DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Nonfunctional Descriptive Material
For reference, claim(s) 13 recites “A computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by the image encoding/decoding method [steps of encoding method].
This claim is directed to mere data storage that results from an upstream/downstream process (encoding/decoding method) that has no definitive relationship with and is wholly separate from the storage medium (non-transitory computer-readable medium) being claimed.
Significantly, the claimed storage medium is NOT implementing the encoding method in claim(s) 13; no instructions/steps are being executed by a processor to perform the encoding/decoding method. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data stream output from the encoding method. In other words, claim 13 is directed to a mere computer-readable medium storing data content (a data stream generated by an encoding method).
To be clear, Applicant has not used the standard CRM (computer readable media) claim formats of a) “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when implemented by a processor, perform an encoding method [steps of encoding method]” or a b) non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause it to perform a specified method that was held to recite patent-eligible product under 35 USC 101 by In re Beauregard, 53 F.3d 1583 (Fed. Cir. 1995) and endorsed by the USPTO in 77 Fed. Reg. 74618 (Dec. 16, 2014), 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Examples: Abstract Ideas at 1-3, 8-10.
Such standard CRM claim formats that recite execution/implementation of a method are also not subject to a nonfunctional descriptive material claim interpretation because such a claimed media does not merely store output data but instead stores functional, method steps that have a functional relationship with the media.
Applicant has deviated substantially from such standard-format CRM claims by positively reciting only the storing of a data stream while the generation thereof by an “encoding method” is ancillary, occurs before the claimed storing by the medium, and does not require anything functional to occur in or to the medium besides mere storing.
Under MPEP 2111.05(III), claim 13’s storage medium storing a data stream is merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner finds that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between a) the stored data (data stream) and medium or b) the stored data (data stream) and the encoding method. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
As such, claim 13 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application such as, for example, a compact disc storing Abbey Road by the Beatles. For the sake of compact prosecution, however, claim 13 has been rejected based on prior art that actually discloses the method of generating the stored data (data stream).
Further in regards to In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994) note that the presently claimed invention differs significantly from Lowry’s claims. Lowry’s claim 1 recites “A memory for storing data for access by an application program being executed on a data processing system, comprising [data structures including ADO (attribute data objects)].
In Lowry, the Federal Circuit stated:
Nor are the data structures analogous to printed matter. Lowry's ADOs do not represent merely underlying data in a database. ADOs contain both information used by application programs and information regarding their physical interrelationships within a memory. Lowry's claims dictate how application programs manage information. Thus, Lowry's claims define functional characteristics of the memory.
Lowry’s ADOs (Attribute Data Objects) contain information regarding their physical interrelationships with the carrier (a memory) and Lowry’s claims dictate how the application programs manage information. According to Lowry “ADOs have both hierarchical and non-hierarchical interrelationships” with rules that govern these relationships which are recited in the claims and which form functional relationships with the medium.
But unlike Lowry, the claimed invention has no functional relationship between the product (computer readable medium) and the printed matter (the stored data stream) and no functional relationship could exist possibly between the product and a processor because no processor is recited in the claim. Instead, a data stream is merely stored; the data stream itself is not defined within the claim and the computer readable medium solely acts as a carrier or substrate for storing the data stream.
As further evidence that the medium is a mere carrier of information note that that the data stream being stored is an end product or output of the encoding/decoding method such that the only functional role played by the medium solely consists of storing information.
In further contrast to Lowry, instant claim 13 merely stores a raw data stream having no claimed organization or relationship to the carrier (readable medium). In other words, claim 13 merely recites storage of the information content (bitstream).
In Lowry, the Federal Circuit goes on to point out that:
Indeed, Lowry does not seek to patent the Attributive data model in the abstract. Nor does he seek to patent the content of information resident in a database. Rather, Lowry's data structures impose a physical organization on the data.
In sharp contrast to Lowry, Applicant seeks to patent the storage of a data stream in the abstract. In other words, the claims seek to patent the content of the information (data stream with encoded video content). Moreover, this stored data stream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the data stream and the storage medium.
Furthermore, instant claim 13 is analogous to the memory stick storing tables of batting averages in which the computer readable medium is merely a support for the information (data stream) consistent with the example in MPEP 2111.05(III) which states.
However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer” MPEP 2111.05(III) Machine-readable media
In conclusion, claim 13 is directed to mere data content (data stream generated by the recited encoding method) stored as a data stream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,431,997. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 11, 13 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2019/0273923, hereafter Huang) in view of Xu (US 2012/0320971).
As per claim 1, Huang discloses a video decoding method, comprising:
receiving an encoded bitstream of a video; performing entropy decoding on the bitstream to obtain coding tree split information and a syntax element (¶ 35);
performing, according to the coding tree split information, a partition process to obtain a current node (¶ 35);
determining, at least based on a depth of the current node, whether a cover region of the current node is the same as a cover region of a current quantization group (QG) (¶ 35);
in response to determining that the cover region of the current node is the same as the cover region of the current QG, obtaining coordinates of an upper-left corner of the cover region of the current QG (¶ 38 - 42);
obtaining a quantization parameter (QP) delta of a current coding unit (CU) in the cover region of the current QG; and obtaining a prediction block of the current CU based on the syntax element; and
obtaining a reconstructed picture of the current CU based on the QP delta of the current CU (¶ 38 - 42).
As per claim 2, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the depth of the current node is equal to a second threshold T2 minus 1, and a split mode of the current node is a ternary split mode, the cover region of the current node is the same as the cover region of the current QG; when the depth of the current node is equal to a second threshold T2, and a split mode of the current node is a binary split mode or a quadtree split mode, the cover region of the current node is the same as the cover region of the current QG; when the depth N of the current node is equal to a third threshold T3 minus 1, and a split mode of the current node is a ternary split mode or a quadtree split mode, the cover region of the current node is the same as the cover region of the current QG; or when the depth N of the current node is equal to a third threshold T3, and a split mode of the current node is a binary split mode, the cover region of the current node is the same as the cover region of the current QG (¶ 45 - 47).
As per claim 3, Huang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the depth of the current node is determined based on a quadtree (QT) depth of the current node and a binary depth of the current node (¶ 45 - 47).
As per claim 4, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the depth of the current node satisfies the following formula: N = Dq * 2 + Db, wherein Dq represents the QT depth of the current node, Db represents the binary depth of the current node, and N represents the depth of the current node (¶ 45 - 47).
As per claim 5, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the QP delta is parsed from the bitstream (¶ 62).
As per claim 6, Huang discloses the method of according to claim 5.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the QP delta is represented by an absolute value and a sign.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the QP delta is represented by an absolute value and a sign (¶ 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Huang in view of Xu. The advantage is improved video compression.
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 16.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487