DETAILED ACTION
The following is a First Action, Non-Final Office Action on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121 & 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 18/448554, 15/726636, 14/303970, 14/190873, 61/833814 & 61/782034 provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Accordingly, the claims are given the priority date of 3/14/2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “of first” to -of the first- in ll. 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and thereby” to -to thereby- in ll. 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “of first” to -of the first- in ll. 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and thereby” to -to thereby- in ll. 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “and the second” to -or the second- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "said moving positions" in ll. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-25, 29, 31-32 & 35-38 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chin (5,916,233) in view of Rydell (5,891,141).
Concerning claim 21, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1A-3C, Chin discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel (vessel harvesting methods; Col. 1, ll. 12-17), comprising:
advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (the distal end 13 of the conical tipped cannula 9 may be configured with no protruding instruments to facilitate bluntly dissecting tissue from all sides of the vessel by progressively advancing the rounded end of the tapered tip 13 along the course of the vessel on all sides thereof to thereby form a working cavity about the detached vessel upon encountering a side-branch vessel 37, where then electrocautery electrode 17 that can be a pair of conventional cauterizing shears is distally advanced; Col. 3, ll. 41-59, Col. 4, ll. 1-8);
viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula (conical exterior wall of the tip 13 may be placed against a vessel of interest, and advanced therealong with clear vision of the course along the vessel 33 and around side branch vessels 37 as the cannula assembly is advanced along the vessel 33 to bluntly dissect connective tissue from the vessel; Col. 3, ll. 36-41);
moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (cauterizing shears 17 are projected forward of the distal end of tip 13; Col. 3, ll. 55-60); and
activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source of energy to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (cauterizing shears may be rotated and translationally positioned about the side branch vessel 17, as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, to electrocauterize and cut/transect the vessel 37 in conventional manner upon application of high-voltage electrical signal to the electrode 17 from power supply 18 to sever and cauterize the side branch vessel 37; Col. 3-4, ll. 59-8).
Chin fails to disclose the energy to be bipolar RF energy. However, Rydell discloses a blood vessel harvesting system that uses bipolar RF energy to seal and cut a vessel. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Chin et al. such that the energy is RF bipolar energy in order to provide the benefit of an energy sufficient to effect coagulation and sealing to the vessel as taught by Rydell. (Col. 4, II. 37-53)
Concerning claim 22, Chin discloses mechanically cutting through a sealed- off portion of the branch vessel (37) using at least one of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (17) (Col. 4, ll. 1-8).
Concerning claim 23, Chin discloses said moving positions the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (17) distally beyond the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (13) (Col. 3, ll. 29-8; Fig. 1C).
Concerning claim 24, Chin discloses wherein, during said activating, the first extendable- retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (17) are extending from an opening (35) in an exterior surface of the endoscopic cannula (9) (Col. 3, ll. 29-59; Fig. 3A-C).
Concerning claim 25, Chin discloses said moving brings the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (17) out of the endoscopic cannula (9) through said opening (35) (Col. 3, ll. 29-59; Fig. 3A-C).
Concerning claim 29, Chin discloses wherein at least one of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (17) is bi-directionally rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the endoscopic cannula (9) (Col. 4, ll. 1-8).
Concerning claim 31, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1A-3C, Chin discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel (vessel harvesting methods; Col. 1, ll. 12-17), comprising:
advancing a conical dissection tip of a cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a branch vessel emanating from the blood vessel is encountered (the distal end 13 of the conical tipped cannula 9 may be configured with no protruding instruments to facilitate bluntly dissecting tissue from all sides of the vessel by progressively advancing the rounded end of the tapered tip 13 along the course of the vessel on all sides thereof to thereby form a working cavity about the detached vessel upon encountering a side-branch vessel 37; Col. 3, ll. 41-59, Col. 4, ll. 1-8);
viewing said branch vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an imaging device received in the cannula (conical exterior wall of the tip 13 may be placed against a vessel of interest, and advanced therealong with clear vision of the course along the vessel 33 and around side branch vessels 37 as the cannula assembly is advanced along the vessel 33 to bluntly dissect connective tissue from the vessel and viewed with endoscope 27; Col. 3, ll. 3-41);
manipulating the cannula so that the branch vessel becomes at least partly positioned between a first longitudinal cutting element and a second longitudinal cutting element of the cannula (cannula 9 is used to probe both anterior and posterior surfaces of the vessel and its side branches 37, and to separate the vessel from adjoining connective tissue, leaving the vessel suspended within the formed cavity. Side branches are thus exposed within the cavity, making it simple to cauterize and transect them, using the electrocautery shears 17; Col. 5, ll. 1-13);
activating a source of energy to energize at least part of first longitudinal cutting element and at least part of the second longitudinal cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel; and mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element (cauterizing shears may be rotated and translationally positioned about the side branch vessel 17, as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, to electrocauterize and cut/transect the vessel 37 in conventional manner upon application of high-voltage electrical signal to the electrode 17 from power supply 18 to sever and cauterize the side branch vessel 37; Col. 3-4, ll. 59-8).
Chin fails to disclose the energy to be bipolar RF energy. However, Rydell discloses a blood vessel harvesting system that uses bipolar RF energy to seal and cut a vessel. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Chin et al. such that the energy is RF bipolar energy in order to provide the benefit of an energy sufficient to effect coagulation and sealing to the vessel as taught by Rydell. (Col. 4, II. 37-53)
Concerning claim 32, Chin discloses the imaging device comprises an endoscope (27) (Col. 3, ll. 3-28).
Claim 35 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 31.
Claim 36 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 31
Claim 37 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 23.
Claim 38 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 24.
Claims 30 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chin (5,916,233) in view of Rydell (5,891,141), as applied to claims 21 & 31, in further view of Puskas (6,042,538).
Concerning claim 30, Chin discloses wherein the conical dissection tip (13) includes an internal apex (31) and an external apex, the external apex proximate the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (13), the internal apex (31) and the external apex being co-linear with a central longitudinal axis of the conical dissection tip (13) (Col. 3, II. 3-28; Fig. 2A). Chin in view of Rydell fail to disclose the external apex to be indented. However, Puskas discloses a method for vessel harvesting comprising using a surgical device comprising a dissection tip (5) having an indented external apex (20). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Chin in view of Rydell such that the external apex is indented in order to provide the benefit of accommodating curvature of the tissue as taught by Puskas (Col. 4, II. 49-55; Fig. 7).
Claims 33-34 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chin (5,916,233) in view of Rydell (5,891,141), as applied to claim 31, in further view of Banik et al. (2005/0154262).
Concerning claim 34, Chin in view of Rydell fail to disclose the endoscopic imaging device comprises an image sensor located on a chip disposed proximate a distal end of the cannula. However, Banik et al. teach conventional imaging endoscopes use fiber optic imaging light guide communicating with a camera at the proximal end of the endoscope, or an imaging camera chip at the distal tip, produce an image that is displayed to the operator. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Chin in view of Rydell such that the endoscopic imaging device comprises an image sensor located on a chip disposed proximate a distal end of the cannula in order to provide the benefit of producing an image to display to the operator as taught by Banik et al. ([0003]).
Claims 21 & 26-28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kadykowski et al. (2008/0208192) in view of Lindsay (2005/0192613).
Concerning claim 21, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1-4, Kadykowski et al. disclose a method of harvesting a blood vessel (method for endoscopic dissection; [0003]), comprising:
advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (endoscopic dissecting/harvesting device 2 is first positioned within an initial incision in a patient and dissector/harvester device 10 is generally aligned in a generally parallel relationship to the vessel V to be harvested while capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30 are located within annular space 6 proximal to a distal-most end of the cannula tip; [0033-0034]);
moving a respective distal end of the first extendable-retractable cutting element or the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30 are both rotated about their longitudinal axes to be positioned at least partially outside annular space 6 and at least sealing tool 30 is axially moved distally and then proximally to capture a branch vessel between capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30; [0021], [0039]); and
activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source of energy to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (sealing tool 30 and capture ring 20 are used as bipolar electrodes to seal and cut the branch vessel located between the tools; [0035-0038]).
Kadykowski fails to disclose viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula. However, Lindsay discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel comprising viewing a blood vessel through a transparent portion of a conical dissection tip (40) via an endoscope (62) received in an endoscopic cannula (12). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kadykowski to further comprise viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula in order to provide the benefit of enabling the surgeon to visualize the position of the apparatus as taught by Lindsay. ([0020]; Fig. 1-3)
While Kadykowski teaches the capability of both distal ends moving distally ([0039]), Kadykowski fail to disclose moving both respective distal ends distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip. However, Lindsay also discloses distally moving both distal ends of cutting elements (28, 30) distally toward a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (40). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kadykowski such that both respective distal ends move distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip in order to provide the benefit of moving the cutting elements outwardly a sufficient distance from the endoscopic lens as taught by Lindsay. ([0024-0025]; Fig. 4-5)
Concerning claim 26, Kadykowski discloses rotating at least one of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (20, 30) about a longitudinal axis of the endoscopic cannula (2) so that the first extendable-retractable cutting element (20) and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (30) move relatively closer to one another in a circumferential manner about the longitudinal axis ([0026-0027]; Fig. 1A-2A).
Concerning claim 27, Kadykowski discloses wherein said rotating is conducted while the branch vessel (B) is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element (20, 30) ([0021]).
Concerning claim 28, Kadykowski discloses wherein one (20) of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element remains rotationally stationary about the longitudinal axis during said rotating ([0026-0027]; Fig. 1-2).
Claims 31 & 39-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kadykowski et al. (2008/0208192) in view of Lindsay (2005/0192613), Rydell (5,891,141) and Bennett et al. (6,019,771).
Concerning claim 31, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1-4, Kadykowski et al. disclose a method of harvesting a blood vessel (method for endoscopic dissection; [0003]), comprising:
advancing a conical dissection tip of a cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a branch vessel emanating from the blood vessel is encountered (endoscopic dissecting/harvesting device 2 is first positioned within an initial incision in a patient and dissector/harvester device 10 is generally aligned in a generally parallel relationship to the vessel V to be harvested while capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30 are located within annular space 6 proximal to a distal-most end of the cannula tip; [0033-0034]);
manipulating the cannula so that the branch vessel becomes at least partly positioned between a first longitudinal cutting element and a second longitudinal cutting element of the cannula (capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30 are both rotated about their longitudinal axes to be positioned at least partially outside annular space 6 and at least sealing tool 30 is axially moved distally and then proximally to capture a branch vessel between capture tool 20 and sealing tool 30; [0021], [0039]);
activating a source of energy to energize at least part of first longitudinal cutting element and at least part of the second longitudinal cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel; and mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element (sealing tool 30 and capture ring 20 are used as bipolar electrodes to seal and cut the branch vessel located between the tools; [0035-0038]).
Kadykowski fail to disclose viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula. However, Lindsay discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel comprising viewing a blood vessel through a transparent portion of a conical dissection tip (40) via an endoscope (62) received in an endoscopic cannula (12). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kadykowski to further comprise viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula in order to provide the benefit of enabling the surgeon to visualize the position of the apparatus as taught by Lindsay. ([0020]; Fig. 1-3)
Kadykowski in view of Lindsay fails to disclose the energy to be bipolar RF energy. However, Rydell discloses a blood vessel harvesting system that uses bipolar RF energy to seal and cut a vessel. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kadykowski et al. in view of Lindsay such that the bipolar energy is RF bipolar energy in order to provide the benefit of an energy sufficient to effect coagulation and sealing to the vessel as taught by Rydell. (Col. 4, II. 37-53)
Kadykowski in view of Lindsay and Rydell fail to disclose mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element. However, Bennett et al. disclose a method of harvesting a vessel comprising first and second extendable retractable cutting elements (4, 5) have sharpened edges for both mechanically cutting and energized cutting of vessels. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kadykowski in view of Lindsay and Rydell to further comprise mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element in order to provide the benefit of enhanced cutting as taught by Bennett et al. (Col. 4-5, ll. 65-20 & Col. 5, ll. 41-50; Fig. 1).
Claim 39 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 26.
Claim 40 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 27.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, 26-27, 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,353 and claims 31, 35-36 & 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,353 in view of Lindsay (2005/0192613). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose: a method of harvesting a blood vessel “(method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue (“advancing a cannula having a dissection tip disposed at a distal tip of an elongated body along the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel and its branch vessels from surrounding tissue, the dissection tip having an inner cavity terminating at an internal apex and an indented external apex at a distal end of the tip, wherein the internal apex and the indented external apex are co-linear with a central axis of the elongated body”), wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip; moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“moving a first cutting portion and a second cutting portion in a distal direction from a position proximal of the dissection tip to capture the blood vessel between the first and second cutting portions”); and activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source of bipolar RF energy to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“sealing the blood vessel with a first radio frequency (RF) electrode supported by the first cutting portion and a second RF electrode supported by the second cutting portion “) (claim 21); and a method of harvesting a blood vessel (“method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of a cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a branch vessel emanating from the blood vessel is encountered (“advancing a cannula having a dissection tip disposed at a distal tip of an elongated body along a blood vessel to separate the blood vessel and its branch vessels from surrounding tissue”); manipulating the cannula so that the branch vessel becomes at least partly positioned between a first longitudinal cutting element and a second longitudinal cutting element of the cannula (“moving a first cutting portion and a second cutting portion in a distal direction from a position proximal of the dissection tip to a position over the dissection tip to capture a blood vessel between the first and second cutting portions”); activating a source of bipolar RF energy to energize at least part of first longitudinal cutting element and at least part of the second longitudinal cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“sealing the blood vessel with a first RF electrode supported by the first cutting portion and a second RF electrode supported by the second cutting portion”); and mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element (“rotating at least one of the first cutting portion or the second cutting portion circumferentially about the dissection tip toward one another to cut the captured blood vessel, wherein the first cutting portion has a sharpened edge and an edge of the second cutting portion facing the sharpened edge of the first cutting portion is flat”) (claim 31). The patent fails to disclose viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula. However, Lindsay discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel comprising viewing a blood vessel through a transparent portion of a conical dissection tip (40) via an endoscope (62) received in an endoscopic cannula (12). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the patent to further comprise viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula in order to provide the benefit of enabling the surgeon to visualize the position of the apparatus as taught by Lindsay. ([0020]; Fig. 1-3)
Claims 21-23, 31 & 35-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,896 in view of Rydell (5,891,141). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose: a method of harvesting a blood vessel “(method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue (“advancing a cannula having a conical dissection tip disposed at a distal tip of an elongated body along the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel and a branch vessel from surrounding tissue”), wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“displacing at least a portion of the conical dissection tip at a site of interest to provide an opening adjacent a distal end of the cannula”); viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula (“the conical dissection tip includes one or more optical windows”); moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“moving, at the site of interest, at least two cutting members in a longitudinal direction along an axis substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the cannula from a retracted position proximal of a distal end of the conical dissection tip to an advanced position toward the distal end of the conical dissection tip, such that the at least two cutting members extend distal to a proximal end of the conical dissection tip”); and activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“manipulating at least one of the at least two cutting members circumferentially about a distal end of the elongated body and toward another of the at least two cutting members to seal and cut the branch vessel “) (claim 21); and a method of harvesting a blood vessel (“method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of a cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a branch vessel emanating from the blood vessel is encountered (“advancing a cannula having a conical dissection tip disposed at a distal tip of an elongated body along the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel and a branch vessel from surrounding tissue”); viewing said branch vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an imaging device received in the cannula (“advancing, the conical dissection tip includes one or more optical windows”); manipulating the cannula so that the branch vessel becomes at least partly positioned between a first longitudinal cutting element and a second longitudinal cutting element of the cannula (“moving, at the site of interest, at least two cutting members in a longitudinal direction along an axis substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the cannula from a retracted position proximal of a distal end of the conical dissection tip to an advanced position toward the distal end of the conical dissection tip, such that the at least two cutting members extend distal to a proximal end of the conical dissection tip”); activating a source of to energize at least part of first longitudinal cutting element and at least part of the second longitudinal cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“manipulating at least one of the at least two cutting members circumferentially about a distal end of the elongated body and toward another of the at least two cutting members to seal and cut the branch vessel”); and mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element (“manipulating at least one of the at least two cutting members circumferentially about a distal end of the elongated body and toward another of the at least two cutting members to seal and cut the branch vessel”) (claim 31). The patent fails to disclose the energy to be bipolar RF energy. However, Rydell discloses a blood vessel harvesting system that uses bipolar RF energy to seal and cut a vessel. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the patent such that the energy source is RF bipolar energy in order to provide the benefit of an energy sufficient to effect coagulation and sealing to the vessel as taught by Rydell. (Col. 4, II. 37-53)
Claims 21-22, 31 & 35-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 & 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,134 in view of Lindsay (2005/0192613). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose: a method of harvesting a blood vessel “(method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue (“advancing, towards the blood vessel, an elongated body defining a central axis and having a conical tip disposed at its distal end to facilitate movement through tissue”), wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“moving an end effector from a position proximal to the conical tip distally to a position distal to a proximal end of the conical tip ”); moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“moving an end effector from a position proximal to the conical tip distally to a position distal to a proximal end of the conical tip”); and activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source of bipolar RF energy to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“operating a control to energize the end effector to perform at least one of sealing the blood vessel, cutting the blood vessel, or a combination thereof, wherein the energy supplied to the end effector includes at least one of bipolar radiofrequency (RF) energy, monopolar RF energy, resistive heating or ultrasound heating“) (claim 21); and a method of harvesting a blood vessel (“method of harvesting a blood vessel”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of a cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue, wherein, during said advancing, a branch vessel emanating from the blood vessel is encountered (“advancing, towards the blood vessel, an elongated body defining a central axis and having a conical tip disposed at its distal end to facilitate movement through tissue”); manipulating the cannula so that the branch vessel becomes at least partly positioned between a first longitudinal cutting element and a second longitudinal cutting element of the cannula (“moving an end effector from a position proximal to the conical tip distally to a position distal to a proximal end of the conical tip and moving the end effector along a circumferential path about the conical tip and the central axis to capture the blood vessel”); activating a source of bipolar RF energy to energize at least part of first longitudinal cutting element and at least part of the second longitudinal cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“operating a control to energize the end effector to perform at least one of sealing the blood vessel, cutting the blood vessel, or a combination thereof, wherein the energy supplied to the end effector includes at least one of bipolar radiofrequency (RF) energy, monopolar RF energy, resistive heating or ultrasound heating”); and mechanically cutting through a sealed-off portion of the branch vessel using at least one of the first longitudinal cutting element and the second longitudinal cutting element (“operating a control to energize the end effector to perform at least one of sealing the blood vessel, cutting the blood vessel, or a combination thereof, wherein the energy supplied to the end effector includes at least one of bipolar radiofrequency (RF) energy, monopolar RF energy, resistive heating or ultrasound heating”) (claim 31). The patent fails to disclose viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula. However, Lindsay discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel comprising viewing a blood vessel through a transparent portion of a conical dissection tip (40) via an endoscope (62) received in an endoscopic cannula (12). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the patent to further comprise viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula in order to provide the benefit of enabling the surgeon to visualize the position of the apparatus as taught by Lindsay. ([0020]; Fig. 1-3)
Claims 21-23 & 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30 or 31 of copending Application No. 18/631699 (now allowed) in view of Lindsay (2005/0192613). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose: a method of harvesting a blood vessel (“blood vessel harvesting”), comprising: advancing a conical dissection tip of an endoscopic cannula along an exterior surface of the blood vessel to separate the blood vessel from surrounding tissue (“a cannula with a dissection tip advanceable along an exterior surface of a blood vessel for separating the blood vessel from surrounding tissue”), wherein, during said advancing, a first extendable-retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element of the endoscopic cannula are maintained in a retracted condition in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“the cannula includes a first extendable- retractable cutting element and a second extendable-retractable cutting element that area selectively maintainable in a retracted position in which respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element are located proximally of a distal-most end of the dissection tip”); moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted condition toward the distal-most end of the conical dissection tip (“movable from the retracted position to an extended position which includes moving the respective distal ends of the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element distally in a longitudinal direction from the retracted position to the distal-most end of the dissection tip”); and activating, as a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable- retractable cutting element, a source of bipolar RF energy to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element and thereby seal off part of the branch vessel (“a source of bipolar RF energy activatable through the cannula to energize at least part of first extendable-retractable cutting element and at least part of the second extendable-retractable cutting element so that, when a branch vessel that emanates from the blood vessel is positioned at least partly between the first extendable-retractable cutting element and the second extendable-retractable cutting element, the source of bipolar RF energy can be used to seal off the branch vessel “) (claim 21). The patent fails to disclose viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula. However, Lindsay discloses a method of harvesting a blood vessel comprising viewing a blood vessel through a transparent portion of a conical dissection tip (40) via an endoscope (62) received in an endoscopic cannula (12). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the patent to further comprise viewing the blood vessel through a transparent portion of the conical dissection tip via an endoscope received in the endoscopic cannula in order to provide the benefit of enabling the surgeon to visualize the position of the apparatus as taught by Lindsay. ([0020]; Fig. 1-3)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chin (6,951,568) teaches a method of vessel harvesting.
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794