Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/19/26, 12/09/25, and 09/17/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. US 2014/0226717 in view of Aono et al. US 2020/0177911.
As to claim 1, Lim teaches an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate; [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] and deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein the current block belongs to the current coding tree block, [¶ 0080-0082]
Lim does not explicitly teach wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block.
Aono teaches wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block. [¶ 0270; ¶ 0565]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Aono with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 2, Lim teaches an image encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus, the method comprising: determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0047-0064; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block; [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate; [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block; [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] and encoding image information including intra prediction mode information of the current block, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0047-0064] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein the current block belongs to the current coding tree block, [¶ 0080-0082]
Lim does not explicitly teach wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block.
Aono teaches wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block. [¶ 0270; ¶ 0565]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Aono with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 3, Lim teaches a transmission method for image data, the method comprising: obtaining a bitstream of encoded image information, wherein the encoded image information is generated based on determining a first intra prediction mode candidate of a current block based on a left neighboring block of the current block, [abstract; figs. 1-4; ¶ 0047-0064; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining a second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block based on a top neighboring block of the current block, [abstract; ¶ 0089-0090; ¶ 0112-0113; ¶ 0121-0122] determining an intra prediction mode of the current block based on the first intra prediction mode candidate and the second intra prediction mode candidate, [¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0077-0078; ¶ 0112-0113] deriving a prediction sample of the current block based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0078; ¶ 0089-0090] and encoding the image information including intra prediction mode information of the current block; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0047-0064] and transmitting the image data comprising the bitstream, [¶ 0053; ¶ 0083] wherein the second intra prediction mode candidate of the current block is determined based on whether the top neighboring block of the current block is out of a row boundary of a current coding tree block, [¶ 0089-0093; ¶ 0135-0149] wherein the current block belongs to the current coding tree block, [¶ 0080-0082]
Lim does not explicitly teach wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block.
Aono teaches wherein based on the top neighboring block of the current block being out of a row boundary of a current slice or current tile, top reference samples of the current block are derived based on left neighboring samples of the current block. [¶ 0270; ¶ 0565]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Aono with the teachings of Lim allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483