Claims 21-22, 32-35, 37 and 39-40 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean et al. (9,334,086) in view of Fenner Jr. (10,179,694). Bean et al. disclose a display container comprising an enclosure (100 or 300) having a generally enclosed interior for storing a botanical specimen (inside the enclosure), and a transparent viewing section (lens of the lid 116 or 316) extending overtop of the interior when the enclosure is upright for viewing of the botanical specimen from above when the botanical specimen is received in the interior to provide a generally unobstructed view of the botanical specimen when received therein. Bean et al. does not disclose an integrated lighting system. However, Fenner Jr. discloses a similar display container (10) for botanical specimens including an integrated lighting system including at least one LED (62) in the interior and upper portion of a housing (30) for illumination of the botanical specimen from above, and a control system (60-70) coupled to the at least one LED for controlling operation of the at least one LED. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display container of Bean et al. with an integrated lighting system including at least one LED in the manner of Fenner Jr. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide the display container of Bean et al. with a lighting source to improve viewing of the contained botanical specimen. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As to claim 22, Bean et al. disclose the transparent viewing section comprises a lens.
As to claim 32, the at least one light source of Bean et al. is within the interior of the disclosure.
As to claim 33, the at least one light source of Bean et al. is mounted adjacent an upper end of the interior.
As to claim 34, Bean et al. disclose the enclosure has a top wall bounding the interior from above and a sidewall bounding the interior horizontally, the top wall comprising the transparent viewing section and at least a portion of the sidewall being generally transparent for viewing the botanical specimen from a side of the enclosure, and wherein the one or more light sources are below an upper periphery of the top wall and inboard of the sidewall.
As to claim 35, Bean et al. disclose the enclosure comprises a lower portion and an upper portion detachably mounted to the lower portion and comprising the transparent viewing portion.
As to claim 37, Bean et al. disclose the lower portion comprises a container body and the upper portion comprises a lid.
As to claims 39 and 40, Bean et al. disclose a similar display container provided with scent ports (122) for sampling an aroma of the content.
Claim 26 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Stash Jar or the combination of Bean et al. and Fenner Jr. as employed in claim 21 above and further in view of Tian et al. (2018/0242529). The previous art does not disclose an electronics module integrated with the enclosure and coupled to the at least one light source. However, Tian et al. disclose a similar display container with an LED array (2) connected with an electronics module (4) as a control system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display container of the Stash Jar the combination of Bean et al. and Fenner Jr. with its LED array connected with an electronics module in the manner of Tian et al.as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a manually controllable light source.
Claims 21, 23, 24, 25, 32, 33 and 35-38 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12,227,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 1 of the previous patent, and the newly recited intended use relative to the botanical specimen does not distinguish any new or unexpected distinguishing patentable result thereover.
Claims 22, 26, 34, 39 and 40 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 5, 4, 2, and 3, respectively, of U.S. Patent No.12,227,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 27 and 28 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 10 taken together of U.S. Patent No.12,227,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 29 and 30 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 11 taken together of U.S. Patent No.12,227,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claim 31 is finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 9 and 10 taken together of U.S. Patent No.12,227,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 21-22 and 32-33 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over one of claims 6 and 14 of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 6 or claim 14 of the previous patent, and the newly recited intended use relative to the botanical specimen does not distinguish any new or unexpected distinguishing patentable result thereover.
Claims 23-25 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over one of claims 7 and 14 of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 7 or claim 14 of the previous patent.
Claim 26 is finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 27-29 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 17 of the previous patent.
Claims 29 and 30 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 7 taken together of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims
may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 32-38 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No.11,820,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 6 of the previous patent.
Claims 21, 26 and 32-40 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No.11,691,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 3 of the previous patent, and the newly recited intended use relative to the botanical specimen does not distinguish any new or unexpected distinguishing patentable result thereover.
Claims 22, 23, 27 and 31 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claim combinations of claims 3 and 11, claims 3 and 4, claims 3 and 8, and claims 3, 7 and 8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No.11,691,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 24 and 25 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 6 taken together of U.S. Patent No. 11,691,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 28 and 30 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 9 taken together of U.S. Patent No. 11,691,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of the indicated claims of the previous patent.
Claims 21-27, 30, 32-35, 37 and 39-40 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,214,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 1 of the previous patent, and the newly recited intended use relative to the botanical specimen does not distinguish any new or unexpected distinguishing patentable result thereover.
Claims 28 and 29 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,214,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 6 of the previous patent.
Claims 36 and 38 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,214,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 7 of the previous patent.
Claims 21-27, 32-35, 37 and 39-40 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,836,537 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 1 of the previous patent, and the newly recited intended use relative to the botanical specimen does not distinguish any new or unexpected distinguishing patentable result thereover.
Claims 28-30 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,836,537 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 2 of the previous patent.
Claims 36 and 38 are each finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,836,537 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of the pending claims may be wholly derived from the subject matter of claim 16 of the previous patent.
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 18, 2026, with respect to the Stash Jar have been fully considered and are persuasive. The grounds of rejection employing the Stash Jar have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The added recitations to claim 21 do not patently distinguish the invention, as a consideration of the combined teachings of Bean et al. and Fenner Jr. taken as a whole are seen to suggest the claimed display container. In response to applicant's argument that Fenner Jr. teaches away from the claimed invention, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The double patenting rejections may be overcome by an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
Bryon P. Gehman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG