Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first portion” and the “second portion” in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, lines 4-5 recite “the first portion is positioned in the rear of the vehicle seat with respect to the second portion” which is indefinite, because it is unclear from the specification and drawings what the scope of the arrangement of the first and second portions consist of. The blower device assembly is positioned in front of the seat frame, so it is unclear how the first portion is positioned in the rear of the vehicle seat with respect to the second portion.
Claims 5-7 are rejected as being dependent on claim 4 as rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okimura et al. (US 2019/0241102 A1), hereinafter Okimura.
Regarding claim 1, Okimura discloses a vehicle seat to be installed to a vehicle, the vehicle seat comprising:
a blower device (blower 20, fig. 10);
a bracket supporting the blower device (cover member 50, as shown in figs. 7, and 9-11);
a seat frame supporting the bracket (as shown in figs. 7 & 11, the upper side frames 13A are supporting the cover member 50);
a first cable (first cable 81, fig. 10) connected to the blower device (as shown in fig. 10, first cable 81 extends out from the blower 20); and
a second cable (second cable 82, fig. 10) configured to connect the first cable (as shown in fig. 10, the second cable 82 is connected to the first cable 81) and an electrical wiring of the vehicle (fig. 10), wherein
the bracket includes a first support portion (hooks 56, fig. 10) and a second support portion (engagement portion 55, fig. 10) supporting the second cable (Para. [0107], “[t]he second cable 82 extends to the right side from its connector 81A side end portion, and is then folded to make a 180-degree turn (U-shaped turn) and routed to the left side with the respective locking members 82B engaged with the corresponding engagement portions 55 (not shown)”; as shown in fig. 10).
Okimura does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first portion supports
the first cable.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Okimura such that the first support portion (i.e., hooks 56) support the first cable in order to provide a secure, organized, and safe cable management that prevents damage, improves accessibility, and reduces hazards.
Regarding claim 2, Okimura discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein
the bracket (cover member 50, fig. 7) is provided with, on a back surface thereof facing rearward of the vehicle seat (as shown in figs. 10-11, the cover member 50 is provided on a back surface facing rearward of the vehicle seat), a fixing portion fixed to the seat frame (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below), and a reinforcing rib (as shown in annotated fig. 2 below), and
the rib is provided in a plurality of types having different lengths in a front-rear direction of the vehicle seat (as shown in annotated fig. 2 below).
Annotated fig. 1: annotated image of Okimura’s fig. 7
Annotated fig. 2: annotated image of Okimura’s fig. 10
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Okimura discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein
the bracket includes a first portion (main body 51, fig. 10) and a second portion (back surface of 51, fig. 10) that are positioned differently from each other in a front-rear direction of the vehicle seat (figs. 10-11),
the first portion is positioned in the rear of the vehicle seat with respect to the second portion (figs. 10-11), and
the first support portion (hooks 56, fig. 10) and the second support portion (engagement portions 55, fig. 10) are provided in the first portion (the hooks 56 and the engagement portions 55 are provided in main body 51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: see PTO 892.
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642