DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 19/023,092 filed 1/15/2025.
Claims 1-10 presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIE DONGHUA, Pub No CN10684604 (hereafter DONGHUA).
Regarding Claim 9, DONGHUA discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a first request on generating a gift item from a first user terminal of a first user [para.0006: Discloses a first client responds to received user input by sending an image data request (a first request) to the application serve; and para.0012-0022: Discloses a user performs an input operation to draw or generate a virtual gift, and the virtual gift information is sent to a backend server.];
generating the gift item according to the first request [para(s).0008, 0013: Discloses the client draws the virtual gift according to the received data and generates virtual gift information.]; and
evaluating value of the gift item according to information of the first request [para.0015: Discloses the system calculates the consumption value of the virtual gift, determines whether the consumption value is less than a predetermined threshold, and generates the virtual gift information for the virtual gift after determining that the consumption value is less than the predetermined threshold (evaluating value).].
Regarding Claim 10, DONGHUA discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium including program instructions [para.0078: Discloses function is implemented as a software functional unit stored in a computer-readable storage medium.], that when executed by one or more processors [para.0077: Discloses system can be integrated into a processing unit.], cause the one or more processors to execute:
receiving a first request on generating a gift item from a first user terminal of a first user [para.0006: Discloses a first client responds to received user input by sending an image data request (a first request) to the application serve; and para.0012-0022: Discloses a user performs an input operation to draw or generate a virtual gift, and the virtual gift information is sent to a backend server.];
generating the gift item according to the first request [para(s).0008, 0013: Discloses the client draws the virtual gift according to the received data and generates virtual gift information.]; and
evaluating value of the gift item according to information of the first request [para.0015: Discloses the system calculates the consumption value of the virtual gift, determines whether the consumption value is less than a predetermined threshold, and generates the virtual gift information for the virtual gift after determining that the consumption value is less than the predetermined threshold (evaluating value).].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE DONGHUA, Pub No CN10684604 (hereafter DONGHUA) and further in view of Matthew Stinchcomb, Pub No US 2011/0106662 (hereafter Stinchcomb).
Regarding Claim 1, DONGHUA discloses a server comprising a circuitry [para.0036: Discloses an application server and a backend server.], wherein the circuitry is configured to perform:
receiving a first request on generating a gift item from a first user terminal of a first user [para.0006: Discloses a first client responds to received user input by sending an image data request (a first request) to the application serve; and para.0012-0022: Discloses a user performs an input operation to draw or generate a virtual gift, and the virtual gift information is sent to a backend server.];
generating the gift item according to the first request [para(s).0008, 0013: Discloses the client draws the virtual gift according to the received data and generates virtual gift information.]; and
evaluating value of the gift item according to information of the first request [para.0015: Discloses the system calculates the consumption value of the virtual gift, determines whether the consumption value is less than a predetermined threshold, and generates the virtual gift information for the virtual gift after determining that the consumption value is less than the predetermined threshold (evaluating value).].
DONGHUA does not explicitly discloses to implement receipt of such request at the server for centralized management, However, in analogous art, Stinchcomb discloses a system where a computer server is configured to manage real-time interactions initiated by users [para.0018]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify DONGHUA with implement receipt of such request at the server for centralized management, as taught by Stinchcomb in order to yield predictable result such as providing efficiency and scalability by centralizing known functions on a centralized server [Stinchcomb: para.0005].
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, and Stinchcomb further discloses further comprising:
receiving an invitation on generating the gift item from a second user terminal of a second user [para(s).0012, 0073-0074, 0083, 0104: Discloses users are provided with the ability to send private messages and interaction commands to other users within a live interactive environment managed by a server. An invitation is a type of interaction message; server mediation requires receiving such communications.]; and
transmitting the invitation to the first user terminal of the first user [para.0104: Discloses the system allows a user to send a private message to another user within the live session. Transmission of messages between user terminals is explicitly supported an would encompass forwarding an invitation.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, and DONGHUA further discloses further comprising:
receiving information of the generated gift item from the first user terminal of the first user [para(s).0008, 0016, 0022: Discloses the first client sends the generated virtual gift information to the backend server. Directly teaches server reception of gift information.]; and
transmitting the information of the generated gift item to a second user terminal of a second user [para(s).0009, 0023, 0061, 0072: Discloses the backend server sends the virtual gift drawing information to the second client in the live room. Direct correspondence to transmission of gift information to another user terminal.].
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 3, and DONGHUA further discloses further comprising:
receiving a second request on publishing the generated gift item in a live streaming room from the second user terminal of the second user [para.0061: Discloses user-triggered gift actions cause the system to distribute gift information with in the live room. The published request is implicit in the user-triggered distribution behavior.]; and
transmitting the information of the generated gift item to viewers in the live streaming room [para.0009: Discloses the backend server sends the virtual gift drawing information to the second client in the live room corresponding to the live room identifier based on the live room identifier.].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, and DONGHUA further discloses further comprising:
receiving a second request on publishing the generated gift item in a live streaming room from the first user terminal of the first user [para(s).0008, 0012-0018, 0022, 0033-0036: Discloses user-triggered gift actions (published request) cause the system to distribute gift information within the live room.]; and
transmitting the information of the generated gift item to viewers in the live streaming room [para.0009: Discloses the backend server sends the virtual gift drawing information to the second client in the live room corresponding to the live room identifier based on the live room identifier.].
Claims 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE DONGHUA, Pub No CN10684604 (hereafter DONGHUA) and further in view of Matthew Stinchcomb, Pub No US 2011/0106662 (hereafter Stinchcomb) and further in view of GUO YABIN, Pub No CN111625569 (hereafter YABIN).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, the combination does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining the value of the gift item according to interaction in a live streaming room; wherein the interaction includes a number of times the gift item being sent in the live streaming room. However, in analogous art, YABIN discloses the following:
determining the value of the gift item according to interaction in a live streaming room [para(s).0011, 0025, 0060, 0066, 0082, 0176, 0190, 0242, 0252: Discloses the system updates contribution values based on gift interaction outcomes. Value is determined from live-room interaction metrics.]; wherein
the interaction includes a number of times the gift item being sent in the live streaming room [para(s).0002, 0106, 0125: Discloses sending requests and contribution differences are used to update the contribution leaderboard. Gift counts are implicit to contribution differences and updating logic.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify DONGHUA and Stinchcomb with these features, as taught by YABIN in order to yield predictable result such as providing gift-based contribution values and leaderboard updates in the live room [YABIN: para.0002].
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, the combination does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determine whether the gift item is related to an event; calculating a leaderboard in the event in response to the gift item being related to the event; and updating the leaderboard. However, in analogous art, YABIN discloses the following:
determine whether the gift item is related to an event [para(s).0007-0009,0011, 0013, 0098: Discloses the system applies contribution ranking logic within defined activity or campaign context.];
calculating a leaderboard in the event in response to the gift item being related to the event [para.0027: Discloses the system calculates and maintains contribution value leaderboards based on gift interactions.]; and
updating the leaderboard [para.0187: Discloses the contribution leaderboard is updated after gift interaction processing.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify DONGHUA and Stinchcomb with these features, as taught by YABIN in order to yield predictable result such as providing gift-based contribution values and leaderboard updates in the live room [YABIN: para.0002].
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of DONGHUA and Stinchcomb discloses the server according to claim 1, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein: the gift item is an event gift item in an event a livestreamer is participating in; and the event gift item contributes to a leaderboard in the event when the livestreamer receives from viewers in a live streaming room. However, in analogous art, YABIN discloses the following:
the gift item is an event gift item in an event a livestreamer is participating in [para(s).0011, 0025, 0060, 0066, 0082, 0176, 0190, 0242, 0252: Discloses gift and rankings are associated with the specific activities or events within the live room.]; and
the event gift item contributes to a leaderboard in the event when the livestreamer receives from viewers in a live streaming room [para(s).0100-0106: Discloses gift interactions trigger updating of contribution values and user rankings. Receipt of gifts directly contributes to leaderboard values.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify DONGHUA and Stinchcomb with these features, as taught by YABIN in order to yield predictable result such as providing gift-based contribution values and leaderboard updates in the live room [YABIN: para.0002].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alvarez, (US 2019/0080375) – Discloses a purchase transaction for a virtual gift item is received from a first user device by at least one computing device, via a communications network. The purchase transaction is processed by the computing device, whereby the virtual gift item is associated with the first user on a data-base accessible to the computing device. A real-time chat session is provided, by the computing device, via the communications network, between the first user device of the first user and a second user device of a second user, whereby the first user and the second user are enabled to engage in real-time chat during the real-time chat session. A gift transaction to give the virtual gift to the second user is received by the computing device, via the communications network, from the first user device during the real-time chat session. The gift transaction is processed by the computing device, whereby the virtual gift is associated with the second user on the database and is disassociated from the first user on the data-base [para.0013].
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426