DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/26, 05/14/26, and 07/09/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the cited prior art fails to teach "based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the current coding tree block row of the current block, the quantization parameter of the current block is derived based on a quantization parameter of a previous coded block of the current block." The cited prior art Lim discloses wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the current coding tree block row of the current block, [¶ 0012; ¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] the quantization parameter of the current block is derived based on a quantization parameter of a previous coded block of the current block, and wherein the current block belongs to the current coding tree block. [fig. 1; fig. 3; ¶ 0048-0052; ¶ 0070-0071; ¶ 0081-0084] Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation the previously encoded block is the residual block. The residual block is generated by the block being encoded and the previously encoded block. The quantizer derives quantization coefficients from quantizing the residual values. For the inter prediction mode the prediction information comes from the sample/pixel information from a previous or next picture of the current picture. For the intra prediction mode the sample/pixel information in the current picture. The cited prior art Lim further discloses inter and intra prediction mode usage. Lim discloses that the top block outside the coding tree block of the current block would determine an intra mode candidate. In intra prediction mode, as disclosed in the cited paragraphs 0089 and 0090, prediction is based on pixel information in the current picture generating a prediction block for the current block. Lim further discloses, in paragraph 0012, an intra prediction mode is determined when a upper block is outside the coding tree block to which the current block belongs. The cited prior fairly suggest and teaches the claim language as presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. US 2014/0226717.
As to claim 1, Lim teaches an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate; [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] and deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] and deriving a residual sample of the current block based on a quantization parameter of the current block, [fig. 1; fig. 3; ¶ 0047-0053; ¶ 0065-0078] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the row boundary of the current coding tree block, the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined to be a planar mode, [¶ 0135-0149] wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the current coding tree block row of the current block, [¶ 0012; ¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] the quantization parameter of the current block is derived based on a quantization parameter of a previous coded block of the current block. [fig. 1; fig. 3; ¶ 0048-0052; ¶ 0070-0071; ¶ 0081-0084]
As to claim 2, Lim teaches an image encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus, the method comprising: determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate; [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block; [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] and encoding image information including intra prediction mode information of the current block, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0047-0064] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the row boundary of the current coding tree block, the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined to be a planar mode, [¶ 0135-0149] and wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the current coding tree block row of the current block, [¶ 0012; ¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] the quantization parameter of the current block is derived based on a quantization parameter of a previous coded block of the current block. [fig. 1; fig. 3; ¶ 0048-0052; ¶ 0070-0071; ¶ 0081-0084]
As to claim 3, Lim teaches a transmission method for image data, the method comprising: obtaining a bitstream of encoded image information, wherein the encoded image information is generated based on determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block, [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block, [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate, [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] and encoding the image information including intra prediction mode information of the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0047-0064] and transmitting the image data comprising the bitstream, [¶ 0053; ¶ 0083] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the row boundary of the current coding tree block, the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined to be a planar mode, [¶ 0135-0149] and wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of the current coding tree block row of the current block, [¶ 0012; ¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] the quantization parameter of the current block is derived based on a quantization parameter of a previous coded block of the current block. [fig. 1; fig. 3; ¶ 0048-0052; ¶ 0070-0071; ¶ 0081-0084]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483