DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0078582 to Min et al. (Min).
In Reference to Claim 16
Min discloses:
A dual pump harvesting apparatus, comprising a first pump 48 and a second pump 50, wherein one end of the first pump is connected to an initial sample container and an other end of the first pump is connected to a centrifugal container 54;
one end of the second pump 50 is connected to the centrifugal container and an other end of the second pump is connected to an intermediate container and a waste liquid container, see paragraph [0044];
It should be appreciated that the applicant’s functional language in the claims does not serve to impart patentability. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114. Furthermore, Min is capable of performing the claimed function.
Min discloses a controller capable of performing the functional language of a flow rate difference between the second pump and the first pump during concentration is set to be a flow rate threshold, and
a flow rate of the second pump is higher than that of the first pump to perform a continuous flow concentration.
In Reference to Claim 17
Min discloses:
A cell formulating system, wherein the cell formulating system comprises the dual pump harvesting apparatus according to claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-15 are allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “setting a flow rate difference between the first pump and the second pump to be a flow rate threshold, and setting a flow rate of the second pump to be higher than that of the first pump to perform a continuous flow concentration.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 1;
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746