DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: RH is not defined. For the purposes of Examination it will be understood to mean Relative Humidity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. US 2018/0136589 A1 (Sakamoto) and Matsushima et al. US 2017/0242373 A1 (Matsushima).
Regarding claims 1-3, Sakamoto teaches a transfer belt (10) comprising:
three layers of a front surface layer (16), a base material layer (14) including at least one elastic material selected from the group consisting of rubber and an elastomer (¶0029), and a back surface layer (12).
Sakamoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the relationship between the volume resistivity of the layers. Matsushima teaches volume resistivity in an environment of 22° C and 55% RH and surface resistivity from 8 log Ω/square to 12 log Ω/square. Matsushima does not teach the three layers having a relationship of R1> R2 > R3 or R1< R2 < R3. However given that these claimed expressions result in a volume resistivity which is known (from 8 log Ω/square to 12 log Ω/square), as evidenced by Matsushima, the three layers having a relationship of R1> R2 > R3 or R1< R2 < R3 is little more than a design choice since combined the three layers must inherently add up to the overall surface resistivity is from 8 log Ω/square to 12 log Ω/square. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to ensure the volume resistivity of the three layers taught by Sakamoto falls within the parameters taught by Matsushima, thus resulting in either R1> R2 > R3 or R1< R2 < R3, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her grasp and ascending or descending resistivity are both known options that would lead to anticipated success, namely a volume resistivity that is taught by Matsushima.
Regarding claim 6, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the front surface layer and the back surface layer each contain a conductive filler in a range of 0.1% by mass or more and 8.0% by mass or less (¶0021-¶0024).
Regarding claim 7, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the front surface layer and the back surface layer each contain the conductive filler in a range of 0.5% by mass or more and 4.0% by mass or less (¶0021-¶0024).
Regarding claim 8, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the front surface layer, and the back surface layer contain a conductive filler (¶0021-¶0025), and
a content of the conductive filler in one layer of the front surface layer and the back surface layer that has a higher volume resistivity is 0.1% by mass or more and 2.0% by mass or less, and a content of the conductive filler in the other layer of the front surface layer and the back surface layer that has a lower volume resistivity is 1.0% by mass or more and 8.0% by mass or less (¶0020-¶0024).
Regarding claim 9, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 8. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the content of the conductive filler in one layer of the front surface layer and the back surface layer that has a higher volume resistivity is 0.3% by mass or more and 1.8% by mass or less, and the content of the conductive filler in the other layer of the front surface layer and the back surface layer that has a lower volume resistivity is 1.5% by mass or more and 4.0% by mass or less (¶0020-¶0024).
Regarding claim 10, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the base material layer (12) contains at least one selected from the group consisting of chloroprene rubber, epichlorohydrin rubber, and a urethane elastomer as the elastic material (¶0019).
Regarding claim 11, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the front surface layer (16) contains a base resin and particles of a resin having a siloxane bond (¶0061), and
a content of the particles of the resin having a siloxane bond with respect to the base resin is 1.0% by mass or more and 20.0% by mass or less (¶0057-¶0065).
Regarding claim 12, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the transfer belt according to claim 1. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the content of the particles of the resin having a siloxane bond with respect to the base resin is 2.0% by mass or more and 15.0% by mass or less (¶0062).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 18, Sakamoto teaches a belt unit (42) comprising:
the transfer belt (10) according to claims 1-3 and 6; and
a plurality of rolls (423), around which the transfer belt is wound in a state where a tension is applied (¶0120). Sakamoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: a drive roller or that the belt is detachable. However this is known. Matsushima teaches at least one roll of the plurality of rolls is a drive roll (131) that rotates the transfer belt (¶0120), and the belt unit is attached to and detached from an image forming apparatus (¶0074). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the modification taught by Matsushima with the belt unit taught by Sakamoto since the technique of improving transfer belts by making the removable and have a drive roller, was part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art in view of the teachings by Matsushima.
Regarding claim 19, Sakamoto teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
an image carrier (413);
a charging unit (414) that charges a surface of the image carrier;
an electrostatic charge image forming unit (41) that forms an electrostatic charge image on the charged surface of the image carrier;
a developing unit (412) that accommodates a developer containing toner and develops the electrostatic charge image formed on the surface of the image carrier by using the developer to form a toner image; and
a transfer unit (422) that includes the belt unit (42/10) according to claim 13 and transfers the toner image to a recording medium.
Regarding claim 20, Sakamoto and Matsushima teach the image forming apparatus according to claim 19. Furthermore Sakamoto teaches the transfer unit includes an intermediate transfer member (10), a primary transfer unit (422) that transfers the toner image to a surface of the intermediate transfer member, and a secondary transfer unit (423) that transfers the toner image transferred to the surface of the intermediate transfer member to the recording medium, and the secondary transfer unit includes the belt unit (43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852