DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (i.e. said piston rod in line 7). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraphs [0017] and [0080] recite that hydraulic oil cylinder body 41 "comprises a cylinder body 411, a cylinder front cover 412 installed on the cylinder body 411, a cover and a control valve 61." The element identified as "a cover" is not assigned a reference numeral, does not appear in the reference numeral list of paragraph [0048], and is not depicted as a separate part from cylinder front cover 412 or cylinder rear cover 413 in Figures 3-6.
Applicant is advised to make appropriate corrections by assigning a reference character and providing corresponding drawing support for this element, or by amending the specification to remove the apparently duplicate recitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 inconsistently refers to "the said hydraulic oil cylinder body" and two clauses later, “the said hydraulic cylinder body" in apparent reference to the same element. Consistent terminology should be used throughout the claim and should conform to the antecedent terminology used in claim 1 ("hydraulic oil cylinder body").
Claim 9 recites “wherein: the said wood splitting axe is in an S-type eagle head shape, [I]t comprises a force-bearing main body,” in which “It” is improperly capitalized mid-sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1–10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner chamber" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant never positively recites (in the claim) that the hydraulic oil cylinder body defines “an inner chamber” before referring to it with the definite article “the.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the oil pump" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No oil pump has been previously introduced in claim 1, or in claim 1 alone, without incorporating claim 8’s recitation of “an oil pump” as part of the power unit. The “oil pump” therefore lacks a proper antecedent basis rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear (specifically, whether “the oil pump” is (a) a positively claimed element of the two-way quick cylinder, or (b) merely part of the intended environment of use). Applicant is invited to amend claim 1 to first introduce “an oil pump” (e.g., “wherein, when hydraulic oil enters the rodless chamber from an oil pump”) or to clarify the relationship of the oil pump to the claimed cylinder.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cylinder rear cover" in lines 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no antecedent basis for “the cylinder rear cover” in parent claim 1 (from which claim 2 depends) or in the preceding lines of claim 2 itself. Claim 1 introduces only “a hydraulic oil cylinder body” without any recitation or definition of “a cylinder rear cover” or distinct end closures. The term “the cylinder rear cover” appears for the first time in claim 2 as a definite, specific element without prior introduction or structural context within the claim hierarchy.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 1 to recite that the hydraulic oil cylinder body comprises a cylinder rear cover, or by introducing the element in claim 2 using an indefinite article (e.g., “a cylinder rear cover of the said hydraulic oil cylinder body”), thereby providing proper anteced3ent basis for subsequent recitations.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a push rod seat and a push rod assembly" in line 12. The use of the indefinite article “a” in line 12 creates ambiguity as to whether “a push rod seat and a push rod assembly” refers to the identical elements already introduced in line 5 of claim 2 or introduces additional, separate components. If the elements are intended to be the same components previously introduced in claim 2, the claim should recite “the push rod seat and the push rod assembly (or “the said push rod seat and the said push rod assembly”) to provide proper antecedent basis. Immediately following this clause, line 13 of claim 2 recites: “the push rod seat and the push rod assembly.” Because of the duplicate introductory phrasing using “a,” it is unclear which recitation establishes the operative antecedent basis.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the portion of the said push" in line–16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No “first guide portion” has been introduced anywhere in claim 1 or claim 2, so it is unclear what the recited guide portion is “second” with respect to, and it is unclear whether “II” is intended as a separate label, a typographical carryover from the reference-numeral scheme of the specification (e.g., paragraph [0048], distinguishing a “guide portion I” recited only in claim 9 for the unrelated wood-splitting axe), or an additional (undefined) structural element. As presently worded, a person having ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the scope of “a second guide portion II” with reasonable certainty (see Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosis Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898, 110 USPQ2d 1688 (2014)). Applicant is invited to amend to recite simply “a guide portion,” or otherwise clarify.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the oil circuit" in lines 25 and 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the inner pull rod was recited as “hollow” and “perforated,” no “oil circuit” was ever previously introduced or defined.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cylinder front cover" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the said cylinder rear cover" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no antecedent basis for “the said cylinder rear cover” in claim 3 or in parent claim 1 from which claim 3 directly and indirectly depends. While claim 2 (from which claim 3 depends) refers to “the cylinder rear cover” in its lines 7–8, that initial recitation in claim 2 itself lacks antecedent basis from claim 1 (as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above). Consequently, because the parent claim hierarchy fails to properly introduce or define “a cylinder rear cover” using an indefinite article, claim 3 improperly perpetuates this defect by referring back to an element via the definite term “the said cylinder cover”.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by curing the antecedent basis defect in parent claims, for example, by amending claim 1 to recite that the hydraulic oil cylinder body comprises a cylinder rear cover, or by explicitly introducing “a cylinder rear cover” prior to any definite reference (“said cylinder rear cover”), thereby providing proper antecedent basis for subsequent recitations.
Claim 5 recites the following limitations: "the cylinder front cover" in line 3, "the said oil cylinder front cover" in line 6, and “the said cylinder front cover” in line 10, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 is also rejected as being dependent upon and failing to overcome the deficiencies of rejected claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the oil return line" in lines 5, 7, and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no antecedent basis for the “the oil return line” anywhere in independent parent claim 1, intervening claim 2 or 3 (from which claim 5 depends), or the preceding lines in claim 5 itself. The definite article is used repeatedly to refer to a specific hydraulic line or fluid circuit pathway that was never previously introduced or structurally defined in the claim hierarchy. It remains unclear what physical structure constitutes “the oil return line,” how it is bounded or arranged relative to the hydraulic oil cylinder body, or whether it forms an external path within the cylinder.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by introducing the element using an indefinite article (e.g., “an oil return line”) in claim 5 or an appropriate parent claim, or by clarifying the relationship between the switching valve, cylinder front cover, and an oil return line prior to referencing “the oil return line.”
Claim 6 is also rejected as being dependent upon and failing to overcome the deficiencies of rejected claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the guide plate" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The recitation “the upper part of the guide plate [singular] is bent” lacks proper antecedent basis, as the element was previously introduced in the plural (guide plates are provided obliquely on both sides of the main beam”), creating ambiguity as to whether the bending limitation applies to only one specific guide plate or to each of the guide plates on both sides of the main beam.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the said control unit" in line 11. This limitation was introduced for the first time in claim 3, and not in parent claim 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the oil pipeline" in line 12. This limitation was introduced for the first time in claim 3, and not in parent claim 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the reset area" in line 13. This limitation was introduced for the first time in claim 2, and not in parent claim 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites that the wood-splitting axe “is in an S-type eagle head shape.” This phrase is indefinite because it purports to define the overall shape of the axe by analogy to a natural object (an eagle’s head) rather than by objective structural boundaries, and neither the claim nor the supporting disclosure (paragraph [0094]; Figures 13–14) provides any standard by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine how closely the recited force-bearing main body, guide portion I, and blade portion must resemble an eagle’s head in order to fall within (or outside) the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(b) (a claim term of degree is indefinite unless the specification provides some standard for measuring that degree). “Eagle head” is not a term of art with a settled structural meaning in the mechanical or tool arts, and no numerical, proportional, angular, or other objective criterion is recited, or incorporated by reference to the figures, to distinguish an “eagle head” profile from any other multi-curved wedge or blade profile. The metes and bounds of claim 9 therefore cannot be determined with reasonable certainty from this phrase alone (see Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosis Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898, 110 USPQ2d 1688 (2014)).
This ambiguity is compounded by the claim’s separate recitation, later in the same claim, that “the said cutting edge is S-type shape.” It is unclear whether the “S-type” qualifier applied to the axe as a whole (in the shape descriptor at the start of claim 9) refers to the very same S-curve later attributed specifically to the cutting edge (paragraph [0095]), or instead to some distinct, otherwise-unclaimed S-curvature of the axe’s overall silhouette (e.g., of the force-bearing main body or guide portion I). As presently drafted, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine whether claim 9 requires one S-curve or two, nor where any such curve(s) must be located relative to the separately recited fixing portion, knife edge portion, first blade portion, and second blade portion.
For at least these reasons, claim 9 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant is invited to amend claim 9 to define the recited shape purely in terms of the objective structural relationships among the main body, guide portion I, blade portion, cutting edge, fixing portion, knife edge portion, and first and second blade portions (as the remainder of claim 9 already largely does) and to delete the subjective “S-type eagle shape” descriptor, or to tie it expressly and unambiguously to the specific curvature shown in Figures 13–14.
Claim 10 is also rejected as being dependent upon and failing to overcome the deficiencies of rejected claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al. (Chinese Patent No. CN 116175717 B).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses in Figures 5 and 6 a two-way quick cylinder (41), comprising:
a hydraulic oil cylinder body (41);
a large piston (42), which is slidably provided in the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41) and divides the inner chamber of the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41) into a rod chamber (rod cavity 45) and a rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46);
a piston rod (43), which is telescopically installed on the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41), and the end of the said piston rod (43) extends into the said rod chamber (rod cavity 45) to be connected with the said large piston (42) (page 3, lines 1–4);
a hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) (see Figure 6), which is installed on the said large piston (42) to be used for communicating the said rod chamber (rod cavity 45) and the said rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) (page 3, lines 5–6); and
when hydraulic oil enters the rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) from the oil pump (53) (see Figure 2) and drives the large piston (42) to move, the oil pressure in the said rod chamber (rod cavity 45) increases and the hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) is enabled to open, so that the hydraulic oil in the rod chamber (rod cavity 45) enters the rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) through the hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) and pushes the large piston (42) to move, as depicted in Figures 5 and 6 (page 3, lines 11–16). Because Peng et al. discloses every structural limitation of claim 1, arranged as claimed, and functioning in the manner recited, claim 1 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses the two-way quick cylinder claimed in claim 1. Peng et al. further discloses in Figures 5 and 6 (page 8, lines 15–22), wherein the two-way quick cylinder further comprises a quick reset unit (fast reset unit 8; see Figure 6), which is used to control the hydraulic oil in the rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) to return to the rod chamber (rod cavity 45) through the said hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) (see Figure 6); and the quick reset unit (fast reset unit 8), comprises a hollow perforated inner pull rod (hollow inner pull rod with hole 81), a small piston (82), a push rod seat (piston valve seat 441) and a push rod assembly (see detailed drawing below);
the said piston rod (43) is hollow (page 4, line 7);
one end of the hollow perforated inner pull rod (hollow inner pull rod with hole 81) is connected to the cylinder rear cover (413) (see Figure 5) of the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41), the other end passes through the said large piston (42) and extends into the inner chamber of the said piston rod (43), and the hollow perforated inner pull rod (hollow hole inner pull rod 81) is slidably connected to the large piston (page 4, lines 8–10);
the said large piston (42) is provided with a mounting chamber (see Figure 6 and detailed drawing below), and a push rod seat (piston valve seat 441) and a push rod assembly (see Figure 6 and detailed drawing below), are provided in the mounting chamber (see Figure 6); an oil passage communicating the said rod chamber (see detailed drawing below and the hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) is formed in the middle of the push rod seat (piston valve seat 441) and the push rod assembly (see Figure 6); the portion of the said push rod seat (piston valve seat 441) adjacent to the said hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) is a second guide portion II (see Figure 6: detailed diagram of part C in Figure 5), and an auxiliary piston chamber (see detailed drawing below) is formed between the peripheral side of the guide portion II and the side wall of the mounting chamber; one end of the said push rod assembly is provided in the auxiliary piston chamber to form a piston portion, and the other end of the push rod assembly (valve core of the piston ejector rod 442; see Figure 6: detailed diagram of part C in Figure 5) faces the said hydraulically controlled one-way valve (see Figure 6; page 8, lines 15–22);
the said small piston (82) is connected to one end of the said hollow perforated inner pull rod (hollow inner pull rod with hole 81), and the peripheral side of the said small piston (82) is slidably connected to the inner wall of the said piston rod (43), and the said small piston (82) divides the inner chamber of the said piston rod (43) into a reset area (821) (see Figure 5) and an avoidance area (822); the said reset area (821) is communicated to the oil circuit inside the said hollow perforated inner pull rod (hollow inner pull rod with hole 81; page 4, lines 11–13);
a control oil hole (4412) (Figure 6) is provided on the said piston rod (43), the control oil hole is communicated to the said reset area (821), and the control oil hole (4412, see Figure 6) makes the oil circuit between the said reset area (821) and the said auxiliary piston chamber communicated (see Figure 6); and when hydraulic oil in the reset area (821) enters the auxiliary piston chamber, the push rod assembly (valve core of the piston ejector rod 442; see Figure 6: detailed diagram of part C in Figure 5) drives the said hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) to open, as shown in Figure 5 (see page 4, lines 6–15; page 9, lines 1–9). Therefore, Peng et al. anticipates every structural and functional limitation of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses the two-way quick cylinder claimed in claim 2. Peng et al. further discloses in Figures 2 and 3 wherein a control unit (6) (see page 2, lines 39–41) provided on the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41), and the said control unit (6) comprises a control valve (61); and the said control valve (61) is in plate connection with the cylinder front cover (412) of the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41) (Figure 3), the said control valve (61) and the said cylinder rear cover (413) are communicated through two connecting oil pipes (page 6, lines 12–15), and the said control valve (61) is used to control the said connecting oil pipes to supply oil to the said rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) or the said reset area (821), respectively (as described in page 6, lines 12–15). Therefore, Peng et al. anticipates every structural and functional limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses the two-way quick cylinder of claim 1. Peng et al. further discloses (see Figures 5 and 6), wherein the said hydraulically controlled one-way valve (44) comprises a first steel ball (443) and a first spring (444);
a first through hole (4411; see Figure 6) is opened on the said large piston (42; see Figure 5), and the said rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46; see Figure 5) passes through the said first through hole (4411, see Figure 6) and communicates with the said rod chamber (rod cavity 45; see Figure 5); and
one end of the said first spring (444; see Figure 6) is connected to the said large piston (42), and the other end is connected to the said first steel ball (443; see Figure 6), making the said first steel ball (443) block the said first through hole (4411; see Figure 6; page 8, lines 23–25). Therefore, Peng et al. anticipates every structural and functional limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses the two-way quick cylinder as claimed in claim 3, Wherein Peng et al. further discloses:
a hydraulically controlled switching valve (7; see Figure 8) is integrated on the said control unit (control valve 61; see Figures 1 and 2) or the cylinder front cover (412; see Figure 3), and when the hydraulic oil pressure in the said rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46, see Figure 5) reaches a set value P, the said hydraulically controlled switching valve (7; see Figure 8) makes the rod chamber (rod cavity 45) communicate with the oil return line (page 3, lines 31–36);
a second through hole (711; see Figure 8) is provided on the said oil cylinder front cover (412; see Figure 3), and the said rod chamber (rod cavity 45; see Figure 5) and the oil return line are communicated through the said second through hole (711); the said control valve (61; see Figure 3) is connected to an oil circuit board (control unit 6; see Figures 1, 2, and 3; page 2, last paragraph; page 6, line 11), the said oil circuit board (control unit 6) is mounted on the said cylinder front cover (412) (“the oil pump orderly passes through the switching mounting oil path plate and the oil conveying pipeline to the oil cylinder front cover, and respectively conveys hydraulic oil to the reset area or the rodless cavity through the control unit”; page 5, lines 37–39), a third through hole (see detailed drawing below; Figure 8) is provided on the said oil circuit board (control unit 6), and the oil return line and the second through hole (se detailed drawing below) are communicated through the third through hole (page 10, lines 16–19; see figure 8);
the said hydraulically controlled switching valve (7; see Figure 8) comprises a thrust controlled push rod valve core (thrust control mandril valve core 72; see Figure 8), a second steel ball (73; see Figure 8) and a second spring (74; see Figure 8); and one end of the said second spring (74) is connected to the said oil circuit board (control unit 6); and the other end is connected to the said second steel ball (73), making the said second steel ball (73) block the said third through hole(see Detailed drawing below); and
the said thrust controlled push rod valve core (thrust control mandril valve core 72) is slidably connected in the said oil circuit board (control unit 6), and the said push rod of the thrust controlled push rod valve core (thrust control mandril valve core 72) can pass through the third through hole (see detailed drawing below) to abut against the said second steel ball (73; page 5, lines 3–12; page 9, paragraph 2, lines 10-11). Therefore, Peng et al. anticipates every structural and functional limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses the two-way quick cylinder as claimed in claim 5. Peng et al. further discloses wherein:
the said hydraulic oil cylinder body (41; see Figure 5) comprises a cylinder body (411), a cylinder front cover (412) installed on the cylinder body (411), a cover and a control valve (61; see Figure 3) in plate connection with the cylinder front cover (412); and
the said hydraulic cylinder body (41) comprises a cylinder steel pipe and a cylinder rear cover (oil cylinder back cover 413), wherein the cylinder steel pipe, the cylinder rear cover (oil cylinder back cover 413) and two connecting oil pipes are welded into a whole, the said cylinder rear cover (oil cylinder back cover 413) is provided with an ejection oil hole (4412; see Figure 6) communicating the rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) and the control valve (61; see Figure 3) as well as a retraction oil hole communicating the hollow perforated inner pull rod (Hollow inner pull rod with hole 81; see Figure 5) and the control valve (61), and the two connecting oil pipes are inserted into the said control valve (61) (page 5, lines 34–36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., in view of Banjo (U.S. Patent No. 9,381,668 B2), hereinafter Banjo.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Peng et al. discloses in Figures 1 and 2 a wood splitter comprising:
A frame (1), a baffle (2), a wood splitting axe (wood-breaking axe 3), the two-way quick cylinder of claim 1 (as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1) and a power unit (5); the two-way quick cylinder (41) is installed on the said frame (1), the baffle (2) (see Figure 1) is installed on the said frame (1), the wood-splitting axe (wood-breaking axe 3) is installed on the driving end of the two-way quick cylinder (41), and a working space (page 2, lines 35–36; page 9, paragraph 4, lines 2–3) for placing wood is formed among the frame (1), the baffle (2) and the wood splitting axe (wood-breaking axe 3); and the power unit (5) is installed on the said frame (1) to provide power for the two-way quick cylinder (41).
Peng et al. fails to disclose wherein the frame is provided with a main beam, the base of the main beam is made of H-shaped steel, the tail end of the said main beam is bent and warped upwards, the tail end of the said main beam is inlaid and welded with a tail plate, reinforcing plates are provided on both sides of the tail plate, and the end of the two-way quick cylinder is installed on the reinforcing plates and the tail plate; and reinforcing rib plates are provided on both sides of the said main beam, the upper ends of the reinforcing rib plates are bent and placed above the main beam to form guide rails for the wood- splitting axe to slide; and guide plates are provided obliquely on both sides of the main beam, the said guide plates are located between the guide rails and the baffle, the upper part of the guide plate is bent, and the guide plates are used for guiding the wood chips to fall from the upper end of the main beam.
However, Banjo, a reference directed to the same field of endeavor (log splitter frame construction), teaches (see Figures 1a and 2–4) wherein the frame is provided with a main beam (30), the base of the main beam is made of H-shaped steel (Col. 2, lines 35–36; “The log splitter frame 14 may broadly include a support beam 30 such as an I-beam or the like”), the tail end of the said main beam is bent and warped upwards (as shown in Figure 2), the tail end of the said main beam is inlaid and welded with a tail plate (attachment lug 46), reinforcing plates are provided on both sides of the tail plate, and the end of the two-way quick cylinder is installed on the reinforcing plates and the tail plate; and reinforcing rib plates (cradle members 34) are provided on both sides of the said main beam (Col. 2, lines 60–63; see Figure 2), the upper ends of the reinforcing rib plates are bent and placed above the main beam to form guide rails for the wood-splitting axe to slide (cradle members 34 [e.g., a pair of cradle members 34, such as first and second cradle members 341, 342]; Col. 2, lines 42–47; see Figure 2); and guide plates (as shown in Figures 1a, 2, 3, 5, and the detailed drawing below, each cradle 34 flanks the beam and has a bent upper portion, which corresponds to the claimed guide plate whose “upper part is bent”) are provided obliquely on both sides of the main beam (as shown in Figures 2 and 3), the said guide plates (upper bent portion of the cradle members 34) are located between the guide rails and the baffle (foot plate 38), the upper part of the guide plate is bent (see detailed drawing below), and the guide plates (upper bent portion of the cradle members 34) are used for guiding the wood chips to fall from the upper end of the main beam (30), as depicted in Figures 1a, 2, and 3 (Col. 3, lines 27–44).
Accordingly, Banjo teaches that the cradle members support and laterally confine a log on the beam (Col. 2, lines 48–52). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to flank Peng et al.’s beam with Banjo-type bent cradle member to support and confine the wood in that place. Because the wood-splitting mechanism of Peng et al.’s moves faster than that of a conventional splitter, such side support and confinement are rendered even more advantageous and necessary during operation (Peng, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Peng et al.’s frame with an H-shaped (I-beam type) main beam having a reinforced cylinder -mounting region, beam-flanking bracket-mounted rail plates and bent cradle members flanking the beam between the rails and the foot plate, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to integrate the beam configuration taught by Banjo so as to provide the removability advantages of the stripper plates, allows for efficient replacement of damaged stripper plates, replacement of the stripper simpler (Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, the combination of Peng et al. and Banjo, discloses the wood splitter of claim 7. Peng et al. further discloses in Figures 1 and 2 wherein:
the said power unit (5; see Figure 1) comprises an engine (51), an adapter plate (oil bath plate 52), an oil pump (53) and an oil tank (54); and the oil pump (53) is provided in the oil tank (54) (as depicted in Figure 2), and is integrated with the engine (51) through the adapter plate (oil bath plate 52); the said engine (51) is connected to the said frame (as shown in Figure 1); one side of the said adapter plate (oil bath plate 52) is connected to the said engine (51), and the other side is connected to the said oil pump (53); the said oil tank (54) is provided on the outer peripheral side of the said oil pump (53) in a housing manner (as shown in Figures 1 and 2), and the said oil tank (54) is connected to the said adapter plate (oil bath plate 52); and the said oil pump (53) is connected to the said control unit (6) through the said adapter plate (oil bath plate 52) and the oil pipeline successively, and delivers hydraulic oil to the reset area (821) or the said rodless chamber (rodless cavity 46) respectively through the control unit (6) (page 5, lines 36–38; page 6, lines 12–15). Therefore, Peng et al. discloses every structural and functional limitation of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, the combination of Peng et al. and Banjo, discloses the wood splitter as claimed in claim 7. Peng et al. further discloses in Figures 1 and 2 wherein: the said wood-splitting axe (wood-braking axe 3) is in an S-type eagle head shape (see Figure 2), [it] comprises a force-bearing main body (see detailed view of Figure 2 below), a guide portion I (see Detailed View of Figure 1 below) and a blade portion (see detailed View of Figure 2 below); the guide portion I is located at the lower side of the force-bearing main body and the blade portion and is provided horizontally (as shown in Figure 1), the force-bearing main body is provided vertically above the guide portion I (see Figure 2), the blade portion is provided on the side of the force-bearing main body away from the two-way quick cylinder, and the front end of the blade portion is provided with a cutting edge (as depicted in Figure 2); the said cutting edge is S-shaped (see Figures 1 and 2; see Detailed View below), and a fixing portion (see Detailed View of Figure 2 below) is provided on the upper side thereof, and the fixing portion is used to fix the wood (see Figure 2); and a knife edge portion (see detailed view of Figure 2 below) is provided on the lower half of the cutting edge in a protruding manner (as shown in Figure 2), and the knife edge portion is used to split the wood (Figure 2 depicts the knife edge portion (see detailed view of Figure 2 below) of the wood-breaking axe); the said fixing portion is farther away from the said two-way quick cylinder than the knife edge portion (as shown in Figure 2 and Detailed View below); an arc-shaped concave first blade portion (see detailed view of Figure 2 below) is formed between the fixing portion and the knife edge portion (see Figure 2, and detailed view below); and a second blade portion inclined inwardly is formed on the lower side of the knife edge portion, as depicted in Figures 1–2, and Detailed View below. Therefore, Peng et al. discloses every structural and functional limitation of claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. in view of Banjo, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of LV et al. (Chinese Patent No. CN 202200362 U), hereinafter LV et al.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, the combination of Peng et al. and Banjo discloses the wood splitter as claimed in claim 7. The combination of Peng et al. and Banjo further discloses wherein: a plurality of reinforcing ribs (the baffle plate 2 has a plurality of plates welded together to form a solid rectangular box shape, as depicted in Peng et al.’s Figure 1, and Banjo’s Figures 6 and 7) are provided on the side of the said baffle away from the wood-splitting axe.
However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the plurality of reinforcing ribs are connected end to end to form reinforcing rings by welding, and the inner walls of the reinforcing rings are connected by welding through the reinforcing ribs.
On the other hand, Lv et al. teaches in Figures 3 and 4 wherein the plurality of reinforcing ribs are connected end to end to form reinforcing rings by welding, and the inner walls of the reinforcing rings are connected by welding through the reinforcing ribs as shown in Figures 3 and 4.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the welded reinforcing rib and ring network of Lv et al. to the rear face of the baffle plate of the combination Peng et al. and Banjo. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to implement Lv et al.’s ribbing configuration because it provides increase section modulus resistance against cyclic hydraulic splitting loads without requiring an excessively thick, heavy solid baffle plate, achieving greater durability and material cost efficiency (paragraph 0008, lines 7–9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peng et al. (Chinese Patent No. CN 117432677 A) teaches a bidirectional, fast, energy-saving, high- efficiency oil cylinder, comprising an oil cylinder main body, a front cover, a reset unit, a big piston, and a hydraulic-control one-way valve installed on the big piston; moreover, the rod cavity and the rodless cavity are in fluid communication through the hydraulic control one-way valve.
Peng et al. (Chinese Patent No. CN 115727033 B) teaches a fast, energy-saving, high-efficiency hydraulic oil cylinder having two cavities which can directly flow into each other through the large piston through a hydraulic-control one-way valve, because the hydraulic oil in the two cavities can be supplemented with each other, so as to obtain the reciprocating speed faster than the conventional oil cylinder with the flow rate less than several times that of the conventional oil cylinder.
Bowman et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20160257023 A1) teaches a two-way quick cylinder and wood splitter comprising: a frame with a main beam, the base of the main beam made of H-shaped steel, wherein the tail end of the main beam is bent and warped upwards.
Kong et al. (Chinese Patent No. CN 201760938 U) teaches a pulling hydraulic splitting machine driven by gasoline engine, a trailer beam weldment, a cylinder assembly, a cylinder oil pipeline assembly, a gear pump, a control valve, a knife rest weld assembly, and a limit plate weld assembly.
/P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725