DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US5757618).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a computer system comprising: connectors (14)(16); memory modules (20)(26) disposed within the connectors (14)(16); and a retention mechanism (30) (Figure 5) connected to the memory modules (20)(26), the retention mechanism includes slots (space in between elements 30C), each of the slots configured to receive one of the memory modules (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the retention mechanism includes retention elements (30c) that align the memory modules (20)(26) within the slots (spaces between 30c).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 2, wherein a first retention element of the retention elements is configured to contact a first memory module of the memory module to align the first memory module with a first slot of the slots. (Figure 8)
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 3, wherein the first retention element is configured to contact a first side and a second side of the first memory module (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1 further comprising a chassis (10), and wherein the retention mechanism (30) is connected to the chassis or part of the chassis (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein a spacing of the slots corresponds to a spacing of the connectors (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a retention mechanism comprising: slots (17), each slot of the slots configured to receive a memory module (20)(26) of memory modules of a computer system, wherein the memory modules are disposed within connectors (14)(22) of the computer system.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the retention mechanism of claim 10, wherein the retention mechanism includes retention elements (30c) that align the memory modules within the slots.
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the retention mechanism of claim 11, wherein a first retention element (30c) of the retention elements is configured to contact a first memory module (20)(26) of the memory module to align the first memory module with a first slot of the slots (aforementioned figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, the retention mechanism of claim 12, wherein the first retention element (30c) is configured to contact a first side and a second side of the first memory module. (element 30c contacts two sides of the memory module)
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a method comprising:
providing a computer system (Figure 1) comprising connectors (14)(16);
providing memory modules (20)(26), wherein the memory modules (20)(26) are configured to be disposed within the connectors (14)(16); and
providing a retention mechanism (30) (Figure 5), wherein the retention mechanism (30) is configured to be connected to the memory modules (20)(26), the retention mechanism (30) includes slots (between element numbers (30c), each of the slots configured to receive one of the memory modules (20)(26).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the retention mechanism (30) includes retention elements (32) that align the memory modules within the slots, and wherein a first retention element (32) of the retention elements is configured to contact a first memory module (20)(26) of the memory modules to align the first memory module with a first slot (space between 30c) of the slots.
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the retention mechanism is connected to a chassis (10) of the computer system or part of the chassis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US5757618) in view of Weisman discloses (US3878438).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the retention mechanism is formed from a plastic material or a metal material.
Weisman discloses metal (Column 3, Lines 59 – 60).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate metal of Weisman into the retention mechanism Lee
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to increase rigidity.
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US5757618) in view of Bennett, II et al. (hereinafter Bennett, II) (US10692541).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Lee does not expressly wherein the retention mechanism is configured to function as a heat transfer device for the memory modules.
Bennett, II discloses wherein the retention mechanism (118) (made of metal).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat transferring of Bennett, II into the retention mechanism of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to add a cooling feature into the apparatus.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses the method of claim 17, wherein at least one of the retention mechanism is configured to function as a heat transfer device for the memory modules.
Lee does not expressly wherein the retention mechanism is configured to function as a heat transfer device for the memory modules.
Bennett, II discloses wherein the retention mechanism (118) (made of metal).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat transferring of Bennett, II into the retention mechanism of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to add a cooling feature into the apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US5757618) in view of Cracker (4716495).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the retention mechanism is configured to contact a heatsink mounted to the memory modules.
Cracker discloses wherein the retention mechanism (24) is configured to contact a heatsink (22) mounted to the memory modules (62)(68).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the connection of the retention mechanism of Cracker into the retention mechanism of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this because the combination will enable cooling air to exit the enclosure
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the retention mechanism of claim 10.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the retention mechanism is formed from a plastic material or a metal material.
Cracker discloses wherein the retention mechanism is formed from a plastic material or a metal material (Column 2 Lines 30; Lines 31-33).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate metal retention mechanism of Lee into the retention mechanism of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to aid in heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the retention mechanism of claim 10.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the retention mechanism is configured to function as a heat transfer device for the memory modules.
Cracker discloses wherein the retention mechanism (24 – made of metal) is configured to function as a heat transfer device for the memory modules.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a heat transfer device of Cracker into the retention mechanism of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to aid in heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the retention mechanism of claim 10,
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the retention mechanism is configured to contact a heatsink mounted to the memory modules.
Cracker discloses wherein the retention mechanism (24) is configured to contact a heatsink (22) mounted to the memory modules (68).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the connection to a heat sink of Cracker into Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to aid in heat dissipation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US10888010, US3878438, US4201303.
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
21 August 2026