DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas et al teaches a subsea fiber optic system, comprising:
an optical fiber for exchanging optical signals between a topside/onshore location and equipment at a subsea location (para [0019]; “The trunk path 112 may include optical fiber in a plurality of optical cable segments, e.g. cable segments 114, 134, 144, for carrying optical signals… Each cable segment may include one or more sections of optical fiber cable including optical fiber pairs and one or more repeaters, and/or subsea optical amplifiers, 170 to provide a transmission path for bi-directional communication of optical signals between trunk terminal 110 and trunk terminal 120.”; para [0023]; “The trunk path 112 may thus span between beach landings.”);
a modem located topside/onshore and coupled to the optical fiber and configured to exchange optical communications signals via the optical fiber, with another modem located subsea (para [0030]; “…the trunk path 212 may include a redundant east-west configuration whereby optical signals are redundantly transmitted and received via signals traveling opposite directions, such as shown in FIGS. 3-7.”; para [0038]; “The riser 289 may extend from the seafloor to a topside platform that houses equipment of the branch terminal 150. The riser 289 brings at least a portion of the subsea umbilical cable 298, e.g., one or more fibers, topside for coupling with terminal equipment 296, with terminal equipment 296 providing optical line cards and one or more transceiver systems for sending/receiving channel wavelengths, e.g., add/drop channels.”; transceivers which transmit and receive signal are considered modem);
a fiber optic booster or repeater located subsea at an interconnection point along the optical fiber, the fiber optic booster or repeater being configured to strengthen optical signals traveling through the optical fiber (para [0022]; “The components in the trunk and branch paths may include various configurations for achieving their intended functionality. The repeaters 170, for example, may include any optical amplifier/repeater configuration that compensates for signal attenuation on the transmission path.”); and
a power supply operably coupled to the fiber optic booster or repeater (para [0014]; “…a riser may route cabling and/or piping for purposes such as providing power between the off-shore facility and undersea equipment…”; para [0037]; “Power may also be distributed via the trunk path 212 from power feed equipment (PFE) located at the stations 110 and 120, for instance. Alternatively, or in addition to power provided via the trunk path 212, subsea umbilical cables may also include power conductors designed to provide power generated by a platform, e.g., from a diesel generator, to power equipment along a given branch path. To this end, the subsea umbilical cable 298 may include any number of optical and electrical paths for unidirectional and/or bidirectional communication.”).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas et al teaches wherein the power supply comprises an electrical power source at the topside/onshore location and coupled to the fiber optic booster or repeater via a subsea umbilical (para [0014]; “…subsea umbilical cables that include optical fiber, and in some cases power conductors and other elements, may form at least a portion of a branch path between branch terminal equipment of an off-shore facility and the trunk path… a riser may route cabling and/or piping for purposes such as providing power between the off-shore facility and undersea equipment…”; [0037]; “…umbilical cables may include power conductors designed to distribute power to N number of subsea elements, e.g., wells and supporting systems, and to topside elements, such as equipment located on one or more platforms within a given branch configuration. Power may also be distributed via the trunk path 212 from power feed equipment (PFE) located at the stations 110 and 120, for instance. Alternatively, or in addition to power provided via the trunk path 212, subsea umbilical cables may also include power conductors designed to provide power generated by a platform, e.g., from a diesel generator, to power equipment along a given branch path. To this end, the subsea umbilical cable 298 may include any number of optical and electrical paths for unidirectional and/or bidirectional communication.”).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas et al teaches a subsea umbilical termination assembly (SUTA) at the interconnection point along the optical fiber, wherein the fiber optic booster or repeater is coupled to the optical fiber at the SUTA (para [0035]; “…the branching configuration 200 includes a subsea umbilical assembly 288 collectively defined by optical fiber cable 299, deployment pallet (DP) 293, flying lead 292, umbilical termination assembly (UTA) 290, and a subsea umbilical cable 298, although other configurations are within the scope of this disclosure. For instance, the UTA 290 may couple to the PWF unit 232 without the fiber cable 298, DP 293 and flying lead 292.”).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas et al teaches multiple optical fibers for exchanging optical signals between the topside/onshore location and equipment at the subsea location, wherein the fiber optic booster or repeater is configured to strengthen optical signals traveling through one or more of the multiple optical fibers (para [0019]; “The trunk path 112 may include optical fiber in a plurality of optical cable segments, e.g. cable segments 114, 134, 144, for carrying optical signals. Each cable segment may include one or more sections of optical fiber cable including optical fiber pairs and one or more repeaters, and/or subsea optical amplifiers, 170 to provide a transmission path for bi-directional communication of optical signals between trunk terminal 110 and trunk terminal 120.”; para [0022]; “The repeaters 170, for example, may include any optical amplifier/repeater configuration that compensates for signal attenuation on the transmission path. For example, one or more of the repeaters may be configured as an optical amplifier, such as an erbium doped fiber amplifier (EDFA), a Raman amplifier, or a hybrid Raman/EDFA amplifier. Also, one or more of the repeaters may be provided in an optical-electrical-optical configuration that regenerates an optical signal by converting it to an electrical signal, processing the electrical signal and then retransmitting the optical signal.”).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas et al teaches the fiber optic booster comprises an erbium-doped optical fiber amplifier (EDFA) (para [0022]; “The repeaters 170, for example, may include any optical amplifier/repeater configuration that compensates for signal attenuation on the transmission path. For example, one or more of the repeaters may be configured as an optical amplifier, such as an erbium doped fiber amplifier (EDFA), a Raman amplifier, or a hybrid Raman/EDFA amplifier. Also, one or more of the repeaters may be provided in an optical-electrical-optical configuration that regenerates an optical signal by converting it to an electrical signal, processing the electrical signal and then retransmitting the optical signal.”).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas et al teaches a method, comprising:
sending optical signals between a first modem at a topside/onshore location and a second modem of equipment at a subsea location via an optical fiber (para [0030]; “…the trunk path 212 may include a redundant east-west configuration whereby optical signals are redundantly transmitted and received via signals traveling opposite directions, such as shown in FIGS. 3-7.”; para [0038]; “The riser 289 may extend from the seafloor to a topside platform that houses equipment of the branch terminal 150. The riser 289 brings at least a portion of the subsea umbilical cable 298, e.g., one or more fibers, topside for coupling with terminal equipment 296, with terminal equipment 296 providing optical line cards and one or more transceiver systems for sending/receiving channel wavelengths, e.g., add/drop channels.”; transceivers which transmit and receive signal are considered modem); and
strengthening the optical signals traveling through the optical fiber via a fiber optic booster or repeater located subsea at an interconnection point along the optical fiber (para [0022]; “The components in the trunk and branch paths may include various configurations for achieving their intended functionality. The repeaters 170, for example, may include any optical amplifier/repeater configuration that compensates for signal attenuation on the transmission path.”).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas et al teaches powering the fiber optic booster or repeater via electrical power from a power supply operably coupled to the fiber optic booster or repeater (para [0014]; “…a riser may route cabling and/or piping for purposes such as providing power between the off-shore facility and undersea equipment…”; para [0037]; “Power may also be distributed via the trunk path 212 from power feed equipment (PFE) located at the stations 110 and 120, for instance. Alternatively, or in addition to power provided via the trunk path 212, subsea umbilical cables may also include power conductors designed to provide power generated by a platform, e.g., from a diesel generator, to power equipment along a given branch path. To this end, the subsea umbilical cable 298 may include any number of optical and electrical paths for unidirectional and/or bidirectional communication.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083697 A1) in view of Kamalov et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0093514 A1).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Thomas et al teaches power supply, and differs from the claimed invention in that Thomas et al does not specifically teach the power supply comprises a subsea battery or a subsea uninterrupted power supply (UPS). Kamalov et al teaches optical communication system comprising subsea repeater system powered locally (para [0034]; “The local power source 160 provides power to the repeater 150 through a power cable 104 connecting the power source 160 and the repeater 150. The local power source 160 may be a solar powered battery, or based on wave energy, or based on fossil fuel, or a combination of both. Other examples of power are possible as well.”). Since it is well known that there are various means to power subsea repeater system, therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the subsea optical communication system of Thomas et al by providing power locally, as taught by Kamalov et al, in order to increase reliability and security.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083697 A1) in view of Abbot (US Patent No. 8,934,775 B2).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Thomas et al teaches optical communication system connecting equipment located on shores through undersea cable and differs from the claimed invention in that Thomas et al does not specifically teach that the optical fiber has a total length greater than approximately 100 km. Abbot teaches optical communication system connecting equipment located on shores through undersea cable and teaches that the optical fiber has a total length greater than approximately 100 km (col. 1, lines 23-29; “Undersea optical communication systems may include an optical transmission path extending between shore stations separated by distances of 10,000 km or more. The optical transmission path may include an optical fiber cable coupled from one shore station to another through numerous elements, such as repeaters, branching units, etc.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the optical communication system of Thomas et al by providing distances greater than 100km, as taught by Abbot, in order to provide coverage to vast distances between locations.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083697 A1) in view of Golovchenko et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0077932 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, Thomas et al teaches optical communication system connecting equipment located on shores through undersea cable comprising fiber optic booster or repeater is configured to add gain to the optical signal moving through the optical fiber at the interconnection point and differs from the claimed invention in that Thomas et al does not specifically teach the fiber optic booster or repeater is configured to add approximately 10 dB to 20 dB to the optical signal moving through the optical fiber at the interconnection point. Golovchenko et al teaches fiber pump laser system for submarine optical repeater wherein the fiber optic booster or repeater is configured to add approximately 10 dB to 20 dB to the optical signal moving through the optical fiber at the interconnection point (para [0099]; “The gain of the EDFA may be in the range from about 10-20 dB…”). Since it is well known that signal strength degrades as it travels through transmission medium, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the gain in the fiber optic booster or repeater of Thomas et al by approximately 10 dB to 20 dB, as taught by Golovchenko et al, in order to maintain desired signal strength as the signal travel through a certain distance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, Thomas et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083697 A1) teaches a subsea fiber optic system, comprising:
a first optical fiber for exchanging optical signals between a topside/onshore location and equipment at a subsea location (para [0019]; “The trunk path 112 may include optical fiber in a plurality of optical cable segments, e.g. cable segments 114, 134, 144, for carrying optical signals… Each cable segment may include one or more sections of optical fiber cable including optical fiber pairs and one or more repeaters, and/or subsea optical amplifiers, 170 to provide a transmission path for bi-directional communication of optical signals between trunk terminal 110 and trunk terminal 120.”; para [0023]; “The trunk path 112 may thus span between beach landings.”);
a modem located topside/onshore and coupled to the first optical fiber and configured to exchange optical communications signals via the first optical fiber, with another modem located subsea (para [0030]; “…the trunk path 212 may include a redundant east-west configuration whereby optical signals are redundantly transmitted and received via signals traveling opposite directions, such as shown in FIGS. 3-7.”; para [0038]; “The riser 289 may extend from the seafloor to a topside platform that houses equipment of the branch terminal 150. The riser 289 brings at least a portion of the subsea umbilical cable 298, e.g., one or more fibers, topside for coupling with terminal equipment 296, with terminal equipment 296 providing optical line cards and one or more transceiver systems for sending/receiving channel wavelengths, e.g., add/drop channels.”);
a fiber optic booster or repeater located subsea at an interconnection point along the first optical fiber (para [0022]; “The components in the trunk and branch paths may include various configurations for achieving their intended functionality. The repeaters 170, for example, may include any optical amplifier/repeater configuration that compensates for signal attenuation on the transmission path.”); and
a power supply operably coupled to the fiber optic booster or repeater (para [0014]; “…a riser may route cabling and/or piping for purposes such as providing power between the off-shore facility and undersea equipment…”; para [0037]; “Power may also be distributed via the trunk path 212 from power feed equipment (PFE) located at the stations 110 and 120, for instance. Alternatively, or in addition to power provided via the trunk path 212, subsea umbilical cables may also include power conductors designed to provide power generated by a platform, e.g., from a diesel generator, to power equipment along a given branch path. To this end, the subsea umbilical cable 298 may include any number of optical and electrical paths for unidirectional and/or bidirectional communication.”).
Patterson et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0267124 A1) teaches onshore and subsea optical communication (para [0015]; “The subsea communications system 100 includes at least one optical repeater, which repeater may form part of a subsea optical communications system that spans hundreds of kilometers or up to several thousands of kilometers.”; para [0024]; “…the repeater assembly 302 may include a laser diode 112, where the laser diode 112 is coupled to receive an electrical power signal and is arranged to output an optical power signal over the first sensor fiber 116 that is transmitted to the temperature sensor assembly 304, in the temperature measurement apparatus 120. The repeater 302 assembly may further include an optical receiver 114, the optical receiver 114 being coupled to receive an optical measurement signal from the temperature measurement apparatus 120, over the second sensor fiber 118.”) comprising:
an opto-electric converter located subsea, electrically coupled to the fiber optic booster or repeater, and configured to supply electrical power to the fiber optic booster or repeater (para [0024]; “…the repeater assembly 302 may include a laser diode 112, where the laser diode 112 is coupled to receive an electrical power signal and is arranged to output an optical power signal…”; para [0026]; “…an optical power converter 122, arranged to receive the optical power signal output from laser diode 412 and conducted over first sensor fiber 116. The optical power converter 122 may then output an electrical control power signal as shown.”).
However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach:
a second optical fiber extending between the topside/onshore location to the opto-electric converter and configured to transmit optical energy to the opto-electric converter.
Claims 2, 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mohs et al (US Patent No. 12,360,005 B2) is cited to show extending DAS range in undersea cables using loopbacks.
Mikami (US Pub. No. 2021/0306076 A1) is cited to show undersea repeater and light amplification.
Schmogrow et al (US Patent No. 11,044,015 B2) is cited to show low signal to noise ratio submarine communication system.
Rapp et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0304208 A1) is cited to show codirectional ropa supplied with power via a separate fiber transmitting data in opposite direction.
Greene et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0083715 A1) is cited to show subsea power-over-fiber can bus converter.
Chang et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0261349 A1) is cited to show optical transmission system and related remote optically pumped amplifier (ROPA).
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635