Claim Status
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (US 2022/0069996) in view of Samarthyam (US 11,240,563)
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Xue discloses:
a network interface;
Xue [0027] The communication network 108 may include a data network such as, but not limited to, an Internet, a Local Area Network (LAN), a Wide Area Network (WAN), a Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), etc. In some embodiments of the present invention, the communication network 108 may include a wireless network, such as, but not limited to, a cellular network and may employ various technologies including an Enhanced Data Rates for Global Evolution (EDGE), a General Packet Radio Service (GPRS), a Long Term Evolution (LTE), International Telecommunication Union International Mobile Telecommunications-2020 (ITU IMT-2020) and so forth. In some embodiments of the present invention, the communication network 108 may include or otherwise cover networks or sub-networks, each of which may include, for example, a wired or a wireless data pathway. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the at least one processor 102, the database 104, the memory 106 and the blockchain 110 may be configured to communicate with each other by one or more communication mediums connected to the communication network 108.
a generative module;
see Xue [0002] below
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to perform operations comprising:
see Xue [0027] above
receiving, via the network interface, first data from a first distributed ledger;
generating, via the generative module and based at least in part on the first data, a
digital object comprising generative content; and
Xue [0002] The present disclosure is related to the field of distributed ledgers. More particularly, the present disclosure is related to generating customized non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Xue [0011] The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
Xue [0014] Embodiments in accordance with the present invention provide a system for generating a customized non-fungible token (NFT) using the customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system. The system comprising a multimedia footage processed by a footage processor to generate a non-fungible token (NFT) complaint footage. The multimedia footage represents a multimedia footage having parameters selected from the group comprising one of, a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and/or a combination thereof. The system further includes a customization information embedded with the NFT compliant footage stored in a memory. The customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage related information (owner information, copyright information, intellectual property information, change instruction of the original work, etc.), personal information (include name, signature, address, phone number, place of birth, etc.), and/or personal biometric information (include a height, a weight, a blood type, an eye color, a fingerprint, iris patterns, DNA information, etc.), and/or additional multimedia information (text, audio, still image, animation, video and interactivity, etc.) and/or combination thereof. The system also includes non-fungible token (NFT) mint program processes by logging the customization information embedded with the non-fungible token (NFT) compliant footage in a blockchain to generate a customized non-fungible token (NFT).
Interpretation:
First data: multimedia footage
First distributed ledger
non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Generative module
customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system.
Digital object customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
Generative content
customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
causing second data associated with the digital object to be stored on a second distributed ledger.
Xue discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Samarthyam discloses:
Samarthyam col 29 line 55 – col 30 line 4 Examples of the media content playback settings may include, but are not limited to, volume settings, display settings, and a playback speed. The circuitry 202 may store the received media content playback settings in the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B). The circuitry 202 may retrieve the media content playback settings from the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B), at start or within a duration of another leg (e.g., the second leg 614). When the first media content is played back on the second display device 110B, the retrieved media content playback settings may be configured on the second display device 110B. The circuitry 202 may control the playback of the first media content in accordance with the configured media content playback settings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Samarthyam for the purpose of providing media content playback settings.
Furthermore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to look to look to Samarthyam’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Saur (US 2018/0145836)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger and the second distributed ledger comprise the same distributed ledger. However, Saur discloses:
Saur [0050] The present technology may also provide a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers. For example, a distributed ledger that is partitioned according to a distributed hash table based on network addresses may be subject to a Sybil attack where a node creates several identities for itself and then uses whatever identity provides the most strategic position at the time. By contrast, according to the present disclosure, partitioning may be based on originator IDs, and the originator ID for each node may be independent of the network address for that node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Saur for the purpose of providing a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of Nixon (US 2020/0226123)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger is associated with a first blockchain layer, and wherein the second distributed ledger is associated with a second blockchain layer different from the first blockchain layer. However, Nixon discloses:
Nixon [0186] 16. The method according to any one of aspects 9-15, wherein the first layer of
the distributed ledger is public and the second layer of the distributed layer is private.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Nixon for the purpose of providing distributed ledgers to execute smart contracts to
allow machines such as field devices to transact by themselves without human intervention
[abstract]
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of Ferenczi (US 2023/0034169).
Regarding claim 4, reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as
noted but does not disclose wherein the first data comprises non-fungible token (NFT) data, and
wherein generating the digital object is based at least in part on properties associated with the
NFT data.
However, Ferenczi discloses:
Ferenczi [0010] According to various examples, a client device associated with a user requesting
a non-fungible credential token generates a cryptographic key-pair comprising a private key and
a public key. Upon sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token, the client
device provides the public key to the token issuer. The token issuer creates the non-fungible
token for the user by invoking an NFT smart contract on a distributed ledger (e.g., blockchain)
that is associated with the token issuer. The non-fungible token created by the token issuer
includes a mapping of the public key (or other type of unique user identifier) with a credential
ticket that indicates verification of the given user or user account.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Ferenczi for the purpose of sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A
Reference combination A discloses wherein first data comprises at least one of: physiological sensor data; networked device sensor data; environmental data; device characteristic data; device state; user history data; oracle data; or user data.
Xue [0011] lines 24-32, The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Uhr (US 11,544,640)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises connecting to a user wallet the holds a token on the first distributed ledger.
However, Uhr discloses:
Uhr abstract, The present invention relates to a method for providing an online ticket service by
using a blockchain network, comprising steps of: (a) in response to acquiring ticket reservation
information corresponding to a ticket purchased by a purchaser from a ticket sale server, creating
a ticket token corresponding to the ticket by referring to the ticket reservation information, and
registering generated information on the ticket token in a distributed ledger of a blockchain
network; and (b) transmitting the ticket token to a seller token wallet corresponding to the seller
of the ticket, thereby (i) causing the seller token wallet to transmit the ticket token to a user token
wallet corresponding to the user of the ticket, and (ii) registering movement information of the
ticket token from the seller token wallet to the user token wallet in the distributed ledger of the
blockchain network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Uhr for the purpose of providing an online ticket service by using a blockchain
network,
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of Azarm (US 8,595,232)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises accessing a code associated with a physical media object via a control device. However, Azarm discloses:
Azarm claim 15, wherein the first descriptive information includes a unique identification code associated with the physical media product that stores the particular media content, and wherein the first identifier includes the unique identification code. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Azarm for the purpose of providing systems and methods of linking media content information [abstract].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Dorogusker
Regarding claim 8, reference combination A discloses wherein the first data is associated with a
smart contract, and wherein generating the digital object is performed at least in part by
executing the smart contract. However, Dorogusker discloses:
Dorogusker [0127] The distributed ledger 208 is configured to store NFTs. In some embodiments, the distributed ledger 208 can be a blockchain network, particularly a blockchain network that supports smart contracts. One such blockchain network is the ETHEREUM network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Dorogusker for the purpose of configuring a distributed ledger to store NFTs.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of McDonald (US 2022/0405066)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the digital object comprises a digital object for use in a game. However, McDonald discloses:
[0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot
networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many
such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific
capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of McDonald for the purpose of representing participants as an object with privileges and characteristics.
Regarding claim 10, reference combination A in view of McDonald discloses wherein the digital object comprises an avatar or character.
McDonald [0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (US 2022/0069996) in view of Samarthyam (US 11,240,563)
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Xue discloses:
receiving, via a computing device, first data from a first distributed ledger;
generating, via a generative module of the computing device and based at least in part on the first data, a digital object comprising generative content; and
Xue [0002] The present disclosure is related to the field of distributed ledgers. More particularly, the present disclosure is related to generating customized non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Xue [0011] The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
Xue [0014] Embodiments in accordance with the present invention provide a system for generating a customized non-fungible token (NFT) using the customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system. The system comprising a multimedia footage processed by a footage processor to generate a non-fungible token (NFT) complaint footage. The multimedia footage represents a multimedia footage having parameters selected from the group comprising one of, a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and/or a combination thereof. The system further includes a customization information embedded with the NFT compliant footage stored in a memory. The customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage related information (owner information, copyright information, intellectual property information, change instruction of the original work, etc.), personal information (include name, signature, address, phone number, place of birth, etc.), and/or personal biometric information (include a height, a weight, a blood type, an eye color, a fingerprint, iris patterns, DNA information, etc.), and/or additional multimedia information (text, audio, still image, animation, video and interactivity, etc.) and/or combination thereof. The system also includes non-fungible token (NFT) mint program processes by logging the customization information embedded with the non-fungible token (NFT) compliant footage in a blockchain to generate a customized non-fungible token (NFT).
Interpretation:
First data: multimedia footage
First distributed ledger
non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Generative module
customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system.
Digital object customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
Generative content
customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
storing, on a second distributed ledger, second data associated with the digital object.
Xue discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Samarthyam discloses:
Samarthyam col 29 line 55 – col 30 line 4 Examples of the media content playback settings may include, but are not limited to, volume settings, display settings, and a playback speed. The circuitry 202 may store the received media content playback settings in the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B). The circuitry 202 may retrieve the media content playback settings from the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B), at start or within a duration of another leg (e.g., the second leg 614). When the first media content is played back on the second display device 110B, the retrieved media content playback settings may be configured on the second display device 110B. The circuitry 202 may control the playback of the first media content in accordance with the configured media content playback settings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Samarthyam for the purpose of providing media content playback settings.
Furthermore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to look to look to Samarthyam’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Saur (US 2018/0145836)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger and the second distributed ledger comprise the same distributed ledger. However, Saur discloses:
Saur [0050] The present technology may also provide a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers. For example, a distributed ledger that is partitioned according to a distributed hash table based on network addresses may be subject to a Sybil attack where a node creates several identities for itself and then uses whatever identity provides the most strategic position at the time. By contrast, according to the present disclosure, partitioning may be based on originator IDs, and the originator ID for each node may be independent of the network address for that node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Saur for the purpose of providing a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Nixon (US 2020/0226123)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger is associated with a first blockchain layer, and wherein the second distributed ledger is associated with a second blockchain layer different from the first blockchain layer. However, Nixon discloses:
Nixon [0186] 16. The method according to any one of aspects 9-15, wherein the first layer of
the distributed ledger is public and the second layer of the distributed layer is private.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Nixon for the purpose of providing distributed ledgers to execute smart contracts to
allow machines such as field devices to transact by themselves without human intervention
[abstract]
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Ferenczi (US 2023/0034169).
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first data comprises non-fungible token (NFT) data, and wherein generating the digital object is based at least in part on properties associated with the NFT data.
However, Ferenczi discloses:
Ferenczi [0010] According to various examples, a client device associated with a user requesting
a non-fungible credential token generates a cryptographic key-pair comprising a private key and
a public key. Upon sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token, the client
device provides the public key to the token issuer. The token issuer creates the non-fungible
token for the user by invoking an NFT smart contract on a distributed ledger (e.g., blockchain)
that is associated with the token issuer. The non-fungible token created by the token issuer
includes a mapping of the public key (or other type of unique user identifier) with a credential
ticket that indicates verification of the given user or user account.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Ferenczi for the purpose of sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A
Combination A discloses wherein first data comprises at least one of: physiological sensor data; networked device sensor data; environmental data; device characteristic data; device state; user history data; oracle data; or user data.
Xue [0011] The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
The customization information comprises non-fungible token (NFT) owner specified footage related information (owner information, copyright information, intellectual property information, change instruction of the original work, etc.), personal information (include name, signature, address, phone number, place of birth, etc.), and/or personal biometric information (include a height, a weight, a blood type, an eye color, a fingerprint, iris patterns, DNA information, etc.), and/or additional multimedia information (text, audio, still image, animation, video and interactivity, etc.) and/or combination thereof. The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a p
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Uhr (US 11,544,640)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises connecting to a user wallet that holds a token on the first distributed ledger. However, Uhr discloses:
Uhr abstract, The present invention relates to a method for providing an online ticket service by
using a blockchain network, comprising steps of: (a) in response to acquiring ticket reservation
information corresponding to a ticket purchased by a purchaser from a ticket sale server, creating
a ticket token corresponding to the ticket by referring to the ticket reservation information, and
registering generated information on the ticket token in a distributed ledger of a blockchain
network; and (b) transmitting the ticket token to a seller token wallet corresponding to the seller
of the ticket, thereby (i) causing the seller token wallet to transmit the ticket token to a user token
wallet corresponding to the user of the ticket, and (ii) registering movement information of the
ticket token from the seller token wallet to the user token wallet in the distributed ledger of the
blockchain network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Uhr for the purpose of providing an online ticket service by using a blockchain
network,
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of Azarm (US 8,595,232)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises accessing a code associated with a physical media object via a control device. However, Azarm discloses:
Azarm claim 15, wherein the first descriptive information includes a unique identification code associated with the physical media product that stores the particular media content, and wherein the first identifier includes the unique identification code. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Azarm for the purpose of providing systems and methods of linking media content information [abstract].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Dorogusker
Reference combination A discloses wherein the first data is associated with a smart contract, and wherein generating the digital object is performed at least in part by executing the smart contract. However, Dorogusker discloses:
Dorogusker [0127] The distributed ledger 208 is configured to store NFTs. In some embodiments, the distributed ledger 208 can be a blockchain network, particularly a blockchain network that supports smart contracts. One such blockchain network is the ETHEREUM network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Dorogusker for the purpose of configuring a distributed ledger to store NFTs.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of McDonald (US 2022/0405066)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the digital object comprises a digital object for use in a game. However, McDonald discloses:
[0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot
networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many
such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific
capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of McDonald for the purpose of representing participants as an object with privileges and characteristics.
Regarding claim 20, reference combination A in view of McDonald discloses wherein the digital object comprises an avatar or character.
[0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (US 2022/0069996) in view of Samarthyam (US 11,240,563)
Examiner Note: Hereafter, above references will be entered as reference combination A.
Xue discloses:
receiving, via a computing device, first data from a first distributed ledger;
generating, via a generative module of the computing device and based at least in part on the first data, a digital object comprising generative content; and
Xue [0002] The present disclosure is related to the field of distributed ledgers. More particularly, the present disclosure is related to generating customized non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Xue [0011] The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
Xue [0014] Embodiments in accordance with the present invention provide a system for generating a customized non-fungible token (NFT) using the customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system. The system comprising a multimedia footage processed by a footage processor to generate a non-fungible token (NFT) complaint footage. The multimedia footage represents a multimedia footage having parameters selected from the group comprising one of, a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and/or a combination thereof. The system further includes a customization information embedded with the NFT compliant footage stored in a memory. The customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage related information (owner information, copyright information, intellectual property information, change instruction of the original work, etc.), personal information (include name, signature, address, phone number, place of birth, etc.), and/or personal biometric information (include a height, a weight, a blood type, an eye color, a fingerprint, iris patterns, DNA information, etc.), and/or additional multimedia information (text, audio, still image, animation, video and interactivity, etc.) and/or combination thereof. The system also includes non-fungible token (NFT) mint program processes by logging the customization information embedded with the non-fungible token (NFT) compliant footage in a blockchain to generate a customized non-fungible token (NFT).
Interpretation:
First data: multimedia footage
First distributed ledger
non-fungible tokens (NFTs) that can be stored in distributed ledgers.
Generative module
customized non-fungible token (NFT) generation system.
Digital object customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
Generative content
customization information is one of, non-fungible token owner specified footage
storing, on a second distributed ledger, second data associated with the digital object.
Xue discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Samarthyam discloses:
Samarthyam col 29 line 55 – col 30 line 4 Examples of the media content playback settings may include, but are not limited to, volume settings, display settings, and a playback speed. The circuitry 202 may store the received media content playback settings in the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B). The circuitry 202 may retrieve the media content playback settings from the distributed ledger sub-nodes 128 (e.g., the document sub-node 128C and/or the user sub-node 128B), at start or within a duration of another leg (e.g., the second leg 614). When the first media content is played back on the second display device 110B, the retrieved media content playback settings may be configured on the second display device 110B. The circuitry 202 may control the playback of the first media content in accordance with the configured media content playback settings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Samarthyam for the purpose of providing media content playback settings.
Furthermore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to look to look to Samarthyam’s analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Saur (US 2018/0145836)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger and the second distributed ledger comprise the same distributed ledger. However, Saur discloses:
Saur [0050] The present technology may also provide a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers. For example, a distributed ledger that is partitioned according to a distributed hash table based on network addresses may be subject to a Sybil attack where a node creates several identities for itself and then uses whatever identity provides the most strategic position at the time. By contrast, according to the present disclosure, partitioning may be based on originator IDs, and the originator ID for each node may be independent of the network address for that node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Saur for the purpose of providing a distributed ledger that is immune to more types of attacks than other kinds of distributed ledgers.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Nixon (US 2020/0226123)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first distributed ledger is associated with a first blockchain layer, and wherein the second distributed ledger is associated with a second blockchain layer different from the first blockchain layer. However, Nixon discloses:
Nixon [0186] 16. The method according to any one of aspects 9-15, wherein the first layer of
the distributed ledger is public and the second layer of the distributed layer is private.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Nixon for the purpose of providing distributed ledgers to execute smart contracts to
allow machines such as field devices to transact by themselves without human intervention
[abstract]
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Ferenczi (US 2023/0034169).
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the first data comprises non-fungible token (NFT) data, and wherein generating the digital object is based at least in part on properties associated with the NFT data.
However, Ferenczi discloses:
Ferenczi [0010] According to various examples, a client device associated with a user requesting
a non-fungible credential token generates a cryptographic key-pair comprising a private key and
a public key. Upon sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token, the client
device provides the public key to the token issuer. The token issuer creates the non-fungible
token for the user by invoking an NFT smart contract on a distributed ledger (e.g., blockchain)
that is associated with the token issuer. The non-fungible token created by the token issuer
includes a mapping of the public key (or other type of unique user identifier) with a credential
ticket that indicates verification of the given user or user account.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Ferenczi for the purpose of sending a request to a token issuer to create the non-fungible token.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A
Combination A discloses wherein first data comprises at least one of: physiological sensor data; networked device sensor data; environmental data; device characteristic data; device state; user history data; oracle data; or user data.
Xue [0011] lines 24-32, The memory also includes a footage processor for processing the multimedia footage received by the receiving module to obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) footage. The multimedia footage is selected from the group comprising of a film/movie, a TV show, a photo, an audio, a drawing, a video, cast information, crew information, a plot detail, a review, a movie clip, a music footage, a still-image, an animation, film/movie trailers, show trailers and so forth.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Uhr (US 11,544,640)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises connecting to a user wallet that holds a token on the first distributed ledger. However, Uhr discloses:
Uhr abstract, The present invention relates to a method for providing an online ticket service by
using a blockchain network, comprising steps of: (a) in response to acquiring ticket reservation
information corresponding to a ticket purchased by a purchaser from a ticket sale server, creating
a ticket token corresponding to the ticket by referring to the ticket reservation information, and
registering generated information on the ticket token in a distributed ledger of a blockchain
network; and (b) transmitting the ticket token to a seller token wallet corresponding to the seller
of the ticket, thereby (i) causing the seller token wallet to transmit the ticket token to a user token
wallet corresponding to the user of the ticket, and (ii) registering movement information of the
ticket token from the seller token wallet to the user token wallet in the distributed ledger of the
blockchain network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the
teachings of Uhr for the purpose of providing an online ticket service by using a blockchain
network,
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of Azarm (US 8,595,232)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein receiving the first data comprises accessing a code associated with a physical media object via a control device. However, Azarm discloses:
Azarm claim 15, wherein the first descriptive information includes a unique identification code associated with the physical media product that stores the particular media content, and wherein the first identifier includes the unique identification code. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Azarm for the purpose of providing systems and methods of linking media content information [abstract].
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination A in view of Dorogusker
Reference combination A discloses wherein the first data is associated with a smart contract, and wherein generating the digital object is performed at least in part by executing the smart contract. However, Dorogusker discloses:
Dorogusker [0127] The distributed ledger 208 is configured to store NFTs. In some embodiments, the distributed ledger 208 can be a blockchain network, particularly a blockchain network that supports smart contracts. One such blockchain network is the ETHEREUM network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Dorogusker for the purpose of configuring a distributed ledger to store NFTs.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference combination
A in view of McDonald (US 2022/0405066)
Reference combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the digital object comprises a digital object for use in a game. However, McDonald discloses:
[0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot
networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many
such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific
capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference combination A to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of McDonald for the purpose of representing participants as an object with privileges and characteristics.
Regarding claim 30, reference combination A in view of McDonald discloses wherein the digital object comprises an avatar or character.
[0001] Computing execution environments, such as distributed video game environments, bot networks, and complex financial transaction environments have become ubiquitous. In many such environments, participants can be represented as an object with privileges and characteristics. For example, in a video game environment, a player avatar may have specific capabilities, such as speed, agility, and strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant Argues
Claim 1 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination of Cho in view of Dorogusker and Balassanian. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection. For at least the following reasons, Cho in view of Dorogusker and Balassanian, whether considered individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest all of the features of independent claims 1, 11, and 21. As a result, the Section 103 rejection of claims 1, 11, and 21 should be withdrawn.
Independent claim 1 recites, among other things, "receiving, via the network interface, first data from a first distributed ledger" and "generating, via the generative module and based at least in part on the first data, a digital object comprising generative content" (emphasis added). The cited references, whether considered individually or in combination, fail to teach or suggest these limitations.
First, the Office Action has mischaracterized the teachings of Cho. The Office Action maps the claimed "generative module" to Cho's "block generation/verification module 206" (Office Action, p. 2; Cho, FIG. 2; [0040]). However, Cho is directed to proving data delivery in a peer- to-peer (P2P) network. Cho's "block generation" module generates cryptographic transaction blocks to be appended to a blockchain to log proof of data delivery (Cho, [0040]-[0041]). Generating a cryptographic block on a distributed ledger is fundamentally different from a "generative module" that generates "a digital object comprising generative content" as recited in claim 1.
Second, the combination of references fails to teach the causal link required by the claims: generating the digital object based at least in part on the first data received from the distributed ledger. To teach these features, the Examiner relies on Dorogusker and Balassanian. Dorogusker teaches using a distributed ledger to store non-fungible tokens (NFTs) (Dorogusker, [0127]). Balassanian teaches a music generator system that generates new music content based on an audio signal graph (Balassanian, Abstract). Even assuming, for the sake of argument, that one of ordinary skill in the art would combine these disparate references, the resulting system would still fail to meet the claims. Balassanian generates media based strictly on audio signal graphs, not distributed ledger data (Balassanian, Abstract). Dorogusker reads ledger data merely to authenticate or authorize access to existing media, not as an input to synthesize or alter content (Dorogusker,[0127]). There is absolutely no teaching or suggestion in the cited prior art of utilizing data extracted from a distributed ledger as an input parameter to generate or modify generative content.
Third, the rejection relies on improper hindsight bias. In an attempt to bridge the gap between the cited references, the Office Action quotes the Applicant's own specification, stating: "Examiner Note: specification [0145] includes: In some instances, the generative media module 214 may itself take the form of a smart contract" (Office Action, p. 3; Applicant's Specification,[0145]). It is well-established that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 must be based on the teachings of the prior art, not on the Applicant's own disclosure. The Examiner's explicit reliance on paragraph [0145] of the Applicant's specification to formulate a rationale for the combination demonstrates that the prima facie case of obviousness is fundamentally flawed and driven by improper hindsight. Moreover, the fact that the Applicant's own specification states that the generative media module may itself take the form of a smart contract is not equivalent to a showing that Dorogusker's mention of "smart contracts" describes or in any way relates to a "generative module" as recited in claim 1.
Because the cited references fail to teach generating a digital object comprising generative content based at least in part on data received from a distributed ledger, and because the rejection improperly relies on the Applicant's own disclosure, the rejection of claim 1 is improper. The Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn.
Like claim 1, independent claims 11 and 21 require generating a digital object comprising generative content based at least in part on data received from a distributed ledger. As discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1, the cited references fail to teach or suggest this causal link. Dorogusker merely uses ledger data for access control (Dorogusker, [0127]), Balassanian generates music based on audio parameters (Balassanian, Abstract), and Cho generates cryptographic blocks to record P2P transactions (Cho, [0040]). None of the cited references,
alone or in combination, teach or suggest all the features of these claims. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of independent claims 11 and 21 be withdrawn.
Claims 8, 18, and 28 are patentable by virtue of their dependency in addition to reciting further distinguishing features. Accordingly, the Section 103 rejection of these claims should be withdrawn for at least the reasons discussed above.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made, see above.
Applicant Argues:
B. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 2, 12, and 22 (Combination A in view of
Saur)
Claims 2, 12, and 22 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of Saur. Claims 2, 12, and 22 depend from base claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, which are patentable over Combination A as discussed above. Saur cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 2, 12, and 22 are patentable over Combination A in view of Saur for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claim 2 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made, see above.
Applicant Argues:
C. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 3, 13, and 23 (Combination A in view of Nixon)
Claims 3, 13, and 23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination of Nixon. Claims 3, 13, and 23 depend from base claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, which are patentable over Combination A as discussed above. Nixon cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 3, 13, and 23 are patentable over the Combination A in view of Nixon for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claims 3, 13, and 23 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made, see above.
Applicant Argues:
D. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 4, 14, and 24 (Combination A in view of
Ferenczi
Claims 4, 14, and 24 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of Ferenczi. Claims 4, 14, and 24 depend from base claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, which are
patentable over Combination A as discussed above. Ferenczi cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 4, 14, and 214 are patentable over Combination A in view of Ferenczi for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claims 4, 14, and 24 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made, see above.
Applicant Argues:
E. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 5, 15, and 25 (Combination A)
Claims 5, 15, and 25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of "nonfunctional descriptive material." Specifically, the Office Action asserts that the recited features ("first data comprises at least one of: physiological sensor data; networked device sensor data; environmental data; device characteristic data; device state; user history data; oracle data; or user data") are "printed material and not given patentable weight because no new or nonobvious functional relationship is claimed for generating a digital object based on above list of features" (Office Action, p. 7). Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection.
First, Applicant respectfully submits that the "printed matter" exception does not apply to the data recited in the claims. As described in MPEP 2111.05:
The first step of the printed matter analysis is the determination that the limitation in question is in fact directed toward printed matter. "Our past cases establish a necessary condition for falling into the category of printed matter: a limitation is printed matter only if it claims the content of information." See In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 848, 117 USPQ2d 1265, 1267 (Fed. Cir. 2015). "[O]nce it is determined that the limitation is directed to printed matter, [the examiner] must then determine if the matter is functionally or structurally related to the associated physical substrate, and only if the answer is 'no' is the printed matter owed no patentable weight." Id. at 850, 117 USPQ2d at 1268.
First, the "first data" recited in Claims 5, 15, and 25 consists of machine-readable inputs, such as continuous physiological sensor data, environmental parameters, or oracle data. These claims do not "claim the content of information" and so are not "printed matter."
Second, even if the "first data" could somehow be construed as printed matter, the claims explicitly recite a strong, non-obvious functional relationship between the data and the claimed
system. For data to be functionally related to a substrate or system, it must alter how the system executes its operations. Here, the base independent claims explicitly require "generating, via the generative module and based at least in part on the first data, a digital object comprising generative content." Consequently, the specific values and types of data recited in the dependent claims (e.g., a shift in physiological sensor data or a change in environmental data) directly and functionally dictate the execution of the generative module, thereby altering the structural characteristics of the newly generated digital object.
Because the data acts as a dynamic parameter that functionally alters the computational operations of the generative module, it cannot be ignored under the printed matter doctrine and must be given patentable weight. The Office Action has not established that the cited prior art teaches or suggests generating a digital object comprising generative content based at least in part on physiological sensor data, environmental data, or any of the other specific data types recited in these claims. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of Claims 5, 15, and 25 be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made. See above.
Applicant Argues:
F. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 6, 16, and 26 (Combination A in view of
Claims 6, 16, and 26 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of Uhr. Claims 6, 16, and 26 depend from base claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, which are patentable over Combination A as discussed above. Uhr cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 6, 16, and 26 are patentable over Combination A in view of Uhr for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claims 6, 16, and 26 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made. See above.
Applicant Argues:
G. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 7, 17, and 27 (Combination A in view of Azarm)
Claims 7, 17, and 27 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of McDonald. Claims 7, 17, and 27 depend base claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, which are patentable over Combination A as discussed above. Azarm cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 7, 17, and 27 are patentable over the Combination A in view of Azarm for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claims 7, 17, and 27 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made. See above.
Applicant Argues:
H. Response to the Section 103 Rejection of Claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 29, and 30 (Combination A in view of McDonald)
Claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 29, and 30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Combination A in view of McDonald. Claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 29, and 30 each depend from one of base claims 1, 11, and 21, which are patentable over Combination A as discussed above. McDonald cannot cure the above-noted deficiencies of Combination A to support a Section 103 rejection of base claims 1, 11, or 21. Accordingly, claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 29, and 30 are patentable over the Combination A in view of McDonald for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to base claims 1, 11, and 21, and for the additional features of these dependent claims. Therefore, the Section 103 rejection of claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 29, and 30 should be withdrawn.
Examiner Responds:
Examiner is persuaded. A new rejection in view of Xue and Samarthyam is made. See above.
/ETIENNE P LEROUX/Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2161