DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an amendment filed on 06/04/2026.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-19, and 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,611,765. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,611,765, either singularly or in combination, contain each and every element and/or render each and every element of claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-19, and 21-22 of the instant application obvious. The claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the issued patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
More specifically, the combined subject matter as shown in claims 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 16, 18, 21, 23, and 25 of U.S. Patent Number 11,611,765 disclose all the elements and steps of the independent claims of the instant application and, as such, anticipate each and feature of the aforementioned independent claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-19, and 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,829. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,829, either singularly or in combination, contain each and every element and/or render each and every element of claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-19, and 21-22 of the instant application obvious. The claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the issued patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
More specifically, the independent claims of U.S. Patent Number 12,244,829 disclose all the elements and steps of the independent claims of the instant application and, as such, anticipate each and feature of the aforementioned independent claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bordes (“Description of SDR, HDR, and 360 degrees video coding technology proposal by Qualcomm and Technicolor – medium complexity version”).
As to claim 20, Bordes teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a stored bitstream formatted to include: data representative of a picture part (Section 2.1.1: Bitstream structure, Pages 3-8);
and at a block level of the picture part, data representative of an indication providing for selecting for a block, a refinement parameter table from among a plurality of refinement parameter tables associated to a component refinement mode that applies to a reconstructed version of a component of the picture part (see Pages 31-32, Sections 2.3.1.2 and 2.3.1.3; see Pages 44-45, Sections 3.3.1.1 and 3.3.1.2; see Page 64, Section 5.13).
Allowable Subject Matter
The closest prior art made of record in regards to applicant’s claimed invention is as follows:
Bordes et al. (“Description of SDR, HDR, and 360 degrees video coding technology proposal by Qualcomm and Technicolor – medium complexity version”) discloses decoding an indication of a refinement mode being applied to a reconstructed signal per block of a picture part, wherein the refinement mode is based on a refinement parameter (see Pages 31-32, Sections 2.3.1.2 and 2.3.1.3; see Pages 44-45, Sections 3.3.1.1 and 3.3.1.2; see Page 64, Section 5.13); and refining the picture part based on the indication (see Pages 31-32, Sections 2.3.1.2 and 2.3.1.3; see Pages 44-45, Sections 3.3.1.1 and 3.3.1.2; see Page 64, Section 5.13; also see Abstract).
Xiu et al. (US 2018/0359480) discloses video coding systems and methods using an enhanced motion compensated picture. In exemplary embodiments, an enhanced motion compensated picture is generated by applying at least one high-pass filter to the motion compensated picture and adding the output of the filter to the motion compensated picture. Coefficients of the high-pass filter are selected by comparing the enhanced motion compensated picture to an original picture. The selected coefficients may be quantized and entropy coded into a bit stream. The high-pass filter may be a cross-plane filter, in which a luma component, which may be an enhanced luma component, is high-pass filtered and the output of the filter is added to at least one of the chroma components to generate an enhanced chroma component (abstract).
Zhai et al. (US 2015/0350687) discloses methods for chroma deblock filtering processes in video coding and processing systems such as within the High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard. Chroma deblock filtering of reconstructed video samples may be performed to remove blockiness artifacts and reduce color artifacts without over-smoothing. In a first method, chroma deblocking may be performed for boundary samples of a smallest transform size, regardless of partitions and coding modes. In a second method, chroma deblocking may be performed when a boundary strength is greater than 0. In a third method, chroma deblocking may be performed regardless of boundary strengths. In a fourth method, the type of chroma deblocking to be performed may be signaled in a slice header by a flag. Furthermore, luma deblock filtering techniques may be applied to chroma deblock filtering (abstract and [0001]).
The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to teach or reasonably suggest all the claimed features of claims 1, 15, 16, and 19, structurally and functionally interconnected with other limitations in the manner as cited in the claims and dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner maintains the double patenting rejections since applicant’s amendments to the independent claims are not sufficient to overcome the claimed subject matter of U.S. Patent Numbers 11,611,765 and 12,244,829.
Furthermore, Examiner maintains the description of the Bores reference since a block can be broadly interpreted to be a slice. Therefore, based on the fact that a block can be broadly interpreted to be a slice, Examiner maintains the rejection of claim 20 even if the second portion of the aforementioned claim is given patentable weight (see above rejection). In other words, using at least one refinement parameter table in a refinement mode based on a parameter signaled in a slice header, as shown in the Bordes reference, meets the limitation of providing an indication at a block level to select a refinement parameter table from among a plurality of refinement parameter tables associated to a component refinement mode.
In view of the above reasons, Examiner maintains all rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482