DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220011887 A1, Assignee: Samsung) in view Chiewcharnpipat et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20180299976 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Khan discloses “An integrated circuit for a sensor in which a plurality of sensor electrodes are arranged, the integrated circuit comprising:
a processor; ([0027] at least one processor) and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: ([0027] at least one memory storing a program for executing an operation)
receive, via the sensor, a signal transmitted from an electronic pen; ([0023] [0042] [0124] [0249])
detect a position on the sensor indicated by the electronic pen based on the signal transmitted from the electronic pen; ([0107] [0118] [0150] [0175])
detect a pen state based on the signal from the electronic pen; ([0106] detect a pen pressure [0109])
execute a first command to output a first sound, in response to detecting that the pen state is a first state; ([0290] The sound outputter 3822 may include various sound output circuitry and outputs audio data received from the communicator 3840 or stored in the memory 3860. In addition, the sound outputter 3822 outputs a sound signal related to a function performed in the electronic device 1000 (for example, a call signal receiving sound, a message receiving sound, a notification sound). The sound outputter 3822 may include a speaker, a buzzer, or the like. [0106] [0109]) and
execute a second command to output a second sound different from the first sound, ([0290] The sound outputter 3822 may include various sound output circuitry and outputs audio data received from the communicator 3840 or stored in the memory 3860. In addition, the sound outputter 3822 outputs a sound signal related to a function performed in the electronic device 1000 (for example, a call signal receiving sound, a message receiving sound, a notification sound). The sound outputter 3822 may include a speaker, a buzzer, or the like [0106] [0109].)
Khan does not disclose “in response to detecting that the pen state is a second state different from the first state”.
Chiewcharnpipat discloses “in response to detecting that the pen state is a second state different from the first state”. ([0042] pen body accelerometer [0043] [0065])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate pen body accelerometer by Chiewcharnpipat into device of Khan. The suggestion/motivation would have been to detect pen acceleration. (Chiewcharnpipat: [0043])
Regarding claim 9, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the signal from the electronic pen based on inductive coupling between the electronic pen and the sensor. (Khan [0023] [0042] [0124] [0249])
Regarding claim 10, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the signal from the electronic pen based on capacitive coupling between the electronic pen and the sensor. (Khan [0119] [0308] [0312])
Regarding claim 11, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the first command, when executed, causes an output circuit of the electronic pen to output the first sound. (Khan [0290] – [0293])
Regarding claim 12, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the second command, when executed, causes the output circuit of the electronic pen to output the second sound. (Khan [0290] – [0293])
Regarding claim 13, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the first command, when executed, causes an output circuit coupled to the integrated circuit to output the first sound. (Khan [0290] – [0293])
Regarding claim 14, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the second command, when executed, causes the output circuit coupled to the integrated circuit to output the second sound. (Khan [0290] – [0293])
integrated circuit to output the second sound.
Regarding claim 15, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the pen state represents a state of the electronic pen with respect to an input surface of the sensor. (Khan [0106] detect a pen pressure [0109])
Regarding claim 16, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat disclose wherein the first state is based on a pen pressure of the electronic pen, and the second state is based on an acceleration of the electronic pen. (Chiewcharnpipat [0042] pen body accelerometer [0043] [0065])
Claims 2 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220011887 A1, Assignee: Samsung) in view Chiewcharnpipat et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20180299976 A1) in view Tamura et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20200183508 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat do not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive a selection of a category of a stationery to be imitated,
wherein the first sound imitates a sound that occurs when the stationery of the category is used.
Tamura discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive a selection of a category of a stationery to be imitated, (Tamura [0025][0038])
wherein the first sound imitates a sound that occurs when the stationery of the category is used. (Tamura [0025][0038])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sound by Tamura into device of Khan and Chiewcharnpipat. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience. (Tamura: [0025])
Regarding claim 3, Khan, Chiewcharnpipat and Tamura disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the selection of the category of the stationery from the electronic pen. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0025] [0038])
Regarding claim 4, Khan, Chiewcharnpipat and Tamura disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the selection of the category of the stationery from a host processor, in response to operation of the electronic pen. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0025] [0038])
Regarding claim 5, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat do not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to:
receive a selection of a combination of a category and a material property of a stationery to be imitated, wherein the second sound imitates a sound that occurs when the stationery of the category and the material property is used.
Tamura discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to:
receive a selection of a combination of a category and a material property of a stationery to be imitated, wherein the second sound imitates a sound that occurs when the stationery of the category and the material property is used. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0043] - [0046])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sound by Tamura into device of Khan and Chiewcharnpipat. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience. (Tamura: [0025])
Regarding claim 6, Khan, Chiewcharnpipat and Tamura disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the selection of the combination of the category and the material property of the stationery from the electronic pen. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0043] - [0046])
Regarding claim 7, Khan, Chiewcharnpipat and Tamura disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the selection of the category of the stationery from a host processor, in response to operation of the electronic pen. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0025][0038])
Regarding claim 8, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat do not disclose wherein the pen state is the first state or the second state when the electronic pen is inputting a pen position via the sensor.
Tamura discloses wherein the pen state is the first state or the second state when the electronic pen is inputting a pen position via the sensor. (Tamura Fig. 6, [0025][0038])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sound by Tamura into device of Khan and Chiewcharnpipat. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide user’s convenience. (Tamura: [0025])
Regarding claim 9, Khan and Chiewcharnpipat do not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the integrated circuit to: receive the signal from the electronic pen based on inductive coupling between the electronic pen and the sensor. (Ghassabian Figs. 6, 7, [0069] [0070])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629