DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 16 January 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAMADA (US 2019/0105929 A1) in view of KOBASHI et al. (US 2020/0101767 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, HAMADA teaches a liquid discharge apparatus comprising: a liquid discharger to discharge a liquid onto a transfer substrate; a platen (HAMADA – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-7 and Figure 1, Reference #1 & #7 and Figure 2, Reference #2 & #8, shown below); and an anti-slip member, the anti-slip member having a surface on which the transfer substrate is placeable (HAMADA – Page 1, Paragraphs 2-7; Page 3, Paragraphs 40-45; and Figures 1 & 2, shown below).
Continuing with independent claim 1, HAMADA does not specifically teach a heater on the platen. However, KOBASHI et al. teaches a liquid discharge apparatus with a platen (KOBASHI et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 3-7 and Figure 1, Reference #15, shown below) and specifically teaches a heater on the platen, the heater to heat the transfer substrate over the platen (KOBASHI et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 34-37 and Figure 7, Reference #40 & #30, shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid discharge apparatus and platen of HAMADA with the platen and heater of KOBASHI et al. in an effort prevent color ink from blurring and provide images with good discharging reliability and less bleeding (KOBASHI et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 34 & 37).
As related to dependent claim 3, the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the heater includes a sheet-shaped heating element (KOBASHI et al. – Figure 7, Reference #40, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 4, the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the heater heats the transfer substrate with a heating temperature of 20°C or higher and 60°C or lower [i.e. 50°C] (KOBASHI et al. – Page 12, Paragraph 269).
As related to dependent claim 5, the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the anti-slip member is replaceably adhered to the heater via an adhesive (HAMADA – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-8 & Page 3, Paragraph 40).
As related to dependent claim 6, the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the anti-slip member includes an adhesive sheet (HAMADA – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-8 & Page 3, Paragraph 40).
As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach he liquid discharger discharges the liquid onto the transfer substrate to form an image to be transferred to a transfer target (KOBASHI et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-7 and Figure 1, shown above).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of HAMADA (US 2019/0105929 A1) and KOBASHI et al. (US 2020/0101767 A1) in further view of Miller, Jr. et al. (US 4,405,657 A).
The combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above but does not specifically teach the anti-slip member is a vinyl sheet. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the use of various materials to form an anti-slip member, specifically when related to the type of material or medium which the member is intended to prevent from slipping. Vinyl is well known in the art as an anti-slip material, thereby merely being a design choice based on the specific needs of the environment, not a structural limitation nor a specified improvement of anti-slip members. Meanwhile, Miller, Jr. et al. teaches a non-skid product which calls for varying the materials to improve slip-resistance and specifically teaches the use of a vinyl composition sheet for said non-skid surfaces or slip-resistant surfaces (Miller, Jr. et al. – Column 1, Lines 15-25 and Column 2, Lines 21-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the use of the vinyl sheet of Miller, Jr. et al. for an anti-slip member in an effort to provide a slip-resistant surface (Miller, Jr. et al. – Column 1, Lines 31-36).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of HAMADA (US 2019/0105929 A1) and KOBASHI et al. (US 2020/0101767 A1) in further view of Konno (US 2009/0244138 A1).
The combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. remains as applied above but does not specifically teach a roll holder. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the use of roll or web medium in a liquid discharge apparatus. Meanwhile, Konno teaches a liquid discharge apparatus comprising a roll holder to hold the medium in a roll shape (Konno – Figure 1, Reference #16, shown below) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid discharge apparatus of the combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al. with the roll type medium of Konno in an effort to provide continuous form medium for user-selectable size as an option to specific sized recording medium [i.e. plural magazines with different medium widths and qualities] (Konno – Page 3, Paragraphs 47-48). The combination of HAMADA and KOBASHI et al., as modified by Konno teaches a roll holder below the platen to hold the transfer substrate in a roll shape; a conveyor to convey the transfer substrate from the roll holder onto the anti-slip member in a conveyance direction; and a cutter, upstream from the anti-slip member in the conveyance direction, to cut the transfer substrate on the anti-slip member (Konno – Figure 1, Reference #16, 28, #32, & #26, shown below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chapman (US 5,090,313 A) teaches a printer having a medium support unit using a transfer substrate. Umbach (US 5,513,922 A) teaches a printer having a support surface which is attached via adhesive and/or Velcro. Gustin et al. (US 7,458,174 B1) teaches a support with gripper strips to hold the medium. Watanabe (US 7,681,510 B2) teaches a medium support section with a hold assisting member and holding members which are detachable. Mizutani (US 7,874,629 B2) teaches a printing apparatus having a support member with a slip stopper sheet on a top surface. Livingston (US 2015/0151551 A1) teaches a digital printer with a platen and a holding member. HAMADA (US 2016/0136978 A1) teaches a medium support unit in a recording device having a separate member adhered to the support unit using hook and loop.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853