DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-28 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5, the claims recite multiple recitations of “at least one additional sensor”, rendering the scope unclear, since it is unclear which “additional sensor” is being referenced in the various claim limitations.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, the definition of “one or more physical actions” including “any other physical action” does not further limit claim 1 since it does not further limit the “one or more physical actions” beyond the scope of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolluri et al. (US 2021/0362328).
Regarding claim 1:
Kolluri teaches a robotic training system comprising:
one or more leader robotic devices configured for human manipulation (demonstration device 122, see at least Fig. 12, ¶0217-0231, alternately local robot 170 manipulated by user in demonstration mode, see at least ¶0051-0053, ¶0072); and
one or more follower robotic devices configured to replicate at least one movement of the one or more leader robotic devices (robots 170a-n, execution mode, see at least ¶0057); and
one or more force sensors, torque sensors, or force-torque sensors on at least one of: the one or more leader robotic devices, one or more of the one or more follower robotic devices, or any combination thereof (see at least ¶0046, ¶0080, ¶0219-0223);
where the robotic training system is configured to:
process force data, torque data, or force-torque data measured by the one or more force sensors, torque sensors, or force-torque sensors among the one or more leader robotic devices and the one or more follower robotic devices, where the force data, torque data, or force-torque data corresponds to one or more physical actions performed by the robotic training system (see at least ¶0046, ¶0223); and
record the force data, torque data, or force-torque data as demonstration data, where the demonstration data is adapted for training of at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model, where the AI model is designed to train at least one robot to perform the one or more physical actions performed by the robotic training system (see at least ¶0044-0065).
Regarding claim 2:
Kolluri further teaches where the one or more physical actions comprise at least one of: lifting, twisting, pouring, translating, carrying, moving, tipping, any other physical action, or any combination thereof (see at least ¶0218-0221).
Regarding claim 3:
Kolluri further teaches at least one user control interface physically mounted on the one or more leader robotic devices, the at least one user control interface configured to control at least one of: one or more demonstration recording operations, synchronization between the one or more leader and follower robotic devices, or any combination thereof (see at least Fig. 12C, handle 1220, trigger 1230, ¶0221, broadly interpreted, actuating the trigger controls demonstration recording operations).
Regarding claim 7:
Kolluri teaches a robotic training system comprising:
one or more leader robotic devices configured for human manipulation (demonstration device 122, see at least Fig. 12, ¶0217-0231, alternately local robot 170 manipulated by user in demonstration mode, see at least ¶0051-0053, ¶0072); and
one or more follower robotic devices configured to replicate at least one movement of the one or more leader robotic devices (robots 170a-n, execution mode, see at least ¶0057);
one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools mounted on at least one of: the one or more leader robotic devices, the one or more of follower robotic devices, or any combination thereof (tool, see at least ¶0011, ¶0256, the Examiner notes that any tool is, in principle “interchangeable” since it is at least possible to change the tool with at least a tool of the same type.);
where the robotic training system is configured to:
process information corresponding to one or more physical actions performed using the one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools among the one or more leader robotic devices and the one or more follower robotic devices (see at least ¶0046, ¶0223); and
record the information corresponding to the one or more physical actions performed using the one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools as demonstration data, where the demonstration data is adapted for training of at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model, where the AI model is designed to train at least one robot to perform the one or more physical actions performed by the robotic training system (see at least ¶0044-0065).
Regarding claim 8:
Kolluri teaches A handheld device for robotic skill demonstration comprising:
a body portion configured to be manipulated by a user (demonstration device 122, see at least Fig. 12, ¶0217-0231); and
one or more force sensors, torque sensors, or force-torque sensors configured to measure force data, torque data, or force-torque data (see at least ¶0219-0223);
where the handheld device is configured to record the force data, the torque data, or the force-torque data as demonstration data, where the force data, torque data, or force-torque data corresponds to one or more physical actions performed by the user with the handheld device (see at least ¶0223);,
and where the demonstration data is adapted for training of at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model, where the AI model is designed to train, using the force data, torque data, or force-torque data, at least one robot to perform the one or more physical actions demonstrated by the user (see at least ¶0044-0065).
Regarding claim 9:
Kolluri further teaches further comprising one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools (tool, see at least ¶0011, ¶0256, the Examiner notes that any tool is, in principle “interchangeable” since it is at least possible to change the tool with at least a tool of the same type.).
Regarding claim 10:
Kolluri further teaches wherein the force data, the torque data, or the force-torque data measured by the one or more force sensors, torque sensors, or force-torque sensors comprise at least one of: force associated with gripping of the one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools, torque associated with weighted rotation of the one or more interchangeable electromechanical end effector tools, or any combination thereof (see at least ¶0223).
Regarding claim 13:
Kolluri further teaches one or more cameras present on a mobile device, where the handheld device is configured to house the mobile device, the one or more cameras allowing a vantage point of the mobile device to be synchronized with the vantage point of visual data captured by the one or more cameras (camera wristband, see at least Fig. 3B-D, ¶0114-0121).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taitler (US 2009/0132088).
Regarding claim 4-5:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kolluri further teaches additional sensors, including at least depth sensors, non-visible spectrum data, kinematic data, thermal data, and sound data (see at least ¶0046).
Kolluri does not explicitly teach at least one sensor positioned independently from and provides a view of the one or more follower robotic devices.
Taitler teaches a system and method of robotic demonstration learning, including at least one leader robotic device, and at least one follower robotic device and further comprising a sensor system comprising at least one additional sensor, wherein the sensor system is configured to provide multiple viewpoints of a workspace (see at least ¶0018, ¶0058-0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic demonstration learning system and method as taught by Kolluri with the well-known technique of providing an external camera to monitor the robot and surrounding area as taught by Taitler in order to provide additional context for robot training, including an additional viewpoint to capture data not represented by onboard sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niemeyer et al. (US 2007/0052496).
Regarding claim 6:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kolluri additionally at least suggests a haptic feedback interface (see at least ¶0015, ¶0283).
Kolluri does not clearly and unambiguously teach the haptic feedback being based on state of the follower robotic device.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention, based on Kolluri’s teaching of tactile feedback, to provide the tactile (haptic) feedback based on the follower robot’s state.
Alternately or in addition, Niemeyer teaches a leader/follower (master/slave) robotic system and method, including a motion modification module configured to perform at least one of: modifying a perceived weight of the one or more leader robotic devices, providing haptic feedback based on states of the one or more follower robotic devices, adjusting movement scaling between leader and follower robotic devices, or any combination thereof (see at least ¶0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the leader/follower robotic system and method as taught by Kolluri with the motion scaling and/or haptic feedback technique as taught by Niemeyer in order to provide more complete information to the user and can improve their ability to perform complex tasks and to achieve stronger, larger, or smaller interfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri as in claim 8 above, in view of Kozuka (US 2021/0016439).
Regarding claim 11:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 8 above. Kolluri further teaches cameras for capturing additional training data.
Kolluri does not explicitly teach the cameras configured to capture force/torque data via deformation.
Kozuka teaches a system and method of training a robot including one or more cameras, where the one or more cameras are configured to capture additional force data, torque data, or force-torque data by capturing physical evidence of deformation (see at least abstract, ¶0092-0094, ¶0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robot training system and method as taught by Kolluri with the technique of using image data depicting deformation as taught by Kozuka in order to train a robot grasping operation with an appropriate grasp force so as to securely hold a particular object without damaging the object or the end effector.
Regarding claim 12:
Kolluri further teaches one or more cameras, where the one or more cameras comprise at least one of: a time-of-flight “ToF” camera; a depth camera; or any combination thereof (see at least ¶0046, ¶0078, ¶0098, ¶0243).
Kolluri doesn’t explicitly teach the depth camera being a stereo depth camera.
Kolluri does further teach the robot tool comprising multiple cameras, including plural camera types, including depth cameras (see ¶0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the plurality of cameras as taught by Kolluri with stereo depth cameras and/or time of flight cameras in order to achieve better vision capability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sinnet et al. (US 2020/0139554) discloses a system and method of robotic demonstration learning, including a plurality of interchangeable tools.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619