Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/26/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,238,951. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. See chart below.
Instant Application: 19/023,030
US Patent 10,238,951
Claim 1. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body having an opening sized to fit the thumb and an appendage and having a length sufficient to extend at least partially adjacent the web area;
and wherein the appendage defines a
contact point between the bat and the hand such that the contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the index finger;
The appendage having a thickness of between 12 mm and 16 mm and having a length sufficient to extend at least partially adjacent the web area;
and further wherein the appendage has a thickest point located at a distance of less than twenty-five percent of the distance from the opening to a distal end of the appendage.
Claim 5. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body having an opening to be fit over the thumb and an appendage to extend at least partially adjacent the web area;
wherein the appendage is configured to have a contact point between the bat and the hand such that the contact point is adjacent to or distal to a proximal interphalangeal joint of the index finger;
and wherein the appendage has a lower surface to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat, the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature of between about 60 mm and about 70 mm.
Claim 6. The device of claim 5, wherein the appendage has a thickness of between about 12 mm and about 16 mm and a length of between about 29 mm and about 33 mm.
Claim 7. The device of claim 5, wherein the appendage has a thickest point located about twenty-five percent of the distance from the opening to a distal end of the appendage.
2. The device of claim 1, wherein the appendage has a
length of between 29 mm and 33 mm.
Claim 6. The device of claim 5, wherein the appendage has a thickness of between about 12 mm and about 16 mm and a length of between about 29 mm and about 33 mm.
Claim 3. The device of claim 1,
wherein the appendage has a lower surface to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat, the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature of between 60 mm and 70 mm.
Claim 5. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body having an opening to be fit over the thumb and an appendage to extend at least partially adjacent the web area;
wherein the appendage is configured to have a contact point between the bat and the hand such that the contact point is adjacent to or distal to a proximal interphalangeal joint of the index finger;
and wherein the appendage has a lower surface to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat, the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature of between about 60 mm and about 70 mm.
Claim 4. The device of claim 1, wherein the appendage has an upper surface configured to contact the web area, the upper surface having a radius of curvature of between 30 mm and 35 mm.
Claim 8. The device of claim 5, wherein the appendage has an upper surface to contact the web area, the upper surface having a radius of curvature of between about 30 mm and about 35 mm.
Claim 5. The device of claim 4, wherein the appendage has a length such that, when the batter grips the bat, the appendage is free of longitudinal compression.
Claim 9. The device of claim 8, wherein the appendage has a length such that, when the batter grips the bat, the appendage is free of longitudinal compression.
Claim 6. The device of claim 1 wherein
\
the appendage has a thickness (T) of between 12 mm and 16 mm and the appendage has a length (N) such that a ratio of N/T is between 1.81 and 2.83.
Claim 10. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising: a body having an opening to fit over the thumb and an appendage to cushion the web area; wherein the appendage is configured to have a first contact point and a second contact point between the bat and the hand such that the first contact point is adjacent to or distal to a proximal interphalangeal joint of the index finger and the second contact point is adjacent to or distal to an interphalangeal joint of the thumb; and wherein the appendage has a length (N) and a thickness (T) such that a ratio of N/T is between about 1.81 and about 2.83.
Claim 7. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in gripping and
controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body having an opening sized to fit over the thumb and an appendage configured to cushion the web area;
and wherein the appendage defines a first contact point and a second
contact point between the bat and the
hand such that the first contact point is adjacent to or distal to a
joint of the index finger
and the second contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of
the thumb; and wherein the appendage has a thickness (T) of between 12 mm and 16 mm and the appendage has a length (N) such that a ratio of N/T is between 1.81 and 2.83.
Claim 10. A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body having an opening to fit over the thumb and an appendage to cushion the web area;
wherein the appendage is configured to have a first contact point and a second contact point between the bat and the hand such that the first contact point is adjacent to or distal to a proximal interphalangeal joint of the index finger and the second contact point is adjacent to or distal to an interphalangeal joint of the thumb; and wherein the appendage has a length (N) and a thickness (T) such that a ratio of N/T is between about 1.81 and about 2.83.
Claim 8. The device of claim 7, wherein the appendage has an upper surface configured to contact the web area of the batter's hand when in use, and the upper surface has a radius of curvature of between 30 mm and 35 mm.
Claim 11. The device of claim 10, wherein the appendage has an upper surface to contact the web area of the batter's hand when in use, and the upper surface has a radius of curvature of between about 30 mm and about 35 mm.
Claim 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the appendage has a lower surface to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat, the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature of between 60 mm and 70mm.
Claim 13. The device of claim 10, wherein the appendage has a lower surface to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat, the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature of between about 60 mm and about 70 mm.
Claim 10. The device of claim 7, wherein the appendage has a thickest point located at a distance of less than twenty-five percent of the distance from the opening to a distal end of the appendage.
Claim 12. The device of claim 10, wherein the appendage has a thickest point located about twenty-five percent of the distance from the opening to a distal end of the appendage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 positively recites the human body, “having a length to extend to at least partially adjacent the web area”, “contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the index finger”. Claim 7 positively recites the human body “the first contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint or the index finger and the second contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the thumb”. This can be corrected by using “adapted to or configured for” type of language. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lomedico (US 2006/0137068).
The device of Lomedico teaches,
With respect to claim 1,
A batting pad device for aiding a batter in properly gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body (110) having an opening (114) sized to fit the thumb and an appendage (116) having a thickness (para 0043 and 0044) and having a length sufficient to extend at least partially adjacent the web area (Figure 5); and wherein the appendage defines a contact point between the bat and the hand such that the contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the index finger (Figure 6; claim 1); and further wherein the appendage (116) has a thickest point (t) located at a distance from the opening to a distal end of the appendage (Figures 1 – 4). The device of Lomedico substantially disclose the claimed invention but is lacking the measurement of the appendage thickness being 12mm – 16mm and a thickest point less than twenty five percent of the distance from the opening to a distal end.
The device of Lomedico teaches its known to have a thickness of both approximately 19.05mm and 25.4mm. The measurement approximately 19.05mm or 25.4 mm could be between 12mm and 16mm but is not known since approximately is not defined by the prior art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a thickness being approximately 19.05 mm (or 25.4mm) to include the thickness being 12mm-16mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Further the device of Lomedico teaches that the device has a thickest point (t) that is located about 33% percent of the length from the distant end. The term about is not defined by the claim.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to have the thickest point be at a point that is less than 25% of the distance from the opening to the distal end of the appendage, in order to provide a batting pad for particular users with a hand sizes that optimally fit the pad when engaged with a bat.
Moreover, it has been held that a change in size/proportion and/or shape only involves routine skill in the art and since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of a portion the batting pad of Lomedico. See: MPEP 2144.04 IV.
With respect to claim 2, wherein the appendage has a length of between 29 mm and 33 mm (para 0043).
With respect to claim 3, wherein the appendage has a lower surface (18, 118) to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat (Figure 5), the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature (para 0031) the curvature taught is approximately 101.6mm. The prior art device of Lomedico is not specifically teach the range of 60-70mm. However, the measurement discloses of approximately 101.6mm could include the range of 60-70mm, but is not known since the term approximately is not defined by the prior art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a radius of curvature of 101.6mm to include a range of 60-70mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 4, wherein the appendage has an upper surface (120) configured to contact the web area (Figure 5), the upper surface having a radius of curvature (para 0031). The prior art of Lomedico does not specifically state the at the radius of the upper surface is between 30mm and 35mm. The device of Lomedico teaches the radius is approximately 20.32mm, and is unclear what range “approximately” covers since it is undefined. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a radius of curvature of 20.32mm to include a range of 30-35mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 5, wherein the appendage has a length such that, when the batter grips the bat, the appendage is free of longitudinal compression (para 0011).
With respect to claim 6, The device of claim 1 wherein the appendage has a thickness (T) of between 12 mm and 16 mm and the appendage has a length (N) such that a ratio of N/T is between 1.81 and 2.83. (min length 21.72mm/.85inch and max length 45.28mm/1.78inch) . The device of Lomedico teaches a length of 1.2 inches (para 0043) and is within the ratio range of 1.81 – 2.83 when the length is 12mm-16mm. As addressed above with respect to the thickness, The device of Lomedico teaches a thickness of both approximately 19.05mm and 25.4mm. The measurement approximately 19.05mm or 25.4 mm could be between 12mm and 16mm but is not known since approximately is not defined by the prior art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a thickness being approximately 19.05 mm (or 25.4mm) to include the thickness being 12mm-16mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 7, A batting pad device for aiding a batter in gripping and controlling a bat and for protecting a web area between a thumb and an index finger of a batter's hand, the device comprising:
a body (110) having an opening (114) sized to fit over the thumb and an appendage (116) configured to cushion the web area; and wherein the appendage defines a first contact point and a second contact point between the bat and the hand such that the first contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the index finger (Claim 1) and the second contact point is adjacent to or distal to a joint of the thumb (claim 1); and wherein the appendage has a thickness (T) and a length (N).
The device of Lomedico does not specifically teach a length of between 12 mm and 16 mm. As addressed above with respect to the thickness, The device of Lomedico teaches a thickness of both approximately 19.05mm and 25.4mm. The measurement approximately 19.05mm or 25.4 mm could be between 12mm and 16mm but is not known since approximately is not defined by the prior art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a thickness being approximately 19.05 mm (or 25.4mm) to include the thickness being 12mm-16mm, in order to provide a batting pad for particular users with a hand sizes that optimally fit the pad when engaged with a bat.
Moreover, it has been held that a change in size/proportion and/or shape only involves routine skill in the art and since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of a portion the batting pad of Lomedico. See: MPEP 2144.04 IV.
The appendage has a length (N) such that a ratio of N/T is between 1.81 and 2.83. The device of Lomedico teaches a length of 1.2 inches (para 0043) and is within the ratio range of 1.81 – 2.83 when the length is 12mm-16mm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a thickness being approximately 19.05 mm (or 25.4mm) to include the thickness being 12mm-16mm, in order to provide a batting pad for particular users with a hand sizes that optimally fit the pad when engaged with a bat.
Moreover, it has been held that a change in size/proportion and/or shape only involves routine skill in the art and since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of a portion the batting pad of Lomedico. See: MPEP 2144.04 IV.
With respect to claim 8, wherein the appendage has an upper surface (120) configured to contact the web area (Figure 5), the upper surface having a radius of curvature (para 0031). The prior art of Lomedico does not specifically state the at the radius of the upper surface is between 30mm and 35mm. The device of Lomedico teaches the radius is approximately 20.32mm, and is unclear what range “approximately” covers since it is undefined. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a radius of curvature of 20.32mm to include a range of 30-35mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 9, wherein the appendage has a lower surface (18, 118) to contact the bat when the batter grips the bat (Figure 5), the lower surface having a concave curvature having a radius of curvature (para 0031) the curvature taught is approximately 101.6mm.
The prior art device of Lomedico is not specifically teach the range of 60-70mm. However, the measurement discloses of approximately 101.6mm could include the range of 60-70mm, but is not known since the term approximately is not defined by the prior art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify Lomedico teaching of a radius of curvature of 101.6mm to include a range of 60-70mm, in order to provide a batting pad for particular users with a hand sizes that optimally fit the pad when engaged with a bat.
Moreover, it has been held that a change in size/proportion and/or shape only involves routine skill in the art and since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of a portion the batting pad of Lomedico. See: MPEP 2144.04 IV.
With respect to claim 10, Lomedico teaches that the device has a thickest point (t) that is located about 33% percent of the length from the distant end.
The term about is not defined by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to have the thickest point be at a point that is less than 25% of the distance from the opening to the distal end of the appendage, in order to provide a batting pad for particular users with a hand sizes that optimally fit the pad when engaged with a bat.
Moreover, it has been held that a change in size/proportion and/or shape only involves routine skill in the art and since such modification would involve a mere change in the size of a portion the batting pad of Lomedico. See: MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732