Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Full support for the limitation “decode a QP delta syntax element in the bit stream if a size of the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size”, does not appear to be clearly identifiable in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 9-10, 12-14, 16-17, 19, 21-22, 24-25, 27 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2012/0114034 from IDS in view of Han et al. US 2011/0096829
Huang discloses:
9. and 16. A system comprising:) and configurable to: extract, from the bit stream, a minimum coding unit size for which decoding of a quantization parameter (QP) delta is enabled in the picture (Figs. 4-5, 7a-b; 0036); divide the picture into a plurality of non-overlapping blocks including a first non-overlapping block (Figs. 1-3); divide a non-overlapping block in the picture into a plurality of coding units including a first coding unit (Figs. 1-3); decode a QP delta syntax element in the bit stream if a size of the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size (Fig. 7a-b); and determine a QP value for the first coding unit using the first QP delta value (0035).
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following, however Han teaches a receiver configurable to receive a bit stream including a coded representation of a picture (Fig. 17); and a decoder coupled to the receiver (Fig. 17); determine a first QP delta value for a first region in the picture using the QP delta syntax element (0217; 0265-6);
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to combine the references above in order to have a relationship among a depth of a coding unit, rotational transformation, and an operating mode may be considered as a relationship between the size of a coding unit and the index of the matrix of rotational transformation (Han 0262)
10. and 17. The system of The system of wherein a size of a largest coding unit in the picture is 64x64 (0030), and wherein the minimum coding unit size for which decoding of the QP delta is enabled in the picture is 16x16 (0032; 0036; 16x16 is a known block size which could be the selected Qpmincusize).
12. and 19. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to decode the QP delta syntax element at a transform unit level of the bit stream if the size of the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size (0030-1; 0040; Figs 7a-b, 9a-b).
13. and 27. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to determine the QP value for the first coding unit using the first QP delta value and a previous QP value (0031; 0035).
14. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to: decode a flag in the bit stream; and extract, from the bit stream, the minimum coding unit size for which decoding of the QP delta is enabled in the picture only if the flag is set (fig. 5; 0036; 0044).
21. and 24. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to decode the QP delta syntax element in the bit stream only if the size of the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size (Fig. 7a-b).
22. and 25. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to: determine that the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size (Fig. 7a-b); and decode the QP delta syntax element in the bit stream in response to determining that the first coding unit is not smaller than the minimum coding unit size (Fig. 7a-b).
Claims 11, 15, 18, 20, 28 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2012/0114034 from IDS in view of Han et al. US 2011/0096829 and further in view of Sasai et al. US 2013/0156099 from IDS
11. and 18. The system of claim 9,
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sasai teaches wherein the decoder is configurable to extract, from a picture parameter set in the bit stream, the minimum coding unit size for which decoding of the QP delta is enabled in the picture (0185).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to combine the references above in order to solve the problem of the coding delta quantization scale parameter is restricted only on a largest coding unit level (Sasai 0180)
15. 20. and 28. The system of claim 14,
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sasai teaches wherein the decoder is configurable to decode the flag in a picture parameter set in the bit stream (0185).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to combine the references above in order to solve the problem of the coding delta quantization scale parameter is restricted only on a largest coding unit level (Sasai 0180)
Claims 11, 15, 18, 20, 28 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2012/0114034 from IDS in view of Han et al. US 2011/0096829 and further in view of Regunathan et al. US 2009/0296808
23. and 26. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder is configurable to: and determine the QP value for the first coding unit using the first QP delta value and the predicted QP value (0035).
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following, however Regunathan teaches determine a predicted QP value for the first coding unit based on a left neighboring coding unit and a top neighboring coding unit (0125; 0140);
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to combine the references above in order to assume QP_LEFT being equal to QP_TOP indicates a trend for the QPs of that particular section of the frame or color channel such that it is reasonable to assume that QP_MB, the QP of the current macroblock, is most likely close to, if not equal to, QP_LEFT (Regunathan 0125)
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424