DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 03/04/2025
Claims 1-22 are pending in this action. Claims 1, 14, and 21 are independent
This action claims domestic priority from the provision application 63563846 filed on 03/11/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “like” in claims 4 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Paragraph [0079] discloses further information about “PASN-like”, “a pre-association secure negotiation (PASN)-like exchange (e.g., as defined in 802.11bi) may be performed”. However, this is insufficient for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 14-15, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20250260970, effectively filed 2022-10-21, (hereinafter Zhu), in view of Sanchez et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20100115071, published 2010-05-06 (hereinafter Sanchez).
As for independent claim 1, Zhu discloses a system and method comprising: sending, by a client device, an association request to a network device;
(Zhu discloses the client device (called an STA) sending an association request to a network device (called an AP), “The AID is present in the frame body of a (re) association request frame, occupying two octets, and the (re) association request frame is transmitted only by the AP. In a case where an association request transmitted by the STA to the AP is approved, the AP responds by transmitting a status code 0 representing success and the AID to the STA. The AID has a value within a range of 1 to 2007, and the AID value allocated to the STA is unique in the BSS.” [0058])
receiving, by the client device, an association identifier (AID) from the network device in response to the association request;
(Zhu discloses the network device (AP) responding with an AID, “The AID is present in the frame body of a (re) association request frame, occupying two octets, and the (re) association request frame is transmitted only by the AP. In a case where an association request transmitted by the STA to the AP is approved, the AP responds by transmitting a status code 0 representing success and the AID to the STA. The AID has a value within a range of 1 to 2007, and the AID value allocated to the STA is unique in the BSS.” [0058])
determining, by the client device, that the AID conflicts with one or more existing AIDs already assigned to the client device;
(Zhu discloses determining the AID is already used by other STAs which results in a conflict, “in a case where the AP device detects that the new AID of the STA device conflicts with new AIDs of other stations and the AID currently used, wherein the other stations are stations other than the STA device in stations associated by the AP device.” [0152])
in response to the determination, sending, by the client device, an AID change request to the network device for a new AID;
(Zhu discloses the client device (STA) sending the network device (AP) a request to change the AID, “Exemplary, the STA indicates random offsets of its SN and PN to the AP by transmitting a request frame to the AP, and in a case where the AP receives the request frame from the STA, the AP allocates a new AID to the STA in the response frame if the AP accepts the request from the STA.” [0067])
receiving, by the client device, the new AID from the network device in response to the AID change request;
(Zhu discloses the network device (AP) sending the client device (STA) a new AID, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs, encrypts the AID with the secret information IV (consistent with the secret information used for processing the PN, the SN, the scrambler seed, and the TID) shared with the STA, and puts the encrypted AID in a management frame for transmission to the STA.” [0157])
confirming, by the client device, that the new AID does not conflict with the one or more existing AIDs.
(Zhu discloses selecting the new AID from a list of unallocated AIDs which confirms it does not conflict with an existing AID, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs” [0157])
Zhu does not appear to disclose a system and method comprising in response to the confirmation, completing, by the client device, a negotiation of one or more vendor-specific features with the network device using the new AID.
However Sanchez does disclose a system and method comprising in response to the confirmation, completing, by the client device, a negotiation of one or more vendor-specific features with the network device using the new AID.
(Sanchez discloses a client device (called user device) negotiating features (called services), after the pre-configuration has been done, “Once the entity 32 acting as a PCEF, which in particular may be the GGSN 21 where the IP-CAN is a GPRS network or the PDG 51 where the IP-CAN is a WLAN network as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, has received the preconfigured rules in step S-124 as illustrated in FIG. 2, the GGSN 21 or PDG 51 confirms towards the user the establishment of such bearer, and the user can start the negotiation of media through the signalling layer, namely through the AF 33 in accordance with the PCC architecture, at the control plane as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6.” [0042], “The sequence of actions in FIG. 2 continues once the service requirements for the media have been negotiated through the AF 33 in the signalling layer, and the AF submits in step S-125 service information about the media, including those service requirements negotiated for the service, towards the control server 31.” [0043])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Sanchez, adding a feature negotiation step, to the network service provider of Zhu, in order to better accommodate devices with appropriate services based on requirements.
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method wherein the network device comprises at least one of an infrastructure access point (AP) or a peer-to-peer (P2P) group owner (GO).
(Zhu discloses the network device being an AP which connects to a network with other devices which makes it an infrastructure AP, “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a network architecture of a communication system 100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. The communication system 100 may include an access point (AP) device 110 and station (STA) devices 120 connected to a network by the AP device 110.” [0025])
As for claim 7, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method wherein the AID change request comprises an AID List Veto element, the AID List Veto element listing the one or more existing AIDs already assigned to the client device.
(Zhu discloses the client device (STA) sending a list of currently used AIDs to the network device (AP), “The first column of Table 2 illustrates the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA. The second column of Table 2 illustrates the AID corresponding to the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA, and the initial AID value is an AID contained in the association response frame transmitted from the AP to the STA when the STA is associated with the AP.” [0266])
As for claim 8, the limitations of the parent claim 7 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method wherein the network device, upon receiving the AID List Veto element, selects the new AID from a list of unused AIDs and wherein the list of unused AIDs excludes the one or more existing AIDs and AIDs that were previously assigned by the network device to other connected client devices that remain in use in a same network.
(Zhu discloses the network device (AP) sending the client device (STA) a new AID selected from a list of AIDs not allocated to other devices, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs, encrypts the AID with the secret information IV (consistent with the secret information used for processing the PN, the SN, the scrambler seed, and the TID) shared with the STA, and puts the encrypted AID in a management frame for transmission to the STA.” [0157])
As for independent claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
(Zhu discloses the device performing the operation containing a processor and memory, “The communication device includes: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory stores at least one computer program therein, and the processor, when running the at least one computer program, causes the communication device to” [0006])
As for claim 15, the limitations of the parent claim 14 have been discussed. Claim 15 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 2 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 19, the limitations of the parent claim 14 have been discussed. Claim 19 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 7 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for independent claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
(Zhu discloses the device performing the operation containing a processor and memory with software, “The communication device includes: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory stores at least one computer program therein, and the processor, when running the at least one computer program, causes the communication device to” [0006])
As for independent claim 21, Zhu discloses a system and method comprising sending, by a client device, an association request to a network device
(Zhu discloses the client device (called an STA) sending an association request to a network device (called an AP), “The AID is present in the frame body of a (re) association request frame, occupying two octets, and the (re) association request frame is transmitted only by the AP. In a case where an association request transmitted by the STA to the AP is approved, the AP responds by transmitting a status code 0 representing success and the AID to the STA. The AID has a value within a range of 1 to 2007, and the AID value allocated to the STA is unique in the BSS.” [0058])
wherein the association request comprises an association identifier (AID) List Veto element that specifies one or more existing AIDs already assigned to the client device
(Zhu discloses the client device (STA) sending a list of currently used AIDs to the network device (AP), “The first column of Table 2 illustrates the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA. The second column of Table 2 illustrates the AID corresponding to the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA, and the initial AID value is an AID contained in the association response frame transmitted from the AP to the STA when the STA is associated with the AP.” [0266])
receiving, by the client device, an AID assigned by the network device in response to the association request, the assigned AID being selected based on the AID List Veto element to avoid conflicts
(Zhu discloses the network device (AP) sending the client device (STA) a new AID, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs, encrypts the AID with the secret information IV (consistent with the secret information used for processing the PN, the SN, the scrambler seed, and the TID) shared with the STA, and puts the encrypted AID in a management frame for transmission to the STA.” [0157])
confirming, by the client device, that the assigned AID does not conflict with the one or more existing AIDs
(Zhu discloses selecting the new AID from a list of unallocated AIDs which confirms it does not conflict with an existing AID, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs” [0157])
Zhu does not appear to disclose a system and method comprising in response to the confirmation, completing, by the client device, a negotiation of one or more vendor-specific features with the network device using the new AID.
However Sanchez does disclose a system and method comprising in response to the confirmation, completing, by the client device, a negotiation of one or more vendor-specific features with the network device using the new AID.
(Sanchez discloses a client device (called user device) negotiating features (called services), after the pre-configuration has been done, “Once the entity 32 acting as a PCEF, which in particular may be the GGSN 21 where the IP-CAN is a GPRS network or the PDG 51 where the IP-CAN is a WLAN network as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, has received the preconfigured rules in step S-124 as illustrated in FIG. 2, the GGSN 21 or PDG 51 confirms towards the user the establishment of such bearer, and the user can start the negotiation of media through the signalling layer, namely through the AF 33 in accordance with the PCC architecture, at the control plane as illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6.” [0042], “The sequence of actions in FIG. 2 continues once the service requirements for the media have been negotiated through the AF 33 in the signalling layer, and the AF submits in step S-125 service information about the media, including those service requirements negotiated for the service, towards the control server 31.” [0043])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Sanchez, adding a feature negotiation step, to the network service provider of Zhu, in order to better accommodate devices with appropriate services based on requirements.
As for claim 22, the limitations of the parent claim 21 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method comprising storing, by the client device, a mapping between the assigned AID and the one or more vendor-specific features negotiated with the network device;
(Zhu discloses maintaining a mapping of AID to features (called TID mapping), “After the STA is successfully associated to the AP, the STA locally generates a TID mapping table as illustrated in Table 1 below. The first row illustrates all values within the TID value range (0 to 15 bits), with a length of 16 bits. All values in the TID value range are stored in an ascending order, and the values in this row keep unchanged within associated state.” [0259])
and updating the AID List Veto element to include the assigned AID.
(Zhu discloses updating the AID list based on the newly assigned one, “When the STA changes its OTA MAC address within associated state, the STA updates the maintained AID list as follows.” [0267])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sanchez in further view of Sevin et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20250071542, effectively filed 2023-01-06 (hereinafter Sevin).
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Sevin discloses a system and method wherein the client device comprises one or more virtual stations (VSTAs), and the association request indicates an intent of the client device to connect to the network device through one of the one or more VSTAs.
(Sevin discloses the request to change the AID (here it is a MAC address which could be another privacy parameter or AID) being for a specific AP that could be a virtual AP, “In some embodiments, the target station is the AP station. This scenario targets a change of so-called BPE parameters, related to the AP station. This is particularly beneficial to the privacy of mobile AP stations, e.g. implemented in personal mobile phones, hence of the entire BSS.” [0035], “According to specific embodiments, the invention proposes to change the MAC address of a non-AP station, while this non-AP station is associated with an AP (or “AP station”). Again, the MAC address is used here as an example, while any privacy parameter may be involved instead.” [0145] “The AP station 110 manages a set of stations that together organize their accesses to the wireless medium for communication purposes. All the stations (AP station 110 and non-AP station 120a, 120b, 120c) form a service set, which may be referred to as basic service set, BSS (although other terminology can be used). It is noted that the AP station 110 may manage more than one BSS: each BSS is thus uniquely identified by a specific basic service set identifier (BSSID) and managed by a separate virtual AP station implemented in the physical AP station 110.” [0160])
Claims 4-6, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sanchez in further view of Liu et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210014679, published 2021-01-14 (hereinafter Liu).
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Liu discloses a system and method wherein the AID change request is encrypted using a pairwise encryption key, and wherein the pairwise encryption key is established through a 4-way handshake process or a pre-association secure negotiation (PASN)-like exchange process between the client device and the network device.
(Liu discloses using a 4-way handshake process to create encryption keys which are used to facilitate a new MAC address (similar to AID change), “In 606, the STA can derive a first set of cryptographic keys based on its first MAC address and the AP's MAC address. Similarly, the AP can derive the same one or more cryptographic keys based on the STA's first MAC address and the AP's MAC address. The first set of cryptographic keys can include an Extensible Authentication Protocol over LAN Key Confirmation Key (EAPOL-KCK) and an EAPOL Key Encryption Key (EAPOL-KEK). The first set of cryptographic keys can be a part of a first security association between the STA and the AP. The STA can use the first security association to encrypt frames to and from the AP. For example, the STA can encrypt the frames of a 4-way handshake between the STA and the AP. The 4-way handshake can be based on the IEEE 802.11i standard.” [0067])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Liu, adding an encryption key using a 4-way handshake, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have better security using a known technique in the field.
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Liu discloses a system and method wherein the AID change request comprises an AID change request signaling, the AID change request signaling indicating a request for the new AID without specifying any preferred AIDs.
(Liu discloses the AID being assigned in an unpredictable manner, as such, there is no specification of preferred AIDs, “Whether the STA gets assigned its new AID periodically or on-demand, it is preferable that the AP assign an unpredictable new AID to the STA to prevent a network sniffer from tracking the STA based on changes to its AID. But it is also preferable for the AP to assign continuous AIDs to multiple STAs. This is because assigning continuous AIDs to STAs reduces a size of a traffic information map (TIM) field in a beacon frame broadcast by the AP.” [0086])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Liu, adding an unpredictable AID assignment, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have better security using a known technique in the field.
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 5 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method wherein the network device, upon receiving the AID List Veto element, selects the new AID from a list of unused AIDs and wherein the list of unused AIDs excludes the one or more existing AIDs and AIDs that were previously assigned by the network device to other connected client devices that remain in use in a same network.
(Zhu discloses the network device (AP) sending the client device (STA) a new AID selected from a list of AIDs not allocated to other devices, “In case of conflicts, the AP selects an AID from its unallocated AIDs, encrypts the AID with the secret information IV (consistent with the secret information used for processing the PN, the SN, the scrambler seed, and the TID) shared with the STA, and puts the encrypted AID in a management frame for transmission to the STA.” [0157])
As for claim 9, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Liu discloses a system and method wherein the AID change request is sent by the client device to the network device during a second or fourth step of a 4-way handshake process.
(Liu discloses using a 4-way handshake method (the second and fourth step being the ones where the client device communicates with the network device) to create a MAC address (similar to an AID), “In 609, the STA can securely transmit a second frame in the 4-way handshake to the AP using the first set of cryptographic keys. The second frame can include the second MAC address. The second frame can include the second MAC address in its Key Data field, which is encrypted based on the first set of cryptographic keys. In other words, the AP can transmit the second frame to the AP in encrypted form.” [0071])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Liu, adding an encryption key using a 4-way handshake, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have better security using a known technique in the field.
As for claim 16, the limitations of the parent claim 14 have been discussed. Claim 16 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 4 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 17, the limitations of the parent claim 14 have been discussed. Claim 17 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 5 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 18, the limitations of the parent claim 17 have been discussed. Claim 18 is directed to a system for implementing the method of claim 6 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sanchez in further view of Kneckt et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20230089319, published 2023-03-23 (hereinafter Kneckt).
As for claim 10, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Zhu discloses a system and method wherein the association request comprises at least one of an AID change request signaling or an AID List Veto element.
(Zhu discloses the client device (STA) sending a list of currently used AIDs to the network device (AP), “The first column of Table 2 illustrates the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA. The second column of Table 2 illustrates the AID corresponding to the OTA MAC address currently used by the STA, and the initial AID value is an AID contained in the association response frame transmitted from the AP to the STA when the STA is associated with the AP.” [0266])
Zhu does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the association request is encrypted using keys established from a pre-association secure negotiation (PASN)-like exchange process.
However, Kneckt does disclose a system and method wherein the association request is encrypted using keys established from a pre-association secure negotiation (PASN)-like exchange process.
(Kneckt discloses using PASN to setup encryption, “At 840, authentication occurs between STA 820 and AP 810. The authentication may include PASN encryption setup, or the PASN encryption may be configured between STA 820 and AP 810 before the authentication. The authentication request includes the STA 820 association and authentication MAC address. The authentication response includes the AP 810 association and authentication MAC address.” [0096])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Kneckt, adding an encryption key using a PASN, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have better security using a known technique in the field.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Sanchez in further view of Xia et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20250234261, effectively filed 1/11/2024 (hereinafter Xia).
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. wherein completing the negotiation of the one or more vendor-specific features with the network device using the new AID comprises: identifying, by the client device, the one or more vendor-specific features supported by the client device;
(Xia discloses identifying the features supported (called supported operation mode) of a the client device (called MLD), “The capabilities and supported operation mode of the MLD, such as STR, NSTR, EMLSR and EMLMR are specified by the common Information field and the Link Information field of the Basic Multi-Link element that are negotiated between a non-AP MLD and an AP MLD, which is identified by the AP MLD ID in the Common Information field of the Basic Multi-Link element.” [0095])
sending, by the client device to the network device, a vendor-specific element indicating the one or more vendor-specific features;
(Xia discloses sending a multi-link element containing the MLD’s supported operations to between the MLD and the AP it is negotiating with, “FIG. 17 illustrates an example embodiment 450 of a new Multi-Link element format. In order to carry the other AP MLD's Capabilities and Supported operation information in the same Multi-Link element, the present disclosure extends the Multi-Link Control field, the Common Info field and the Link Info field of the other AP MLD after these fields corresponding to the current AP MLD with whom the non-AP MLD negotiates with. It can be seen in the upper line of FIG. 17 the frame fields of Element ID, Length and element ID extension, followed by fields for one MLD with a Multi-Link Control subfield, a Common Information subfield and a Link Information subfield.” [0096])
receiving, by the client device, a response from the network device, comprising an indication of one or more vendor-specific features within an intersection of capabilities that are supported by both the network device and the client device;
(Xia discloses identifying which links (or features) are available to the target BSS (managed by network device) and which are support by the client device (implied by showing it was supported by the previous BSS), “FIG. 20A shows the different link capabilities between an Original BSS before roaming 512, and a Target BSS after roaming 514. The original BSS before roaming supports three links, including 2.4 GHz 516 (TID 0-3), 5 GHz 518 (TID 4-6) and 6 GHz 520 (TID 7) links which are identified by Global Link ID L1, L2 and L3, respectively. The target BSS after roaming 528 supports two links, including 2.4 GHz 522 (TID 0-3) and 5 GHz 524 (TID 4-6) links, which are identified by Global Link ID L7 and L8, respectively. The TTLM negotiated for the original BSS before roaming is to map TID 0-3 to L1, TID 4-6 to L2 and TID 7 to L3. The supported TTLM for the target BSS after roaming would be mapping TID 0-3 to L7, TID 4-7 to L8.” [0102])
and creating, by the client device, a mapping that associates the one or more vendor- specific features within the intersection to the new AID.
(Xia discloses the mapping being done based on an AID, “wherein when said MLD is operating as a non-AP MLD, it is configured for transmitting and/or receiving traffic in the first BSS, and prior to roaming to a second BSS, the stations of the non-AP MLD perform a global traffic-identifier (TID)-to-link mapping (TTLM) negotiation, using its global AID, with the central controller or through the AP MLD of the original BSS, during which it is determined where each TID from the non-AP MLD are to map to the links of the target AP MLD in the second BSS” [0119])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Xia, adding capability mapping with AID, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have faster transition using known techniques.
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Xia discloses a system and method comprising: prior to sending the association request, receiving, by the client device, one or more beacon frames or probe responses from the network device,
(Xia discloses prior to the feature (TTLM) mapping a beacon and/or probe response could have be sent, “A non-default TTLM procedure indicates to map specific TID(s) to a link set, which needs to be either negotiated between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD pair, or have been advertised in the Beacon and/or Probe Response frames by the AP MLD.” [0033])
wherein the one or more beacon frames or probe responses comprise one or more vendor-specific features supported by the network device,
(Xia discloses sending feature requests (TTLM) via the beacon frame, “The TTLM element can be carried in the Probe Response or Beacon frame, Probe Response, (Re)Association Response frame, TID-To-Link Mapping Request frame, TID-To-Link Mapping Response frame, and/or TID-To-Link Mapping Teardown frame.” [0033])
wherein the association request is sent after evaluating the one or more beacon frames or probe responses, and comprises an indication of one or more vendor-specific features within an intersection capabilities that are supported by both the network device and the client device.
(Xia discloses the capabilities being indicated in the association request, “including Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), Non-simultaneous Transmit and Receive (NSTR), Enhanced Multi-Link Single-Radio (EMLSR) and Enhanced Multi-Link Multi-Radio (EMLMR), etc. The MLD capabilities and operations are negotiated during an association stage. A STA will perform corresponding rules after determining that the capability is supported as indicated in the Basic Multi Link element. MLD capabilities and operations of the current BSS can be advertised in transmitted Beacon, Probe Response, and (Re)Association Response frames from the AP and can be carried in the transmitted (Re)Association Request frame from a non-AP STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD.” [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Xia, adding capability mapping with AID, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have faster transition using known techniques.
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 12 have been discussed. Xia discloses a system and method comprising creating, by the client device, a mapping that associates the one or more vendor- specific features within the intersection to the new AID.
(Xia discloses the mapping being done based on an AID, “wherein when said MLD is operating as a non-AP MLD, it is configured for transmitting and/or receiving traffic in the first BSS, and prior to roaming to a second BSS, the stations of the non-AP MLD perform a global traffic-identifier (TID)-to-link mapping (TTLM) negotiation, using its global AID, with the central controller or through the AP MLD of the original BSS, during which it is determined where each TID from the non-AP MLD are to map to the links of the target AP MLD in the second BSS” [0119])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network service provider of Xia, adding capability mapping with AID, to the network service provider of Sanchez and Zhu, in order to have faster transition using known techniques.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luo, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20240422526 discloses detecting AID conflict in paragraph [0384]
Zhou, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20230098362 discloses negotiating features in paragraph [0359]
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646