of the selected queue, or the weight associated with the read command of the selected queue, as the first weight of the selected queue, based on a type of the command stored in the selected queue, and update the second weight corresponding to the selected queue by subtracting the selected weight from the second weight corresponding to the selected queue or adding the selected weight to the second weight corresponding to the selected queue. “
The passage clearly shows that there are 3 commands: an erase command, program
command, and a read command. Each one of these commands has a weight
associated with it as clearly stated in the above passage.
Argument is not valid.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/A.R./
/Amine Riad/
Primary Examiner