DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/ are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 19/022,886 in view of Lee et al. US 2020/0267408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are not identical in terms of wording and terminology, the scopes of the claims are the same, and they are not patentably distinct from each other as they are obvious variations of one another. Application No. 19/022,886 does not recite obtaining prediction related information and residual information of a current block; deriving a residual sample of the current block based on residual information for the current block; and generating a reconstructed picture based on the prediction sample and the residual sample. Lee discloses obtaining prediction related information and residual information of a current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] deriving a residual sample of the current block based on residual information for the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and generating a reconstructed picture based on the prediction sample and the residual sample, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lee with the teachings of Application No. 19/022,886 allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 19/022,992 in view of Lee et al. US 2020/0267408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are not identical in terms of wording and terminology, the scopes of the claims are the same, and they are not patentably distinct from each other as they are obvious variations of one another. Application No. 19/022,992 does not recite obtaining prediction related information and residual information of a current block. Lee discloses obtaining prediction related information and residual information of a current block. [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lee with the teachings of Application No. 19/022,992 allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 2020/0267408.
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a method of decoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining prediction related information and residual information of a current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] determining whether the current block is adjacent to an upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404] deriving a spatial sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [¶ 0165-0167; ¶ 0276] deriving a temporal sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a temporal neighboring block of the current block; [¶ 0170-0172; ¶ 0276] constructing sub-block merge candidate list of the current block based on the spatial sub-block merge candidate and the temporal sub-block merge candidate; [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] determining sub-block merge information of the current block based on the prediction related information; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0014; ¶ 0024; ¶ 0100-0106; ¶ 0123-0132; ¶ 0250-0251; ¶ 0271; ¶ 0278] and deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the sub-block merge information; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0014; ¶ 0024; ¶ 0100-0106; ¶ 0123-0132; ¶ 0250-0251; ¶ 0271; ¶ 0278] deriving a residual sample of the current block based on the residual information for the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and generating a reconstructed picture based on the prediction sample and the residual sample, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] based on the current block being adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block of the current block, the spatial sub-block merge candidate is determined based on a motion vector corresponding to a location adjacent to the upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block, and the location adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block comprises a lower-left location of the top neighboring block and a lower-right location of the top neighboring block. [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404]
As to claim 2, Lee teaches a method of encoding an image, the method comprising: determining whether a current block is adjacent to an upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404] deriving a spatial sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [¶ 0165-0167; ¶ 0276] deriving a temporal sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a temporal neighboring block of the current block; [¶ 0170-0172; ¶ 0276] constructing sub-block merge candidate list of the current block based on the spatial sub-block merge candidate and the temporal sub-block merge candidate; [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] determining sub-block merge information of the current block based on the sub-block merge candidate list; [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the sub-block merge information; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0014; ¶ 0024; ¶ 0100-0106; ¶ 0123-0132; ¶ 0250-0251; ¶ 0271; ¶ 0278] deriving a residual sample of the current block based on the prediction sample; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and encoding image information including prediction related information and residual information of the current block, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] based on the current block being adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block of the current block, the spatial sub-block merge candidate is determined based on a motion vector corresponding to a location adjacent to the upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block, and the location adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block comprises a lower-left location of the top neighboring block and a lower-right location of the top neighboring block. [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404]
As to claim 3, Lee teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program which causes an image encoding method for generating a bitstream is performed when the program is performed, wherein the image encoding method including: determining whether a current block is adjacent to an upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block; deriving a spatial sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404] deriving a temporal sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a temporal neighboring block of the current block; [¶ 0170-0172; ¶ 0276] constructing sub-block merge candidate list of the current block based on the spatial sub-block merge candidate and the temporal sub-block merge candidate; [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] determining sub-block merge information of the current block based on the sub-block merge candidate list; [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the sub-block merge information; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0014; ¶ 0024; ¶ 0100-0106; ¶ 0123-0132; ¶ 0250-0251; ¶ 0271; ¶ 0278] deriving a residual sample of the current block based on the prediction sample; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] encoding image information including prediction related information and residual information of the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and generating the bitstream including the image information, based on the current block being adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block of the current block, the spatial sub-block merge candidate is determined based on a motion vector corresponding to a location adjacent to the upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block, and the location adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block comprises a lower-left location of the top neighboring block and a lower-right location of the top neighboring block. [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404]
As to claim 4, Lee teaches a transmission method for image data, the method comprising: obtaining a bitstream of encoded image information, wherein the encoded image information is generated based on determining whether a current block is adjacent to an upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block, [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404] deriving a spatial sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block, [¶ 0165-0167; ¶ 0276] deriving a temporal sub-block merge candidate of the current block based on a temporal neighboring block of the current block, [¶ 0170-0172; ¶ 0276] constructing sub-block merge candidate list of the current block based on the spatial sub-block merge candidate and the temporal sub-block merge candidate, [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] determining sub- block merge information of the current block based on the sub- block merge candidate list, [¶ 0271; ¶ 0276-0278; ¶ 0429-0430; ¶ 0440] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the sub-block merge information, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0014; ¶ 0024; ¶ 0100-0106; ¶ 0123-0132; ¶ 0250-0251; ¶ 0271; ¶ 0278] deriving a residual sample of the current block based on the prediction sample, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and encoding image information including prediction related information and residual information of the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0101-0117; ¶ 0124-0132] and transmitting the image data comprising the bitstream, [¶ 0124] based on the current block being adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block of the current block, the spatial sub-block merge candidate is determined based on a motion vector corresponding to a location adjacent to the upper boundary of a current coding tree block of the current block, and the location adjacent to the upper boundary of the current coding tree block comprises a lower-left location of the top neighboring block and a lower-right location of the top neighboring block. [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0151-0153; ¶ 0165; ¶ 0276; ¶ 0404]
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483