DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Porter et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0302010).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 8, 13, Porter et al. disclose (Figs.) an analysis apparatus, comprising: a stage including a rotating chuck (124) configured to be rotated around an axis of rotation; one or more light sources ([0041]) configured to irradiate light (121, 123) onto a first region (at 129) of a substrate disposed on the stage; one or more sensors (131) configured to sense diffraction patterns that are respectively correspond to a plurality of rotation angles ([0038]) based on a rotation of the rotating chuck, the diffraction patterns being generated based on scattering of the light irradiated onto the first region of the substrate; and a processor (claim 16; “processor”) configured to reconstruct ([0038], [0041], Fig. 4) data of the first region using the diffraction patterns. Porter et al. further disclose a moving chuck (x 125, y translation stage 126) configured to translate the substrate in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation and move the substrate such that the axis of rotation passes through a second region that partially overlaps ([0038] “with overlap between positions”) with the first region. Since the data is reconstructed using ptychographic coherent diffraction imaging ([0038]), the diffraction patterns are matched as claimed. Porter et al. also disclose ([0012]) EUV light and incident light between 75 and 89 degrees (Figs. 1).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brussaard et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0204757).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-20, Brussaard et al. disclose (Figs.) an analysis apparatus, comprising: a stage including a rotating chuck (316; [0087]) configured to be rotated around an axis of rotation; one or more light sources (310) configured to irradiate light onto a first region (T) of a substrate disposed on the stage; one or more sensors (318) configured to sense diffraction patterns that are respectively correspond to a plurality of rotation angles ([0122] “different rotation angles”) based on a rotation of the rotating chuck, the diffraction patterns being generated based on scattering of the light irradiated onto the first region of the substrate; and a processor (310) configured to reconstruct ([0056]) data of the first region using the diffraction patterns. Brussaard et al. further disclose a moving chuck (x y translation stage [0087]) configured to translate the substrate in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation and move the substrate such that the axis of rotation passes through a second region that partially overlaps ([0128]) with the first region. Since the data is reconstructed using ptychographic coherent diffraction imaging ([0038]), the diffraction patterns are matched as claimed. Brussaard et al. also disclose ([0035]) EUV light, a pumping element (330) and a tilter ([0087]). Brussaard et al. also disclose ([0082]) an incident angle from 75 to 89 degrees (“near-normal”), an optical system being an optical filter (344). Brussaard et al. further disclose (Figs. 11, 12) an optical element (607, 611, 612) and (Fig. 15) the diffraction grating (613) has different grating arrangements or first and second grating patterns (615 A, B) steering light to different directions as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0045823).
Regarding claim 9, Porter et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Porter et al. do not disclose a tilter as claimed. Quintanilha teaches ([0076]) tilting a substrate to help in alignment or focus. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a tilter in the apparatus of Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha to allow for further positioning of the substrate and improve operation as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Porter et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Porter et al. do not disclose a pumping element for the light source as claimed. Quintanilha teaches ([0072]) a pumping element (420) for a light source (422). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a pumping element in the apparatus of Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha to allow for provide a more stable light source for improved operation as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Porter et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Porter et al. do not disclose a filter for the light source as claimed. Quintanilha teaches ([0073], Fig. 5) a filter (432) for a light source. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a filter in the apparatus of Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha to narrow the wavelength produced by the light source for improved operation as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 14, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0184981), hereinafter, Quintanilha ‘981.
Regarding claims 14, 15, 18, Porter et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Porter et al. do not disclose an optical element being a mirror or grating for steering to the sensor as claimed. Quintanilha ‘981 teaches (Figs. 3) an optical element (312) as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such an optical element in the apparatus of Porter et al. in view of Quintanilha ‘981 to allow for the sensor to be relocated from improved arrangement of the device as known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878