DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on April 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 14, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, Line 7 recites the limitation “the false eyelash.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the limitations regarding the final product was previously recited as “false eyelashes” and it is unclear whether this should refer to the previously recited “false eyelashes”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “obtaining the false eyelashes; wherein the false eyelashes comprise[[s]]:”.
Claims 2-7 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches a manufacturing method of false eyelashes (Abstract), comprising:
providing a substrate (Fig. 8- additive manufacturing assembly, printing substrate is necessarily present);
processing a pre-designed false eyelash design pattern on the substrate by a non-heat- applied processing method ([0037]- discussing 3d printing (specifically stereolithography));
wherein the false eyelash design pattern comprises: a hair material group pattern (Fig. 2b- filaments 102) and a base pattern (Fig. 2b- base 104), and the hair material group pattern is connected to the base pattern (Fig. 2b); and
obtaining the false eyelash (Fig. 2b);
wherein the false eyelash comprises: a hair material group (Fig. 2b- filaments) and a base (Fig. 2b- base 104), and the hair material group is connected to the base (Fig. 2b).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Miller further teaches the non-heat-applied processing method comprises: a non-heat-applied laser printing process wherein the non-heat-applied laser printing process comprises: ultraviolet laser printing or stereolithography printing ([0037]- stereolithography or similar).
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Ou teaches a manufacturing method of false eyelashes (Page 2, [0002], comprising:
providing a substrate (Page 8, [0003]; Fig. 3- pliable substrate 301);
processing a pre-designed false eyelash design pattern on the substrate by a non-heat- applied processing method (Fig. 3; Page 8, [0003]);
wherein the false eyelash design pattern comprises: a hair material group pattern (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strands) and a base pattern (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strip base), and the hair material group pattern is connected to the base pattern (Figs. 5a-10c); and
obtaining the false eyelash (Figs. 5a-10c);
wherein the false eyelash comprises: a hair material group (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strands) and a base (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strip base), and the hair material group is connected to the base (Figs. 5a-10c).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Ou further teaches the non-heat-applied processing method comprises: a non-heat-applied laser printing process wherein the non-heat-applied laser printing process comprises: ultraviolet laser printing or stereolithography printing (Page 24, [0005])
Regarding Claim 5, Ou further teaches the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes (Page 24, [0005]- discussing the printing method forming curled lashes shown in Figs. 5a-10c); and
obtaining the false eyelashes with curl (Figs. 5a-10c- showing curled lashes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Kawamoto (PGPub 2020/0138138).
Regarding Claim 2, Miller does not specify the substrate comprises at least one polymer film.
Kawamoto teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false lashes (Abstract) wherein the substrate on which the lashes are supplied is a transparent polymer film [0147] in order to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include a thin film polymer substrate as taught by Kawamoto with reasonable expectation of success to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Kawamoto (PGPub 2020/0138138).
Regarding Claim 2, Ou does not specify the substrate comprises at least one polymer film.
Kawamoto teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false lashes (Abstract) wherein the substrate on which the lashes are supplied is a transparent polymer film [0147] in order to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ou to include a thin film polymer substrate as taught by Kawamoto with reasonable expectation of success to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Park (KR102464652B1 with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 5, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but does not specify the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Park teaches an alternative method of utilizing false eyelashes [0001] comprising performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0016]- discussing applying a perming step to the false lashes [0016] in order to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include a performing a perming step as taught by Park with reasonable expectation of success to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Song (PGPub 2023/0309638).
Regarding Claim 6, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but does not specify performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Song teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false eyelashes (Abstract) comprising performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0055]- discussing rolling lashes around metal pipes and placing them in a metal oven) in order to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include a performing high-temperature shaping as taught by Song with reasonable expectation of success to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Song (PGPub 2023/0309638).
Regarding Claim 6, Ou teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but does not specify performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Song teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false eyelashes (Abstract) comprising performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0055]- discussing rolling lashes around metal pipes and placing them in a metal oven) in order to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ou to include a performing high-temperature shaping as taught by Song with reasonable expectation of success to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Park (KR102464652B1 with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) and Okuda (PGPub 2015/0211157).
Regarding Claim 7, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but does not specify the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Park teaches an alternative method of utilizing false eyelashes [0001] comprising performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0016]- discussing applying a perming step to the false lashes [0016] in order to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include a performing a perming step as taught by Park with reasonable expectation of success to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
Park also does not teach performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Okuda teaches an alternative method of processing artificial fibers (Abstract) wherein fibers may be embossed [0071] in order to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Miller and Park to include an embossing step as taught by Okuda with reasonable expectation of success to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073] thus meeting the instant limitation of performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Okuda (PGPub 2015/0211157).
Regarding Claim 7, Ou further teaches the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes (Page 24, [0005]- discussing the printing method forming curled lashes shown in Figs. 5a-10c); and obtaining the false eyelashes with curl (Figs. 5a-10c- showing curled lashes) but does not specify performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Okuda teaches an alternative method of processing artificial fibers (Abstract) wherein fibers may be embossed [0071] in order to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ou to include an embossing step as taught by Okuda with reasonable expectation of success to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073] thus meeting the instant limitation of performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Claims 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413).
Regarding Claim 9, Miller teaches a manufacturing method of false eyelashes (Abstract), comprising:
providing a substrate (Fig. 8- additive manufacturing assembly, printing substrate is necessarily present);
processing a pre-designed false eyelash design pattern on the substrate by a non-heat- applied processing method ([0037]- discussing 3d printing (specifically stereolithography));
wherein the false eyelash design pattern comprises: a hair material group pattern (Fig. 2b- filaments 102) and a base pattern (Fig. 2b- base 104), and the hair material group pattern is connected to the base pattern (Fig. 2b); and
obtaining the false eyelash (Fig. 2b);
wherein the false eyelash comprises: a hair material group (Fig. 2b- filaments) and a base (Fig. 2b- base 104), and the hair material group is connected to the base (Fig. 2b).
Miller does not specify stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process; and obtaining at least one second false eyelash; wherein each second false eyelash comprises: a base and a hair material group, the base is formed by stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes in a thickness direction, and the hair material group is formed by stacking the first hair material groups of the plurality of first false eyelashes in the thickness direction.
Lotti teaches an alternative method of forming artificial lashes (Abstract) comprising stacking (Claim 12) and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process ([0022]- discussing heat fusing lash clusters; [0064]- discussing gluing lash clusters)); and obtaining at least one second false eyelash (See Figs.); wherein each second false eyelash comprises: a base and a hair material group (See Figs.), the base is formed by stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes in a thickness direction, and the hair material group is formed by stacking the first hair material groups of the plurality of first false eyelashes in the thickness direction (See Figs) in order to enhance the length, thickness, and fullness of nature eyelashes [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include stacking and fusing lash intermediates as taught by Lotti with reasonable expectation of success to enhance the length, thickness, and fullness of nature eyelashes [0003].
Regarding Claim 10, Lotti further teaches the stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process comprises: stacking the first bases of at least two of the plurality of first false eyelashes (See Figs. ; [0022]; [0064]); and fixing the first bases of the at least two first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic waves or a bonding material (See Figs. ; [0022]; [0064]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lotti further teaches the bonding material comprises: any one of a chemical reagent, a tape, and glue having a bonding function ([0064]- discussing gluing clusters).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, Miller further teaches the non-heat-applied processing method comprises: a non-heat-applied laser printing process wherein the non-heat-applied laser printing process comprises: ultraviolet laser printing or stereolithography printing ([0037]- stereolithography or similar).
Claims 9-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413).
Regarding Claim 9, Ou teaches a manufacturing method of false eyelashes (Page 2, [0002], comprising:
providing a substrate (Page 8, [0003]; Fig. 3- pliable substrate 301);
processing a pre-designed false eyelash design pattern on the substrate by a non-heat- applied processing method (Fig. 3; Page 8, [0003]);
wherein the false eyelash design pattern comprises: a hair material group pattern (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strands) and a base pattern (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strip base), and the hair material group pattern is connected to the base pattern (Figs. 5a-10c); and
obtaining the false eyelash (Figs. 5a-10c);
wherein the false eyelash comprises: a hair material group (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strands) and a base (Figs. 5a-10c- showing strip base), and the hair material group is connected to the base (Figs. 5a-10c).
Ou does not specify stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process; and obtaining at least one second false eyelash; wherein each second false eyelash comprises: a base and a hair material group, the base is formed by stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes in a thickness direction, and the hair material group is formed by stacking the first hair material groups of the plurality of first false eyelashes in the thickness direction.
Lotti teaches an alternative method of forming artificial lashes (Abstract) comprising stacking (Claim 12) and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process ([0022]- discussing heat fusing lash clusters; [0064]- discussing gluing lash clusters); and obtaining at least one second false eyelash (See Figs.); wherein each second false eyelash comprises: a base and a hair material group (See Figs.), the base is formed by stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes in a thickness direction, and the hair material group is formed by stacking the first hair material groups of the plurality of first false eyelashes in the thickness direction (See Figs) in order to enhance the length, thickness, and fullness of nature eyelashes [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ou to include stacking and fusing lash intermediates as taught by Lotti with reasonable expectation of success to enhance the length, thickness, and fullness of nature eyelashes [0003].
Regarding Claim 10, Lotti further teaches the stacking and connecting the first bases of the plurality of first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic welding or a bonding process comprises: stacking the first bases of at least two of the plurality of first false eyelashes (See Figs. ; [0022]; [0064]); and fixing the first bases of the at least two first false eyelashes by using ultrasonic waves or a bonding material (See Figs. ; [0022]; [0064]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lotti further teaches the bonding material comprises: any one of a chemical reagent, a tape, and glue having a bonding function ([0064]- discussing gluing clusters).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, Ou further teaches the non-heat-applied processing method comprises: a non-heat-applied laser printing process wherein the non-heat-applied laser printing process comprises: ultraviolet laser printing or stereolithography printing (Page 24, [0005])
Regarding Claim 15, Ou further teaches the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes (Page 24, [0005]- discussing the printing method forming curled lashes shown in Figs. 5a-10c); and
obtaining the false eyelashes with curl (Figs. 5a-10c- showing curled lashes).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Kawamoto (PGPub 2020/0138138).
Regarding Claim 12, Miller and Lotti do not specify the substrate comprises at least one polymer film.
Kawamoto teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false lashes (Abstract) wherein the substrate on which the lashes are supplied is a transparent polymer film [0147] in order to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Miller and Lotti to include a thin film polymer substrate as taught by Kawamoto with reasonable expectation of success to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Kawamoto (PGPub 2020/0138138).
Regarding Claim 12, Ou and Lotti do not specify the substrate comprises at least one polymer film.
Kawamoto teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false lashes (Abstract) wherein the substrate on which the lashes are supplied is a transparent polymer film [0147] in order to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ou and Lotti to include a thin film polymer substrate as taught by Kawamoto with reasonable expectation of success to provide visibility of the full fibers to the user during implementation [0147].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Park (KR102464652B1 with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 15, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but Miller and Lotti do not specify the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Park teaches an alternative method of utilizing false eyelashes [0001] comprising performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0016]- discussing applying a perming step to the false lashes [0016] in order to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Miller and Lotti to include a performing a perming step as taught by Park with reasonable expectation of success to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Song (PGPub 2023/0309638).
Regarding Claim 16, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but Miller and Lotti do not specify performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Song teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false eyelashes (Abstract) comprising performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0055]- discussing rolling lashes around metal pipes and placing them in a metal oven) in order to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Miller and Lotti to include a performing high-temperature shaping as taught by Song with reasonable expectation of success to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Song (PGPub 2023/0309638).
Regarding Claim 16, Ou teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but Ou and Lotti do not specify performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Song teaches an alternative method of manufacturing false eyelashes (Abstract) comprising performing high-temperature shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0055]- discussing rolling lashes around metal pipes and placing them in a metal oven) in order to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ou and Lotti to include a performing high-temperature shaping as taught by Song with reasonable expectation of success to impart curl to the eyelash filaments [0055].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (PGPub 2020/0214380) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Park (KR102464652B1 with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) and Okuda (PGPub 2015/0211157).
Regarding Claim 17, Miller teaches obtaining curled lashes (See Figs.) but Miller and Lotti do not specify the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes.
Park teaches an alternative method of utilizing false eyelashes [0001] comprising performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes to form curled lashes ([0016]- discussing applying a perming step to the false lashes [0016] in order to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Miller to include a performing a perming step as taught by Park with reasonable expectation of success to form a curl in the upper lash [0016].
Park also does not teach performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Okuda teaches an alternative method of processing artificial fibers (Abstract) wherein fibers may be embossed [0071] in order to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Miller, Lotti, and Park to include an embossing step as taught by Okuda with reasonable expectation of success to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073] thus meeting the instant limitation of performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al (WO2025175058 with priority to February 14, 2024) in view of Lotti (PGPub 2019/0380413) and Okuda (PGPub 2015/0211157).
Regarding Claim 17, Ou further teaches the manufacturing method of false eyelashes further comprises: performing non-heating shaping on the false eyelashes (Page 24, [0005]- discussing the printing method forming curled lashes shown in Figs. 5a-10c); and obtaining the false eyelashes with curl (Figs. 5a-10c- showing curled lashes) but Ou and Lotti do not specify performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Okuda teaches an alternative method of processing artificial fibers (Abstract) wherein fibers may be embossed [0071] in order to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ou and Lotti to include an embossing step as taught by Okuda with reasonable expectation of success to impart a 3D shape to the fibers [0073] thus meeting the instant limitation of performing embossing on the false eyelashes after non-heating shaping.
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 6/4/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748