Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 5/1/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195245 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Li”), in view of US 20170374369 A1-Chuang et al (Hereinafter referred toa s “Chu”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors (fig. 8-9, 16-17, 19, 21, 27-30, 32, 35-40, 42-43, 51, 53) the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a current block encoded using a first prediction mode ([0149], receives a bitstream);
identifying a first prediction mode for the current block ([0166]);
mapping the first prediction mode to a corresponding intra prediction mode ([0304], wherein IMTS may be used only for intra prediction blocks, or may be used for both intra prediction blocks and inter prediction block);
selecting a first transform set from a plurality of transform sets based on the corresponding intra prediction mode ([0305], wherein selection process for selectively switching transform types); and
reconstructing the current block using the first transform set ([0379]).
Li fails to disclose mapping the first prediction mode to a corresponding intra prediction mode using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chu discloses mapping the first prediction mode to a corresponding intra prediction mode using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process ([011], wherein intra prediction mode selected from the 131 modes for a DIMD coded block is first mapped back to one of the 67 modes, and the mapped mode is stored in an intra mode buffer for MPM derivation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose mapping the first prediction mode to a corresponding intra prediction mode using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process as taught by Chu, to improve coding efficiency by improving the quality of the intra predictor ([0006], Chu).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode is an inter prediction mode ([0376], inter prediction).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode is an intra block copy (IBC) mode ([0650], intra block copy).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode comprises a template-matching prediction mode ([0661], template matching).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode comprises a combined inter-intra prediction mode ([0304], both intra and inter are being used; [0415], combined inter merge/intra prediction (CIIP) mode), and wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is based on intra portion of the combined inter-intra prediction mode ([0438]).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode comprises a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) ([0743]).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is based on a split direction of the GPM ([0610], wherein intra prediction is based on splitting pattern).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is based on an intra prediction portion of the GPM ([0295]).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses he method of claim 1, further comprising deriving a transform set index for the current block based on the corresponding intra prediction mode, wherein the first transform set is selected using the transform set index ([0304]).
Regarding claim 18, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 18, encode ([0006])
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 20.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195245 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Li”), in view of US 20170374369 A1-Chuang et al (Hereinafter referred toa s “Chu”), in view of US 20130089145 A1-Guo et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Guo”).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the method of claim 1,
Li fails to disclose parsing a syntax element from the video bitstream to determine whether to adjust the corresponding intra prediction, wherein the first transform set is selected based on the corresponding intra prediction mode and the syntax element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses parsing a syntax element from the video bitstream to determine whether to adjust the corresponding intra prediction ([0028]), wherein the first transform set is selected based on the corresponding intra prediction mode and the syntax element ([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose parsing a syntax element from the video bitstream to determine whether to adjust the corresponding intra prediction, wherein the first transform set is selected based on the corresponding intra prediction mode and the syntax element as taught by Guo, to improve coding efficiency ([0058], Guo).
Regarding claim 19, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 9 and are applicable for claim 19.
Claim(s) 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195245 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Li”), in view of US 20170374369 A1-Chuang et al (Hereinafter referred toa s “Chu”), in view of US 20240171752 A1-Kidani.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the method of claim 1,
Li fails to disclose wherein the first prediction mode maps to a set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes, and wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is selected according to a syntax element in the video bitstream.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kidani discloses wherein the first prediction mode maps to a set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes (fig. 13), and wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is selected according to a syntax element in the video bitstream ([0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose wherein the first prediction mode maps to a set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes, and wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is selected according to a syntax element in the video bitstream as taught by Kidani, to improve coding efficiency ([0059], Kidani).
Claim(s) 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195245 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Li”), in view of US 20170374369 A1-Chuang et al (Hereinafter referred toa s “Chu”), in view of US 20240171752 A1-Kidani, in further view of US 20200304782 A1-Zhaoo et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 15, Kidani discloses the method of claim 14,
Kidani fails to disclose wherein the syntax element indicates an index for the set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes.
Zhao discloses wherein the syntax element indicates an index for the set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes ([0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li and Kidani to disclose wherein the syntax element indicates an index for the set of two or more corresponding intra prediction modes as taught by Zhao, to improve visual quality ([0111).
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195245 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Li”), in view of US 20170374369 A1-Chuang et al (Hereinafter referred toa s “Chu”), in view of US 20200304782 A1-Zhaoo et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses the method of claim 1,
Li fails to disclose wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is in a range of [-15, 81] inclusive.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is in a range of [-15, 81] inclusive ([0186]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose wherein the corresponding intra prediction mode is in a range of [-15, 81] inclusive as taught by Zhao, to improve visual quality ([0111).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein each intra prediction mode is mapped to a corresponding transform set of the plurality of transform sets (fig. 38), and wherein at least one transform set in the plurality of transform sets is a transpose of another transform set in the plurality of transform sets ([0137]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487