DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 5, “the secondary batteries” should be revised to “the one or more secondary batteries” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 2 Line 4, “the secondary batteries” should be revised to “the one or more secondary batteries” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 3 Lines 4-5, “the secondary batteries” should be revised to “the one or more secondary batteries” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 4 Lines 3-4, “one secondary battery or a plurality of secondary batteries” should be revised to “the one or more secondary batteries” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 5 Lines 4-5, “the liquid overflowing from the area” should be revised to “the liquid when it overflows from the area” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 8 Line 5, “the secondary batteries” should be revised to “the one or more secondary batteries” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “lifting and lowering part” in Claim 1;
The “pressurizing part” in Claim 3;
The “lifting and lower part” in Claim 6; and
The “cooling part” in Claim 7.
These limitations all use the generic placeholder “part” coupled with functional language without being deemed to recite sufficient structure. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “lifting and lowering part” in Claim 1 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0031 of the Specification which states, “The lifting and lowering part 20a is a mechanism for lifting and lowering the enclosure 11. A hydraulic cylinder, an air cylinder, or the like can be used for the lifting and lowering part 20a, and there are no particular limitations as long as the mechanism can lift and lower the enclosure 11 while supporting it. Note that the lifting and lowering part 20a shown in Figure 1 and other figures is merely a schematic diagram for explaining the function of the lifting and lowering part, and detailed description of the configuration is omitted.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “lifting and lowering part” in Claim 1 to be a hydraulic or air cylinder and equivalents thereof.
The “pressurizing part” in Claim 3 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0071 of the Specification which states, “For example, a hydraulic cylinder, an air cylinder, or other mechanisms can be used for the pressurizing part 50 as long as they can pressurize the secondary battery B in the submersion tank T toward the outside of the submersion tank T”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “pressurizing part” in Claim 3 to be a hydraulic or air cylinder and equivalents thereof.
The “lifting and lowering part” in Claim 6 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0052 of the Specification which states, “Further, the lifting and lowering part 20b is a mechanism for lifting and lowering the plate 10. A hydraulic cylinder, an air cylinder, or the like can be used for the lifting and lowering part 20b, and there are no particular limitations as long as the mechanism can lift and lower the plate 10 and the secondary batteries B placed on the plate 10 while supporting them.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “lifting and lowering part” in Claim 6 to be a hydraulic or air cylinder and equivalents thereof.
The “cooling part” in Claim 7 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0049 of the Specification which states, “Further, the cooling part 40 is provided on top of the plate 10 and cools the secondary batteries B from below. For example, a cooling fan that blows cool air to the secondary batteries B can be used for the cooling part 40.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “cooling part” in Claim 7 to be a fan and equivalents thereof.
The examiner notes that the term “supply part” in Claim 1 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Though the term “supply part” uses the generic placeholder “part” coupled with functional language, the term “supply part” is deemed to be equivalent to structure of a supply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2021048065-A to Matsunaga et al. (“Matsunaga”) in view of JP-2013224832-A to Fujioka et al. (“Fujioka”).
As to Claim 1, Matsunaga discloses a device (See Fig. 1 showing a charge/discharge inspection device without fire extinguishing components) comprising:
a plate (#50) on which one or more secondary batteries are placed (See Fig. 1, the batteries #11 are placed on plate #19 via tray #50);
an enclosure (See E in Annotated Fig. 1, which is made up of #31, # 14, #15 that surround the device) provided so as to surround four sides of the secondary batteries placed on the plate (See Fig. 1, together #13, #14, and #15 form an enclosure that surrounds all of the batteries #11); and
a lifting and lowering part that lifts or lowers the plate or the enclosure to bring the plate and the enclosure into close contact with each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0019, the lifting and lowering part is LLP1 which is a left elevating means #17 that is made up of cylinder #17a and rod #17b that are equivalent to a cylinder and lifts #50 to bring #50 into close contact with #31 of the enclosure).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the device of Matsunaga as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsunaga does not specifically disclose wherein the device is a fire extinguishing device comprising a supply part that supplies a fire extinguishing agent to an area formed by the plate and the enclosure (See Fig. 1 showing a charge/discharge inspection device without fire extinguishing components).
However, Fujioka discloses a fire extinguishing device (See Fig. 8a and Paragraphs 0050-0051) comprising a supply part (#32, See Paragraph 0051) that supplies a fire extinguishing agent (#47) to an aera formed by a plate (#21) on which a battery (#10) is placed and an enclosure (#12) that is provided so as to surround four sides of the battery place on the plate (See Figs. 8a-8b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Matsunaga as applied to Claim 1 above such that it is fire extinguishing device comprising the supply part of Fujioka that supplies a fire extinguishing agent to an area formed by the plate of Matsunaga and the enclosure of Fujioka, since doing so would yield the predictable result of putting out a fire that may occur from the secondary batteries when it potentially generates smoke or catches on fire (See Fujioka Paragraphs 0050-0052).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied to Claim 1 above, Fujioka further discloses wherein
the enclosure is provided so as to surround four sides and an upper side of the secondary batteries placed on the plate (See Fujioka Fig. 8a, the enclosure #12 fully surrounds #10 placed on #21), and
a part of the enclosure or the plate has an opening from which the fire extinguishing agent is injected (See Fig. 8a and Paragraph 0051, the enclosure #12 has some opening that leads to #32 from which #47 is injected within #12).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsunaga further discloses the fire extinguishing device comprising:
a pressurizing part (See #76 in Fig. 5, which applies a pressure on #11 and has a cylinder structure) that is provided so as to be housed in the area and pressurizes the secondary batteries located in the area toward an outside of the area (See Fig. 5 and Paragraph 0037, #76 is used to slide #11 in a horizontal direction, which is a direction that is away from the plate and is thus considered towards an area outside of the space between the enclosure and the plate).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsunaga further discloses the fire extinguishing device comprising:
a container (#12) that transports one secondary battery or a plurality of secondary batteries arranged in a thickness direction (See Fig. 2), wherein the container is placed on the plate (See Fig. 1).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied to Claim 1 above, Fujioka further discloses
wherein the fire extinguishing agent is a liquid (See Paragraph 0051).
Furthermore, Fujioka further discloses the fire extinguishing device further comprising a pan (#51 with drain valve #33) provided below the plate for receiving the liquid overflowing from the area (See Paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied above such that the fire extinguishing device further comprises the pan of Fujioka provided below the plate for receiving the liquid overflowing from the area since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing excess fluid to be drained from the fire extinguishing device (See Fujioka Paragraph 0051).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the fire extinguishing device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka s applied to Claim 1 above, Matsunaga further discloses a charge/discharge inspection device (See Fig. 1) comprising
the fire extinguishing device (See Figs. 1-2);
a probe unit (#22 and #23) to be connected to a secondary battery (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0022-0024); and
a lifting and lowering part that lifts or lowers the plate or the probe unit to connect the secondary battery and the probe unit to each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0019, the lifting and lowering part is LLP2 which is a right elevating means #17 that is made up of cylinder #17a and rod #17b that are equivalent to a cylinder and lifts #50 to connect #22 and #23 to #11).
As to Claim 8, Matsunaga discloses a method (See Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs 0017-0021 disclosing a charge/discharge inspection being used) comprising:
a step of placing one or more secondary batteries (#11) on a plate (#50, See Figs. 1-2);
a step of lowering an enclosure provided so as to surround four sides of the secondary batteries placed on the plate or lifting the plate to bring the plate and the enclosure into close contact with each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0019, the lifting and lowering part LLP1 that is made up of cylinder #17a and rod #17b and lifts #50 to bring #50 into close contact with #31 of the enclosure E).
Regarding Claim 8, in reference to the method of Matsunaga as applied to Claim 8 above, Matsunaga does not specifically disclose wherein the method is a fire extinguishing method comprising a step of supplying a fire extinguishing agent from an opening to an area formed by the plate and the enclosure (See Fig. 1 showing a charge/discharge inspection device without fire extinguishing components).
However, Fujioka discloses a fire extinguishing method (See Fig. 8a and Paragraphs 0050-0052) comprising a step of supplying a fire extinguishing agent (#47) from an opening (#32) to an area formed by a plate (#21) with a battery (#10) on it and an enclosure that surrounds the battery (#12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsunaga as applied to Claim 8 above such that the method is a fire extinguishing method comprising a step of supplying a fire extinguishing agent from an opening to an area formed by the plate and the enclosure by including the supply part of Fujioka that supplies a fire extinguishing agent to an area formed by the plate of Matsunaga and the enclosure of Fujioka, since doing so would yield the predictable result of putting out a fire that may occur from the secondary batteries when it potentially generates smoke or catches on fire (See Fujioka Paragraphs 0050-0052)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Fujioka and US PGPUB 2024/0063645 A1 to Kang et al. (“Kang”).
Regarding Claim 7, in reference to the charge/discharge inspection device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied to Claim 6 above Matsunaga further discloses the charge/discharge inspection device comprising a cooling part (See Paragraph 0026 disclosing a number of blower fans that can be arranged on a back side of #10).
Regarding Claim 7, Matsunaga does not specifically disclose the cooling part being provided on top of the plate and cools the secondary battery from below (See Paragraph 0026 disclosing the fan being arrange don a back side of #10 or on both sides of #10).
However, Kang discloses a charge/discharge inspection device (See Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0055) comprising a cooling part (#210, which is a fan per Paragraph 0054) that is provided on top of a plate (#100) and cools a secondary battery (#10) from below (See Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charge/discharge inspection device of Matsunaga in view of Fujioka as applied above such that the cooling part is provided on top of the plate and cools the secondary battery from below as taught by Kang, since doing so would yield the predictable result of applying air directly to the secondary battery (See Kang Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 30, 2026