DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 have been examined and are pending.
Drawings
3. The applicant’s submitted drawings are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2025, 07/03/2025, 10/12/2025, and 01/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 13, 15 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0249573 to Miller et al. (hereinafter Miller) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0078606 to Maeder et al. (hereinafter Maeder) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0332064 to Harris et al. (hereinafter Harris).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller discloses (¶9) Techniques are described for providing virtual networking functionality for managed computer networks, which further includes:
method comprising analyzing, by a system comprising at least one processor, network configuration related information associated with an external network host configuration protocol associated with an external device that is external to a network of nodes (Miller discloses (in Figs. 1-6, ¶9-¶31, ¶36-¶66) a system configuring external network host based on various protocols to connect external devices/nodes to a network)
wherein the network configuration-related information is received from the external device and relates to a first group of network addresses associated with the external network host configuration protocol (Miller discloses (in Figs. 1-6, ¶9-¶31, ¶36-¶66) network configuration data, external devices, various groups of network address and configuration protocols)
Miller does not explicitly disclose based on a result of the analyzing, determining, by the system, a first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes, wherein the first network configuration comprises usage of the first group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and externally managed by the external device, and wherein a second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes comprises usage of a second group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and internally managed by at least one node of the network of nodes. However, in an analogous art, Maeder teaches:
based on a result of the analyzing, determining, by the system, a first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes (Maeder teaches (in Figs. 1-5, ¶76-¶82, ¶107-¶148) the embodiment(s) detail network configuration and various nodes)
wherein the first network configuration comprises usage of the first group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and externally managed by the external device (Maeder teaches (in Figs. 1-5, ¶76-¶82, ¶107-¶148) network configuration data, usage/utilizations data of group of network addresses external managed/controlled)
and wherein a second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes comprises usage of a second group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and internally managed by at least one node of the network of nodes (Maeder teaches (in Figs. 1-5, ¶76-¶82, ¶107-¶148) network configuration data, usage/utilizations data of group of network addresses external managed/controlled, in addition, to internally managed nodes/devices)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine method comprising analyzing, by a system comprising at least one processor, network configuration related information associated with an external network host configuration protocol associated with an external device that is external to a network of nodes, wherein the network configuration-related information is received from the external device and relates to a first group of network addresses associated with the external network host configuration protocol, as disclosed by Miller, and based on a result of the analyzing, determining, by the system, a first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes, wherein the first network configuration comprises usage of the first group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and externally managed by the external device, and wherein a second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes comprises usage of a second group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and internally managed by at least one node of the network of nodes, as taught by Maeder, for the purpose of implementing (¶1) dynamic address allocation in a wireless communication system.
Miller in view of Maeder does not explicitly disclose based on the result of the analyzing, generating, by the system, network pool-related information relating to a group of network pools associated with the first network configuration, wherein the network pool-related information is stored in a network pool information space and is utilized to facilitate the determining of the first network configuration, and wherein the network pool-related information indicates whether there is a network configuration-related change associated with the group of network pools or facilitates implementing the network configuration-related change as part of the first network configuration. However, in an analogous art, Harris teaches:
and based on the result of the analyzing, generating, by the system, network pool-related information relating to a group of network pools associated with the first network configuration, wherein the network pool-related information is stored in a network pool information space and is utilized to facilitate the determining of the first network configuration (Harris teaches (in Fig. 1-17 and ¶37-¶56, ¶65]- ¶69) the embodiment(s) detail network configuration of nodes/devices and an associated network IP pool. The network addresses are externally managed by a device with a configuration protocol)
and wherein the network pool-related information indicates whether there is a network configuration-related change associated with the group of network pools or facilitates implementing the network configuration-related change as part of the first network configuration (Harris teaches (in Fig. 1-17 and ¶37-¶56, ¶65-¶69, ¶121-¶138) subgroups, a network pool, various permitted and approved network operation. In addition, the transmission of capability related data. The embodiment(s) detail network nodes/devices, configuration data, capability information, various group of devices and various operation performed)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine method comprising analyzing, by a system comprising at least one processor, network configuration related information associated with an external network host configuration protocol associated with an external device that is external to a network of nodes, wherein the network configuration-related information is received from the external device and relates to a first group of network addresses associated with the external network host configuration protocol, based on a result of the analyzing, determining, by the system, a first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes, wherein the first network configuration comprises usage of the first group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and externally managed by the external device, and wherein a second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes comprises usage of a second group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and internally managed by at least one node of the network of nodes, as disclosed by Miller in view of Maeder, and based on the result of the analyzing, generating, by the system, network pool-related information relating to a group of network pools associated with the first network configuration, wherein the network pool-related information is stored in a network pool information space and is utilized to facilitate the determining of the first network configuration, and wherein the network pool-related information indicates whether there is a network configuration-related change associated with the group of network pools or facilitates implementing the network configuration-related change as part of the first network configuration, as taught by Harris, for the purpose of implementing a plurality of network activity measurements (¶9) and to manage group of network devices and IP addresses.
Claim 2, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further they disclose:
wherein the network pool information space is a temporary storage space usable to temporarily store the network pool related information for an undefined period of time in connection with or during the determining of the first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes (Harris teaches (in ¶98-¶100 and ¶112) configuration data read from a pre-defined location and stored in a local cache)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 3, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further they disclose:
wherein the network pool information space is associated with a network pool identifier that is associated with a network pool of the group of network pools, and wherein the network pool-related information relates to a network pool, a network address, an interface, a subnet, a gateway, a netmask, a maximum transmission unit, a domain name system configuration, a virtual local area network tag, or an operational capability flag or indicator (Miller teaches (in Fig. 1; ¶11-¶25, ¶33-¶38) a subnet, a gateway, network addresses and nodes.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 13, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further they disclose:
implementing, by the system, the first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes and associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein the external network host configuration protocol comprises or is associated with a dynamic host configuration protocol, a stateless address autoconfiguration protocol, a stateless dynamic host configuration protocol, a network address configuration or assignment protocol (Miller; FIG. 1; ¶ [0025]; Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol), or a cloud computing service provider;
and implementing, by the system, the second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes concurrently with the implementing of the first network configuration, to facilitate the first group of network addresses being externally managed by the external device concurrently with the second group of network addresses being internally managed by the at least one node of the network of nodes (Maeder teaches Fig. 1-5; ¶ [0076]-[0082], [0107]-[0148]; Network configuration data, usage/utilizations data of group of network addresses external managed/controlled. In addition, to internally managed nodes/devices.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Miller discloses (¶9) Techniques are described for providing virtual networking functionality for managed computer networks, which further includes:
a network manager that performs an analysis of network configuration-related data associated with an external network host configuration protocol associated with an external device that is external to a cluster of node devices that form a node device network (Miller discloses Fig. 1-6; ¶ [0009]-[0031], [0036]-[0066]; a system configuring external network host based on various protocols to connect external devices/nodes to a network. Further, Miller disclose network configuration data, external devices, various groups of network address and configuration protocols)
wherein the network configuration-related data is received from the external device and relates to a first group of network addresses associated with the external network host configuration protocol (Maeder teaches Fig. 1-5; ¶ [0076]-[0082], [0107]-[0148], network configuration data, usage/utilizations data of group of network addresses external managed/controlled)
wherein, based on a result of the analysis, the network manager determines network pool-related data relating to a group of network pools associated with the external network host configuration protocol and stores the network pool-related data in a network pool information space, wherein, based on the result of the analysis, including the network pool-related data, the network manager determines a first network configuration of the cluster of node devices, wherein the first network configuration relates to the group of network pools and the first group of network addresses associated with the cluster of node devices and managed by the external device (Harris teaches (in Fig. 1-17 and ¶37-¶56, ¶65- ¶69) the embodiment(s) detail network configuration of nodes/devices and an associated network IP pool. The network addresses are externally managed by a device with a configuration protocol. Further, Harris teaches (in ¶121-¶138) subgroups, a network pool, various permitted and approved network operation. In addition, the transmission of capability related data. The embodiment(s) detail network nodes/devices, configuration data, capability information, various group of devices and various operation performed)
wherein the network pool-related data indicates whether there is a network configuration-related change associated with the group of network pools or facilitates implementation of the network configuration-related change as part of the first network configuration (Harris teaches (in Fig. 1-17 and ¶37-¶56, ¶65-¶69, ¶121-¶138) subgroups, a network pool, various permitted and approved network operation. In addition, the transmission of capability related data. The embodiment(s) detail network nodes/devices, configuration data, capability information, various group of devices and various operation performed)
and wherein a second network configuration of the cluster of node devices relates to a second group of network addresses associated with the cluster of node devices and managed by at least one node device of the cluster of node devices (Harris teaches (¶364) clustering can provide the optimal number of peer groups, and make management over time simpler. However, the groupings are not always intuitive or easily explainable within the context of the entity network. Clustering can also be computationally expensive for large amounts of data (both number of features and records) resulting in a longer processing time to update peer groups. Because each peer grouping approach has distinct advantages, a hybrid peer grouping strategy may be used to define an optimal set of peer groups.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 1.
Claim 19, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 20, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 3. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4 – 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0249573 to Miller, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0078606 to Maeder, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0332064 to Harris, and in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0191548 to Ylonen et al. (hereinafter Ylonen).
Claim 4, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris disclose all the elements of claim 1. Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris does not explicitly disclose analyzing, by the system, respective network configuration reports comprising respective items of network configuration report information that relate to the external network host configuration protocol and respective nodes of the network of nodes, wherein the respective network configuration reports are generated based on respective portions of the network configuration-related information. However, in an analogous art, Ylonen teaches:
analyzing, by the system, respective network configuration reports comprising respective items of network configuration report information that relate to the external network host configuration protocol and respective nodes of the network of nodes (Ylonen teaches (in Figs. 1-3; ¶50, ¶55-¶72, ¶144-¶149, ¶156-¶209) the embodiment(s) detail configuration data transmitted to various network nodes, as it relates to configuration protocol with external network devices), wherein the respective network configuration reports are generated based on respective portions of the network configuration-related information (Ylonen teaches (in Figs. 1-3; ¶114-¶137; security devices, such as security nodes, transmit configuration information (configuration reports) based on configuration related data.)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine method comprising analyzing, by a system comprising at least one processor, network configuration related information associated with an external network host configuration protocol associated with an external device that is external to a network of nodes, wherein the network configuration-related information is received from the external device and relates to a first group of network addresses associated with the external network host configuration protocol, based on a result of the analyzing, determining, by the system, a first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes, wherein the first network configuration comprises usage of the first group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and externally managed by the external device, and wherein a second network configuration applicable to the network of nodes comprises usage of a second group of network addresses associated with the network of nodes and internally managed by at least one node of the network of nodes, and based on the result of the analyzing, generating, by the system, network pool-related information relating to a group of network pools associated with the first network configuration, wherein the network pool-related information is stored in a network pool information space and is utilized to facilitate the determining of the first network configuration, and wherein the network pool-related information indicates whether there is a network configuration-related change associated with the group of network pools or facilitates implementing the network configuration-related change as part of the first network configuration, as disclosed by Miller in view of Maeder view of Harris, analyzing, by the system, respective network configuration reports comprising respective items of network configuration report information that relate to the external network host configuration protocol and respective nodes of the network of nodes, wherein the respective network configuration reports are generated based on respective portions of the network configuration-related information, as taught by Ylonen, for the purpose of implementing (¶2) secured IP (internet protocol) networks.
Claim 5, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen disclose all the elements of claim 4. Further they disclose:
based on a second result of the analyzing of the respective network configuration reports, generating, by the system, hash information relating to the network configuration related information and the respective items of network configuration report information, wherein the network pool information space comprises the hash information (Ylonen teaches (¶64) shared secrets and hash functions could equally well be used for authentication, as could any other known method for ensuring the integrity of data retrieved from a server e.g., by using the SSL protocol. Further, Ylonen teaches (¶80) when the number of possible variations of configuration data is small enough to allow all possible variations of configuration data to be stored on the network devices, transmission of full configuration data from the distribution node to the network device can be effected by transmitting a hash of the data, and then selecting the correct set of configuration data on the basis of the hash).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 4.
Claim 14, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris disclose all the elements of claim 1. Further they disclose:
generating, by the respective nodes, respective network configuration reports based on the respective portions of the network configuration-related information, wherein the respective network configuration reports comprise respective items of network configuration report information that relate to the respective nodes and the external network host configuration protocol, and wherein the respective items of network configuration report information comprise at least one of respective node identifiers associated with the respective node devices, an identifier associated with the external network host configuration protocol, respective items of network address information associated with respective network addresses of the first group of network addresses, respective items of interface information associated with respective interfaces of the respective nodes, or respective items of operational capability information relating to respective operational capabilities associated with the external network host configuration protocol (Harris teaches (¶288 and ¶291) creating report data and updating the report data 538)
receiving, by respective nodes of the system, respective portions of the network configuration-related information associated with the external network host configuration protocol associated with the external device, wherein the network of nodes comprises the respective nodes (Ylonen; FIG. 1-3; ¶ [0050], [0055]-[0072], [0144]-[0149], [0156]-[0209]; the embodiment(s) detail configuration data transmitted to network nodes, as it relates to configuration protocol with external network devices)
storing, by the respective nodes, the respective network configuration reports in a data store (Ylonen; FIG. 1-3; ¶ [0055]-[0088], [0114]-[0147], [0155]-[0200]; the storing of various configuration related data) and merging, by the system, the respective network configuration reports, comprising the respective items of network configuration report information, to facilitate creating the first network configuration applicable to the network of nodes that is associated with the external network host configuration protocol (Ylonen teaches Fig. 1-3; ¶ [0055]-[0088], [0114]-[0147], [0155]-[0200], allow all possible variations of configuration data (i.e. merging the respective network configuration reports) to be stored on the network devices, and further, the storing of various configuration related data in the secure storage device.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 4.
Claims 6 – 12 and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0249573 to Miller, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0078606 to Maeder, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0332064 to Harris, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0191548 to Ylonen and in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0172104 to Brandwine et al. (hereinafter Brandwine).
Claim 6, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen disclose all the elements of claim 4. Further they disclose:
in response to determining that the particular network address exists in the network pool, adding, by the system, information relating to the particular network address and an interface associated with the particular network address to a portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the network pool, wherein the information relating to the particular network address and the interface is contained in the network configuration report, and wherein the network pool related information comprises the information relating to the particular network address and the interface (Ylonen teaches in Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0114]-[0137]; security devices, such as security nodes, transmit configuration information (configuration reports) based on network configuration related data. Further, Ylonen teaches in Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0055]-[0075], [0114]-[0147] the sending of network configuration data to various nodes and devices connected via configuration protocols.)
Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen does not explicitly disclose wherein the result is a first result, and wherein the method further comprises: based on a second result of the analyzing of the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to a network configuration report of the respective network configuration reports, determining, by the system, whether a particular network address exists in a network pool of the group of network pools, or in response to determining that the particular network address does not exist in the network pool, determining, by the system, whether a subnet corresponding to the particular network address exists in the network configuration report. However, in an analogous art, Brandwine teaches:
wherein the result is a first result, and wherein the method further comprises: based on a second result of the analyzing of the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to a network configuration report of the respective network configuration reports, determining, by the system, whether a particular network address exists in a network pool of the group of network pools (Brandwine; Fig. 1; ¶ [0009]-[0010], [0016]-[0017], [0026], [0039], [0044], [0050]; subnet, various network nodes, network configuration related data and hosting protocols)
or in response to determining that the particular network address does not exist in the network pool, determining, by the system, whether a subnet corresponding to the particular network address exists in the network configuration report (Brandwine; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [0009]-[0010], [0016]-[0017], [0026], [0039], [0044], [0050], [0061]; the system determine if the nodes, a subnet meets/exceed criteria related to the configuration information)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine in response to determining that the particular network address exists in the network pool, adding, by the system, information relating to the particular network address and an interface associated with the particular network address to a portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the network pool, wherein the information relating to the particular network address and the interface is contained in the network configuration report, and wherein the network pool related information comprises the information relating to the particular network address and the interface, as disclosed by Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen, and wherein the result is a first result, and wherein the method further comprises: based on a second result of the analyzing of the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to a network configuration report of the respective network configuration reports, determining, by the system, whether a particular network address exists in a network pool of the group of network pools, or in response to determining that the particular network address does not exist in the network pool, determining, by the system, whether a subnet corresponding to the particular network address exists in the network configuration report, as taught by Brandwine, for the purpose of providing (¶8) managed computer networks, such as for managed computer networks that are each implemented as a virtual computer network overlaid on one or more other computer networks.
Claim 7, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
wherein the portion is a first portion, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that no subnet corresponding to the particular network address exists in the network configuration report, creating, by the system, a new subnet that corresponds to the particular network address (Brandwine teaches Fig. 1-2; ¶ [0009]-[0010], [0016]-[0017], [0026], [0039], [0044], [0050], [0061]; creating a subnet related to external protocols based on network configuration data)
creating, by the system, a new network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein a network pool identifier is associated with the new network pool (Brandwine teaches Fig. 1; ¶ [0016]-[0019], [0021]-[0028], [0052]-[0053]; a pool of network addresses, network mapping associated with a subnet)
adding, by the system, new network pool-related information relating to the new network pool to a second portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the new network pool wherein the network pool-related information comprises the new network pool-related information (Brandwine teaches (¶14) adding computing nodes to the managed computer network)
adding, by the system, the information relating to the particular network address and the interface associated with the particular network address to the second portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the new network pool (Brandwine teaches (¶118) adding a new computing node to the virtual computer network and/or repurposing another existing computing node of the virtual computer network).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 8, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
wherein the portion is a first portion, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that the subnet corresponding to the particular network address exists in the network configuration report, determining, by the system, whether an externally managed network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol exists in the subnet (Harris teaches Fig. 1-17; ¶[0037]-[0056], [0065]-[0069]; The embodiment(s) detail network configuration of nodes/devices and an associated network IP pool. The network addresses are externally managed by a device with a configuration protocol.)
and one of: in response to determining that the externally managed network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol exists in the subnet, adding, by the system, the information relating to the particular network address and the interface associated with the particular network address to a second portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the externally managed network pool, wherein a network pool identifier is associated with the externally managed network pool (Brandwine teaches Fig. 1; ¶ [0016]-[0019], [0021]-[0028], [0052]-[0053]; a pool of network addresses, network mapping associated with a subnet. Further, Brandwine teaches (¶118) adding a new computing node to the virtual computer network)
or in response to determining that no externally managed network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol exists in the subnet, creating, by the system, a new network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, adding, by the system, new network pool-related information relating to the new network pool to a third portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the new network pool, wherein the network pool-related information comprises the new network pool-related information, and adding, by the system, the information relating to the particular network address and the interface associated with the particular network address to the third portion of the network pool information space that is associated with the new network pool (Brandwine teaches Fig. 1-2 and ¶28, to create, configure, and/or initiate use of managed computer networks 120. Brandwine teaches ¶ [0009]-[0010], [0016]-[0017], [0026], [0039], [0044], [0050], [0061]; creating a subnet related to external protocols based on network configuration data).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 9, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
wherein the network pool is a first network pool, wherein the group of network pools comprises at least one of the first network pool or a second network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein a particular network pool is the first network pool or the second network pool, wherein the first group of network addresses comprises a subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool (Harris; FIG. 1-17; ¶ [0037]-[0056], [0065]-[0069]; The embodiment(s) detail network configuration of nodes/devices and an associated network IP pool. The network addresses are externally managed by a device with a configuration protocol.)
and wherein the method further comprises: with regard to the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to the particular network pool, determining, by the system, whether there is any change to the subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool based on a third result of analyzing a portion of the network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool and contained in the network pool information space, the respective network configuration reports, or previous network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool (Brandwine (¶38) supports changes to an underlying substrate network--for example, if the underlying substrate network is expanded to include additional computing nodes at additional geographical locations, existing or new virtual computer networks being provided may seamlessly use those additional computing nodes, since the underlying substrate network will route communications to and from the substrate network addresses for those additional computing nodes in the same manner as for other previously existing substrate network computing nodes.)
and one of: in response to determining, based on the third result, that there has been no change to the subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool, determining, by the system, that the network address information associated with the particular network pool is not to be updated; or in response to determining, based on the third result, that there has been a change to the subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool, updating, by the system, network address information associated with the particular network pool, based on, and to reflect, the change to the subgroup of network addresses, to generate updated network address information associated with the particular network pool, wherein at least one of the network address information or the updated network address information is logged, and indicating, by the system, that the subgroup of network addresses has been changed (Brandwine (¶78 and Fig. 2l) the communication manager module obtains configuration information from the virtual computer network device(s), and updates its mapping information accordingly (and in some embodiments may further update one or more system manager modules that maintain information about computing nodes associated with virtual networks). The communication manager modules and/or system manager module may track which virtual network addresses are used by particular computing nodes, and similarly update stored mapping information accordingly.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 10, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
wherein the network pool is a first network pool, wherein the group of network pools comprises at least one of the first network pool or a second network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein a particular network pool is the first network pool or the second network pool, wherein the first group of network addresses comprises a subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool (Harris; FIG. 1-17; ¶ [0037]-[0056], [0065]-[0069]; The embodiment(s) detail network configuration of nodes/devices and an associated network IP pool. The network addresses are externally managed by a device with a configuration protocol.)
and wherein the method further comprises: with regard to the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to the particular network pool, determining, by the system,
whether there is any change to a group of interfaces associated with the subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool based on a third result of analyzing a portion of the network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool and contained in the network pool information space, the respective network configuration reports, or previous network pool related information relating to the particular network pool (Brandwine (¶38) supports changes to an underlying substrate network--for example, if the underlying substrate network is expanded to include additional computing nodes at additional geographical locations, existing or new virtual computer networks being provided may seamlessly use those additional computing nodes, since the underlying substrate network will route communications to and from the substrate network addresses for those additional computing nodes in the same manner as for other previously existing substrate network computing nodes.)
and one of: in response to determining, based on the third result, that there has been no change to the group of interfaces associated with the particular network pool, determining, by the system, that the interface information associated with the particular network pool is not to be updated; or in response to determining, based on the third result, that there has been a change to the group of interfaces, updating, by the system, interface information associated with the particular network pool, based on, and to reflect, the change to the group of interfaces, to generate updated interface information associated with the particular network pool, wherein at least one of the interface information or the updated interface information is logged, and indicating, by the system, that the group of interfaces associated with the particular network pool has been changed (Brandwine (¶78 and Fig. 2l) the communication manager module obtains configuration information from the virtual computer network device(s), and updates its mapping information accordingly (and in some embodiments may further update one or more system manager modules that maintain information about computing nodes associated with virtual networks). The communication manager modules and/or system manager module may track which virtual network addresses are used by particular computing nodes, and similarly update stored mapping information accordingly.)
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 11, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
wherein the network pool is a first network pool, wherein the group of network pools comprises at least one of the first network pool or a second network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein a particular network pool is the first network pool or the second network pool, wherein the first group of network addresses comprises a subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool, and wherein the method further comprises: with regard to the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to the particular network pool, determining, by the system, whether there is no network address and no interface associated with the particular network pool based on a third result of analyzing a portion of the network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool and contained in the network pool information space, the respective network configuration reports, or previous network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool; in response to determining, based on the third result, that there is no network address and no interface associated with the particular network pool, determining, by the system, that the particular network pool is able to be deleted; and updating, by the system, an indicator in the network pool information space to indicate that the particular network pool is able to be deleted (Brandwine (¶146) teaches system manager module for the purpose of configuring computing nodes and their communications. For example, some embodiments may provide an interactive console (e.g. a client application program providing an interactive user interface, a Web browser-based interface, etc.) from which users can manage the creation or deletion of virtual computer networks, the configuration of specified VLANs for virtual computer networks, the configuration of network topology information for virtual computer networks, the specification of failure behavior information for computing nodes of virtual computer networks, and the specification of virtual network membership, as well as more general administrative functions related to the operation and management of hosted applications (e.g., the creation or modification of user accounts; the provision of new applications; the initiation, termination, or monitoring of hosted applications; the assignment of applications to groups; the reservation of time or other system resources; etc.).
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 12, Miller in view of Maeder in view of Harris in view of Ylonen in view of Brandwine disclose all the elements of claim 6. Further they disclose:
the network pool is a first network pool, wherein the group of network pools comprises at least one of the first network pool or a second network pool associated with the external network host configuration protocol, wherein a particular network pool is the first network pool or the second network pool, wherein the first group of network addresses comprises a subgroup of network addresses associated with the particular network pool, and wherein the method further comprises: with regard to the respective network configuration reports, and with regard to the particular network pool, determining, by the system, whether there is no network address and no interface associated with the particular network pool based on a third result of analyzing a portion of the network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool and contained in the network pool information space, the respective network configuration reports, or previous network pool-related information relating to the particular network pool; in response to determining, based on the third result, that there is no network address and no interface associated with the particular network pool, determining, by the system, that the particular network pool is able to be deleted, and updating, by the system, an indicator in the network pool information space to indicate that the particular network pool is able to be deleted (Brandwine (¶38) teaches managing configured network topologies for provided virtual computer networks, in addition, the use of the described techniques also allows computing nodes to easily be added to and/or removed from a virtual computer network, such as to allow a user to dynamically modify the size of a virtual computer network (e.g., to dynamically modify the quantity of computing nodes to reflect an amount of current need for more or less computing resources). Furthermore, the use of the described techniques also supports changes to an underlying substrate network--for example, if the underlying substrate network is expanded to include additional computing nodes at additional geographical locations, existing or new virtual computer networks being provided may seamlessly use those additional computing nodes, since the underlying substrate network will route communications to and from the substrate network addresses for those additional computing nodes in the same manner as for other previously existing substrate network computing nodes. The underlying substrate network may be of any size (e.g., spanning multiple countries or continents), without regard to network latency between computing nodes at different locations.
The motivation to combine the references is similar to the reasons in Claim 6.
Claim 16, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 6.
Claim 17, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 7.
Claim 18, do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0351791 to Nagarajan et al. (Network Policy Analysis for Networks)
/H. A. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/GLENFORD J MADAMBA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451