DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/28/2026, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 15-17, and 19-20 are currently amended. Claims 4-6 and 18 are canceled. Claims 21-24 are newly added.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103 in Remarks filed on 05/28/2026 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Kim (WO 2024058637 A1, English equivalent document cited) in view of Wang (“Non-EE2: Multiple Transform Set Selection for LFNST/NSPT”, JVET-AG0062, 01/17/2024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 15-17, 19-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024058637 A1, English equivalent document cited) in view of Wang (“Non-EE2: Multiple Transform Set Selection for LFNST/NSPT”, JVET-AG0062, 01/17/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising (Kim; Pg. 28, second to last Para. A video processing system/method is used for video coding, including processors and memory.):
receiving a video bitstream comprising a current block (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A block from a bitstream is received.);
identifying a first prediction mode for the current block (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A first prediction mode is determined for a current block.);
when the first prediction mode is a particular prediction mode, selecting a first set of transform kernels as transform kernels for the current block (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. For a first prediction mode being a first intra mode derived based on DIMD, a first set of transform kernels, e.g. NSPT, is derived for a current block.);
when the first prediction mode is not the particular prediction mode, selecting a second set of transform kernels as the transform kernels for the current block (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. For a first prediction mode being not a first intra mode derived based on DIMD, a second set of transform kernels, LFNST, is derived for a current block.); and
applying a transform for the current block using the transform kernels (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A transform is used for a current block using transform kernels.).
But Kim does not specifically disclose when the first prediction mode is a particular prediction mode identified via a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) or matrix-based prediction approach, selecting, from a plurality of sets, a first set of non-separable primary transform (NSPT) kernels as selected transform kernels for the current block, wherein the first set of NSPT kernels is configured for the DIMD or matrix-based prediction approach; when the first prediction mode is not the particular prediction mode identified via the DIMD or matrix-based prediction approach, selecting, from the plurality of sets, a second set of transform NSPT kernels as the selected transform kernels for the current block, wherein the second set of NSPT kernels is different than the first set of NSPT kernels; and applying a transform for the current block using at least one of the selected transform kernels for the current block.
However, Wang teaches when the first prediction mode is identified via a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) or matrix-based prediction approach, selecting, from a plurality of sets, a first set of non-separable primary transform (NSPT) kernels as selected transform kernels for the current block, wherein the first set of NSPT kernels is configured for the DIMD or matrix-based prediction approach (Wang; Heading “Abstract”, “2 Proposed method”. For a first prediction being DIMD, a first set of NSPT kernels is selected for a current block, wherein a first set of NSPT kernels is set for a DIMD approach.);
when the first prediction mode is not identified via the DIMD or matrix-based prediction approach, selecting, from the plurality of sets, a second set of NSPT kernels as the selected transform kernels for the current block, wherein the second set of NSPT kernels is different than the first set of NSPT kernels (Wang; Heading “Abstract”, “2 Proposed method”. For a first prediction being not DIMD, a second set of NSPT kernels is selected for a current block, wherein a second set of NSPT kernels being different from a first set of NSPT.); and applying a transform for the current block using at least one of the selected transform kernels for the current block (Wang; Heading “Abstract”, “2 Proposed method”. A transform for a current block is used in accordance with one of the selected kernels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim’s first embodiment to adapt a transform kernel selection approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching multiple transform set selection are used for different prediction modes, for the motivation to enable the selection of alternative transform sets (Wang; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the particular prediction mode is identified using the DIMD approach (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A particular prediction mode is derived using DIMD.).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the second set of NSPT kernels is selected from a plurality of transform kernel sets based on coding information (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A second set of transform kernels is at least selected/derived from different transform kernel sets, e.g. MTS, LFNST, NSPT, in accordance with prediction information.).
Claims 16-17 are directed to a method of video encoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-2, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 22, modified Kim teaches the current block is one of an inter predicted block or a block predicted using an intra block copy mode, and the first prediction mode is identified via the DIMD applied based on a template (Kim; Pg. 35, last Para. A current block is a IBC predicted block , and a first prediction mode is determined via a DIMD in accordance with a template.).
Regarding claim 23, modified Kim teaches the first prediction mode is one of a plurality of intra modes derived using the DIMD (Kim; Pg. 28 last Para., Pg. 29, 1st Para. A first prediction mode is derived using DIMD.), the plurality of intra modes being derived by analyzing prediction signals obtained using matrix multiplication (Kim; Fig. 22, Pg. 27, 3rd Para. Different intra modes are derived with prediction obtained using matrix multiplication).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the limitation in claim 1 (Kim; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.), but the first prediction mode is identified using the matrix-based prediction approach.
However, Kim in another embodiment teaches the particular prediction mode is identified using a matrix-based prediction approach (Kim; Pg. 28, 3rd, 4th Para. A particular mode is determined using a MIP.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim’s first embodiment to adapt an image processing approach, by incorporating teaching of the said embodiment wherein a secondary transform, e.g. LFNST, is employed, for the motivation to perform video coding using intra mode-based transform (Kim; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teaches the limitation in claim 1 (Kim; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.), but the first prediction mode is identified using a position dependent prediction (PDP) approach, the PDP approach being a hybrid of an interpolation-based approach and the matrix-based prediction approach.
However, Kim in another embodiment teaches the first prediction mode is identified using a position dependent prediction (PDP) approach, the PDP approach being a hybrid of an interpolation-based approach and the matrix-based prediction approach (Kim; Pg. 32, 3rd Para. A first prediction mode is determined via an intra prediction mode map based on a position dependency of a template matching block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim’s first embodiment to adapt an image processing approach, by incorporating teaching of the said embodiment wherein a position information is employed for intra mode determination, for the motivation to perform video coding using intra mode-based transform (Kim; Abstract.).
Claim 19 is directed to a method of video encoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 7, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024058637 A1, English equivalent document cited) in view of Wang (“Non-EE2: Multiple Transform Set Selection for LFNST/NSPT”, JVET-AG0062, 01/17/2024), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Byun (WO 2025150793 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the limitation in claim 2 (Kim; See remarks regarding claim 2 above.), but applying the transform comprises applying a fusion of individual predictors for the DIMD.
However, Byun teaches applying the transform comprises applying a fusion of individual predictors for the DIMD (Byun; Pg. 18, last Para. A combination/fusion of predictors of DIMD is determined before transform.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim to adapt a DIMD based prediction, by incorporating Byun’s teaching wherein combination/fusion of predictors of DIMD is determined, for the motivation to perform HoG based DIMD prediction (Byun; Pg. 17, 8th Para.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the limitation in claim 2 (Kim; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.), but deriving an intra mode for the current block based on a neighboring block of the current block; and populating an intra mode candidate list with the derived intra mode, wherein the first prediction mode is selected from the intra mode candidate list.
However, Byun teaches deriving an intra mode for the current block based on a neighboring block of the current block (Byun; Pg 20, last Para., Pg. 21, 1st Para. An intra mode is determined for a current block in accordance with a neighboring block.); and populating an intra mode candidate list with the derived intra mode, wherein the first prediction mode is selected from the intra mode candidate list (Byun; Pg 20, last Para., Pg. 21, 1st Para. An intra mode is assigned to fill an intra mode list/MPM list, wherein a first prediction mode is selected from the intra mode list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim to adapt a DIMD based prediction, by incorporating Byun’s teaching wherein combination/fusion of predictors of DIMD is determined, for the motivation to perform DIMD prediction with MPM (Byun; Pg. 20,7th, 8th Para.).
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2024058637 A1, English equivalent document cited) in view of Wang (“Non-EE2: Multiple Transform Set Selection for LFNST/NSPT”, JVET-AG0062, 01/17/2024), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yu (WO 2024163447 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the limitation in claim 1 (Kim; See remarks regarding claim1 above.), but applying the transform for the current block comprises combining a matrix-based prediction with a non-separable primary transform.
However, Yu teaches applying the transform for the current block comprises combining a matrix-based prediction with a non-separable primary transform (Yu; Para. [0089]. MIP is combined with a NSPT for applying a transform for a current block.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Kim to adapt an intra prediction mode, by incorporating Yu’s teaching wherein MIP-based intra modes are combined with NSPT, for the motivation to perform shift-invariant intra prediction (Yu; Abstract.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 21, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu (US Pub. 20260230631 A1) teaches a video coding system that allows indexation into NSPT kernels using intra prediction mode.
Chiang (US Pub. 20260230650 A1) teaches a video coding system performs transform selection depending on intra prediction mode in video coding system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485