DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawkins (US Pub No. 2010/0114065).
Regarding claim 1, Hawkins discloses (Figures 2-4) a catheter (20) for treating occlusions in blood vessels (Paragraphs 0037-0038), comprising: a tubular member (see annotated figure below); a flexible member (26) positioned at a distal end of the catheter (Figure 4), the flexible member forming an enclosure that is fillable with conductive fluid (Paragraphs 0037-0038); and a shock wave emitter assembly (22, 24) supported by the tubular member (Figures 2 and 4) and positioned within the enclosure proximate to a distal end of the flexible member (Figures 2 and 4), wherein when the flexible member is filled with the conductive fluid and an electrical pulse is applied to the shock wave emitter assembly, shock waves are generated that propagate in a distal direction out of the distal end of the catheter (clearly shown in Figure 4) (Paragraphs
0037-0038).
Regarding claim 1 under an alternative rejection, Hawkins discloses (Figure 5) a catheter (40) for treating occlusions in blood vessels (Paragraphs 0037-0038), comprising: a tubular member (similar to the annotated figure above); a flexible member (46) positioned at a distal end of the catheter (Figure 5), the flexible member forming an enclosure that is fillable with conductive fluid (Paragraphs 0037-0038); and a shock wave emitter assembly (44) supported by the tubular member (Figure 5) and positioned within the enclosure proximate to a distal end of the flexible member (Figure 5), wherein when the flexible member is filled with the conductive fluid and an electrical pulse is applied to the shock wave emitter assembly, shock waves are generated that propagate in a distal direction out of the distal end of the catheter (will be similar to what is shown in Figure 4) (Paragraphs 0037-0038 and 0041).
Regarding claim 12 under any of the rejections for claim 1 above, wherein the conductive fluid comprises saline (Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 13 under the second rejection for claim 1, wherein the shock wave emitter assembly is a primary shock wave emitter assembly (44) and the catheter comprises at least one secondary shock wave emitter assembly (42) located within the enclosure proximally of the primary shock wave emitter assembly (clearly shown in Figure 5), wherein the at least one secondary shock wave emitter assembly is configured to generate shock waves that propagate radially outwardly (will be similar to what is shown in Figure 4) (Paragraphs 0037-0038 and 0041).
Regarding claim 14 under the second rejection for claim 1, wherein the at least one secondary shock wave emitter assembly is configured to generate shock waves independently of the primary shock wave emitter assembly (Paragraphs 0037-0038 and 0041).
Regarding claim 15 under the second rejection for claim 1, wherein the at least one secondary shock wave emitter assembly comprises at least one conductive sheath (tip of 42).
Regarding claim 16 under any of the rejections for claim 1 above, wherein the tubular member includes a guide wire lumen (tubular member includes a lumen as shown in Figures 2, 4 and 5 to where a guidewire is fully capable in being inserted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins (US Pub No. 2010/0114065) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loeb (US Pub No. 2003/0060813).
Regarding claim 10, Hawkins discloses all of the elements of claim 1 above except for a fluid pump connected to a proximal end of the device configured to provide conductive fluid to fill the flexible member; and a fluid return line having an inlet proximate to the distal end of the catheter and configured to remove the conductive fluid from the flexible member, wherein the fluid pump and fluid return line are configured to circulate the conductive fluid under pressure inside the flexible member.
Loeb, in the analogous art of balloon catheters, teaches (Figures 1-2) a balloon catheter system (10) that includes a fluid pump (22) connected to a proximal end of the device configured to provide conductive fluid (saline, Paragraphs 0047 and 0064) to the volume inside the balloon (16) (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraphs 0046 0055); and a fluid return line (28) having an inlet (26, 27) proximate to the distal end of the device (Figure 1) and configured to remove the conductive fluid from the volume of the balloon (Figures 1-2) (Paragraph 0063), wherein the fluid pump and fluid return line are configured to circulate the conductive fluid under pressure within the volume of the balloon (clearly shown in Figures 1-2) (Paragraphs 0011, 0055 and 0061-0063). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hawkins to have included a fluid pump connected to a proximal end of the device configured to provide the conductive fluid to fill the flexible member; and a fluid return line having an inlet proximate to the distal end of the catheter and configured to remove the conductive fluid from the flexible member as taught by Loeb, in order to provide a cooling system to prevent damage to the interior components of the device and also to the patient’s tissue (Loeb, Paragraphs 0011 and 0053). [Hawkins modified by Loeb as a whole would result in a fluid pump to be connected to a proximal end of the device configured to provide conductive fluid to fill the flexible member; and a fluid return line having an inlet proximate to the distal end of the catheter and configured to remove the conductive fluid from the flexible member, wherein the fluid pump and fluid return line are configured to circulate the conductive fluid under pressure inside the flexible member]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins (US Pub No. 2010/0114065) and Loeb (US Pub No. 2003/0060813) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kurth (US Pub No. 2010/0274189).
Regarding claim 11, Hawkins modified by Loeb discloses all of the elements of claim 10 above except for a pressure relief valve at an outlet of the fluid return line.
Kurth, in the analogous art of balloon catheters, teaches (Figure 1) a balloon catheter (10) that includes pressure relief valve (20) at an outlet (22) of a hub (18) (Paragraphs 0035 and 0054). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hawkins modified by Loeb to have included a pressure relief valve at an outlet of the fluid return line as taught by Kurth, in order to regulate the pressure inside the balloon and thereby rendering rupture impossible and making the use of the catheter fail-safe (Kurth, Paragraphs 0035 and 0054).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5-7, 10-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 5-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,966,737. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims
19/023,002
1
2
4
5
6
7
10
11
12
13
16
Claims
Patent 10,966,737
1, 10
1, 10
1
2
2
10
5
6
7
8
9
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5-7, 10-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 5-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,602,363. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims
19/023,002
1
2
4
5
6
7
10
11
12
13
16
Claims
Patent 11,602,363
1, 11
1, 11
1, 11
1, 11
2
7
5
6
8
9
10
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 and 5-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,950,793. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims
19/023,002
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
16
Claims
Patent 11,950,793
1
1
2
3
4
5
11
12
13
6
7
8
10
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also, if they overcome the double patenting rejection set forth in this Office Action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the dependent claims:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination of features as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the shock wave emitter assembly comprises: first and second wires extending along at least a portion of the tubular member; and a conductive sheath extending around the first and second wires such that a first spark gap is formed between the conductive sheath and a distal face of the first wire and a second spark gap is formed between the conductive sheath and a distal face of the second wire, wherein the shock waves are generated at the first and second spark gaps (claim 2).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771